Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Zwaantje 61 to 76 of 76

 

 Boat/Barge: Zwaantje • REMOVE  About Zwaantje

  • Champagne Tour
    by Jeff K. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The boat staff was great. Food, service and cleanliness was excellent.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Champagne Tour
    by Paul L. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Zwaantje barge crew were most excellent - great accommodations, food and customer service!! I would take another bike and barge trip with this group....it was an experience of a lifetime!

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Champagne Tour
    by Fulton A. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Mega-kudos to the Zwaanje crew, headed by Martin. They're an extraordinary group.
    Our guide, Mintje, was good and well-intentioned, but she sometimes didn't grasp entirely the group's priorities.
    The route was fantastic -- scenery, length of rides, etc. The tours (champagne, brie, etc., were excellent, especially the family-owned company, Nowak. We learned things and had a lot of fun.
    We appreciated how Martin and Mintje responded to our requests for flexibility in developing distance options for less- and more-eager riders.
    Also, availability of electric bikes made it possible for spouses (of both sexes) to accompany on rides they usually wouldn't be able to do. We know electric bikes are controversial in some corners, but they made the trip possible for some of our group.
    One last thing ... TripSite's PDF summarizing the ride, proposing packing lists, giving directions and tips, was excellent. Congratulations.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Barbara Kallay 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My husband and I had a great bike trip. Riding through the Belgium/Netherlands was delightful. The staff made the trip most memorable- Jacob (bike guide), Els (boat captain), Thomas (cook).

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Champagne Tour
    by D. Power 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The staff on the Zwaantje made the trip!

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Champagne Tour
    by D. Miller 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The ship, captain and crew were wonderful. Our guide was totally unacceptable!

    My only complaint regarding the boat was due to the small cabins. The French locks are narrow, so the boat is narrow, making the rooms a bit to small for my comfort.

    Our main concern was the unprepared tour group leader. She was constantly undecided on how to proceed. I think it was more trying to please the group than not knowing what to do. There should have been a route guide for each person (all we received was a large map with no route shown on it). She needed to be a leader rather than a friend!

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Champagne Tour
    by M. Dumestre 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I highly recommend the Swaantje barge. The captain is both technically experienced and oriented toward customer satisfaction. The staff was very attentive to passenger needs.
    The bike guide was competent, but needed a bit more familiarity with the routes.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Champagne Tour
    by C. Robinson 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Rooms really small; Guide was lost a lot; Staffers not very good with knowledge of E bikes;
    But food was great..staff was kind..trip was pretty.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Champagne Tour
    by D. Quigley 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Your tour was so damn good l find l'm getting naught done cause l want to go again - tomorrow. Seriously, l received courteous service that was pertinent and addressed any of the issues that l might have experienced. Personally, l think the whole Bike and Barge tour was run to the highest professional standards under what were adverse weather conditions. You can't plan for the tidal wave like flood of water that swept down the rivers and the very fact that you were able to 'tap-dance in the snow' and continue to operate at all does you no amount of credit. So from me, a big thank you to all the staff and keep up the good work. it was indeed a distinct pleasure for me to bear witness as other professionals surmounted adversity and came out on top.
    D. Quigley - Melbourne, Australia.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Champagne Tour
    by D. Uram 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    For the most part the trip was wonderful, I would like to put most of my answers right in the middle of satisfied and not satisfied, I just thought the scenery and the landscape etc. was not what I expected. That is not your fault, enjoyed my trips to Italy and Germany were much more scenic

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Champagne Tour
    by C. Bauer 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The guide seemed lost most of the time. He didn't know where to stop for a picnic and one day we ate our lunches at a bus stop. I realize cafes mostly close in France between 12 and 2, but his lack of knowledge of where to find a toilet after lunch was a problem. He chastised us for being slow to re-organize, but then later we'd stop for no reason and wait for up to a half hour with no info from him. He was good at describing architecture.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

    • Champagne Tour
      by Jehiel 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

      Hi C. Bauer,
      Thank you so much for your comment. We have contacted our local partner and assure you we are working very hard to improve this tour based on your feedback. Thanks again for sharing!

      Boat: Zwaantje

      Countries: France

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by M. Ford 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The boat, the crew, the bikes, the food....all great. The bike guide was on her first tour and on several occasions, we had to stop, wait while guide asked for directions. In her defense, route markers were often confusing or hard to locate, making it difficult to take off on our own, or to pause along the way without group consensus. As the farewell meeting on the boat, the entire group voiced positive comments and satisfaction with the experience.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Mary Knapp 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The trip was great as were the hosts of the boat. Everything was exceptional even though it rained daily, that was not a detriment as everything made up for it.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Mary Knapp 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The trip was great as were the hosts of the boat. Everything was exceptional even though it rained daily, that was not a detriment as everything made up for it.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Alan Searle 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a great time and plan on another bike-and-barge trip sometime. We loved the mix of passengers from different countries. Some of the other passengers, using other tour companies, had a few more details of the ports of call, and this would have been helpful for us, and may be a useful selling point for Tripsite.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

PWPC