Romantica boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 30 of 40

4.6 out of 5

 


Joan C.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

The absolute highlight of the trip were the amazing bike rides. The tour guides, Marko, Marin and Mirta, were knowledgeable and fun! Our first time on eBikes! It made the bicycling effortless and we could completely take in all the sites. The entire trip was very well organized with hiking, biking and swimming most days (a triathlon!) Also, the scheduled tours on various islands were fantastic. The boat and crew were first class, very kind and accommodating. Croatia and it’s beautiful islands should be a must for everyone to see and experience via bikes and boats. Highly recommend this tour!

Elizabeth P.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

The beautiful water of the Adriatic Sea and the beautiful coastal views. Food on board was exceptional and bikes were excellent. I would suggest e-bikes for those shy of hills as there are a few tough climbs. Also bring water shoes as the beaches are more rock/pebbles. Kuna is most easily acceptable currency so have lots on hand

Darcy and Debbie D.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

The crew were great and meals above average. Unfortunately there were not enough ebikes and the ride is very tough. The e bike riders were always way ahead and it was almost a race instead of enjoying the country side. Only stopped to swim twice, the captain seemed more concerned with rushing to the next port to get a spot on the dock. We were below deck and the ship stayed running when parked which made it very noisy to sleep. Wifi was very limited on the boat and most cabins did not have wifi. We had a great trip with friends but would suggest looking at all cruise line options for your trip needs. The Dalmatian Coast is beautiful.

Jo-anne K.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Southern Dalmatia
Croatia

The guides, Senad and Martin, were fabulous. The Romantica crew we’re also excellent. Meals were great. Cycling was generally good, although there was one day where the roads were a bit busy and there was really no scenery to make it worthwhile.
The Romantica is an older boat, and some of the mattresses and pillows are much too soft. The other thing is that there is no soap or shampoo supplied for the shower. Supplying that wouldn’t cost much and would go a long way to increase satisfaction.

Dan S.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Southern Dalmatia
Croatia

The itinerary is fantastic. The boat crew was excellent with food and service beyond what was expected. An E bike is very helpful as there are several long steep hills with 10 degree slope. The outdoor seating on this boat wasn’t great but everything else makes up for this.

Michael R.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

Best part: How attentive and accommodating the entire staff (both the crew & guides) were to our needs and desires.

Michael J.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Southern Dalmatia
Croatia

What an amazing way to see Southern Dalmatia - by boat and bike. From the first greeting arriving at the boat to the farewell breakfast, we had a truly outstanding vacation. We chose the e-bike option and are glad we did. Out of six days riding, one had nearly 1,000 meters climb, another day 600, and a couple more 500 meters. The e-bikes definitely made each ride fun for the entire group on the boat. Our guides were awesome - encouraging, informative, and engaging. The boat crew was fantastic, keeping us safe, sound, and happy the entire time. Each day was a different island, along with stops for swimming in the beautiful Adriatic sea. We were sad to see it end.

Bring your helmet and sturdy riding shows - they'll get a workout. You can even bring your own pedals and they will attach them to your bike.

Bonnie H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Southern Dalmatia
Croatia

Excellent guides, fabulous food, breathtaking scenery, challenging, but fun cycling(no e-bike), and great camaraderie!

Malcolm H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Southern Dalmatia
Croatia

My wife and I are biking enthusiasts and found this trip very exciting. But be forewarned it is a challenging ride and if your not riding a lot I'd recommend an e-bike. The guides were great, food was also great. We upgraded to a top cabin and found it very comfortable. Late Sept. weather was in the low 80's and sunny most days. My only negative was the bar bill and water bill were collected at the end of the trip and no credit card was accepted, cash only. I'd wrap the water bill into the price of the trip and collect the bar bill on a credit card. We also signed up for the "extension trip" which was two additional nights. We found this part of the trip poorly planned and a real disappointment.

Richard L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

The food on the Boat Romantica was wonderful.

MARIA JOSE R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

Trip with some room for improvement.
As positive:
1. Bike guides were kind and always trying to fulfill all of our requests.
2. Waiter was really helpful, efficient and nice with all of us
3. Meals on board were tasteful
As 'not so positive':
1. All the the bike routes run 100% by car roads
2. We just were able to take a swim from the boat 2 or 3 times during the full week
3. Captain had to change the itinerary, that initially it did not sound as a problem until we finally spent 24 hours with the ship docked beside the garbage containers in a city with absolutely nothing to visit or to do... while enduring flies and really unpleasant smell...
4. Captain and part of the crew far from 'nice behavior' during the full trip until the last moment that they started to open the tip envelopes and count the money in the dining room with all of us still on board

As a summary, this National Park 'bike & Boat' trip was far from expectations.

Phil M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

Guides were extremely knowledgeable and personable.

Gary R.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Southern Dalmatia
Croatia

The challenge of riding through Croatia whilst making friends with a wide range of people from around the world.

Audrey F.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

The quality of hybrid bike was a piece of junk compared with the bike I used in Amsterdam with a group was much better quality two years ago. I would have enjoyed cycling if the bike was in a better quality. The food was too heavy. Other than that, the scenery was beautiful.

