Melhor avaliadoPreços mais baixosO mais novoMais antigas
David W.4 months ago
Primadonna Pelo Danúbio – Passeio por quatro paísesÁustria, Alemanha, Eslováquia, Hungria
What we were left with instead was a vague set of instructions that led us to the wrong place and a group of suspected fellow passengers (none spoke English) also waiting in several places for the bus. We tried your 800 number. No one answered. We tried the local “help line”. The person who answered did not speak English. There was no one at the presumed site to board the Leia Mais bus to inform us that we were at the correct location. Had the original one not broken down and caused an unexpected delay, we would have never made it to be bus, even though we left our hotel two hours earlier. Two unexpected cab fares and hours of stress wondering if we would actually make embarkation is not the way to start a voyage. We must have been your only clients on board, and that explains quite a lot of what happened. The only other English-speaking passengers were Danish. Daytime announcements were only made in German.
If I were asked to describe the food on this voyage with one word it would be: BLAND. Presentation 10. Taste 3. Selection 2. They need to invest more in spices to make it taste better and less on garnish to make it look good.
The saving grace was the attitude and professionalism of all those who worked on board, from the Captain helping get the bicycles ashore, to the ladies at the information desk, to our waiter, bartender, and cabin stewardess. All worked hard, were extremely helpful, and I have no complaints whatsoever.
The bicycles were good quality, well-maintained, and those who instructed us in their use were quite helpful. The young lady who instructed us each evening about the day ahead was superb. But her graphics, maps, handouts, were awful. The biking experience itself was nothing like I imagined. Cars, trucks, pedestrians, and multitudes of other cyclists all trying to pass on the left at any opportunity. Some very dangerous gravel trails and quite a bit of city riding with cars whizzing by at breakneck speed. The distance vs. time allowed created a “race to the finish line” experience rather than the comfortable, leisurely ride through the countryside with frequent stops to take in the scenery that I had come to expect from your promotional materials.
Four days into the voyage we learned that our original information that all on board were vaccinated was, in fact, not true. Both passengers and crew members were unvaccinated. No one wore a mask on board, and social distancing was impossible. In retrospect, the overcrowded dining room and three hour evening meals were just a breeding ground for COVID transmission. Thankfully, our COVID testing (required for reentry to US) was negative. Had it been positive and my trip extended for another two weeks of quarantine, I would be seeking monetary compensation from the cruise line.
There were other minor things. There was, literally, no “entertainment” on board. Someone played the piano in the bar 2 hours a day, but the promised “movies” in the evening followed by midnight snacks must have been more of those “older things” still in your promotional literature. There were no movies. No place to watch them. The theatre was used to store the bicycles. I suspect that’s why they dragged out the evening meal to upwards of three hours! Even the documents we received at embarkation mentioned (in German only) a “massage” included in our tickets. But no one at the customer service desk seemed to understand what I was talking about when I inquired, and not once during the voyage was anyone working in the indoor sauna area. And to think, I was forced to pay an additional 150 Euros to “rebook” this voyage when the one I put down a deposit for (in January, 2020, no less) was cancelled by the cruise line due to COVID restrictions in travel. They were unable to fulfill the contract, and I had to pay more to protect my deposit! Dare I say it? Bait and switch.
And I do not blame the tour company entirely for this deception. Your promotional materials, time and again, “had not been updated” when I inquired prior to sailing about discrepancies I found in them. The video on your website from someone who had taken the tour presented a world totally foreign to the experience we endured. I suspect that during the COVID delay the ship or line was sold to some new company and the new owners were cutting costs at every turn. The crew told us ours would be the last voyage for this boat using the bicycling format.
