Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 4938

 


Lynn M.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Santa Marta and Colombia’s Lost City
Colombia

An extremely well organized and well planned trip. A more ambitious hike than we expected up to the Lost City and back with very steep terrain up and down along the way. I can't imagine hiking this in the rainy season. It would have been very slippery and very difficult to walk back down the steep 1200 steps from the Lost City in the rain. The hiking guides were very helpful and considerate. Their knowledge of the surrounding birds along the Lost City Trek was not as strong as I was hoping for.
Our guide, Christian, on the Tayrona National Park coastal hike was very knowledgeable in all aspects both of the area and of the flora and fauna.
The local tour company was readily accessible once we were back to cell phone service after the Lost City hike. Especially when one of us became ill such that we needed to cancel our tubing experience.
The Hotel Jorara eco-hotel after the Lost City hike was a wonderful experience. We enjoyed a very large room and an open air Read More

Greg R.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  RV River Kwai Thailand Adventure
Thailand

The time on the boat was the most memorable. Biking was good but a couple of times ended up walking up hills. It was in the 90's for our January trip so that was challenging as well a couple of times. Would suggest an e bike for those who aren't very strong cyclist. However the island portion also had two steep hills and e bike was not an option.

William (Rob) R.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Costa Rica Bike Tour & Adventure
Costa Rica

Great chance for our 8-person group to celebrate time together and explore Monteverde, Arenal and the Guanacaste Coast!
Tripsite helped us update their usual itinerary to fit our goals. Once in Costa Rica, every driver was prompt and every guide was helpful.
Well-informed guides helped us see many unique native birds and animals and understand the regions we visited.
The hotels near Arenal and the beach offered particularly good restaurants and spaces to relax together.

Ian and Phyllis Paine
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Classic Tuscany E-Bike tour
Italy

We booked this trip for September, 2023 and had numerous issues with this company. We are experienced cyclists both on regular and e-bikes, and have cycled in Europe previously. With Tripsite, on the first day, the bikes were delivered to us without helmets and even without a seat. On Cycling Day 1, one of the apps on our phones was blank and it took a while to get that reinstalled. Halfway through the route, we found ourselves stuck on the side of the road, as our bikes no longer had a charge. They were transported to our final destination for the day by van/shuttle. On Cycling Day 2, only one of the two chargers was working, so one bike was still dead. We used the only working charger to charge the second bike - which takes 3-4 hours. After an obviously late start, again the bikes were just not what was needed for this route. It is not "Easy-Moderate" as stated and we found ourselves pushing very heavy bikes up very steep hills. Again the bikes were not Read More

Nicolas R.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The ease and convenience of returning to the ship every afternoon to share experiences with the rest of our group was the most noteworthy comment I could make. However there were many other hiighliights.
Riding through the Dutch countryside on the first day was a highlight.
Both guides and the bikes were great and the varied nature of the cycle paths on this tour was terrific.
Food was varied, good quality and well prepared. Rooms were efficient and comfortable as advertised.
Onboard staff from Croatia were terrific – friendly, hard working, accommodating and very nice with our grandsons.

Carla B.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Vietnam & Cambodia
Vietnam, Cambodia

Our local guide, Hoang, was simply excellent. He gave us a good deal of the history of Vietnam, and provided many learning opportunities while on our rides. My husband had some special needs, and he checked in with him often, to make sure he was comfortable. We appreciated his kindness and friendship. The bike rides themselves were always interesting, only occasionally challenging, and always fun. The tours in between the biking were great - very balanced, not too long, and interesting. It was so much more than a bike tour! Kayaking, picnic lunch on the beach, cooking lessons, walking tours!! They were all great! Getting caught in the flood in Hue and evacuated by dug-out canoe was pretty memorable, but handled so well!! If this was to happen again, there was certainly more than enough room in the passenger section of the bus for all our luggage; this would have prevented our luggage from getting water-logged.
I loved Hoi An the best; so glad we had 3 nights there. The Read More

Christine M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Matera to Lecce
Italy

Wonderful bicycling along rural roads without much traffic. The tour operator was welcoming and attentive. The accommodations were splendid! There was absolutely nothing negative about this trip!

kathleen o.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Puglia Food & Wine
Italy

Excellent tour operator, very clear instructions, excellent communication and all of the included amenities met or were better than expected. Routes were great with minimal gravel or traffic and sites along the way well marked on the gps program . The included food was exceptional.
Highly recommend.

