Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 3117

 


Lonnie Maddox
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

We are two couples who rode this tour on two tandems. We thoroughly enjoyed the entire ride, which was mainly on cycle paths or on low-traffic roads. The sights, the food and the accommodations were outstanding and can’t recommend them strongly enough. Make sure to take a side trip to Mainau Island. Truly a tour any cyclist would enjoy. Just do it!

LEONIDAS ROUSSINOS
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Innsbruck to Venice
Austria, Italy

My wife Clara and our daughter Stephanie did this tour in the fall of 2019. Tripsite was once again outstanding in providing service and information and all the GPS files for the bike route. The hotels were all top quality and friendly service with the best ones in Innsbruck and at the hot baths of Padua. I was at first worried about the quality of the bike paths as we have done a dozen or more trips (10 through Tripsite) through the Netherlands and Germany where the paths as excellent. To my and everyone else's surprise the bike paths were well marked and of great condition with a few not-so-great patches here and there but great overall. We made good friends on the trip and we cycled alone and with others on some days and typically had meals with others in the group of 12 or 14 people. The sights are panoramic. I must note that we started on September 5th from Innsbruck at -2 degrees Celsius and snow on the very first day and ended in Venice with +30 Celsius on the last day. Read More

June Hearne
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

I'd recommend this tour 100%. Well organised and quite luxurious. I was on the Ava Maria and found it very comfortable. Every afternoon on our return to the boat, we would all sit on the top deck with a canopy over (this was July) and were served cold drinks, watermelon and a selection of refreshing fruits. Meals were superb. I'm a novice cyclist but the tour catered for everyone. A flat course, which is why we chose it.

Ana Karla e Lázaro
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Sicily - Syracuse, Noto Valley, & Baroque Villages
Italy

Fizemos esse tour em setembro/2019, adoramos! Desde o transfer, bikes, roteiro até as pessoas, tudo maravilhoso! Muita história, emoções e comida boa! Recomendamos!

Chris A.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Beautiful scenery from Amsterdam to Bruges!

Sally Fischbeck
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Barneveld Townhouse for Rent
Netherlands

Excellent location for an authentic view of the Netherlands! We never had to rent a car, only a bike. We flew into Amsterdam and took a train to Barneveld and walked the short distance to the townhouse from the station. From there we had lots of marked bike paths as well as roads to explore this beautiful farming area. We easily walked to a grocery store and various restaurants. The accommodations at the townhouse were very comfortable and clean, and it was right next to a park and an elementary school. It was so fun to see children being dropped off by parents by bike in the morning! We also used the train (loading our bikes on the train with us) to explore nearby cities and flower festivals. Easy to do, and a real European experience! We learned about the history of the area during WW II and could see the earthen works fortifications along some of the bike paths. Would recommend you get a local guide to explain more about that. I highly recommend this location. We felt immersed in the country and didn't feel like tourists, although because we wore bike helmets we did look like tourists!

Sally Snyder
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

Four intrepid bikers completed the 8 day tour just ahead of covid-19 March 20, 2020. Lisbon and the coastal bike route were grand, as described. Maps could have been better quality. Two GPS supplied with route loaded, finding the correct route in towns and leaving villages was a challenge. Lodgings and restaurants very nice, some staying open when we were the only guests. Sergio, Enrique and Diego, and Tripsite were extremely helpful daily! Thanks. We are home now, finished with the virus quarantine, well and ready to create a photo log of the trip.

Mary kay C.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Merlijn’s Magical Christmas Cruise in Germany
Germany

Our tour on the Merlijn was a wonderful trip, a great way to get in the Christmas spirit! My favorite part was relaxing on the boat and the delicious meals prepared by our hosts, and visiting all the Christmas markets in the cities along the way.

Rosemary P.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I am truly amazed about quantity of 5 star reviews for this tour, as I could only give it a 2 star! And, this 2 rating is for the wonderful restaurant and housekeeping staff , as the boat crew , bike assistants were unpleasant to deal with, and the captain kept his distance. This was such a drastic difference from my very enjoyable Netherlands, and Croatia bike and boat tours. The maps and directions were inadequate and usually incorrect. The "tour guide" (who never lead a tour) Jan was unbelievably nasty, rude and impatient about any and all questions and concerns. He sent many on what was to be an easy, level ride only for it to take us over a mountain where our bikes were unsuitable and directions e completely wrong. I would not recommend neither this boat or trip to anyone.

