Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine Bike Tour Reviews 31 to 60 of 92

 

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Doreen S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bourg / Blaye was a wonderful ride with minimal traffic and enough gradient to make it interesting. The fortified town at Blaye was an interesting diversion from vineyards. In all a well organized tour with excellent staff. The bikes were a little heavy but that gave me an excuse for an extra creme brûlée!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Sam 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A GREAT experience on a bike & barge trip! I LOVE Bordeaux and the bike routes were beautiful !!! absolutely amazing from the start to the end.
    The staff members were superb and we had fun !!!
    I highly recommend this trip !!!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Steve & Ginny B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Thank you for arranging our bike/barge trip on the MS Bordeaux.

    We cannot tell you enough good about MS Bordeaux, the Captain and his crew. It was so enjoyable to arrive on board, unpack for eight days, and relax. On other bike rides, we unpacked every night and repacked every morning. I think another bike/barge is in order. Tim LaMonte and I are researching next year’s ride already!

    The food was exceptional (except for one night when the chef was off. My red mullet was raw and not cooked. Can you spell Y-U-C-K?). Every day, we packed our lunches (except when we did our walking tour of Bordeaux with Sebastian, see below.) Desserts were yummy!

    The bike rides were great and we discovered fantastic wines!

    There were 84 passengers on-board. A large group was from Australia, some from Canada, Switzerland and the USA. Even though those of on the non-guided ride tour rode at different speeds, we continuously found each, and other helped each other find our way Read more… and found places of interest. The camaraderie with other riders was phenomenal.

    I had an e-bike. Ginny had a regular bike. On the last day, she traded it in for an e-bike! She will get one for the next tour! Tim also traded his bike for an e-bike on the last day.

    In the middle of the week, we could ride our bikes on a short bike path or take a walking tour of Bordeaux, or both. We decided to have a relaxing day and took the walking tour.

    Sebastian, the bartender, had the day off. We asked why he did the free walking tour on his day off. His response was simple. He loved to tell people about his country and take them on tour of his hometown, Bordeaux.

    A total delight was our interaction with 19-year old Dorrian (sp?). He was the highlight of the trip. He gave the welcome briefing, the evening briefings on what to expect the next day, and was always available.

    1. Dee LaMonte had a flat tire. We called Dorrian and he was there within 15 minutes

    2. Dorrian was on different roads where the non-guided riders were, and always got us on the right track.

    3. Every time we were not sure of where we should be, Dorrian showed up like magic!

    4. Another flat tire, a telephone call, and Dorrian found us again. He took Dee LaMonte and her bike in a van to MS Bordeaux. Dorrian also offered a ride to the rest of us, however, we declined and rode the rest of the way back.

    The final night on board, was the Captains Dinner, a party and lots wine flowing and lot of dancing! A perfect way to celebrate the end of our adventure!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Lee F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was an altogether pleasant experience; the highlight was the lovely little village of Saint-Émilion.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Jeff K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Beautiful chateaus. Great wine. Not allowed to drink in cabin. Cabin extremely small. Shower barely fit one person. Guide excellent. No sauna or hot tub. I would recommend this trip but not this boat (the Bordeaux).

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Neil M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The accommodations, the staff and of course cycling through all the beautiful country side.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Nelson G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time riding through Bordeaux’s beautiful wine country. Our trip was enjoyable for our entire group of varying cycling abilities. The E-bikes made it easy for those that needed them. The staff was excellent and very personable. We were treated as art of the family. We are looking forward to our next cycling adventure.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Paul K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Having a guide for this trip was very beneficial. For the first 3 days our guided group consisted of 30+ people. This was too large of a group and was pretty much a pain. We eventually broke into a group of 8 riders with Dorian as our guide, that was perfect. We were able to travel at a much more leisurely pace, visit many wineries, tasting rooms, small villages and churches.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

    • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
      by Jehiel from Tripsite 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Paul,
      Thanks for this feedback. I agree two guides are better than one with big groups. That way you can have two different riding paces and everyone is content. I will share this feedback with our local partner! Thanks again.

      Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Raine P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The routes were described well before each ride and usually easy to follow, however at least one person in your group should have a GPS. The guide and scenery were exceptional. The food was great but it was difficult getting vegetarian food for dinner even though I had requested vegetarian when I signed up.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Judy C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was absolutely amazing from start to finish. The weather was warm, sunny, and perfect for biking. The country roads, surrounded with miles of vineyards, and the canal bike paths were beautiful. The small towns and villages were charming and delightful destinations; there was always an old castle or church to explore. The picnic lunch that we packed each morning allowed us to experience a variety of "picnic" spots. One day we were on the steps of the University of Bordeaux; another day sitting along the Garonne River in St. Macaire.