Carla • 3 months ago Equipe da Tripsite
Hi David, It was nice chatting with you and thank you for your kind consideration. As I mentioned, Passau docking authorities are very strict and can announce docking changes at short notice and without reason. While it may have appeared there was nothing going on, we don't have any control over this. I don't understand why our 1-800 number did not work. My personal cell phone number is listed in all tour documents for emergencies, as well as in our 800 number voicemail message. For the 2021 sailing season, we could never guarantee that all passengers and crew were vaccinated. I'm sorry the whole experience did not meet your expectations. I've refunded you the rebooking fees and hope we may able you again in the future. - Carla from Tripsite
Rosemary P.2 years ago
Normandie Pelo Danúbio – Passeio por quatro paísesÁustria, Alemanha, Eslováquia, Hungria
I am truly amazed about quantity of 5 star reviews for this tour, as I could only give it a 2 star! And, this 2 rating is for the wonderful restaurant and housekeeping staff , as the boat crew , bike assistants were unpleasant to deal with, and the captain kept his distance. This was such a drastic difference from my very enjoyable Netherlands, and Croatia bike and boat tours. The maps and directions were inadequate and usually incorrect. The "tour guide" (who never lead a tour) Jan was unbelievably nasty, rude and impatient about any and all questions and concerns. He sent many on what was to be an easy, level ride only for it to take us over a mountain where our bikes were unsuitable and directions e completely wrong. I would not recommend neither this boat or trip to anyone.
Jehiel from Tripsite • 2 years ago Equipe da Tripsite
Hi Rosemary,We are sorry to hear that this trip didn't meet your expectations. It's unfortunate that you experienced some negative exchanges with Jan. We apologize for that.
About the biking: For the self-guided option a guide is not expected to lead the tour. Riders are expected to be able to navigate independently using the route descriptions and maps. We will look into the maps but we have never gotten feedback about the inaccuracy of the route descriptions for this tour. Furthermore, the tour is rated easy with very little elevation gain and the daily mileages are listed.
We hope that you still had an enjoyable time.
Rosemary Palus • 2 years ago
Not having a guide was not an issue for me as I am a much seasoned rider (of plus 30 years experience) with dozens extended touring rides both here in the states, besides several international. We had started with transporting our personal bikes to Europe, reserving our accommodations , creating ride maps, etc.. so telling me to "navigate independently using the route description and maps" given is insulting. IF one were given proper maps and descriptions it would have been acceptable with the exception of Jan's famous easy farm ride that took us over dangerous mountainous, cliff side, terrain. He is very fortunate all returned minus major accidents, and this was only due to the fact we WERE EXPERIENCED!. And, you really need to fully read all feedback as there were other complaints regarding inadequate mapping and directions. Tripsite is also responsible by ignoring this issue. AMEN!
Rosemary, I am not trying to insult you or downplay your experience. I am trying to address your concerns. I wanted to clarify that Jan is not a tour guide and with the self-guided option, there is no leader. Gps tracks are available for most tours and routes are being updated and improved frequently.If you were not given maps and route descriptions and if Jan's suggestion was misguided and dangerous, that is unacceptable. If Jan was rude to you, that is unacceptable. This is not characteristic of our local partners or Tripsite. I can assure you we are addressing these issues with our local partner. I personally read hundreds of feedback submissions each season and respond. We do this because we care about your experience and want to make the tours we offer better. I am sorry we and our partners failed to give you a positive experience. Jehiel
Elizabeth T.2 years ago
Road of 100 Castles - MünsterlandAlemanha, Holanda
1. There were only about 10 castles on the tour. Most of the castles were not open to the public to visit.2. The maps and written instructions given to us upon arrival were in German which we do not know. There was an option to download these instructions onto a smart phone but we were not given this information until on day 3 of the tour. We had made no provisions to attach a smart phone to our bike and protect it from the weather.3. The scenery was pleasant for a few days but became boring as there was not much difference each day.
Carla from Tripsite • 2 years ago Equipe da Tripsite
Hi Elizabeth! Thanks for your feedback. The routebook with maps is in the German language however we find it is still an excellent tool for riding. We are very sorry you were not aware of the GPS tracks or device sooner. Despite these issues, I hope you were able to bring home good memories of your trip!
Margaret E.2 years ago
Ao longo do Danúbio – Passau a VienaÁustria, Alemanha
Most Memorable Part: The biking and comradery of the other bikers on the trip.
Dennis E.2 years ago
Theodor Körner Ao longo do Rio Danúbio- O poderoso Canyon do Iron GatesAlemanha, Áustria, Eslováquia, Hungria, Croácia, Serbia
Most Memorable Part: The black mold (or something) that had many people coughing in their rooms. I had to take allergy pills each night.
Robert W M.2 years ago
The crew & food were great & acceptable respectively. There were very few vegetables served. The ship was terrible, moldy, poor lighting nonexistent waste baskets except in private rooms. The ship had a strong sewer odor which our cabin boy could not remedy. This problem involved several rooms. We would not return to the The(odor) Körner.
