Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 3112

 


Sally Snyder
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast and Algarve
Portugal

Four intrepid bikers completed the 8 day tour just ahead of covid-19 March 20, 2020. Lisbon and the coastal bike route were grand, as described. Maps could have been better quality. Two GPS supplied with route loaded, finding the correct route in towns and leaving villages was a challenge. Lodgings and restaurants very nice, some staying open when we were the only guests. Sergio, Enrique and Diego, and Tripsite were extremely helpful daily! Thanks. We are home now, finished with the virus quarantine, well and ready to create a photo log of the trip.

Mary kay C.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Merlijn’s Magical Christmas Cruise in Germany
Germany

Our tour on the Merlijn was a wonderful trip, a great way to get in the Christmas spirit! My favorite part was relaxing on the boat and the delicious meals prepared by our hosts, and visiting all the Christmas markets in the cities along the way.

Rosemary P.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I am truly amazed about quantity of 5 star reviews for this tour, as I could only give it a 2 star! And, this 2 rating is for the wonderful restaurant and housekeeping staff , as the boat crew , bike assistants were unpleasant to deal with, and the captain kept his distance. This was such a drastic difference from my very enjoyable Netherlands, and Croatia bike and boat tours. The maps and directions were inadequate and usually incorrect. The "tour guide" (who never lead a tour) Jan was unbelievably nasty, rude and impatient about any and all questions and concerns. He sent many on what was to be an easy, level ride only for it to take us over a mountain where our bikes were unsuitable and directions e completely wrong. I would not recommend neither this boat or trip to anyone.

Tom M.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Biking was just ok, could have been more challenging but I knew going into this tour the biking was rated easy. The towns and villages are beautiful. The breakfast was good but the lunches they gave you for the tour during the day were horrible, thankfully there were places to eat along the way. The dinners were also poor quality, many dinners were a repeat of the day before presented differently ,especially the fish dinners. There also seem to be a discontent among the staff they could’ve been a little bit more accommodating and friendly. The rooms are basically neat and clean and comfortable the bikes were also good and the mechanics that maintain them were readily available to assist anyone in the morning before the ride. My main concern was the constant smell of sewage that was present throughout the boat and especially in the main lobby ,they often kept the sliding glass doors on both sides of the ship open to alleviate the smell. This was an obvious problem they Read More

Deborah C.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

South Africa Kruger National Park Safari
South Africa

The Tripsite team told me this would be our best trip yet. They were right! The guides, Lizelle and Wendall were terrific, very knowledgeable and accommodating. The whole South African experience - the cycling and animal experiences - safaris and bush walks were amazing. It was nice to have varied activities -day to day. Would highly recommend this trip.

Barbara H.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

South Africa Kruger National Park Safari
South Africa

The trip owner, Lizell, was absolutely wonderful! She made it a very personal experience. Wendell, the guide was outstanding!

Ronnie L.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

South Africa Kruger National Park Safari
South Africa

Great tour, great tour guides, accommodations and food were exceptional. We got a nice taste of this area of South Africa, including several safari experiences. Great value.

David and Anne S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Famous Villages of Provence
France

This was the best bike trip of our lives. We took it in early June, 2019 with e-bikes and upgraded accommodations. Unless you're a strong cyclist, e-bikes are the way to go for this trip. First, the hotels were amazing and in each one after the first the specific rooms reserved were wonderful. The first hotel in Avignon was simply awful. Not only because the air conditioning was out, but the room was tacky, in bad repair, and was musty. The tour needs to have this changed. The common areas were just fine, it was only our room. Another thing to change would be the route on the first day through Avignon - heavy traffic, a lot of road construction, and then cycling on a road with a narrow shoulder, semi trucks, and 30 mph winds. This was still a five-star trip. I hadn't done much research ahead of time, and so Les Baux de Provence and Fontaine de Vaucluse each came as a complete and wonderful surprise - I had not even imagined places of such beauty and charm. There Read More

David, Anne, Ryan S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Basque Country to Asturias
Spain

We took this trip in late May, 2019, with e-bikes. It was a great trip with some amazing accommodations. Thoughts in no particular order: The first 3 hours of biking on the first day were pretty miserable, through industrial areas with no good place to ride on either the sidewalk or the road. Day 4 and Day 6 were spectacular, Day 4 was almost like a fantasy of a bike trip once we reached rural areas. The GPS was hard to read when the sun was out, and in several places we needed one person using the GPS and another the printed instructions. We've been on a number of bike trips, and the drivers in Spain were the most courteous and safe of any country - usually giving us at least 6 feet of space and never rushing us. The hotel (Organista) in Santillana del Mar was our favorite, with a wonderful host, Rafe, and an enchanting outdoor breakfast. (Note: this is right close to the Altamira cave, and we were glad we took the time to visit, even though it involved finding our own Read More