    The boat, with just our family plus another couple, was terrific. We got to know the crew quite well-- actually, all on the boat became one big family. It was the trip of a life-time for all 15 of us. Everyday a grandchild would come up to me and say, "Mema, this is the best trip I've ever been on. I am having so much fun." From the youngest, at age 12, to the oldest at 78, we are left with memories that will never Read more… be forgotten.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Georgia M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Travelling on the boat with a small group of international people is such a great way to experience the world - and the bike tours are brilliant.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Jenny & Ted Miles Johnson 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff members were superb!!!
    Another great experience on a bike & barge trip!
    Some suggestions:
    We should have known in advance, that appointments were necessary to visit a winery. A daily visit to a winery would have been nice, where the staff of the boat could have made the appointments.
    In the write up for this particular bike & barge (Bordeaux), it would have been nice for the write up to let people know, that there are a few hills (12-15%) to ride up daily.
    Even bicyclist in decent shape had a tough time riding up these 12-15% grades, due to the heavy bicycles. Maybe, letting people know, that it’s advisable to get an ebike, can resolve the uphill climbs issue.
    Also, for not getting lost on the daily bike routes; The availability of the gps was a big plus and a necessary piece of equipment, for a successful & pleasant daily bike trip.
    Overall, the staff & owner of the barge were very helpful & were there for you, Read more… when you were in need of something!

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Lisa S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We traveled on the ship Bordeaux in France. The bike routes were beautiful, but the instructions provided by not so great. No worries, we had maps and a GPS, we made each day into an adventure!!!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Stephen M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Visiting Arles was particularly memorable, but we very much enjoyed the trip itinerary.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Brent M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The friendly relaxed and welcoming atmosphere of the barge and staff.

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Jacqueline T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Get an ebike if you have any doubts about your ability to do the biking. I am not a biker but was able to do the hills around Bordeaux because of the ebike. Most memorable moments was just the ride through the vineyards themselves, past the chateauxs.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Sarita L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was great. Just did not like the room and bathroom size.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Susan M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We enjoyed St Emilion which we explored on our own. We should have been told what there was unusual to see in all of the ports that we were in at the beginning of the trip so that if reservations were necessary at sights that interested us we could have made them. Sebastian worked very hard at making sure that we had a great time on the boat. We were part of a learning experience and work in progress for Pascal.

    Countries: France

    • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
      by Wendy from Tripsite 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Thanks for your feedback Susan! Yes, information should definitely be shared at the beginning of the tour and typically is but we do apologize as the regular tour guide for this tour was not on board the week of your departure so there was some lack of details. St Emilion is also my favorite!

      Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Linda R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was wonderful. Biking around the French countryside — what could be bad? HOWEVER, this trip should not be taken unless the client is assured that the barge has replaced their current bikes (as they say they will for 2018) with lighter bikes in perfect working order. They should make sure that there are bikes of all sizes, so that a small person (I am 5’) will get a properly fitted bike. I biked the entire week on a 6-speed rusty heavy old bike. Even the bell and kickstand didn’t work.

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Tama L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: St. Emilion and the disco party on the boat the last night

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Ronnie L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bordeaux is an exquisite area of France. Exploring it on a bike made it that much more enjoyable. The scenery and visiting wine Chateaus that have been in business for generation was quite spectacular. The city of Bordeaux may be my favorite city of all the European cities I've visited. It's very easy to use the public transportation, there is much to see, explore and experience there. For future listings, I would rate this trip as at least moderate in cycling difficulty. There was one flat day, one day of rolling cycling, and 3 day of pretty challenging hills, especially on heavy hybrid bikes. On any future tour I will definitely consider using an ebike. Many if not all of the European women used them. I met many interesting and lovely people from other countries on this tour. It was delightful!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Andrea S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the bike rides in the country side, and visiting the wineries, especially the day Viktor took us to Clos de Bigos. Staff on the boat was great. Boat is older and can get very damp in the lower cabins. The cabin did have air conditioning which is very nice. The areas we visited were beautiful, and we were surprised at how beautiful Bordeaux is.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Veronica H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bordeaux the best city on trip for us. Trip is not easy because of traffic and hills---scary!!!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

    • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
      by Wendy from Tripsite 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      This tour is a mix of days with flat/easy riding and days with occasional hills/moderate riding hence the rating easy/moderate. It is important to keep in mind that our ratings are based on riders who ride often and are accustomed to riding on varied paths and terrain. There are times that you will be on shared roads and depending on the time of day, you may encounter some traffic so we recommend a vest like our reflective one.

      Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Richard O. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were on the 9-16 Sep sailing on the Bordeaux from Castets-en-Dorthe to Libourne. The provided daily road maps were difficult to follow and easily confusing; most folks saved the $200 euro apiece, and did the self-guided rides -- and folks were going off trail everywhere. Luckily, I had downloaded Ulmon maps, so I could always find my way back to the trail. They did offer 3 bike computers with pre-loaded maps which were very helpful. You state they can be rented for $15 euro, actually, they are available for free, with a $100 euro refundable deposit, unless it is lost or stolen.
    Otherwise, the trip was a delight, and great kudos to the bike guide Victor, the ship's owner Pascale, and her fine crew.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Karry & Brent M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Besides the beautiful scenery, the staff on the boat were so friendly and helpful. They worked as a team, and the relationship with the guests was wonderful. We made many new friends, and had such a good time. Leaving, we had tears in our eyes. We loved the wineries and tasting many new wines. Although we understand the purpose of corkage fees, we thought they were too high, as we came back with one or two new ones every day! Loved the trip!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Vivian C. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The routing in Bordeaux was great. Amazing scenery, passing through little towns and managing our way through a city or two made for an amazing adventure. One day I had a big problem with my bike and with a phone call I had a young man show up and fix it. He was my hero.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

PWPC