Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 3370

 

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by David and Anne S. 5 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was the best bike trip of our lives. We took it in early June, 2019 with e-bikes and upgraded accommodations. Unless you're a strong cyclist, e-bikes are the way to go for this trip. First, the hotels were amazing and in each one after the first the specific rooms reserved were wonderful. The first hotel in Avignon was simply awful. Not only because the air conditioning was out, but the room was tacky, in bad repair, and was musty. The tour needs to have this changed. The common areas were just fine, it was only our room. Another thing to change would be the route on the first day through Avignon - heavy traffic, a lot of road construction, and then cycling on a road with a narrow shoulder, semi trucks, and 30 mph winds. This was still a five-star trip. I hadn't done much research ahead of time, and so Les Baux de Provence and Fontaine de Vaucluse each came as a complete and wonderful surprise - I had not even imagined places of such beauty and charm. There Read more… were some minor problems with the GPS, particularly the road barred off in one place. Fortunately we had a hotspot which we took with us each day, and were able to figure out how to reroute ourselves using Apple maps, but we would have been in trouble otherwise. We went to the market at Isle sur la Sorgue, but it was impossible to visit with bikes due to the crowds of people. We didn't dare leave the e-bikes, even locked, so we had to take turns going in - but still fun!

    Countries: France

  • Basque Country to Asturias
    by David, Anne, Ryan S. 5 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We took this trip in late May, 2019, with e-bikes. It was a great trip with some amazing accommodations. Thoughts in no particular order: The first 3 hours of biking on the first day were pretty miserable, through industrial areas with no good place to ride on either the sidewalk or the road. Day 4 and Day 6 were spectacular, Day 4 was almost like a fantasy of a bike trip once we reached rural areas. The GPS was hard to read when the sun was out, and in several places we needed one person using the GPS and another the printed instructions. We've been on a number of bike trips, and the drivers in Spain were the most courteous and safe of any country - usually giving us at least 6 feet of space and never rushing us. The hotel (Organista) in Santillana del Mar was our favorite, with a wonderful host, Rafe, and an enchanting outdoor breakfast. (Note: this is right close to the Altamira cave, and we were glad we took the time to visit, even though it involved finding our own Read more… route back to the regular tour). Much better instructions are needed to find the ferry into Santander - we nearly missed it even after 30 minutes of going back and forth when hot and tired. Take all the small side trips the instructions suggest - you'll never be sorry and could easily miss amazing views and beaches just a 1/4 mile off the route.

    Countries: Spain

  • Vietnam
    by Gina F. 6 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I think the Tam Coc rowboat excursion was the most memorable part of the trip, but honestly that entire day was spectacular and the entire trip was like unwrapping a new gift every day. We went two by two in Tam Coc on rowboats paddled by local farmers. Every time we turned a corner we were greeted with a new vision that if I told you what it was, it might ruin the surprise factor. That same day, right before dusk, we went to a bird sanctuary and got to see flocks of pelicans and other waterfowl returning to their roosts against a beautiful backdrop of the sun setting in a hidden valley.

    Countries: Vietnam, Cambodia

  • Valencia, Color and Contrasts
    by Michelle T. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was my first bike tour. I’m 47 and exercise regularly with a focus on cycling/spin. I travelled with a friend and we had an amazing experience. We did the tour a few weeks after the major storm and had great maps and GPS which included a personal sit down with Javier (Lazypedals) to explain the tour and bike fittings. (This did not happen on the next tour we took and were greatful we had this one first). I’m 5’11 and found the bikes to be very ergonomic. Be prepared for extra weight in the panniers for tools and bike locks. Bikes also included a light that we did not need but can see it how it could be necessary depending on your activities.
    We loved the varied routes but found there to be quite a bit of hill climbing for the rating easy to moderate. In end we felt very accomplished!
    The sights and smells of the countryside were amazing. i can not emphasize this enough. We had outstanding (above avg temps early oct) weather, amazing accommodation for Read more… the star ratings and food. Augusto’s family farm was a highlight with meals served from his garden.
    We do not speak Spanish and can’t thank the people enough for their assistance and patience. Gracias! ❤️
    Tripsite was also very helpful with choosing the trips and offers excellent support for 1 day when we required it. The website is very user friendly complemented by people behind the scenes. I will look to book through this company again.

    Countries: Spain

  • Tripsite Traveler - Lake Constance
    by Jeanne Evans 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent overview and pics!
    Thanks for sharing!

  • Connemara
    by Alan G. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Amazing riding with different terrain each day. Wonderful scenery. Bikes good. Company good. Food good. Guide very good. Best cycling trip I have been on and I have been on a few. Can't wait to go back to Ireland.

