Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Bordeaux 1 to 30 of 61

 

 Boat/Barge: Bordeaux • REMOVE  About Bordeaux

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Margaret E. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The beautiful scenery and great bike routes planned for us. Only difficulty with the routes was navigating Libourne the last Friday in rush hour afternoon traffic. Perhaps a longer route, going around Libourne, could be investigated

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Shelly B. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My friends and I had a wonderful time on the Bordeaux Bike and Boat Tour! The bike rides were like riding in a postcard! The boat was very comfortable. The meals were delicious and based on the region! There was a wide variety of wine available at a very reasonable price! The crew were all extremely polite, pleasant, and helpful! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to do a boat and bike tour!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Diane F. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I took the Bordeaux bike and barge trip the first week of September 2019. I am comparing it to the Danube bike & barge trip I took in October 2017 via Tripsite. The Danube trip was great all the way around, good food, nice dining service, white linen, well cooked and good variety of food. Excellent value for the money. The itinerary, guides, and crew service were great. The Bordeaux trip on MS Bordeaux held great expectations. The itinerary and scenery were fantastic. The quality and variety of food needed a lot of work. The morning coffee was dreadful each day, and there were no proper coffee mugs, teacups or teapots. Paper placemats did not add to the breakfast atmosphere. We were offered the same overcooked eggs each morning. One morning garlic carrots were on offer. Our make yourself lunches were exactly the same ingredients each day. The dinners were often overcooked with a complete lack of fresh greens or fresh market cheeses. In fact, the cheeses on offer each morning were Read more… pre-sliced cheese. This is not what one expects in France.
    So the food was very disappointing for the price we paid for this trip. The food servers were very friendly and worked hard to please. The bike mechanic was great and solved any issues we had with the bikes. The captain of MS Bordeaux was always impatient and gruff with passengers as we disembarked each day. On the Danube trip, the staff ensured the bikes were on land for us each day. The GPS's in Bordeaux did not work most of the time and the maps in the books need updating - this is a comment that has been in the Bordeaux reviews for several years now. A team discussion and group effort allowed us to find our way.
    The most disappointing aspect of the trip is that my concerns were expressed to Tripsite and left unanswered for over a month until I called Tripsite back, and nothing was resolved for me. Just be sure to evaluate if the quality of food and customer service are an important part of your trip - otherwise, enjoy the great rides!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Michel D. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our second experience with Tripsite. Our first was in the Netherlands and the second in France. Everything has been positive from the time of booking to the end of the trip. Great food, great cycling, comfortable ship, scenery and most importantly, the other guests on the trip. We have already booked our third trip for May of 2020!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Lou O. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Guides were absolutely world-class in all respects: knowledgeable, safe, proactive and TOTALLY guest-oriented. Is there a description more favorable that "FANTASTIC?!"

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Julie W. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A wonderful travel experience for our first time on a barge. The staff were helpful, friendly and fun to be with, the food was first rate and the scenery and biking experiences were fabulous!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Inga M. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I booked this first-time adventure for my husband and myself and another couple based on the location, itinerary, boat size, and online reviews. Ultimately it came down to my decision so I was feeling some anxiety regarding the success of the trip. I needn’t have worried! We had a fabulous time. Everything was well organized and on time, the boat was clean and efficient, the bikes were well maintained and any problem quickly looked after by a very friendly onboard bike mechanic, the food was mostly excellent (one night the steak was chewy), the staff was fabulous -never tiring of our endless requests or questions! We met likeminded people from all over the globe and made some lasting friendships! The biking distances sounded daunting but the pace was surprisingly leisurely with stops along the routes to visit wineries or beautiful old structures in many quaint little villages. And to top it off we had a rousing farewell party on the last night complete with champagne and Read more… dancing! We’d definitely do this again. Biking and boating is the ideal combination of exercise and relaxation accompanied by beautiful surroundings - what more could one ask for!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Beth M. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I am commenting on the Bordeaux tour which I decided to go on last minute. If I had done my research on the boat & room size I wouldn’t have gone. My husband is 6’6” and the cabin was too small & very uncomfortable. I don’t know how it gets the Comfort Plus rating, all of the cabins on the lower level with the exception of one were all very small, & from other fellow pax comments, the upper level was not much better. This was our third trip with TripSite, we thoroughly enjoyed the 2 prior trips. We are sorry to say that the Bordeaux trip was underwhelming as far as scenery & bike routes.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Nicola F. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bike guides were wonderful. Also, walking tour of Bordeaux.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Brian M. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Who knew that pomegranates grew in Bordeaux or the Romans built a coliseum there? Great guides make the trip as you are exposed to knowledge and places you would have overlooked.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Jennifer S. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent trip, well organized and lots of fun.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Kimberly F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Bordeaux Wine Country trip was absolutely the best vacation ever! The guides were wonderful, full of interesting information and fun. Doing the guided tour allowed us to take in the scenery without having to worry about where to turn next. The scenery was so amazing. Every other word was "oh my" or "Wow"! A simple review cannot begin to convey how fantastic this trip was. We are already planning another trip with you. Thanks for the wonderful vacation.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Sergio G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery and staff on board were the most memorable parts of the trip. Although the tour says easy to moderate, there are 2 to 3 days that there are a few steep hills. You need to be bike ready. Or as an alternative rent an E Bike. As long as you just want to enjoy the scenery, places, vineyards, and not in a hurry, look at the guided portion for the extra cost. The guide we had was wonderful in explaining any questions we had. There are many things said that you would not get by self guided. If you are a wine fan and history and culture, this tour is for you. Stay in the city of Bordeaux also a couple days before or after. Very vibrant city with great restaurants and things to do in the city centre. Enjoy!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Charlie A. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Amazing scenery and locale. The biking maps leave a lot to be desired. Some riders had a trail app and they were lifesavers for those who were left to just the paper map booklet. Very difficult to follow. Maybe more tour guides to help out.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Doreen S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bourg / Blaye was a wonderful ride with minimal traffic and enough gradient to make it interesting. The fortified town at Blaye was an interesting diversion from vineyards. In all a well organized tour with excellent staff. The bikes were a little heavy but that gave me an excuse for an extra creme brûlée!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Sam 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A GREAT experience on a bike & barge trip! I LOVE Bordeaux and the bike routes were beautiful !!! absolutely amazing from the start to the end.
    The staff members were superb and we had fun !!!
    I highly recommend this trip !!!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Steve & Ginny B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Thank you for arranging our bike/barge trip on the MS Bordeaux.

