Hungary Bike Tour Reviews 241 to 270 of 330

 

 Country: Hungary • REMOVE

  • Terri 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I would love to be a receptive traveler! I think what you are doing is wonderful!

  • Vivien Watts 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Overall great trip, really loved it. Did feel the duration and arrival time in Vienna was disappointingly limited - nowhere near long enough to see sufficient in daylight hours.

    Unfortunately one major problem became apparent. The tour director was charming and affable when presenting to an audience, but his manner often vacillated (changed) when talking with individuals. On many occasions he was rude and dismissive, including sometimes making derogattory comments. Due to his public persona (welcoming and friendly), I was really shocked by this. At times he gave the impression that he was putting on an act, that he really did not like or enjoy his job and the guests were an infuriating annoyance to him. Even allowing for tiredness and stress, I do not think there is any excuse for rudeness to friendly (and paying) customers. I was not the only one to observe his changeable attitude or bear the brunt of his dismissive rudeness. As it wasn't possible to pick what his response Read more… would be (ie positive or negative), I only spoke to him when spoken to. I shudder to think of his treatment of the genuinely lovely and diligent cleaners and kitchen staff. Perhaps it's time for Leslie to retire.

    Boat: My Story

  • Judy Lucas 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    As this was our 1st bike and boat experience, we did not know what to expect. We are recreational cyclists, not cycling fanatics, and were very happy with this trip and look forward to saving up to do another similar adventure.

    I do have 2 comments. The meal situation. It was disappointing not to have the opportunity to mix with more of the passengers as we were at a table by ourselves and had to stay at this table for every meal - even breakfast - every day. As it was a breakfast buffet and not everyone arrives for breakfast at the same time, being free to sit wherever, would definitely encourage more socializing amongst all passengers. Also, some nights, even though the staff was definitely hustling, it took more than 2 hours to be served our main course. It would seem that a few more staff members could help with this loooong wait after a long tiring day.

    Also, there was a definite, obvious bias each day towards the larger group of German speaking passengers when it Read more… came to the briefing on the bike route. They were always briefed first and always went over the allotted time leaving the briefing for the English speaking passengers a very rushed affair, leaving no time for clarifications and a late start each day. This did result in some people getting lost. Alternating which group was briefed first might alleviate this problem.

    Having said this, it was a tremendous trip and I would definitely recommend it to any recreational cyclist. Wonderful scenery with fantastic suggested rest stops made it an exceptional adventure. Thank you for all your help in making this a superb, memorable experience. Your service was outstanding. Thank you again.
    Judy.

    Boat: My Story

  • Deborah Waldo 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Food was not we are accustomed to on trips of this type.

    Boat: My Story

  • Anna Brasier 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Ship broke down and we were bused to Budapest vs cycling in, that was disappointing, but not to be helped. Jurgen our guide was very good.

    Boat: My Story

  • Susan Oman 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I liked the ease of being in a larger boat vs a small barge. There was plenty of room in the lounge and other public places so we could get some quiet time. Also a little more anonymity on the larger boat and self guiding was fun.

    Boat: My Story

  • Leslie Kerluke 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Enjoyed the trip fully but thought there could have been a little better information on riding and expected timeline for rides, as we often rode faster than necessary and didn't know we could stop along the way for sight seeing etc. Our cycle guide was very nice but did not have all the information to answer our questions or help us to maximize our sight seeing experience.

    Boat: My Story

  • Elise Manners 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The whole trip was fantastic! I have already recommended it to many of my friends and one group have already booked a trip for next year!

    Boat: My Story

  • Susan Martin 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    There was a mixup checking in to the cabins on the boat. The boat staff assigned us different rooms than the vouchers from TripSite indicated. Glad I had my voucher, otherwise we wouldn't have been placed in the upper deck room we paid for. I think the mixup affected everyone in our group of 12, and unfortunately some people were not as fortunate as we were and ended up in lower deck cabins when they reserved upper deck ones.

    Boat: My Story

  • Mary Sandra Duggan 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We enjoyed the trip very much and are planning another. We enquired about the the free shirts for repeat customers but haven't gotten them. The website is not clear about ordering them.

    Countries: Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

  • Steve VanderWeide 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We did have rain quite a few days on her trip. But we were prepared and so we wore our raingear. Our guide Pieter, was very good at watching the weather and getting us inside or out of the rain if he could

    Boat: My Story

  • Bill Fleshman 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    This is the 3rd travel group I've put together through tripsite and each was very enjoyable. My groups ranged in size from 3 to 12. The first was a land bike trip in Provence, France and the next two were bike and boat trips on the Mozel and the Danube. I am not associated with a tour company but found working with Tripsite personnel, Mary, Carla and others, to be easy even for a novice like me to put together such trips. I have worked with other agencies but have found Tripsite to be more "reachable" and available at any time I had questions. I will continue to use them for future group and individual trips.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Patricia Scullin 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    There was a chemical odor in the hallway outside our room, and the food was not good.