    Countries: Ireland

  • St. Moritz to Innsbruck
    by Bob M. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip reaffirmed by previous experiences that dealing directly with a local provider is the best way to go for overseas bike tours. Although Tripsite was excellent in their pre-trip work, their local partner -- EuroBike -- left a lot to be desired. And, once you are at the site of your trip, Tripsite has nothing to offer, so you are in the hands of their partner. The problems with EuroBike start with this unsolvable fact: They are NOT located in Switzerland. As their name implies, they run trips all over Europe. So when we needed an extra ebike, they couldn't come through. When we had problems with the ebikes we did have, they couldn't come through. The bike mapping they supplied was in German; we speak English. More unacceptable was the fact they were not aware of several sections of the Inn River Bike Trail that had been closed since the huge spring snow runoff had wiped out two bridges and closed several kilometers of trail. Their mapping notes provided NO alternate Read more… route. We spent four hours one morning going less than 5K looking for a route that would avoid a busy highway. They did have an emergency number to call (in Austria) and answered rapidly. But they either said, "Sorry there is nothing we can do" Or "Peter is our man in that area. He will call." Peter never called.

    There were other issues. The ebikes were not the best with the power suddenly cutting off on some climbs; riders with other companies had much better, more current ebikes. They didn't even have water bottle cages on the bikes, so we had to make major stops to retrieve water from the panniers. Riders with other companies had no such problems; they even had bottle holders attached to the handlebars!

    So, we had a great trip in a spectacular area, but that success had little to do with Tripsite's choice of local partner. Hopefully they will do better in the future.

    Bob Marshall

    Countries: Austria, Switzerland

  • Montargis to Paris
    by Craig M. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I recently returned from a bike and barge trip in France which I booked through Tripsite. The trip was from Montargis to Paris and was provided by Bike Boat Tours based in Amsterdam. This trip was exceptional as it was for myself and 9 of my family members, eight of whom had never traveled to Europe before. I have personally used Tripsite many times in the past and as in all previous instances they were totally professional. They handled any communication to the tour provider, provided a link for trip insurance and all last minute advice regarding clothing, tipping, currency exchange, location where to board the boat, etc. Working with Tripsite is key to making foreign travel easy and I'm sure I will be contacting them again.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: France

  • Poland’s Lake District
    by Patsy V. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Lake District of Poland is an undiscovered region of outstanding beauty in Poland and Europe - full of forests, farms, WWII history, fabulous food and welcoming Poles! Add a day or 2 in Warsaw with interesting free guided walking tours and you get a good sense of urban and rural Poland.
    The itinerary for riding is a spiderweb of forest dirt roads, very challenging sandy farm roads, traffic for short distances on some paved roads, and lovely low traffic paved roads. This trip reqiires diverse biking skills but with an adventurous spirit, lots of rewards.

    Boat: MS Classic Lady

    Countries: Poland

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Ross M. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is the best kept secret for those of us that enjoy intimate, caring, luxurious adventure with people that will care and spoil you along the way. Quo Vadis will always be our first choice if available and the standard by what we measure all of our other trips.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Patti S. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The beautiful scenery along the Mosel River is the star of this Bike and Barge trip! The vineyard along the steep mountain face for miles and miles, the gorgeous river meandering , the church steeple in every village, and the ancient castles on the mountain top! I could not believe I was there in the midst of this! Would not hesitate to recommend this trip to anyone and I have!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Poland’s Lake District
    by Jean H. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was much harder than I expected. The rating was easy to moderate but I felt it was moderate to difficult. Going through the sand and gravel paths was challenging even though I had an e-bike. My first trip was from Bruges to the Amsterdam and I had wonderful experiences on a regular bike. But if this Mazuria lakes district was my first trip, I would not have signed up for a second. The Magnifique 2 was much more comfortable and there was free coffee, tea, and even hot chocolate all day long. On the classic lady, there wasn't even free water. The state rooms were comparable on both trips. But the magnifique had a sitting area where we could gather and talk. On the classic lady, we had to sit at the dining room tables to socialize. The food was good

    Countries: Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Ruth B. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the buffet meal in Poland-delicious food, great sitting outside by the water, great band & fun dancing!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Atlantic West Coast & Sintra
    by Patti N. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the scenery and the overnight communities. The trip was well organized and easy to follow with the Garmin. The bikes were excellent. I highly recommend this tour!

    Countries: Portugal

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by James C. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Barge trip out of Paris was special. Great way to begin trip and see Paris on Sunday morning. Biking through back roads and trails of France and Belgium was great.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • England’s Lake District E-Bike Tour
    by Elizabeth B. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent hotels! Make sure your bike is fitted by a mechanic at the bike store the day before your first ride. Our local host Ian was excellent but would never have been able to adjust the bikes to our requirements. We brought our own seats. A second device for holding the cell phone on the handlebars should have been provided.