David F.3 years ago
Breakfast good. Bagged lunches okay but not great and they only had sparkling water which I don't like and can't drink. No option to get still water without paying extra. Dinners good but not great. Only one meal very good. Most upset about not being able to drink the water from the room sink (which was announced over the PA system just before dinner after we had been onboard for a few hours)and then having to pay for still safe water for the cabin, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Bike barge nightly talk about the following day was always the second talk of the evening (made for later evenings or no room in the bar). Would have liked to share the first time slot for half of the evenings.Concierge staff outstanding and serving staff in the dinning room good.
Mok L.3 years ago
Normandie Ao longo do Danúbio – Passau a VienaÁustria, Alemanha
The Danube / bike path was wonderful , My bike was a red girls bike that clunked “hate it”, my wife’s ebike was great, the food was good except the hair in couple of dishes, the tour dir and the hotel mgr were friggen rude (not just us to about 14 others ) would Never take a SE tour again. The people we met on board were great, Austria was very nice. Omg Austria wine was fantastic. thx Mik
PsStill like Tripsite’s
Tim Devine3 years ago
Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and ViennaÁustria, Alemanha, Eslováquia
The biking itself was fabulous. The staff looked after the bikes well, and the routes were lovely. My problems are with the boat itself, and there are several significant issues. First, our room was next to some machinery near the bridge that woke us up frequently during the night. The bathroom smelled bad, and other guests on a lower floor had major issues with smells too. The boat broke down on one occasion, and we had the feeling that it was on its last legs. The food was okay, sometimes good, sometimes not so good. The staff were very good, although the music was mostly orientated to non-English speakers. I know that this is not a Viking riverboat, but I have a reasonable expectation of having a comfortable and fairly quiet room. Never again on this boat.
Faith S.3 years ago
Carissima Pelo Danúbio – Passeio por quatro paísesÁustria, Alemanha, Eslováquia, Hungria
I was disappointed in this tour, the scenery was mostly uninteresting and much more difficult than expected due to high winds on 2 days. I am short and was given a crappy bike to ride, having been told I could not fit on the e-bike I wanted. However, after 2 days of suffering my tour guide was able to find me a bike that fit (even after the company itself said it could not accommodate). The ship itself was wonderful, with big bright cabins and excellent food. I was on the guided comfort relax package, and the tour guide was way too laid back for my taste. I thought we did not have much time in the big cities to explore.
Tama L.4 years ago
Ao Redor do Lago ConstançaÁustria, Alemanha, Suíça
My dissatisfactions, two nights in the suburbs of Constance, out of the way, should not be used. Konono staff excellent, but cost us for taxi to get there and back to the train. Route book imprecise. What is the route sign we were supposed to follow? What good is a dotted line on a map when there are multiple routes? Which are more scenic? Less hilly? Passing by cafes? Unpaved in a forest? Exactly how do you get to the Rhein Falls ferry? Book never mentioned the three elevators that take you up and down. We had frustrations every day.Is it a beautiful trip? Absolutely. The Mozart and Park Villa are beautiful hotels, although not air conditioned.
Jehiel from Tripsite • 3 years ago Equipe da Tripsite
Hi Tama,Sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with certain aspects of this tour. As far as the hotel locations, we always try to provide the best hotels possible (location, quality, reputation) but this is based on availability. This region is very popular and hotel development hasn't quite caught up with demand. In reference to the Route Book....we strongly recommend that clients also request GPS tracks to supplement Route Books. The tracks are more interactive and tend to be more precise. If requested, these tracks can be downloaded beforehand and used with a GPS or your smartphone. See this Blog to learn more. Im glad you still had an enjoyable time and appreciated the beauty of this region. We hope to help you plan your next trip!
Mary Beth R.4 years ago
Scenery was gorgeous, food was superb. Accommodations good.If you took Albert out of the equation I would give much higher ratings. He was inadequate with trail details. His info was hard to follow on the maps. Someone described him as a Peacock. Very apt. The rest of the staff was very good although you need another person in the dining room. Way to many people for the amount of people serving.Don’t advertise that you have WiFi....you really don’t .....
Jeff B.4 years ago
Tour de Quatro PaísesÁustria, Alemanha, Liechtenstein, Suíça
Konstance was very bike friendly, and interesting.