Gina F.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Vietnam
Vietnam, Cambodia

I think the Tam Coc rowboat excursion was the most memorable part of the trip, but honestly that entire day was spectacular and the entire trip was like unwrapping a new gift every day. We went two by two in Tam Coc on rowboats paddled by local farmers. Every time we turned a corner we were greeted with a new vision that if I told you what it was, it might ruin the surprise factor. That same day, right before dusk, we went to a bird sanctuary and got to see flocks of pelicans and other waterfowl returning to their roosts against a beautiful backdrop of the sun setting in a hidden valley.

Michelle T.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Valencia, Color and Contrasts
Spain

This was my first bike tour. I’m 47 and exercise regularly with a focus on cycling/spin. I travelled with a friend and we had an amazing experience. We did the tour a few weeks after the major storm and had great maps and GPS which included a personal sit down with Javier (Lazypedals) to explain the tour and bike fittings. (This did not happen on the next tour we took and were greatful we had this one first). I’m 5’11 and found the bikes to be very ergonomic. Be prepared for extra weight in the panniers for tools and bike locks. Bikes also included a light that we did not need but can see it how it could be necessary depending on your activities.
We loved the varied routes but found there to be quite a bit of hill climbing for the rating easy to moderate. In end we felt very accomplished!
The sights and smells of the countryside were amazing. i can not emphasize this enough. We had outstanding (above avg temps early oct) weather, amazing accommodation for Read More

Alan G.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Connemara
Ireland

Amazing riding with different terrain each day. Wonderful scenery. Bikes good. Company good. Food good. Guide very good. Best cycling trip I have been on and I have been on a few. Can't wait to go back to Ireland.

Bob M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

St. Moritz to Innsbruck
Austria, Switzerland

This trip reaffirmed by previous experiences that dealing directly with a local provider is the best way to go for overseas bike tours. Although Tripsite was excellent in their pre-trip work, their local partner -- EuroBike -- left a lot to be desired. And, once you are at the site of your trip, Tripsite has nothing to offer, so you are in the hands of their partner. The problems with EuroBike start with this unsolvable fact: They are NOT located in Switzerland. As their name implies, they run trips all over Europe. So when we needed an extra ebike, they couldn't come through. When we had problems with the ebikes we did have, they couldn't come through. The bike mapping they supplied was in German; we speak English. More unacceptable was the fact they were not aware of several sections of the Inn River Bike Trail that had been closed since the huge spring snow runoff had wiped out two bridges and closed several kilometers of trail. Their mapping notes provided NO alternate Read More

Craig M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fleur Montargis to Paris
France

I recently returned from a bike and barge trip in France which I booked through Tripsite. The trip was from Montargis to Paris and was provided by Bike Boat Tours based in Amsterdam. This trip was exceptional as it was for myself and 9 of my family members, eight of whom had never traveled to Europe before. I have personally used Tripsite many times in the past and as in all previous instances they were totally professional. They handled any communication to the tour provider, provided a link for trip insurance and all last minute advice regarding clothing, tipping, currency exchange, location where to board the boat, etc. Working with Tripsite is key to making foreign travel easy and I'm sure I will be contacting them again.

Patsy V.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Classic Lady Poland’s Lake District
Poland

The Lake District of Poland is an undiscovered region of outstanding beauty in Poland and Europe - full of forests, farms, WWII history, fabulous food and welcoming Poles! Add a day or 2 in Warsaw with interesting free guided walking tours and you get a good sense of urban and rural Poland.
The itinerary for riding is a spiderweb of forest dirt roads, very challenging sandy farm roads, traffic for short distances on some paved roads, and lovely low traffic paved roads. This trip reqiires diverse biking skills but with an adventurous spirit, lots of rewards.

Ross M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

This is the best kept secret for those of us that enjoy intimate, caring, luxurious adventure with people that will care and spoil you along the way. Quo Vadis will always be our first choice if available and the standard by what we measure all of our other trips.

Patti S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The beautiful scenery along the Mosel River is the star of this Bike and Barge trip! The vineyard along the steep mountain face for miles and miles, the gorgeous river meandering , the church steeple in every village, and the ancient castles on the mountain top! I could not believe I was there in the midst of this! Would not hesitate to recommend this trip to anyone and I have!