Denise T.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

I loved meeting new biking friends from other countries. Everything was wonderful!

Carla A.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

A bike and barge trip is the perfect way for active people to tour Croatia. The biking was challenging, but doable, and the scenery made up for it all. Our guides were experts, and had our safety and enjoyment foremost in their minds. We thoroughly enjoyed the tours of the various cities, towns and parks provided when not biking. The meals on the boat were gourmet, and the accommodations quite comfortable. The crew treated us with the utmost respect and caring, plus, we got to meet lovely people from all over the world. This was one of our most memorable and fun vacations!

Phil M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

I've done three "Bikes and Barges" trips that I booked through Tripsite, This was far and away the best one. The advance preparations made by the staff of the Romantica were excellent. The two directors were competent, knowledgeable, and friendly. The meals were balanced and well prepared and served in ample portions (truth be told more than ample!). The bike rides were well planned and beautiful. This was truly a delightfully awesome experience. Highly recommended.

Gord H.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

Croatia was beautiful. Every time you thought you saw the most beautiful place we would go to another more spectacular place. Bikes were good esp the e bike for my wife who had asma. The guides did everything they could to make the trip special. The boat stopped lots for swim breaks. Food on board was very good. Our server Klatko made the meals special. The only negative is that all the staff smoked as most people in Croatia. I would recommend a double room on upper deck for more privacy and to get away from staff smoking. All in all I would definitely recommend this trip to everyone.

Denise T.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

With only 16 cabins on the boat, it was easy to interact with everyone, creating a fun and intimate multicultural biking experience.

André G.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Southern Dalmatia
Croatia

The atmosphere among the guests thanks to the two guides was exceptionally good. Congratulations to Tina and Lannis.

Constance R.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Southern Dalmatia
Croatia

This was a most memorable trip! Everything was truly top-notch! Especially loved the scenery, staff, food, company ... what more can I say! The only thing I'd like folks who are considering this to know is that the rides are hard. It was noted as moderate to difficult and most all of us would say it was difficult. But it was worth the effort as the views from the top of the mountains (not hills!) were incredible! And then I could reward myself with all the scrumptious food served at every meal. The camaraderie that developed amongst us travelers was truly a highlight. These are people I wish I could travel with again - so much fun! I know I can't count on this happening again but maybe...! I will definitely book another Bike and Barge trip!

Sue P.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

The scenery and the weather made this a wonderful trip-- however, the participants were unusually amiable and everyone got along famously. One of the waiters was a real clown and kept us all entertained at mealtimes. The chef and his assistant put out some amazing food, and so much of it! The bikes were probably as good a fit as possible on this kind of trip. Our guides were great-- one wouldn't have known this was the end of their season. I can't think of anything that might have been improved upon. Good work!

Claudia H.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Southern Dalmatia
Croatia

Most Memorable Part: The beautiful scenery, the people and guides and the biking

Terri Z.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

The guides Dora and Marcus were great. The ship Romantica, and its crew were wonderful and the food was more than I expected. There was only one day where the riding seemed a bit short and not a great route but it was still a great view when we got to the top of the too steep hill. The whole trip was definitely a great experience and the scenery and other passengers on the trip couldn't have been better.

Sandra M.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

It was a great trip. The Romantica is a newer ship and therefore the rooms were a little bigger and the bathrooms comfortable. The two guides, Marko and Ivana, were excellent. The bike riding was good, although not many miles, maybe 90 over 6 days. One thing that was also different is all 32 guests rode together with the two guides. This had it's benefits, but for avid bikers like us, we spend a lot of time waiting. The food on the boat was outstanding, including many local dishes made with fresh ingredients.

D. Hansen
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

The short 13 km bike trip to Vodice was not scenic and seemed not a good choice for biking at all. Otherwise, the biking was great, scenic, nice villages, good stopping places. Thanks for a great week, great crew, great food and great company of others!

S. Makin
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

I've just returned from a wonderful trip, the National parks of Dalmatia. We had a fabulous time. Our two guides, Ivana and Ivan, were marvellous. Captain Tomo and his crew were top notch. The food was amazing. My only small criticism was the distance biked every day. Our longest day was 25Kms and I would have loved longer and perhaps slower days. I felt the distance was too short and we biked too fast. Otherwise, I loved every second of our Croatian adventure!!

C. Radcliffe
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

Overall I was very pleased. Croatia is a beautiful country. The Romantica was perfect! Thank you to all the staff.

Neal & Lisa
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

What a fantastic trip. The boat, and crew were great. We had lots of fun with them (Dino) and the tour guides (Marko & Lucy). Riding in and out of the beautiful Croatian Harbors was the best. There is NOTHING I can find to say that wasn't above and beyond our expectations. The bikes were good, the food delicious, the crew & tour guides exceptional. Meeting people from all over the world, priceless! Do not hesitate to take this trip!!!

J Anderson
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

Guides were excellent and the food was excellent. Captain was somewhat aloof, but the rest of the staff were very friendly. The bikes were excellent and the daily routes and trips were just what we wanted.