Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Arlene II 1 to 8 of 8

 

 Boat/Barge: Arlene II • REMOVE  About Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Steve F. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Captain Dan and the crew of the Arlene II were fantastic! Great food, cozy accommodations, and really fun cycling.
    Would recommend the cycling City Tours in both Vienna and Budapest. We did not book these and I think we missed out.
    Our bike/barge holiday was well organized, super relaxing and tons of fun!
    We will definitely be taking another trip with Tripsite! You guys rock!

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Scott A. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding in the foothills/vinyards in Austria. Stopping for a beer and a slice of homemade cake at a hotel on the trail.
    The boat was too slow traveling upstream against heavy current. This meant we were late in docking for our next ride. Yes, the current was heavy but this is likely to happen every spring.

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Donna G. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part: Interactions with passengers from around the world

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Tammy M. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Having great weather was a real bonus. It was awe inspiring to float into the many enormous locks and envisage what the areas must have been like before harnessing the mighty Danube. The never ending beauty of this part of the world and appreciating the pride in property that shows up at every turn and in every village, is what leaves the greatest memories.

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Nicole G. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved the trip but would like to offer some feedback. First, the breakfast was not great. I would have liked more protein, certainly eggs every day, more cold meats, salad, and cheese, after all, this was also lunch. We all thought that water should have been complimentary at the evening meal - really surprised that we had to pay extra for water. I also thought the guide should have been more knowledgeable about each day's ride and what we should have taken time to see. Petra was really great and had a lot of duties but we were riding through some very interesting country and it would have been nice to have a more detailed lecture the night before on the important land marks. I would be happy to pay more for this trip if the guiding and food were better.

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Mainz to Cologne
    by Louise M. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved our bike and barge tour from Mainz to Cologne. The food was great, the scenery amazing! Biking is the perfect way to appreciate the environment in a relaxed way and truly immerse yourself in the experience. Two suggestions - have the tour briefings in the evening between Entree and Main course (it was a pain having to wait til 9am in the morning when we are early risers) and have branded reusable water bottles that can be filled up at water stations each day (instead of contributing to plastic bottle waste). Thank you.

    Boat: Arlene II

    Countries: Germany

  • Mainz to Strasbourg or Strasbourg to Mainz
    by Brad W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Much of the bike ride was difficult to navigate. Signs on the road are not always clear. Expected more country rides but much of the bike ride was through cities with many vehicles (somewhat dangerous). If we elect to travel with Tripsite again, we will do more research to determine ease of navigation along the bike route and how much of the route is through traffic.

    Boat: Arlene II

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Mainz to Cologne
    by JoAnn G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Rhine Valley is a wonder to bike and very enjoyable.

    Boat: Arlene II

    Countries: Germany

PWPC