    Boat: My Story

  • Ronald Allard 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Was not always easy to "stay on course" on the bike tours. Directions and/or course markings could have been better.

    Boat: My Story

  • Dana Bowen 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Travel instructions from Budapest to St. Andrews were inaccurate. Instead of a high speed train, it was necessary to go from metro to bus to a train that was little better than a WWII troop train with no air conditioning that stopped everywhere. It was a $50 cab ride to the inn. All this when there was a one hour boat ride that docked by a ferry across the river to the inn. Our packets contained very poor maps (as conformed by natives of the area when I used them). My brother and traveling companion could not get a return call from the tour people and was so upset he simply left and flew back home. I stayed and the inn star was lovely, but with inadequate maps and/or written instructions, I did not venture far.

    Countries: Hungary

  • Carol Reimann 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Awesome experience! Can't wait to plan my next adventure with you.

    Boat: My Story

  • Julie Kummel jkummel@rain.org 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Some of the routes were complicated, but we had good backup from our staff, and possibility of getting lost was reduced considerably. The bikes were in excellent condition, the staff were friendly and very knowledgeable--it was a very enjoyable trip and I would do it again.

    Boat: My Story

  • Doug Okey 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Have recommended the 2 trips we did to all our friends and they are very keen to go.

    Boat: My Story

  • Michael Sudheer 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    A wonderful experience made even better by the friendly and so very helpful staff. Thank you!

    Boat: My Story

  • Steve Slinkard 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Guides should have provided a little more detail (distance between turns, landmarks, areas to pay extra attention, etc)

    Boat: Normandie

  • Art Shotwell 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    My wife & I had a wonderful four country bike-boat trip on the Danube. Saw wonderful little towns, met good friends on the trip, and enjoyed good food and wine.

    Boat: My Story

  • Gail Black 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I enjoyed staying put at night better than the barge moving at night. We have done both and I enjoy walking around in the evening.I also would not have so many ferry crossings in the next trip. Puts a time factor in the ride.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Sandra Stocks 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Despite nasty weather conditions, which no one can control, the crew made our trip fun and exciting.

    Boat: My Story

  • Kristi Sinkus 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    AC did not work
    BargeBoat needed updating
    Crew was accommodating
    but moody
    Overall my biking experience was terrific!"

    Boat: My Story

  • Rafael Camarota 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I enjoyed eating off the boat. It was our choice to have more local flare and maximize time off boat. It did feel wasteful. It would be great if there was a reduced meals option or an option to "donate" meals or value of meals to charity.

    Boat: My Story

  • Gary Saelens 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Great bike/boat trip along the Danube!

    Boat: My Story

  • Mary Anne Gilbert 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    This trip is for the person who does not want any surprises. There was nothing wrong with the food or the bikes or the staff. However there was also no sense of discovery, as every detail of your day was planned out for you, what to order when you stopped for lunch at the only place recommended, what sights to see in the cities, etc. I personally like to explore along the way and take my time in the countryside. This is the only Tripsite trip I have taken that has left me feeling a bit let down, and I have taken several.

    Boat: My Story

  • Kathleen Josten 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The captain crew and trip leaders all went out of their way to make us feel at home and special. The bikes were ready when they needed to be. The dinners were ready on time. We were prepared for the next day's ride. I could not ask for a better experience! The My Story crew and Lesley as trip leader were the best!

    Boat: My Story

  • Sandra Dusseault 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The guide was awful. We would only stop when he wanted to, and that was on the side of the path so that he could have a cigarette. When we suggested a stop in a small village, or somewhere interesting, he would say no. When I told him that I was going to go ahead on my own, he spoke to me like I was a child, telling me I was to stay with the group. The route descriptions in the evening were excellent...the main guide was fantastic, it was just the guide that we paid extra for that soured our trip.
    The boat was great, the staff was phenomenal. Our rooms were really good, an incredibly clean.

    Boat: My Story

  • Joseph Rine 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Boat and staff were fantastic. Daily rides were good, but routes could have been better. The Devlin loop circled us around several gravel dikes for about 10 miles. Trails were rough and not well marked. But there were miles of great bike paths along the Danube that we motored past on the boat....

    Boat: My Story

PWPC