Romantica boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 30 of 65

4.9 out of 5

 


Mari Jo K.
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

This is a delightful area to visit; the history of the walled cities along with the coastline, warm climate and great ride leaders made for an enjoyable trip. The climbs can be a bit challenging but e-bikes are available and they were the bikes of choice by 95% of the travelers. If you haven’t seen the “Pearls of Dalmatia”, you need to add it to your list or make it your next ride.

Leslie H.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

Croatia is a beautiful and very clean country. The tour of Dalmatia was a fabulous overview of the outside islands. My most memorable part was climbing the uphills on the bikes. Even with an E-Bike it was a lot of work.

Tereceda J.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

Our guides Ana and Bubi were most memorable; they were excellent and made us feel safe and informed. Ana is a gifted leader who always had a smile on her face.

The meals were nutritious and tasty; the portions were large ( often larger than needed). The crew and cooks worked very hard to make us comfortable and taken care of. The boat was clean and well maintained despite being older than the Harmonia.

The boat could’ve used chairs at the upstairs table so we could sit together there. One bench was good, but chairs are needed. Perhaps a wifi booster could be added in the captain’s helm so rooms at the front of the boat could stay connected.

Nancy B.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

We had a lots of fun meeting the other guests and biking the islands. The crew were great and we were well looked after. The islands are very hilly with long uphills sometimes for 6 km. Even though it was not listed as an ebike trip, 29/30 of us used ebikes. If you are on the lower deck the port windows do not open. There are fans but I would have liked fresh air. For me the biking temperatures were great in April. We swam a few times after our bikes and found some nice beaches close to the port. The food is good and plentiful. The drinks, except water are extra. Coffee and tea are only included for breakfast so you need some cash at the end for your bar bill. The biking only took up part of the day so if you want to bike longer I would look for a different trip. Overall the people made the trip!

Dennis E.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

Everything about the trip was great! Even though we are experienced cyclists, we chose the eBike option. Our tour started in Dubrovnik and terminated in Split. On our cruise, there were 4 Americans, 2 Brits and the rest, a group of Canadians. Everyone got along well. Our two guides, Luka and Serge were excellent. My wife and I are swimmers. We swam every day. Every port in which we stayed for the night had a nice, clean city beach. Each day when the ship docked, we sought out the city swimming venue. My only suggestion is that we wanted to have access to our bikes even after the boat docked. Unfortunately, the bikes were always locked up as soon as we arrived at the boat. It would have been nice to ride our bikes to the city beaches instead of walking. Ib Dubrovnik, we swam at the 50-meter indoor pool, Bazen u Gruzu which was very close to where the ship docked. In Split, we swam at a huge swimming/water polo indoor facility, SC Bazeni Polzud.

Ellen S.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

Amazing trip with amazing views.
Cycle time was adequate with enough downtime to tour on yor own.
Crew was fantastic and met every need. Excellent food.

Donald Murdoch M.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

Tour guides were amazing as well the scenery on the islands , Dubrovnik and Split
Rent the e-bike as the hills on the islands are steep and long unless you just want an extreme work out and not a holiday

James C.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

The entire package was memorable which was enhanced by the other travelers on the boat. The camaraderie among the travelers, guides and crew was the icing on the cake for each day! The guides were excellent: informative, caring, supportive. Be prepared for "Croatia flat" (undulating hills) after climning the long hills while biking!

Scott R.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

Fabulous scenery on the islands
Comfortable boat with friendly crew
Great meals
Hybrid bike was dated but reliable

Janusz W.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

Wonderful views while riding the isles , great support from the guides

Tyann N.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

The people, the beauty of the country, the food and cycling/swimming experiences.

If you are looking to just cycle, cycle cycle this experience for me was leisurely but challenging due to the hilly landscape and I did NOT use an ebike.

Bruce Z.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

This trip had been postponed several times so we were really excited about finally getting to bike the islands and explore Croatia. From the experiences we have heard about from people who did this trip in the heat of summer, we knew that we would have a better chance in mid Sept for better weather and riding. That was definitely the case, although there were still some rather hot days.

Which leads to the boat, Romantica. This boat was okay, not great by any means. Small cabins which tended to get musty and damp. And the few days the weather got hot the indoor dining was extremely uncomfortable. The upper deck, unlike many boats, did not have a cover, so other than a few stretching sessions, became rather useless. No outdoor dining options on the boat. I would say the Romantica needs a major retrofit.

The guides, Alan and Ivan, on the other hand were amazing. Just a pleasure to be around and so helpful all week long. They were informative and kept the days Read More

Timothy R.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

What a fabulous time we had! We could not have asked for a better trip with the best guides in all of Croatia. Alan and Dora were the best. They packed our trip with such great experiences, we could not be more pleased. Thank you!

Kathryn R.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

Views from hilltops & the food on the boat!

Stephen M.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

The people in the group were great. I think the boat should offer free coffee and wine at dinner. Also there should be more biking.

Paula M.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

If you like to get some exercise, I think boating and biking the Dalmatian islands is the best way to see the best of Croatia. The communication with
Tripsite was great. Our boat the Romantica was very clean and comfortable. The food was plentiful and very well prepared. Our guides were very pleasant ,helpful and good at their job. I would have liked the bedding changed half way through the trip.

