Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 3152

 

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Diane Fahlman 1 day ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I took the Bordeaux bike and barge trip the first week of September 2019. I am comparing it to the Danube bike & barge trip I took in October 2017 via Tripsite. The Danube trip was great all the way around, good food, nice dining service, white linen, well cooked and good variety of food. Excellent value for the money. The itinerary, guides, and crew service were great. The Bordeaux trip on MS Bordeaux held great expectations. The itinerary and scenery were fantastic. The quality and variety of food needed a lot of work. The morning coffee was dreadful each day, and there were no proper coffee mugs, teacups or teapots. Paper placemats did not add to the breakfast atmosphere. We were offered the same overcooked eggs each morning. One morning garlic carrots were on offer. Our make yourself lunches were exactly the same ingredients each day. The dinners were often overcooked with a complete lack of fresh greens or fresh market cheeses. In fact, the cheeses on offer each morning were Read more… pre-sliced cheese. This is not what one expects in France.
    So the food was very disappointing for the price we paid for this trip. The food servers were very friendly and worked hard to please. The bike mechanic was great and solved any issues we had with the bikes. The captain of MS Bordeaux was always impatient and gruff with passengers as we disembarked each day. On the Danube trip, the staff ensured the bikes were on land for us each day. The GPS's in Bordeaux did not work most of the time and the maps in the books need updating - this is a comment that has been in the Bordeaux reviews for several years now. A team discussion and group effort allowed us to find our way.
    The most disappointing aspect of the trip is that my concerns were expressed to Tripsite and left unanswered for over a month until I called Tripsite back, and nothing was resolved for me. Just be sure to evaluate if the quality of food and customer service are an important part of your trip - otherwise, enjoy the great rides!

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Brenda R. 1 day ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew and service provided by our crew on the Anna Antal was excellent. Mijintje (Marianne) our tour leader was a National guide and provided a well paced, safe and lovely route, pointing out important and interesting sites in towns along the way. In the evening Marianne offered activities from walking tours, to an art gallery and a fun group sing song. Nicole our chef was superb offering delicious breakfast and 3 course dinner meals...even provided a rice table for our final evening.
    Most memorable was cycling on the fantastic array of paths winding along canals, rivers and through forests, pastures and towns made enjoyable by the excellent bikes provided to us. The view from the changed from day to day. The homes along the route were well maintained and occupants seemed to take pride in showing something of beauty in the front windows such as bright flower bouquets, vases or pictures. A terrific bike and barge experience!

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by beverly l. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Boating on the Harmonia and biking on six islands (Dalmatia) was magic! The natural beauty of the islands and the sea combined with the tours of the islands provided great adventure for each day. Appreciated our outstanding tour guides (Mikhail & Carlos) who were passionate & knowledgeable about their country and shared this in an informative, fun manner. They set a "comfortable" tone on the trip and were always willing to help in any way possible. Bar manager/kitchen supervisor was excellent and friendly too. Delicious food. Enjoyed meeting the captain and the other crew members. It was great boating and very interesting docking at each of the islands-appreciated the skills of the captain & crew. Thank you for a memorable trip!

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Merzig to Cochem
    by Lynda A. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Relaxing cycling through vineyards, watching the grapes being harvested and visiting the villages and castles aling the way

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Merzig to Cochem
    by Ravi M. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was memorable , all 6 days of it , right from the moment we boarded till we disembarked everything was perfect, absolutely no complaints.
    The Barge Merlijn, the owners, Coen and Christina and their entire team were par excellence ! Our guide , Lia was fantastic, with great sense of Humour and was prompt in taking care of any bike related issues . The food was exquisite, the most delectable vegetarian food we ate lovingly prepared by Christina. The bike paths thru the Vineyards and the varied landscapes were perfect along the river Saar and Mosel. It was in reality doing a leisurely tour on a bike. The hike up the mountain to view the Saar Loop was awesome , a perfect picture postcard scene . will definitely recommend this tour on the merlijn.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Peter D. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The team on the Magnifique III took such great care to make our experience outstanding!

