Authentic Holland Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 34

The Hanseatic Town of Doesburg, Gelderland, the Netherlands. ©TO
€150/person Discount on May 24, 2024 departure

Authentic Holland

8 days from €814

4.6 out of 5

Authentic Holland

Easy Bike + Boat Tour in Netherlands

This wonderful bike & boat tour showcases the best of the Netherlands as you travel through the central and Hanseatic regions. It cuts through the Rhine valley, including its very beautiful…

4.6 out of 5

 


susan l.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Wilma was the highlight. She was our daily update for travel on bike. Loved the barge and the room. Occasionally a diesel odor came into the cabin. We were nearest the engine top deck. But loved it all.

Cesar D.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The program o the trips was excellent and the chief guide also.

Leslie T.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Loved the biking through the many forests along our routes. Loved all of the biking, but especially the forests!

susan l.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The daily rides supported by the bike and boat guide Wilma on the de Holland , was excellent! Each city and countryside we rode through was that much better with the detail of information provided by her. Loved each day.
Be prepared for wind and a little rain in October month.

Sally F.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Most memorable was the excellent guiding from Wilma who gave us so much information about the routes.

It was wonderful visiting the cities and small towns each day in addition to the countryside.

Angeliene B.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Museum in Spakenburg was self directed but very interesting and beautifully laid out.
Using an e bike for the first time really made the daily biking more relaxed and enjoyable.
I would suggest the evening meal be presented as family or buffet style and available earlier than 6:30.

Susan C.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

There were so many aspects of this trip that made this experience memorable. The bike riding of course, but also the food, cabins, staff and relaxation.

Donna I.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

That's hard to say, it was all memorable to me!! The staff were amazing, the chef never disappointed me... neverending food and always yummy!! Tom and Hester were right on with the rides...rain or shine (well all except the last stormy day). My tip would be to not forget your raincoat!!! This is my 3rd tripsite tour and I look forward to more,
2nd tour with Tom and yay to that!

Amy C.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Everything about this trip was fantastic. The boat crew, the chef, and the tour guides did an amazing job to create a wonderful experience for everyone on the boat.

Diane B.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The route was wonderful, the barge was great and the guide excellent. The downside was the food. It was not the level of interest and taste I had experienced on another bike/barge trip.

Kenneth Z.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Biking through the countryside with new friends - over village streets, up on dikes, through forests, etc. Our group would stop each day for coffee and apple cake with whipped cream to try out the many delicious variations of baked goods. Best found in Bronkhorst.

Ruby d.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We are so glad we choose the authentic Holland tour on the de Holland. It was a great blend of forests, wetlands, and Hanseatic cities! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the food was excellent. I highly recommend this tour.

Hugh C.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The last day was my best. I stopped to make a beautiful photo and lost my group. It took over an hour of fast riding and navigation to catch them. Great experience. Amsterdam Castle and its Cafe were superb pleasure.

Martin M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

First time I experienced this type of travelling. Overall, I like it. Couple of notes though : the ship was not where it was supposed to be at embarkment ; it was on the other side of the harbour. No communication received about that last minute change. We knew because someone was monitoring vesselfinder. A lot of people did not know. Second, we were not happy with the table arrangements. We got assigned a table on day 1 and were supposed to sit at that table, with the same people, every day. I appreciate the reason, every evening they ask what you want for dinner the next day, and if people then are not at the same table, that system does not work. But, we're travelling with a group. We want to have dinner at a different table every day.

Having said that, the boat and the food was nice, the crew was really good, no, outstanding. The daily tours were well organized and navigating our way was easy.
Hence my 4 star rating of the tour.

Harrison and Sharene K.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip started out on a sour note because the De Holland was not moored at the De Ruijterkade West location shown in the Tripsite "Final Travel Information" PDF, but instead was across the IJ river next to the Buiksloterweg ferry terminal. Despite being told by Tripsite that the document would be updated with last-minute changes, the document was not updated with the correct location, and none of the passengers who booked through Tripsite were notified of this critical change. (We heard that Boat-Bike Tours, the organizer of the tour, DID notify the passengers who had booked directly through them.) We followed the De Holland on the Vesselfinder website so we knew where it was moored, and we notified a few other traveling companions, but a portion of the Tripsite group showed up at De Ruijterkade West and the boat management had to arrange for their transportation to Buiksloterweg, which delayed the departure. To our knowledge, Tripsite has never acknowledged or apologized Read More

Nancy B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Best Part: Villages

Nancy B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most memorable part: Small villages & countryside

Jeffrey B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We loved everything about this trip! The boat was clean and comfortable, the crew was wonderful (especially the tour guide, Andre). We loved the cycling through this beautiful country! It was especially exciting to ride through the countryside and explore the unique towns along the way. We were so impressed with the incredible bike path system and the friendly people we encountered.

