Feniks boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 21 of 21

4.3 out of 5

 


Kenneth V.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Riding through the Belgium and France country-sides on our bicycles..

Anne B.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Brussels to Bruges
Belgium

The Feniks was a fine boat, and the accommodations were better than I expected. There were only 4 other passengers, with 4 crew, so we were well cared for. The bike was comfortable and efficient. The (vegan) food was EXCELLENT. It would have been nice to have more of a mixed group (others were ALL Dutch, but it worked out ok.

Few pointers: there was no internet on the boat, some days we rode as much as 70K, but mostly flat, we mostly docked outside of towns/villages.

STEVEN D.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

This was an amazing tour for several reasons. Firstly, there were 7 (rather than a full complement of 14) experienced cyclists over the age of 60, none of whom used an e-bike. This allowed the guide to change the cycle route to reflect our abilities, to show us some special sights and to give us a special experience. Harm, the guide, did this with ease. Secondly, the crew of the Feniks was excellent. This includes Fiona, the captain, Rainier, the assistant and Hilde, the cook. Thirdly, the laundry service was a game changer. If we had understood what this service involved, we could have packed considerably lighter.

Anne K.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

The crew was the best! A definite ten + in every way. Dinners were excellent and crew always available to us. Nelleka lent us her fan at night! Harm great guide. Fiona excellent skipper and Reinier always helpful. Great atmosphere. It would have been nice to have some special stops, maybe a cooking class, winery and more info about special sites would be good. Tour description clearly stated that barge has Wi-Fi and air conditioning. It was very hot and ac very spotty and not available at night. No wifi.

Howard J.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

We had a wonderful experience on this trip. The owner of the barge and his crew were just like family. lovely meals from our wonderful cook and the first mate was always there to help and a plush was him doing washing every day for all of us. Our guide was very experienced and was always available. Our captain was unbelievable. This was our second bike, barge trip, and crew could not be faulted. my only suggestion would be if you are not a real good cyclist consider using an electric assist bike France has a lot of hills. On the hole a wonderful two weeks. Thank you. FENIKS

Bonnie P.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Holland Southern Tulip Tour
Netherlands

We loved our day at Keukenhoff Gardens. We also enjoyed the amazing dinners on the boat prepared by our chef, Paulina. As for suggestions, the bike leaders need to understand vacation culture more. The bike leader seemed to be in a rush wherever we biked, and was not happy if we wanted to stop and take pictures of the countryside. Many people like to stop and take pictures!! We would pass by beautiful fields of tulips and hyacinths, but couldn’t stop to take photos (except maybe a 30-second stop to get one quick photo) because otherwise we’d be too far away from the rest of the biking group. We weren’t given any kind of detailed maps of where we would be biking, so if we did want to stop and take pictures, or drink some water, or grab an energy bar from our sacks, and we lost sight of the others, there would be no way to find or catch up to the rest of the group later on. One of the reasons why we liked Keukenhoff so much was because we were on “our own Read More

Debra S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

The captain and crew were wonderful! The boat was very comfortable. The food was amazing. The bicycle route was beautiful with interesting stops.

Alan C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

The trip was well organised, we saw lots of interesting new places, loved, the rides through the forests and the food was amazing! The most memorable part of the trip was the way the entire crew worked together to give us all a wonderfully enjoyable trip.Highly recommend a trip on board Feniks!

Stephen R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Intimate barge and delightful crew that quickly became friends. We loved the two week itinerary and everyone looked forward to another day on the bikes exploring. Many highlights but the riding onto the terrace above Paris and viewing the Eiffel Tower and skyline was enchanting. The entire group became one as we enjoyed each other’s company.
The Tripsite staff were a great resource; extremely knowledgeable and friendly. I recommend beginning the vacation with them. Their guidance in choosing the right vacation was superb.

Stacey B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Holland Southern Tulip Tour
Netherlands

Best cycling anywhere:wonderful bike lanes everywhere, gorgeous scenery always by the water. And don’t forget the tulips — stunning.

Kent H.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

The whole experience was just tremendous. Cruising on the Feniks, peddling through the countryside of Belgium and France, stopping at cafes and chateaus. The sail into Paris was unforgettable. We thoroughly enjoyed our fellow cyclists, our guides, and our on board chef Nelleke was a great cook and a valuable resource.

Lee N.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Paris to Reims
France

My trip was the highlight of my vacation experiences over the last 15 years. The best part of the trip was the togetherness that developed amongst all the participants over the 2 week trip. I have some true friends for life thanks to your tremendous hospitality and care each and every crew member and of course our wonderful guide showed to all of us.
Thank you Darius

Pauline J.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

The crew of the Feniks, provided the most amazing experience. The food simple satisfying and enjoyable. Food fresh, tasty, and cooked well by the Nelje. Marius and Reinhold, provided amazing care of all our needs The accommodation small, efficient and clean. You always slept well. The guide Nina with her amazing knowledge showed us her secret places, backroads, canal paths, and bike paths. She encouraged all riders while challenging us beyond what we thought we could do. As a experience it exceeded my expectations. Looking for a different French/Belgium experience do this trip you never forget it. Will do another trip this way, and if possible on the Feniks...

Pam M.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Paris to Reims
France

A great trip in many ways. Good staff - helpful and friendly. Good scenic route with chances to visit places of interest, very good food. Only draw back was problems with 3 out of 4 'E' bikes and a lack of expertise in how to fix them causing stress to some riders.

Michelle H.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Most Memorable Part? The scenery & the crew from the Feniks.

Rodney W.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Most Memorable Part: The friendliness of the local villagers and our fellow travellers.

Michelle H.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

The bike & barge trip from Paris to Brugge on the Feniks was an amazing experience. The crew was exceptional, the scenery beautiful and the price was terrific. I highly recommend this trip.

Paula Clair S.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

The scenery was a photograph almost each moment. Incredibly knowledgeable guide made every day a new adventure. Plus a very doable ride for all skill level.

Lee N.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Burgundy - Paris to Auxerre
France

The Tripsite folks were always right there for me whenever I asked a question. Our guide, Albert, was a tremendous guide and was always there to help with any language barrier. I have certainly recommended Tripsite to others that I have been telling about my trip and they can't believe that I got such a great value for the money I spent. Thank you All!

Paavo Kivisto
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Issues related to the boat: bad smell, cabin room was cozier than we would choose in the future. Laundry facilities were inadequate. We really enjoyed the trip, the guide and the experience!

April
10 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Burgundy - Paris to Auxerre
France

This was my third bike/barge trip and the best yet. I loved being on the Feniks. It's a very comfortable barge. The captain was very attentive to all our needs and I appreciated his ability to work around some of the problems re two of the canal locks being shut down for repairs. The guide was good also and made sure some of us slower people were not left behind. It was a great group of people and I thoroughly enjoyed the biking and the wonderful French countryside.