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Donna L. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Being our first bike/boat tour, touring from bike paths gave us a different perspective as tourists!
    The canals, the culture and beautiful people sharing their heritage was memorable!
    New friendships and a marvelous boat crew !!!!
    Cuisine and services were top rate!!

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Mosel and Saar
    by James S. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking along the river was incredible and I loved seeing small villages we would not have otherwise gone to. The lodging was way more comfortable than the pictures made the boat look, we were all impressed! The staff was all very accommodating to the multiple people in our group requiring gluten-free meals. Overall an amazing week with my extended family on the bikes and on the boat!

    Boat: Zwaan

    Countries: Germany

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Jeannette D. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved Bruges! Also many of the villages we visited along the way!

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Mainz to Merzig
    by Joseph M. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was spending time with my family. Eight of the eleven siblings went on the trip. We really enjoyed the Merlijn. The Captain and crew were excellent.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Michel D. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our second experience with Tripsite. Our first was in the Netherlands and the second in France. Everything has been positive from the time of booking to the end of the trip. Great food, great cycling, comfortable ship, scenery and most importantly, the other guests on the trip. We have already booked our third trip for May of 2020!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Doug L. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Each day was a new adventure. We saw some great scenery, visited some beautiful towns and cities, learned much about the history of WW1 and enjoyed the company of friends aboard the Zwaantje. It was nice not having to decide which meal to order every day. Frank, our chef, did an excellent job of choosing for us and prepared superb dinners. Two views were particularly memorable: "The approach to Chantilly Castle" and "The view of Paris from St. Germain en Laye". The cruise into Paris on the final day was the icing on the cake. What a great way to see the north of France. Oh wait, Belgium was great too. I think Bruges is now one of my favourite Cities.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Tim W. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We just completed the bike and barge tour from Bruges to Amsterdam. The staff were excellent- professional, knowledgeable and safety-conscious. Our cabin on the barge Fluvius was clean and cozy. The food and service on the Fluvius was exceptional. Touring Belgium and the Netherlands by bike was fantastic. We would highly recommend and are already planning our next bike and barge adventure.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bike and Safari South Africa’s Garden Route to Cape Town
    by Deborah C. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Tripsite team told me this would be our best trip yet. They were right! The guides, Lizelle and Wendall were terrific, very knowledgeable and accommodating. The whole South African experience - the cycling and animal experiences - safaris and bush walks were amazing. It was nice to have varied activities -day to day. Would highly recommend this trip.

    Countries: South Africa

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Linda M. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was my first bike and barge trip so I didn’t know what to expect. I am delighted to report my experience was so wonderful, I honestly can’t decide on one single highlight when everything I experienced was unforgettably memorable. From the accommodations on the barge, the great staff, and delicious meals on board to the terrific guides, bike routes through the Neverlands and Belgium, the lovely countryside and small villages we passed through, each day led to wonderful memories. I am blind and rode a tandem bike with my adult daughter and everyone, from the staff on the barge, the two guides, the other guests, to the people who worked at the cafes, shops, and sites we visited were welcoming and accommodating. I rode a rented tandem with my daughter and loved every minute we spent together. I’m already trying to decide which bike and barge trip I’ll take next year which will be hard to decide on because there are so many enticing ones to choose Read more… from.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ann V. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I can't really choose one memory as the whole trip was absolutely wonderful on and off the barge. The food, accommodations, and staff were absolutely top-notch, they didn't miss a beat. Loved cycling through the beautiful scenery of the rural, small-town areas, and the opportunity to visit several of the larger cities with the added excursions. I wish I had researched the area of the tour beforehand to familiarize myself with its history.
    I would have liked a more detailed daily map of the route with distances between landmarks noted. We missed several turns but were able to get back on track. Also one of our bikes in our group of ten did not shift properly even after being replaced, making for a frustrating experience. All that being said we will definitely do another bike and barge trip.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Southern Dalmatia
    by Jean-Jacques T. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Southern Dalmatia with the San Snova has been a unique cycling experience in terms of venue, the crew, our guides and cycling participants. The accommodation were great, the meals were excellent and the service outstanding. Our guides were exceptional in terms resources and support during our cycling rides and prepared for the trip. The islands provide an unique cycling experience and good challenge for road bikers and very enjoyable. Croatia is a very welcoming and safe country to visit and cycle. Strongly recommended to anyone.

