5 star rated Famous Villages of Provence Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 11 of 11

 

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by David and Anne S. 6 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was the best bike trip of our lives. We took it in early June, 2019 with e-bikes and upgraded accommodations. Unless you're a strong cyclist, e-bikes are the way to go for this trip. First, the hotels were amazing and in each one after the first the specific rooms reserved were wonderful. The first hotel in Avignon was simply awful. Not only because the air conditioning was out, but the room was tacky, in bad repair, and was musty. The tour needs to have this changed. The common areas were just fine, it was only our room. Another thing to change would be the route on the first day through Avignon - heavy traffic, a lot of road construction, and then cycling on a road with a narrow shoulder, semi trucks, and 30 mph winds. This was still a five-star trip. I hadn't done much research ahead of time, and so Les Baux de Provence and Fontaine de Vaucluse each came as a complete and wonderful surprise - I had not even imagined places of such beauty and charm. There Read more… were some minor problems with the GPS, particularly the road barred off in one place. Fortunately we had a hotspot which we took with us each day, and were able to figure out how to reroute ourselves using Apple maps, but we would have been in trouble otherwise. We went to the market at Isle sur la Sorgue, but it was impossible to visit with bikes due to the crowds of people. We didn't dare leave the e-bikes, even locked, so we had to take turns going in - but still fun!

    Countries: France

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by Marion L. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What a fabulous way to see Provence. The route selected took us through many memorable villages. Provence Bike did a great job with high quality bikes, good maps and well set up GPS systems. We particularly enjoyed seeing Roussilon; Gordes; Baix Aux Provence as well as the source of River Sourge. Our group of 4 decided on e-bikes which we did not regret because of the steep hills getting in and out of the villages. We particularly liked the idea of staying multiple nights in one location. A great trip!! A suggestion -- include a list of things "not to miss" that are less than a kilometer from the route or, in the villages we are going through. It is convenient to have a guide book but a few notes would be really helpful.

    Countries: France

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by Abbie M. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We absolutely loved the two villages we stayed in and many we rode through along the way (our trip was shortened). The French have a way of sharing their “Joie de vivre.” We'd never been to Provence, and the olive groves and apple orchards, the adorable small towns, the food and wine, eating our picnic lunch in an ancient, empty church foyer— all made for an unforgettable adventure. My only suggestion is to make sure people know how to use the GPS if they are their own guides. It was confusing for us but we eventually figured it out. Lucky are those that can take this trip!

    Countries: France

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by Ann S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part: Les Baux de Provence: location, view from hotel patio, view from restaurant, atmosphere

    Countries: France

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by Bill & Kristy C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a wonderful trip! My wife and I did the trip in late September 2017 and we had a great time. It was the first time that we have used e bikes and we loved them! The maps were good but using the GPS made the trip, taking us on quaint back roads and side alleys so we didn't even have to stop and look at the maps! Hotels and scenery were fabulous, and of course the wine and food as well. We give this trip a 5/5 and look forward to our next Tripsite adventure

    Countries: France

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by Liz G. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Accommodations faultless. Bike company efficient and I loved my bike. Maps very inadequate, we should not have been on "on ramps" to or navigating 4 lane highways, check out the maps through Cavaillon for example. More moderate than recreational cycling especially the hills. Great on an E bike if you had one. Scenery exquisite. Weather too! Thank you to Mary for organizing or extra nights in Avignon, another great hotel.

    Countries: France

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by Harvey A. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    "easy to moderate" was at the outset incorrect, it was "moderate to difficult" when one considers the length and incline of the hills. Also, our group of twelve experienced 3 flat tires, the first time in many years of biking in Europe, and each was on an e-bike. The hotels, on the other hand were exquisite!

    Countries: France

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by Michele D. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was beautiful scenery, especially the magical villages we rode through in Provence.

    Countries: France

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by Y. Silverberg-Urian 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    At the start there was mix-up with our believing we were in Option A (written on receipt) but placed in Option B. Small issue but a surprise. Otherwise, maps worked fine once more used to the + or - aspect figured in to almost all mileage. We had a wonderful time!

    Countries: France

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by Kevin Romanowski 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Overall a great experience. The E bike introduction and explanation of use was rescheduled, then rushed so our group was at a disadvantage throughout the hill climbs. Some road sections were highways and quite honestly dangerous for short segments. This was our second trip and directions at one point or another usually are unclear periodically throughout the trip.

    Countries: France

PWPC