    Countries: England

  • Galapagos Bike and Boat
    by Elizabeth J. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Itinerary was great! Beluga yacht was awesome! Great service, crew,food,and logistics. The Enchanted lodge was lovely and the service and food were perfect. We were the only ones on the extended bike tour and our guides were very flexible and knowledgable. If you want an active experience with a lot of variety and high quality service this is the trip for you!

    We found the biking to be strenuous and modified it for less biking and more kayaking and hiking.

    Boat: Beluga

    Countries: Ecuador

  • Merlijn’s Magical Christmas Cruise in Germany
    by Kristin P 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What a trip! I felt like it was meant to be since we had just started talking about going on a Xmas market trip just before the email came announcing this maiden voyage. Every stop was memorable. Landschaftspark and getting to see the industrial side of the Rhine was an added bonus to the beautiful Xmas markets. We didn't think we'd want to spend too much time outside while the boat was cruising, but we even had some comfortable cruising time outside. The crew and the other passengers made the trip though. What a great bunch!

    Countries: Germany

  • Amsterdam to Maastricht
    by Sandra S. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Seeing the Netherlands by bike is an enjoyable way to do so. It was also fun to share our experiences each day on the barge with a group of like-minded people. Our bike leader made sure that our needs were met.

    Boat: Sarah

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Paula H. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide was wonderful. It made our bike riding less stressful. Meet some great people from different countries. Enjoyed our dinner every night. The staff was helpful.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Venice to Poreč
    by Diane Z. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We thoroughly enjoyed the trip. The itinerary, written directions and maps were great. Taking the ferry out of Venice and riding through the historic town centers were definite highlights.

    Countries: Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Blaine L. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Trip was great.
    Crew treated us to a very friendly and efficient environment. Food was amazing, dinners each night had a theme from different countries. It was a highlight of each to have this kind of dinner waiting.

    Bike ride started in Bruge with great trails and welcoming towns. As we moved to France a few days of rolling hills with interesting stops during the day.

    Our guide had his hands full with 24 riders but he was professional, organized, well informed and was just a great person to sit and talk with.

    A great trip with a great crew looking after us.

    Blaine Larsen

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Camille B. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My favourite parts of the trip were spending time in Cochem, the happy hour the entire group would spend “debriefing” at the end of the day on the deck of the boat, both vineyards that we visited and the incredible gardens we saw as we rode along the Moselle river.

    My suggestions:

    Clear instructions about the day we board the boat. Everyone was confused about whether we simply drop off our luggage, stay on the boat, is there dinner on the boat?? Etc.

    It would have been nice to have some background music on the boat during breakfast, happy hour, dinner or the evening. I heard a number of people mention this.

    A few planned activities on the boat would have been a lot of fun. A theme dinner, trivia night, learn to make the local cocktail, a local historian gives a presentation, a quick and simple local language lesson, etc. People also commented on this and would have gladly paid another 100 Euros for a few little “extras” like Read more… these.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Celeste N. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was as we expected -- enjoyed both the biking & wine tours. Thanks for the ebikes.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Don B. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Not moving and sitting next to a mud bank and a muddy river made the first couple of days disappointing. The rest of the trip was very good with Bordeaux and St. Emilion being the highlight of the trip. The staff and food was exceptional!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Carol H. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike routes were good and some of the stops at vineyards were excellent but other vineyards were not really interested in providing tastings even when they had been pre-arranged by the boat company. The old bikes were in bad shape but the new bikes were of excellent quality. The e-bikes were a godsend to riders that struggled with the hills on the second day. Unless you are are a fairly strong rider the e-bikes were needed on 2 of the days. The bike mechanic was great and the GPS was helpful when it worked but it was not reliable. Paper maps were needed as a back-up. The rooms on the ship were cramped but OK overall. Our biggest concern was that the food was really BAD. We could not eat several dishes and they sometimes ran out of the main course.
    Overall, given the steep price, we would not recommend this tour. Other barge and bike tours are much better value.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Ceira S. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Gorgeous Mosel with quaint towns cycling and being on a gem of a boat! Surrounded by great people and a great crew!
    Thank you for wonderful memories!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Eileen M. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The biking and our tour guide Jack amazing and so knowledgeable!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by William A. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking in the Bordeaux region was memorable as well as the food and wine on our barge. The staff was welcoming too.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Elliot A. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was fantastic, especially the other people on the tour. My recommendation to newbies is to definitely sign up for e-bikes and the guided tour.

    The only bad thing was that the noise level in the dining area was painfully loud. My ears are still ringing! They really need to install some acoustical tile or something.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

PWPC