Tom M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Biking was just ok, could have been more challenging but I knew going into this tour the biking was rated easy. The towns and villages are beautiful. The breakfast was good but the lunches they gave you for the tour during the day were horrible, thankfully there were places to eat along the way. The dinners were also poor quality, many dinners were a repeat of the day before presented differently ,especially the fish dinners. There also seem to be a discontent among the staff they could’ve been a little bit more accommodating and friendly. The rooms are basically neat and clean and comfortable the bikes were also good and the mechanics that maintain them were readily available to assist anyone in the morning before the ride. My main concern was the constant smell of sewage that was present throughout the boat and especially in the main lobby ,they often kept the sliding glass doors on both sides of the ship open to alleviate the smell. This was an obvious problem they Read More

Deborah C.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

South Africa Kruger National Park Safari
South Africa

The Tripsite team told me this would be our best trip yet. They were right! The guides, Lizelle and Wendall were terrific, very knowledgeable and accommodating. The whole South African experience - the cycling and animal experiences - safaris and bush walks were amazing. It was nice to have varied activities -day to day. Would highly recommend this trip.

Barbara H.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

South Africa Kruger National Park Safari
South Africa

The trip owner, Lizell, was absolutely wonderful! She made it a very personal experience. Wendell, the guide was outstanding!

Ronnie L.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

South Africa Kruger National Park Safari
South Africa

Great tour, great tour guides, accommodations and food were exceptional. We got a nice taste of this area of South Africa, including several safari experiences. Great value.

David and Anne S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Famous Villages of Provence
France

This was the best bike trip of our lives. We took it in early June, 2019 with e-bikes and upgraded accommodations. Unless you're a strong cyclist, e-bikes are the way to go for this trip. First, the hotels were amazing and in each one after the first the specific rooms reserved were wonderful. The first hotel in Avignon was simply awful. Not only because the air conditioning was out, but the room was tacky, in bad repair, and was musty. The tour needs to have this changed. The common areas were just fine, it was only our room. Another thing to change would be the route on the first day through Avignon - heavy traffic, a lot of road construction, and then cycling on a road with a narrow shoulder, semi trucks, and 30 mph winds. This was still a five-star trip. I hadn't done much research ahead of time, and so Les Baux de Provence and Fontaine de Vaucluse each came as a complete and wonderful surprise - I had not even imagined places of such beauty and charm. There Read More

David, Anne, Ryan S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Basque Country to Asturias
Spain

We took this trip in late May, 2019, with e-bikes. It was a great trip with some amazing accommodations. Thoughts in no particular order: The first 3 hours of biking on the first day were pretty miserable, through industrial areas with no good place to ride on either the sidewalk or the road. Day 4 and Day 6 were spectacular, Day 4 was almost like a fantasy of a bike trip once we reached rural areas. The GPS was hard to read when the sun was out, and in several places we needed one person using the GPS and another the printed instructions. We've been on a number of bike trips, and the drivers in Spain were the most courteous and safe of any country - usually giving us at least 6 feet of space and never rushing us. The hotel (Organista) in Santillana del Mar was our favorite, with a wonderful host, Rafe, and an enchanting outdoor breakfast. (Note: this is right close to the Altamira cave, and we were glad we took the time to visit, even though it involved finding our own Read More

Gina F.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Vietnam
Vietnam, Cambodia

I think the Tam Coc rowboat excursion was the most memorable part of the trip, but honestly that entire day was spectacular and the entire trip was like unwrapping a new gift every day. We went two by two in Tam Coc on rowboats paddled by local farmers. Every time we turned a corner we were greeted with a new vision that if I told you what it was, it might ruin the surprise factor. That same day, right before dusk, we went to a bird sanctuary and got to see flocks of pelicans and other waterfowl returning to their roosts against a beautiful backdrop of the sun setting in a hidden valley.

Michelle T.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Valencia, Color and Contrasts
Spain

This was my first bike tour. I’m 47 and exercise regularly with a focus on cycling/spin. I travelled with a friend and we had an amazing experience. We did the tour a few weeks after the major storm and had great maps and GPS which included a personal sit down with Javier (Lazypedals) to explain the tour and bike fittings. (This did not happen on the next tour we took and were greatful we had this one first). I’m 5’11 and found the bikes to be very ergonomic. Be prepared for extra weight in the panniers for tools and bike locks. Bikes also included a light that we did not need but can see it how it could be necessary depending on your activities.
We loved the varied routes but found there to be quite a bit of hill climbing for the rating easy to moderate. In end we felt very accomplished!
The sights and smells of the countryside were amazing. i can not emphasize this enough. We had outstanding (above avg temps early oct) weather, amazing accommodation for Read More

Alan G.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Connemara
Ireland

Amazing riding with different terrain each day. Wonderful scenery. Bikes good. Company good. Food good. Guide very good. Best cycling trip I have been on and I have been on a few. Can't wait to go back to Ireland.