    We cannot tell you enough good about MS Bordeaux, the Captain and his crew. It was so enjoyable to arrive on board, unpack for eight days, and relax. On other bike rides, we unpacked every night and repacked every morning. I think another bike/barge is in order. Tim LaMonte and I are researching next year’s ride already!

    The food was exceptional (except for one night when the chef was off. My red mullet was raw and not cooked. Can you spell Y-U-C-K?). Every day, we packed our lunches (except when we did our walking tour of Bordeaux with Sebastian, see below.) Desserts were yummy!

    The bike rides were great and we discovered fantastic wines!

    There were 84 passengers on-board. A large group was from Australia, some from Canada, Switzerland and the USA. Even though those of on the non-guided ride tour rode at different speeds, we continuously found each, and other helped each other find our way Read more… and found places of interest. The camaraderie with other riders was phenomenal.

    I had an e-bike. Ginny had a regular bike. On the last day, she traded it in for an e-bike! She will get one for the next tour! Tim also traded his bike for an e-bike on the last day.

    In the middle of the week, we could ride our bikes on a short bike path or take a walking tour of Bordeaux, or both. We decided to have a relaxing day and took the walking tour.

    Sebastian, the bartender, had the day off. We asked why he did the free walking tour on his day off. His response was simple. He loved to tell people about his country and take them on tour of his hometown, Bordeaux.

    A total delight was our interaction with 19-year old Dorrian (sp?). He was the highlight of the trip. He gave the welcome briefing, the evening briefings on what to expect the next day, and was always available.

    1. Dee LaMonte had a flat tire. We called Dorrian and he was there within 15 minutes

    2. Dorrian was on different roads where the non-guided riders were, and always got us on the right track.

    3. Every time we were not sure of where we should be, Dorrian showed up like magic!

    4. Another flat tire, a telephone call, and Dorrian found us again. He took Dee LaMonte and her bike in a van to MS Bordeaux. Dorrian also offered a ride to the rest of us, however, we declined and rode the rest of the way back.

    The final night on board, was the Captains Dinner, a party and lots wine flowing and lot of dancing! A perfect way to celebrate the end of our adventure!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Lee F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was an altogether pleasant experience; the highlight was the lovely little village of Saint-Émilion.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Jeff K. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Beautiful chateaus. Great wine. Not allowed to drink in cabin. Cabin extremely small. Shower barely fit one person. Guide excellent. No sauna or hot tub. I would recommend this trip but not this boat (the Bordeaux).

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Neil M. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The accommodations, the staff and of course cycling through all the beautiful country side.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Nelson G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time riding through Bordeaux’s beautiful wine country. Our trip was enjoyable for our entire group of varying cycling abilities. The E-bikes made it easy for those that needed them. The staff was excellent and very personable. We were treated as art of the family. We are looking forward to our next cycling adventure.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Paul K. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Having a guide for this trip was very beneficial. For the first 3 days our guided group consisted of 30+ people. This was too large of a group and was pretty much a pain. We eventually broke into a group of 8 riders with Dorian as our guide, that was perfect. We were able to travel at a much more leisurely pace, visit many wineries, tasting rooms, small villages and churches.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Raine P. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The routes were described well before each ride and usually easy to follow, however at least one person in your group should have a GPS. The guide and scenery were exceptional. The food was great but it was difficult getting vegetarian food for dinner even though I had requested vegetarian when I signed up.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Judy C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was absolutely amazing from start to finish. The weather was warm, sunny, and perfect for biking. The country roads, surrounded with miles of vineyards, and the canal bike paths were beautiful. The small towns and villages were charming and delightful destinations; there was always an old castle or church to explore. The picnic lunch that we packed each morning allowed us to experience a variety of "picnic" spots. One day we were on the steps of the University of Bordeaux; another day sitting along the Garonne River in St. Macaire.

    The boat, with just our family plus another couple, was terrific. We got to know the crew quite well-- actually, all on the boat became one big family. It was the trip of a life-time for all 15 of us. Everyday a grandchild would come up to me and say, "Mema, this is the best trip I've ever been on. I am having so much fun." From the youngest, at age 12, to the oldest at 78, we are left with memories that will never Read more… be forgotten.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Georgia M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Travelling on the boat with a small group of international people is such a great way to experience the world - and the bike tours are brilliant.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Lisa S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We traveled on the ship Bordeaux in France. The bike routes were beautiful, but the instructions provided by not so great. No worries, we had maps and a GPS, we made each day into an adventure!!!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Stephen M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Visiting Arles was particularly memorable, but we very much enjoyed the trip itinerary.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Jacqueline T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Get an ebike if you have any doubts about your ability to do the biking. I am not a biker but was able to do the hills around Bordeaux because of the ebike. Most memorable moments was just the ride through the vineyards themselves, past the chateauxs.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Sarita L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was great. Just did not like the room and bathroom size.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Tama L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: St. Emilion and the disco party on the boat the last night

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

PWPC