Deriya Deniz boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 12 of 12

3.8 out of 5

 


T. Petersen
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Deriya Deniz Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea
Italy

Loved our guide, the food quality and variety was the only disappointment.

W. Watkins
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Deriya Deniz Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea
Italy

We had the time of our life and look forward to our next bike and boat tour. Thanks so much for everything!

E. Greer
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Deriya Deniz Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea
Italy

Everything did not go perfectly all the time but we had a great time and the guys from Girolibero were always doing their best to help out when needed.

V. Milner
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Deriya Deniz Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea
Italy

Well organised overall. In honesty the food was at times ordinary with great emphasis on fish & pasta. Bit more variety would have been good. Riccardo (tour guide) was excellent - he really made the tour worthwhile with his enthusiasm and knowledge. Not all staff on board were as friendly or able to communicate which did make a big difference to the overall atmosphere on board. We did have some difficulties with the booking process initially which remained unresolved in that we were unsure of why someone was phoning us from US.

Jane Boyers
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Deriya Deniz Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea
Italy

Our trip was for very good/strong bikers unless you got the electric bike which was great! The scenery was spectacular along the Amalfi coast!

Lee Beamish
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Deriya Deniz Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea
Italy

Alex was amazing. She was so informative, hard-working and enjoyable to be around. The staff on our boat were excellent as well.

Marilyn McDowell
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Deriya Deniz Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea
Italy

The Amalfi coast section of biking was along the main roads driven by large local buses and the other tourist traffic was very heavy - although the drivers were not mean or aggressive, it was very unnerving to be biking on such busy roads. The guide seemed to be surprised that the traffic was still so heavy the 2nd week of September.

The boat anchored in Amalfi on the 3rd night, in an unprotected harbor - the boat rocked and banged all night long, no one including the crew was able to sleep, and apparently this was not an uncommon experience when in the Amalfi harbor.

On day 4, after an extremely hot day of biking we reached the boat in Cetara. For some reason, the boat was anchored along side the sister boat, not next to the pier. The crew made us wait in the hot sun until the bikes were hoisted on to the sister boat, then situated the bikes on our boat before allowing us to get on our boat to shower or get something to drink. AND since we were not next to the Read More

Frank McDowell
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Deriya Deniz Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea
Italy

"The ""recommend this trip (Tyhrennian Sea)"" question is a difficult question to answer. Scenery is great. Pompeii great. Guide good. Some passengers had issues with the Capt. At the end of our third day out we were secured to our sister boat in such a way that we had to walk across the railings (not on deck) to transfer to our vessel. It was unsafe, and honestly, uncomfortable for the women. When a few of our female passengers shared their opinion with the Capt he dismissed their concerns. In fairness, he had slipped and broken several ribs while handling bikes and was probably not in the best mood. When we finished biking on this same day (very hot) the crew/guide made all of us wait while they loaded the bikes. We all thought that was odd. They did not offer an explanation. The scenery was very good, guide was a nice guy and very knowledgeable. The crew was mixed. Cook & first mate great. Barista not so much. Capt....I don't know. After his Read More

Brian
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Deriya Deniz Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea
Italy

As Jana said, Riccardo from Verde-Natura was the first bike guide we've had and he made things so much easier and enjoyable. He was constantly checking on all the riders and never seemed to mind going back downhill to check on slower riders. Everyone on the Deriya Deniz went to great pains to make sure each of us had what was needed - even supplying food for our picnic lunches. The last evening, we all got a wonderful surprise that was so much fun...but I'll not divulge their secret! The crew really was remarkable. For instance, we had an early morning flight from Naples to Palermo on the last morning of the trip. In order to get to the airport at the proper time, we had to wake at 4:30 am. Every single crew member plus Riccardo got up to see us off at 5:00 am making sure once again, we had what we needed or desired. I cannot imagine a better experience in this singularly beautiful location and highly recommend this trip!

Jana
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Deriya Deniz Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea
Italy

Incredible! This was our sixth bike trip and our first guided bike and boat trip, and it wins the prize. Our Italian guide, Riccardo, was informative, kind, patient and always looking out for our safety, (He also knew the best places for gelato, gratina, pizza and of course, beautiful off the beaten path trails, parks and picnic spots.). The boat was gorgeous (immaculately clean) and our cabin much roomier than I anticipated. The captain was awesome (the epitome of the leader of the vessel, but also with a sense of humor); first mate truly did everything from helping unload bikes to driving us on the dinghy to shore; the chef prepared marvelous dinners, and Olga did everything else to ensure a great trip. Then, there is the biking! Wow! I have never had such exhilarating rides as on the Amalfi Coast. Words and photos simply cannot convey the majesty and overwhelming beauty. The other islands visited were also lovely. And, even though the water was cold, swimming off the boat Read More

Lindsay (from Canada)
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Deriya Deniz Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea
Italy

My dad and I did this trip together in May 2014 - we both love cycling and being outdoors! The views were breathtaking.. breakfasts on board were superb with tons of espresso. The extra uphill biking in Ischia with the guide - totally worth the views at the end! Plus we got to relax at the top with an ice cold bottle of peroni. Boat is the best way to travel, by far, but bring some earplug in case it's noisy at night!! Every night I fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow, from long days of biking and exploring. The crew on board was helpful and courteous - our guide was amazing and very knowledgeable (a Quebec native who now resides in Italy). We used TripAdvisor for tips on a good hotel to stay at to fly in & out of Naples (Napoli). It was an amazing experience, and I fell in love with the culture of Italy. I loved the country so much, we extended our trip and went to Rome and Florence on our own after the bike tour was done! I can't wait to do another bike tour.

Kate
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Deriya Deniz Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea
Italy

My husband and I enjoyed this trip the first week of September 2011. The weather was hot but it was great to cool off swimming on the beach every day and jumping off the boat. There were gorgeous views of the coast from our bikes and the ride up to Ravello was worth it. We had a great guide and the crew on the boat was fun and very helpful - the evening meals cooked by the chef on board were very good and included lots of fresh fish. Sailing between the islands was definitely a highlight.