Bob M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

St. Moritz to Innsbruck
Austria, Switzerland

This trip reaffirmed by previous experiences that dealing directly with a local provider is the best way to go for overseas bike tours. Although Tripsite was excellent in their pre-trip work, their local partner -- EuroBike -- left a lot to be desired. And, once you are at the site of your trip, Tripsite has nothing to offer, so you are in the hands of their partner. The problems with EuroBike start with this unsolvable fact: They are NOT located in Switzerland. As their name implies, they run trips all over Europe. So when we needed an extra ebike, they couldn't come through. When we had problems with the ebikes we did have, they couldn't come through. The bike mapping they supplied was in German; we speak English. More unacceptable was the fact they were not aware of several sections of the Inn River Bike Trail that had been closed since the huge spring snow runoff had wiped out two bridges and closed several kilometers of trail. Their mapping notes provided NO alternate Read More

Craig M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fleur Montargis to Paris
France

I recently returned from a bike and barge trip in France which I booked through Tripsite. The trip was from Montargis to Paris and was provided by Bike Boat Tours based in Amsterdam. This trip was exceptional as it was for myself and 9 of my family members, eight of whom had never traveled to Europe before. I have personally used Tripsite many times in the past and as in all previous instances they were totally professional. They handled any communication to the tour provider, provided a link for trip insurance and all last minute advice regarding clothing, tipping, currency exchange, location where to board the boat, etc. Working with Tripsite is key to making foreign travel easy and I'm sure I will be contacting them again.

Patsy V.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Classic Lady Poland’s Lake District
Poland

The Lake District of Poland is an undiscovered region of outstanding beauty in Poland and Europe - full of forests, farms, WWII history, fabulous food and welcoming Poles! Add a day or 2 in Warsaw with interesting free guided walking tours and you get a good sense of urban and rural Poland.
The itinerary for riding is a spiderweb of forest dirt roads, very challenging sandy farm roads, traffic for short distances on some paved roads, and lovely low traffic paved roads. This trip reqiires diverse biking skills but with an adventurous spirit, lots of rewards.

Ross M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

This is the best kept secret for those of us that enjoy intimate, caring, luxurious adventure with people that will care and spoil you along the way. Quo Vadis will always be our first choice if available and the standard by what we measure all of our other trips.

Patti S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The beautiful scenery along the Mosel River is the star of this Bike and Barge trip! The vineyard along the steep mountain face for miles and miles, the gorgeous river meandering , the church steeple in every village, and the ancient castles on the mountain top! I could not believe I was there in the midst of this! Would not hesitate to recommend this trip to anyone and I have!

Jean H.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Poland’s Lake District
Poland

The trip was much harder than I expected. The rating was easy to moderate but I felt it was moderate to difficult. Going through the sand and gravel paths was challenging even though I had an e-bike. My first trip was from Bruges to the Amsterdam and I had wonderful experiences on a regular bike. But if this Mazuria lakes district was my first trip, I would not have signed up for a second. The Magnifique 2 was much more comfortable and there was free coffee, tea, and even hot chocolate all day long. On the classic lady, there wasn't even free water. The state rooms were comparable on both trips. But the magnifique had a sitting area where we could gather and talk. On the classic lady, we had to sit at the dining room tables to socialize. The food was good

Ruth B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

Loved the buffet meal in Poland-delicious food, great sitting outside by the water, great band & fun dancing!

Patti N.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Atlantic West Coast & Sintra
Portugal

We loved the scenery and the overnight communities. The trip was well organized and easy to follow with the Garmin. The bikes were excellent. I highly recommend this tour!

James C.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Barge trip out of Paris was special. Great way to begin trip and see Paris on Sunday morning. Biking through back roads and trails of France and Belgium was great.

Elizabeth B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

England’s Lake District E-Bike Tour
England

Excellent hotels! Make sure your bike is fitted by a mechanic at the bike store the day before your first ride. Our local host Ian was excellent but would never have been able to adjust the bikes to our requirements. We brought our own seats. A second device for holding the cell phone on the handlebars should have been provided.

Elizabeth J.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Beluga Galapagos Bike & Boat
Ecuador

Itinerary was great! Beluga yacht was awesome! Great service, crew,food,and logistics. The Enchanted lodge was lovely and the service and food were perfect. We were the only ones on the extended bike tour and our guides were very flexible and knowledgable. If you want an active experience with a lot of variety and high quality service this is the trip for you!

We found the biking to be strenuous and modified it for less biking and more kayaking and hiking.

Kristin P
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Merlijn’s Magical Christmas Cruise in Germany
Germany

What a trip! I felt like it was meant to be since we had just started talking about going on a Xmas market trip just before the email came announcing this maiden voyage. Every stop was memorable. Landschaftspark and getting to see the industrial side of the Rhine was an added bonus to the beautiful Xmas markets. We didn't think we'd want to spend too much time outside while the boat was cruising, but we even had some comfortable cruising time outside. The crew and the other passengers made the trip though. What a great bunch!