Jean H.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Poland’s Lake District
Poland

The trip was much harder than I expected. The rating was easy to moderate but I felt it was moderate to difficult. Going through the sand and gravel paths was challenging even though I had an e-bike. My first trip was from Bruges to the Amsterdam and I had wonderful experiences on a regular bike. But if this Mazuria lakes district was my first trip, I would not have signed up for a second. The Magnifique 2 was much more comfortable and there was free coffee, tea, and even hot chocolate all day long. On the classic lady, there wasn't even free water. The state rooms were comparable on both trips. But the magnifique had a sitting area where we could gather and talk. On the classic lady, we had to sit at the dining room tables to socialize. The food was good

Ruth B.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

Loved the buffet meal in Poland-delicious food, great sitting outside by the water, great band & fun dancing!

Patti N.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Atlantic West Coast & Sintra
Portugal

We loved the scenery and the overnight communities. The trip was well organized and easy to follow with the Garmin. The bikes were excellent. I highly recommend this tour!

James C.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Barge trip out of Paris was special. Great way to begin trip and see Paris on Sunday morning. Biking through back roads and trails of France and Belgium was great.

Elizabeth B.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

England’s Lake District E-Bike Tour
England

Excellent hotels! Make sure your bike is fitted by a mechanic at the bike store the day before your first ride. Our local host Ian was excellent but would never have been able to adjust the bikes to our requirements. We brought our own seats. A second device for holding the cell phone on the handlebars should have been provided.

Elizabeth J.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Beluga Galapagos Bike and Boat
Ecuador

Itinerary was great! Beluga yacht was awesome! Great service, crew,food,and logistics. The Enchanted lodge was lovely and the service and food were perfect. We were the only ones on the extended bike tour and our guides were very flexible and knowledgable. If you want an active experience with a lot of variety and high quality service this is the trip for you!

We found the biking to be strenuous and modified it for less biking and more kayaking and hiking.

Kristin P
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Merlijn’s Magical Christmas Cruise in Germany
Germany

What a trip! I felt like it was meant to be since we had just started talking about going on a Xmas market trip just before the email came announcing this maiden voyage. Every stop was memorable. Landschaftspark and getting to see the industrial side of the Rhine was an added bonus to the beautiful Xmas markets. We didn't think we'd want to spend too much time outside while the boat was cruising, but we even had some comfortable cruising time outside. The crew and the other passengers made the trip though. What a great bunch!

Sandra S.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sarah Amsterdam to Maastricht
Netherlands

Seeing the Netherlands by bike is an enjoyable way to do so. It was also fun to share our experiences each day on the barge with a group of like-minded people. Our bike leader made sure that our needs were met.

Paula H.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

Our guide was wonderful. It made our bike riding less stressful. Meet some great people from different countries. Enjoyed our dinner every night. The staff was helpful.

Diane Z.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

We thoroughly enjoyed the trip. The itinerary, written directions and maps were great. Taking the ferry out of Venice and riding through the historic town centers were definite highlights.

Blaine L.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Trip was great.
Crew treated us to a very friendly and efficient environment. Food was amazing, dinners each night had a theme from different countries. It was a highlight of each to have this kind of dinner waiting.

Bike ride started in Bruge with great trails and welcoming towns. As we moved to France a few days of rolling hills with interesting stops during the day.

Our guide had his hands full with 24 riders but he was professional, organized, well informed and was just a great person to sit and talk with.

A great trip with a great crew looking after us.

Blaine Larsen

Camille B.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

My favourite parts of the trip were spending time in Cochem, the happy hour the entire group would spend “debriefing” at the end of the day on the deck of the boat, both vineyards that we visited and the incredible gardens we saw as we rode along the Moselle river.

My suggestions:

Clear instructions about the day we board the boat. Everyone was confused about whether we simply drop off our luggage, stay on the boat, is there dinner on the boat?? Etc.

It would have been nice to have some background music on the boat during breakfast, happy hour, dinner or the evening. I heard a number of people mention this.

A few planned activities on the boat would have been a lot of fun. A theme dinner, trivia night, learn to make the local cocktail, a local historian gives a presentation, a quick and simple local language lesson, etc. People also commented on this and would have gladly paid another 100 Euros for a few little “extras” like these.

Celeste N.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

The trip was as we expected -- enjoyed both the biking & wine tours. Thanks for the ebikes.