Linda M.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

Meeting all the people and getting a chance to have meals with each of them.

Suggestions for the boat-
-include cappuccinos and other coffee and teas without having to pay extra.
-include a bottle of wine for each table at least one or two times as the prices were very high.
-clean tiles in bathroom better as there was black mold growing.

For others
- bring water shoes for going into water at beach stops

Other than that, everything was great!!

Nancy W.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

When you think you had your best boat and bike trip ever, but then you decide I'll try another, and you wonder, how will it ever meet my expectations, and then! it exceeds your expectations, one couldn't be happier! This is a fabulous trip, the biking is undulating and a little challenging but the ebikes and the expert guides make it all possible. The crew went out of their way for our comfort, service when spending time on board, wonderful meals, clean rooms, and always finding a way to get us swimming in the Adriatic on days of high heat. The landscape, the historic ports, the charming town squares, and beautiful sunsets over the Adriatic made it a most memorable journey!

Boyd M.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

The boat was better than other trips, the staff were excellent. Croatia is delightful and the trip I took showed off many of its assets. The arranged tours were a bonus that were generally well worth the attendance. I had no issues with the trip that Tripsite or the local supplier could be held responsible for. The Romantica was a well resourced boat with an excellent chef (can't be faulted and should be paid more). The company on the trip was excellent (again out of Tripsite and the provider's control) and I have no hesitation in recommending this trip to others. Croatia should be on everyone's to do list.

Boyd M.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

Croatia is well known for its scenic nature and it does not disappoint. On our cycling trip we were constantly shown not only eautiful views of the coastline, but of the centuries old towns and cities. The swim stops in those wonderful waters were highlights of the days during or after bike legs. Our boat, the Romantica had a wonderful chef in Andeliqua, a steward, whose enthusiasm was another highlight, and our two guides who were always happy and helpful, and the crew were always calm, quiet and efficient. Day walks escorted by local tour guides added an extra dimension to the cities visited as well. Onboard services were very good. Coffee each morning on the rear deck was a great way to start the day.

Rentia C.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

The promenade at Split! Cycling was fantastic and perfect! City tours so informative! Loved the boat, guides and food! Best scenery ever!

Teresa M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

The trip was absolutely fabulous. The staff was fun and friendly. The food was phenomenal! The only problem was the riding was way harder than described. My friends and I are very fit and ride regularly but these hills were brutal!

Michael B.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

The incredible group of international participants and how we all enjoyed each other's company.

Donald P.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

Guides Mirta & Kristofer were terrific and flexible. Angelina our cook served up meal after meal of tasty food & plenty of it. The bicycling was very scenic.
I would opt for an above deck cabin though, well worth the extra cost.

Emma S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

Croatia is a very beautiful country that reminded me of Greece. Touring the various islands with bikes was exciting and filled with stunning landscapes and seascapes.
This is a place that would be great to come back to again!

Joan C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

The absolute highlight of the trip were the amazing bike rides. The tour guides, Marko, Marin and Mirta, were knowledgeable and fun! Our first time on eBikes! It made the bicycling effortless and we could completely take in all the sites. The entire trip was very well organized with hiking, biking and swimming most days (a triathlon!) Also, the scheduled tours on various islands were fantastic. The boat and crew were first class, very kind and accommodating. Croatia and it’s beautiful islands should be a must for everyone to see and experience via bikes and boats. Highly recommend this tour!

Elizabeth P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

The beautiful water of the Adriatic Sea and the beautiful coastal views. Food on board was exceptional and bikes were excellent. I would suggest e-bikes for those shy of hills as there are a few tough climbs. Also bring water shoes as the beaches are more rock/pebbles. Kuna is most easily acceptable currency so have lots on hand

Darcy and Debbie D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

The crew were great and meals above average. Unfortunately there were not enough ebikes and the ride is very tough. The e bike riders were always way ahead and it was almost a race instead of enjoying the country side. Only stopped to swim twice, the captain seemed more concerned with rushing to the next port to get a spot on the dock. We were below deck and the ship stayed running when parked which made it very noisy to sleep. Wifi was very limited on the boat and most cabins did not have wifi. We had a great trip with friends but would suggest looking at all cruise line options for your trip needs. The Dalmatian Coast is beautiful.

Jo-anne K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Southern Dalmatia
Croatia

The guides, Senad and Martin, were fabulous. The Romantica crew we’re also excellent. Meals were great. Cycling was generally good, although there was one day where the roads were a bit busy and there was really no scenery to make it worthwhile.
The Romantica is an older boat, and some of the mattresses and pillows are much too soft. The other thing is that there is no soap or shampoo supplied for the shower. Supplying that wouldn’t cost much and would go a long way to increase satisfaction.

Dan S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Southern Dalmatia
Croatia

The itinerary is fantastic. The boat crew was excellent with food and service beyond what was expected. An E bike is very helpful as there are several long steep hills with 10 degree slope. The outdoor seating on this boat wasn’t great but everything else makes up for this.