Along the North Sea - a Tulip Tour Tour Reviews — 1 to 11 of 11

Tulip fields at the Keukenhof near Lisse in the Netherlands. Flickr:Adriano Aurelio Araujo

Along the North Sea - a Tulip Tour

4–7 days from €500

3.9 out of 5

Along the North Sea - a Tulip Tour

Easy Bike Tour in Netherlands

Did you know that the North Sea Cycle Route is the world's longest signed international cycle route, passing through 7 countries? This bike tour in Holland focuses on the polder land of the North Sea…

3.9 out of 5

 


judith s.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Visiting Keukenhof gardens and witnessing the beauty of spring and the indescribable varieties of tulips and artistry of the flower beds. Experiencing while bike riding the endless flow of the fields of tulips that will suddenly appear in front me.

Tip: use public transportation, avoid private cars or rentals, all locations are reachable on public transport just use Google maps

Nancy W.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Kuekenhof
There was no place at the Prominent Hotel to safely lock the bikes. One Ebike had its control box torn off. Seems the bike store has to bear that cost. We did not ask for but thought one repair kit would have been provided. Panniers, though promised were not available. Bike store was closed on Sunday so had there been a break down no support would have been available that day. Bikes were OK but gearing on one were rough and catchy. Otherwise most were happy with the bikes though very heavy.

Miguel L.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The stops on Brugge, Ghent and Antwerp. Try to see as much as you can on those places, particularly The Cathedral I Antwerp. All along the Cycling Route the Countryside is superb

Mary D.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Fragrant fields of hyacinth

Maryellen R.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The hotel was good, food was excellent with reasonable. The staff was very accommodating. We enjoyed the ocean view The hotel was conveniently located to shopping and transportation. We found Maps. Me to be a somewhat difficult program to use. The bikes were somewhat unstable but useable.

Marlene Z.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Biking through the dunes of the North Sea is incredible. The rental bike is a heavy Dutch model and it is windy so you make like an e bike. The fresh herring and fish are amazing. Also there is bus 385 that runs from train in Voorhout to Noordwijk for 2 euro 20. So you don't need that 20 euro cab.

Julie M.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Best Part: Cycling to Delft. The town was beautiful!

D. Van Ruiten
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The Hotel and Bike store did not know each other and the hotel had to look up on map where the bike store was. It would be better if upon arriving at the hotel, they could point us in the right direction immediately.
Our GPS on the bikes were a little old - very small- so it was hard to make out sometimes - if we were following the map correctly. We had to double check on our own phones a few times which gets into roaming charges.
The bikes were clean and had good tires/brakes so that was good.
Both staff at hotel and bike stores were good.

Martha
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

My husband and I had a wonderful trip. Doing loop rides from one location, instead of moving from one city to another each day, was perfect. It allowed us to become familiar with the area (so many restaurants to try!) and to modify the routes if we desired (for example, one day we cycled to the train station and took a train to Leiden instead of doing a long ride). The folks at TripSite are not kidding when they claim that the Netherlands is a bike friendly place. Certainly the nicest and safest cycling we have experienced! It is hard to say which route was my favorite but Widje AA has a taste of everything - dunes, blub fields, canals, windmills, and charming villages.

philippa
13 years ago

Verified Reviewer

My daughter and I had a fabulous trip last easter. The cycle routes were both pretty and the instructions were easy to follow. Neither of us are avid cyclists but the distances were right for a whole days trip. Thank you.

Debbie
13 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Very enjoyable trip but found the route descriptions hard to follow without detailed map to accompany them. This we rectified by purchasing locally but would have been useful to have at the outset. Would also recommend that bikes are supplied with clipboard on handlebars to make following the maps easier. Constantly stopping to check directions was tiresome. Very comfortable hotel and beautiful beach with stunning scenery. Lovely people and on this occasion .... stunning weather. Great fun