    Boat: San Snova

    Countries: Croatia

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Judy L. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Coming around a corner in rural netherlands and seeing a tradition windmill complete with thatched roof! Beautiful!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Puglia - Heel of Italy
    by Deborah L. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was all amazing. The food, the wine, the hotels, the route. we all had a lot of fun.

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Matthew B. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Crew on the boat (Captain Eduardo, Sylvia, & Barb) and our biking guide Antonella were all PHENOMENAL. The service and the food are first class.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Kimberly N. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I really enjoyed the staff, Sylvia and Barbara and the delicious dinners! They were so cute and fun. Loved the cheese factory, and Antonella was a wonderful tour guide.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Montgomery M. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Sailing Home exceeded my expectations! The crew was excellent, the scenery magnificant, and I totally didn't expect a French-trained gourmet chef to prepare our meals complete with nightly explanation of each dish and it's country of origin. This is an intimate cruise ship experience for only 24 persons.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Charlotte A. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Riding through the countryside and small villages, visiting Arles and Les Beaux.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Andrew O. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It is impossible to single out a single most memorable time. The food was delicious, the tour guide wonderful, the cycling routes took us to a variety of historical, cultural, and geographical places. We saw castles, an abbey, art, old villages, wildlife, walled cities, mountain top views, and took several short cruises on the river, The days were full, we had downtime when needed but were always kept busy if desired.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Mainz to Merzig
    by Courtney R. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The owners and staff were fabulous. The boat was beautiful with very comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms. The common areas were comfortable, flexible, and nicely decorated. The food was delicious. Unfortunately the bikes weren't in very good condition, and that impacted the whole group since we stayed together with our tour guide (flat tires, locked gears, bad brakes). We had lots of rain, so we didn't see much of the beautiful scenery.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube-Passau-Belgrade-Vienna aboard the Primadonna
    by Brian O. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The boat and staff were nice.
    Food was plentiful and good
    Our hotel the night before did not have our registration, very difficult to get anyone on a phone
    The people we picked up the bikes from were surly and just plain painful
    The bike was the same weight as a Sherman tank
    The boat was poorly equipped for handling bikes although the crew worked hard to make it less painful
    We never had enough time to ride and see the sights, we were always under the gun to get back to the boat
    Really thought we were going to be able to sit and have lunches and drinks and see all the sights during our rides
    As it turned out there was only one day where we weren’t in a deadly hurray and even that day we had 20 minutes to drink a beer at a local outside bar
    Came back in the dark often, dangerous
    Directions we revived sucked! Language interpretation was always an issue
    The boat was often not where we expected it to be when we returned
    Read more… >Still enjoyed my vacation but it could have been so much better

    Boat: Primadonna

    Countries: Germany, Serbia, Austria

  • Alentejo Vineyards
    by Peter F. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The layers of history in a Unesco World Heritage site spanning Neolithic megaliths, Roman temples, Moorish sites, and Christian Cathedrals provides a fascinating backdrop to this tour. The added luxury of staying in 12th - 16th century restored hotels with beautiful grounds really made the tour special. And of course peddling through the vineyards, cork groves, marble sites, makes for a truly unique experience. Sampling the local wines and food provides many unique memories.

    Countries: Portugal

PWPC