Jane S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The "directions/highlights " paper along with the offline downloaded directions were terrific. The company's expert experienced routing took us thru scenic backways and villages that we may have missed by simply following a directional app ourselves. We enjoyed being able to ride at our own pace, stop where ever we chose, visit sites, museums, villages, or take photos on our own timeline. This also allowed us to begin the day's ride on our own schedule, enjoy a picnic lunch or lunch in a village center, and return early or later, have a coffee or beer along the way, still knowing when dinner was being served!

David W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We loved everything about this trip! The cycling experience, the cruising on beautiful rivers and canals, the opportunity to explore interesting and historic cities, the camaraderie onboard the boat, and the care and support of the crew were all wonderful!

Lynn V.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Holland was on my bucket list to visit the country I was born in but left as a young girl. What better way to see it than on this wonderful barge/bike tour with a good friend. Upon arrival where the De Nassau’s docked we were greeted by our wonderful hosts and crew. There is absolutely nothing that I can criticize about this trip. The food, the accommodations and the beauty of biking through northern holland on my E Bike was amazing. I highly recommend these bikes as I usually don’t bike 186 miles in 7 days, but they sure help put “ the wind beneath my wings”. I even bought a smoked eel which we shared with some companions we biked with...not usual Canadian fare! Tripsite has opened up a whole new concept for me and my love of travelling. Perhaps Ireland, France, Portugal...I can hardly wait till the next trip I take knowing that I will not be disappointed. Thanks Tripsite for making my dream come true of visiting this amazing country.

Jeanne G.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We really enjoyed the rural countryside for our biking tour. We would bike past horses, cows, swans and goats and stop in very quaint towns. I rented a regular bike because I thought the Netherlands was very flat, there was more incline and distance than I was prepared for. I was able to borrow another guest e-bike a few days and in retrospect I should have rented one. But it also made me realize I can go to other countries that are more of a challenge, I would just rent an e-bike. We also brought our own helmets, but the ones they had on the boat looked fine. My husband brought his cycle computer which was a good idea to see our distance etc. We really enjoyed the biking tour!

Mary T.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The whole barge experience with fellow bikers was awesome. There were only 23 of us and we all connected. The dining was exceptional. Our guide lacked knowledge of the tour and did not provide enough cultural experience.

Linda H.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Really enjoyed the bike/barge tour on the Gandalf. The food & scenery were great. Enjoyed cycling into the forest & small towns. On the down side, be prepared for some wind. If new to cycling I would recommend getting the electric assist bicycle. The terrain is mostly flat but there are some hills which can be challenging with head on wind. Our guide, Fred, was very knowledgeable & friendly. He took good care of everyone.

Theresa G.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We were a family of 6 adults (aged 22-62) who did our first bike/barge trip and we are so fortunate that we booked the Merlijn and did the Amsterdam trip. It couldn't have been a better trip. Everything was perfect from the accommodations to the food to the bike ride itself. Most of all though it was the crew on the Merlijn that made it so fun for all of us. Henk & Jantien are so friendly and accommodating and their staff, Gisbert (sp) who led the daily bike tours & Jaqui & Clara who do a little of everything were all so kind and awesome with everything they did. The bikes are very new and ride great. The E-bikes are a whole lot of FUN. If you feel too guilty about using an E-bike you can turn it off and pedal like a regular bike. Jantien even went out of her way to get a birthday cake for our daughter-in-law. Henk leads an excellent Karaoke night which should not be missed. It was truly a great family vacation had by all. Thank you crew of Merlijn.

Sandra B.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This was my third time on this particular barge the Merlijn. I love everything about the experience and will for sure do it again

Patricia C.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I loved everything about my barge/bike trip from Bruges to Amsterdam. Wonderful staff members were very professional and accommodating making all of the guests feel special. The food rose above my expectations. The quality and presentation were superb. I have already booked another bike/barge trip for 2018!!

Michael C.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The route for the Authentic Holland Tour was very attractive and went through some very attractive Hanseatic villages. Our guide Meindirt made every day a pleasant experience. For people looking for a fun and relaxing bicycle trip in the Netherlands, this one will not disappointment you. Enjoy!

John H.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Having been on several of these bike/barge tours, this was a different area culturally than trips south of Amsterdam. Interesting history of the area. Our guide was excellent and made the trip.

G. Dunsmuir
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I would recommend this trip but only if a group of friends were going or if there was some way to know the mix of language of fellow travellers. I was the only person who did not speak the German language. I felt very isolated. A number of German people did try to speak English but it was hard work for them and they were on holidays. One English sailor on board as staff was very kind and attentive. The cook made wonderful gluten free dishes for me!! The guide did an excellent job of switching back and forth from German to English. The cycling and countryside was very pleasant. Sometimes the stops were a bit long but perhaps that was because I couldn't chat around with other travellers.