Theodor Körner boat/barge tour reviews — 31 to 60 of 62

4.7 out of 5

 


Saundra F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

The scenery, along our bike route was like a dream! So spectacular! I felt I could bike forever! We did a video of all of us peddling through the lush trees! It could be a commercial for happinesses!

Glenn S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

Most Memorable Part: The scenery and history while cycling though the Danube river valley.

Terrence Zito
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

We had a great time along the Danube river! The cycling was very good and the bikes adequate. The crew of the Theodor Korner were especially nice and competent. The tour guide was really on his game! Unfortunately, the boat itself needs a thorough rehab- our stateroom had an odd odor and was extremely noisy due to mid-ship engines. If we decide to do the Danube tour again we will choose a different boat!

Judith B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

Bike and Barge- along the Danube to 3 countries- was wonderful. The weather ended up being perfect, though it was October, and that made it all even better! Scenery was super! Bikes- well maintained and easy to ride. Lots of great encounters with staff on board; only problem was an accident with the ship on the last day. I am sure it will not happen again!

Linda B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

Getting to explore so many intriguing places along the Danube was an awesome experience. The varying landscapes - farmland, vineyards, orchards, and enchanting villages - was very memorable. The route was a fairly easy ride, but I would stress to future riders to make sure that they do a fair amount of cycling before they embark on this adventure.

Lorna T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

The convenience and friendliness of the atmosphere on the boat, the helpfulness of the staff and the beauty of the of the scenery. All in all it was a wonderful experience.

Evelyn D.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

The scenery was amazing and we felt so alive to experience seeing these countries on a bike. The food was very good. The staff were very helpful. It definitely was one of our most memorable vacation we have taken.

Trudy M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

It was all very memorable. Bicycling through the countryside was very beautiful. My favorite day was the day we left from Krems. The trails were well marked and the bikes were very comfortable.
My only complaint was that we were only given 500 mL of water each day for the trip. A person to drink at least 2 L of water a day especially when doing physical exercise. I had a cold and I would’ve liked to been able to have more water without paying for it. I ran out of water during the night coughing and would’ve liked to have more to drink.

Keith W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

Most Memorable Part: The camaraderie of our dinner table group. There were 12 of us from Australia, New Zealand, Canada & the U.S. and we had the best times together.

Pauline L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

We really loved going through the locks on the Danube and the rides everyday were fabulous with the detailed instructions. There was a castle, ruin, vineyard or cafe around every bend!

Elisabeth P.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

Because our overall experience was so perfect, flawless in every way, it is difficult to highlight just one part. The barge, the bikes, the staff, the guide, the food were all excellent and this holiday by far exceeded our expectations.

Lorna T
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

I enjoyed the cycling, the scenery was generally really lovely and revitalizing, with options to see different things.
The food was very good (especially the fish dishes.)
The staff were very pleasant.
The bikes were good and the bike staff very helpful.
The choice of outingings were very enjoyable.
Overall it was a relaxing cycling holiday which was what I was looking for.
I found that the Tripsite staff, (especially Carla), were very helpful in answering all my questions . Thank you!

Celia H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

It was wonderful to have all the logistics taken care of. All we had to do was get up in the morning, have a hearty breakfast, get on our bikes and head out for a different adventure every day. Not too difficult!
On board, the staff went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating. The ship amenities were great. Our on board entertainer was super and we danced most evenings.
The cycling was scenic, varied and interesting and not too difficult. I liked the cruiser style of the bike. Sitting more upright made sightseeing while riding very easy. Overall a great experience that I can't wait to repeat!

Judith B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

The Danube River is beautiful. My most memorable day was the last one of our week, when we cycled mostly through parks along the Danube in Austria. Weather was pleasant and the quietude, along with the autumn colors and few remaining flowers, was spectacular.

Margery K.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

Most Memorable Part: Riding on the bike paths without having to worry about road traffic.

Robert M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

Scenery was beautiful. Biking was not overly strenuous. All in all very enjoyable.