Shelly Z.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

My husband and I loved the trip, our first bike/barge adventure. The boat, captain, crew, chef, and tour guides were wonderful. We enjoyed the other guests as well, which included couples and singles from the USA and Europe. The miles and miles of bike trails and visited sites were beautiful and memorable. Since experiencing the biking adventure, I have the following suggestions for potential guests. Bike riders should already have good bike riding skills. There are many path twists and turns to navigate, including sometimes in metropolitan areas. Before the trip, find out how many guests have selected e-bikes. If the majority are on e-bikes, it will be hard for the average bike rider on a regular bike to keep up with the group, even when the tour level is stated as “easy.” And, "easy" does not mean there are no hills or quick elevation gains. The group stays together. The tour is not at your own pace. We look forward to booking another tour through tripsite.

Rick and Leigh Malaspina
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Umbria - Culinary Walking Tour
Italy

We took this tour in mid-October and thoroughly enjoyed the hotels, towns, and special dinners included. Petra and Paolo gave us an arrival-night orientation which was very helpful and reassuring. This was our first self-guided tour with Tripsite. The hotels were truly lovely with hosts who were welcoming and accommodating. Their breakfasts were substantial. The three towns were new to us which was a delight.

Our walking directions were excellent. We did not take all the planned walks, choosing to walk other places that were particularly appealing to us.

We found Spello to be our favorite of these three towns and enjoyed immensely the wine-tasting dinner at Enoteco Properzio.

Spoleto was special for us because of the sister arts festival in our home town of Charleston, SC, selected by Menotti himself.

Any time we visit Umbria again, we will check in with Umbria & Ecologico Tours for guidance.

Many thanks to them and Tripsite for this self-guided tour of the region of Umbria.

Richard C.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

My favorite part of the trip was touring Montova. This was our 3rd bike barge trip and I'm sorry to say that the scenery we saw while riding 3 of the 5 days was a bit disappointing. The barge and the food was the best of the 3 trips. We also rode a little too much along some busy roads without much of a shoulder.

James P.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Madeira Paradise
Portugal

The vistas were fantastic from all over Madeira. The two different sides of the island had two totally different water features. Some were rugged and straight into the water while others had calmer waters. The vegetation was beautiful. Very hilly which makes for dramatic views.

Al & Sue
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Dalmatian Coast from Split to Dubrovnik
Croatia

We have reviewed the comments by Dona C. and we agree with her comments -- this was a great way to see the Islands. The briefing (2 hours) and the material (very comprehensive) provided by the tour operator (Tony) was excellent. We navigated by using the Ride with GPS App, a Garmin and the written materials. We found that the Ride with GPS App was the best, but when we ran out of power, the written materials worked just fine. If you are using the App, you need to carry a power bank. The only navigating issue was on Day 6 at 6.29 kms—very confusing to find the trail notwithstanding using both the App and the written instructions—have the Tour operator explain the instructions—having said that, we found the trail (through house’s back yards). When we booked, we had requested hiking poles. When we received the briefing—the tour operator had no record of the same (it normally does not rent hiking poles), but the tour operator contacted Tripsite and the tour Read More

Julie C.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Classic or Luxury Famous Villages of Provence
France

We experienced the most amazing trip for our wedding anniversary. The self-guided tour was a great way to visit this beautiful region at your own pace. The hotels picked out were absolutely gorgeous and well situated, all the main sights were at walking distance. I have to say that the itinerary was a bit harder than we expected and there were some very steep (and long) climbs. We highly recommend this trip!

Kathleen Wendy M.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Porto to Lisbon
Portugal

The route was great, the bikes were great, good hotels and weather was challenging. We would definitely do this trip again.

Josephine K.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Sicily - Syracuse, Noto Valley, & Baroque Villages
Italy

The Sicily trip was wonderful. The route, the cities and towns, the countryside, and coast were beautiful. I loved the ancient history and architecture. Best of all we’re our two guides, Fillipio and Claudio. They know their Island and shared their knowledge and love of Sicily with us.

Mary Monahan G.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Sicily - Syracuse, Noto Valley, & Baroque Villages
Italy

This trip was fabulous! The organization from strt to finish was professional. The rides were challenging on the first two days. The rides along the water wee spectacular. The guides, Claudio and Filippo were outstanding. They organized fabulous experiences for our group both on the road while biking but also in the towns with tours and restaurants. I highly recommend this trip.

Frederick O.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Funan Cruise Vietnam & Cambodia
Vietnam, Cambodia

Hoang our guide really made the trip special. His insights and wonderful personality were delightful. The hike in Ha Long Bay area was a bad idea and should be eliminated. We had to crawl through low hanging electric cable at least 25 times. Also the trail was simply dangerous and there is no way to evacuate anyone who twist an ankle or breaks a leg.

David J.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Four Countries of Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland

The Four Countries of Lake Constance was my tenth trip with Tripsite. Since 2017 I have done four bike and barge trips and five self-guided trips.

The partner company that runs this trip for Tripsite was excellent. With my wife in 2018 I did a 10 day circle eight trip around Lake Constance with the same partner. Therefore, I was already familiar with them.

They have beautiful modern bike place in Constance. The electric bikes they supplied my friend and myself were excellent, far better than the bikes supplied by vendors in other nations. Radweg’s employees were knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Their printed materials, maps and BikeGPX routes were also excellent.

My friend and I were very excited about our trip, but suddenly he fell ill with COVID-19. Therefore, all I can write about is the first day’s ride from Constance to Schaffhausen. It was a beautiful ride with interesting historic places to stop. However, by the time we arrived at Schaffhausen Read More

Patricia (Pat) B.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

RJ and the crew on the Quo Vadis were amazing. Every day Rikko and Wim would lead us through beautiful countryside and lovely towns. They shared much history of the Mosel region and educated us about the vineyards and wine production. The pace each day allowed exploring in the towns and then time to relax before dinner. The meals were delicious with attractive presentation and kept us fueled for the day's ride. Thanks to Inma, Marianne and Kim for taking care of us. It was a great vacation that I would highly recommend - physically active, beautiful scenery, history and much fun with the other riders and crew!

Beth D.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Catalonian Flavors of the Mediterranean
Spain

We loved our Catalonia bike trip! Having the routes set up for us without having to give them a thought was invaluable! They took us to a variety of towns each with their own flavor and style. The hotels were wonderful, and the tour operator couldn't have been more of top of picking up and delivering our luggage as expected. We would not hesitate to recommend this vacation to others and already have!

Lorraine M.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Catalonian Flavors of the Mediterranean
Spain

Riding through the cobblestone streets in every town. And taking in all the beautiful authentic homes and buildings.

Louise V.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Sicily - Syracuse, Noto Valley, & Baroque Villages
Italy

I loved our guides. They were always available and did all they could to make the trip fun, interesting and successful. They also were attentive to the groups safety. The cities we visited were unique and interesting.

Ann M.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Sicily - Syracuse, Noto Valley, & Baroque Villages
Italy

The route was awesome and covered a wide variety of landscapes. The guides were knowledgeable, flexible and fun and scheduled many fun stops along the way. I was happy to have an e-bike but there were some very fit individuals in our group who managed with a hybrid. The accommodations were not fancy but fine and of course the food was wonderful! My favorite part was being able to swim in the Mediterranean Sea!

Brenda P.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

This was our first trip with Tripsite and we had such an amazing time that we have already booked another one. The coastline was beautiful, the accommodations were unique, the bikes were in excellent shape. Our guides Miguel, Berto and Pedro were awesome and by the end of the trip felt more like friends than guides. We rented E-bikes which I am glad we did. There was a nice mix of trail and country road biking with some sections that were a little challenging but that is all part of the fun. I would highly recommend this trip and would encourage E bikes.

Lynn R.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Our second bike/ barge trip booked through tripsite did not disappoint! The ship was perfect, clean and clearly updated.The crew was hospitable and helpful.Our language ( english) was not a barrier on the trip, everyone was very accommodating! The food was excellent and choices were good.Leslie the tour director was superb.

The bike route was well mapped and we downloaded the app which worked well.Sites were amazing, weather which you can’t control good most days.Loved the small ferry rides, Austrian hills, the well appointed stops along the route.E bikes were a good choice for us and easy to manage

Perfect! Don’t hesitate to book this trip!

MARIA DE LOURDES D.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Amboise in the Loire Valley
France

Everything was perfect!! The bikes awesome. The places and the experience amazing! We had a wonderful time, even though the weather was not very good.

John A D.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

If someone asked me which tour to do I would say this was on of the top Portugal trips to do.
Super full of cultural and historical facts and experiences.

Rob K.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

Soon after we stepped on the Swiss Crown, we knew it was going to be a great trip. The room was spacious, the boat was luxurious and comfortable, and the food was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our e-bikes were suitable and in good condition. We thoroughly enjoyed the rides along the Danube that went through small villages, farmland, and forests. We toured 4 country capital cities and couldn’t stop taking pictures of the amazing architecture. We made friends with many guests and our guide Axel was outstanding in his hospitality, humour, and knowledge of the areas and their history. It was a vacation we will never forget!

Beilby K.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Sights to ride to everyday except one when we were rained out. Crew including leaders, chefs, and captain. The food was amazing everyday with themed creations representing the area we visited. Better wifi in cabins too. More technology using laptop, TV screen, music, etc. Could use some more shelves, cubbies, hooks for gear in cabins. Faucets that pour water over the deepest part of the sink not so close to the edge causing water all over sink top.