Nancy B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

The bike routes were exceptional taking us through the most beautiful and scenic areas in the Danube Valley. We especially loved the Wachau Valley and it was Reisling harvest time!

Susan R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

Biking everyday on a different path through diverse scenery and able to stop at any time to see different landmarks. Getting to see more of the countryside than if on a tour bus. This itinerary was very doable for all ages and levels of fitness.

Mary Ellen W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

Highlight: Biking in the Wacchau Valley

Linda B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

Biking through the Wachau Valley was spectacular, thus it was the highlight. The staff on the "barge" were super friendly and helpful. The biking was easy if a person is reasonably fit. A little practice doing long distance biking is a good idea.

Corol M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

Most Memorable Part: Beautiful scenery! Great attention by bike staff.

Jim S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary, Serbia, Romania

We traveled aboard the Theodor Korner, a classic river boat with loads of character and an extremely helpful and courteous staff. We enjoyed sharing the experience with fellow travelers we met on board. Dinners were great as were evenings spent on the deck relaxing with a drink and discussing the day's ride and excursions with our new friends. There is no better way to see and experience places - villages, cities, and rural countryside - than by bike and a boat and bike trip can't be beat for convenience and comfort. We also liked that this tour lasted for two weeks, allowing us to feel truly connected to the places we were visiting.

Sue H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

The entire cycling tour was fantastic. Each day was different, and with a guide who was absolutely terrific, we enjoyed every bit of it!

Laurie S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

The Wachau Valley is breath taking. Austria and Bavaria are absolute gem locations. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone. Tripsite made it easy to book, offer very reasonable prices and answered all our questions.
My only complaint was our German bike guide. We were the only primarily English speaking riders in a group of 14. The rest mostly spoke German. Our guide explained the vast majority of what we were seeing in German. This is somewhat understandable given that we were in the minority, but we felt that we missed out on so much historical explanations. In addition, he admitted that he didn't really know much about all the areas we visited and often deviated from the guide book. We ended up leaving the guided tour and going solo the last 2 days.
We rented e-bikes, which we loved, but had to figure out how to use them as we went along.

Elisabeth P.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

It is difficult to say what the most memorable part of the trip was since every bit of it was exceptional: the scenery, the friendly staff, the other guests, the food, all were above expectations. Add to that the fact that we had perfect early Fall weather, sunny but not too hot, we felt like we had spent a week in heaven.

Susan D.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

The Wachau Valley was our favorite!
Our only complaint is that the toilet in our room was backing up sewer gas. Would have really welcomed a bathroom fan to duck it away or an improved sewer trap to prevent this.

Elizabeth G.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

All of it was memorable - the scenic routes through lovely towns, stopping at wine tasting, castles, cathedrals, the day in Vienna. Lovely wait staff, house keeping and front desk!! Top award goes to the extraordinary chef -- who listened attentively to my request for whole foods, plant based and each evening created an extraordinary delight of color and tastes -- wonderful food combinations, spices, herbs.

Mike W.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Danube Experience
Austria, Croatia, Hungary, Serbia, Slovakia

The trip was well run and organized. The bikes were in excellent condition and easy to ride. The selected routes were easy to follow and offered many sights and excursions. Would highly recommend this trip.

S. Woodhouse
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

We very much enjoyed coming back to the Theodor Korner each afternoon and the camaraderie on board this boat. Previously we have been on hotel to hotel cycling trips, which we have also enjoyed, but this time we enjoyed not having to pack up each morning. The staff were all delightful, the meals excellent and the cycling / sightseeing just right for us. Even the rain a couple of days didn't dampen our spirits. The only thing to mention that Tripsite had wrong on the info we were sent was that we were told that credit cards could not be used for purchases on board. In fact we were able to use a credit card.

S. Irwin
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

The details of the transfer from Munich Airport to Passau was not described in the online information, but detailed in the updated information leaflet found in the cabin once aboard (too late). The online leaflet needs to be updated with details of where the transfer desk can be found at Munich Airport.