Bike Tour Reviews 271 to 300 of 3230

 

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Raymond C. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The self-guided cycling was, for us, the best item of a great trip. We were provided with an excellent, hard-wearing map which had the daily routes clearly marked. The bike paths were accurately sign posted with numbers corresponding to those on the map. Self-guiding meant we could go at our own pace and it also means that stronger riders can be accommodated, eg, if they wish to ride faster or to do more than the scheduled distances. The bikes were heavy but comfortable, quiet and well maintained. The ride leaders were always willing to provide guidance.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Sheila S. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: How Saunder, Els, and Rola were all so committed to making sure we had a great trip with terrific cycling, fantastic food, and comfortable accommodations.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Kvarner Bay E-Bike and Boat
    by Joseph S. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    As always, Croatia excels!! The towns, the people and the unbelievably clean, warm waters were great!! Our guides and boat crew were also wonderful. For us, this trip had too much boat time and not enough bike time. For others, they enjoyed the ride and the scenery. We would also recommend stopping at the old penal colony rather than the mile walk into a state park as it was very pretty but no more so than most of the coast lines we had already seen. Thanks for a great trip - we will be back for a different tour next May.

    Boat: Andela Lora

    Countries: Croatia

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by Richard L. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food on the Boat Romantica was wonderful.

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Three Capitals of Russia
    by kevin k. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Sadly, the most memorable part of the trip was a crash in which one of our cyclists suffered a serious head injury. It of course had nothing to do with the quality of the tour, which was OK. Negatives included, firstly, the food. The menus at the restaurants and hotels were boring and the food itself was bland and not particularly healthy. We were given the same basic set of courses every night, and breakfasts were more like dinners than US style in that they featured pasta and meat, with little fruit or grains. Positives: our guide, Vladimir, was conscientious and personable. Most of the cycling routes were on quiet roads, though some were on busy highways. Too much time was spent in the van -- about as much as on our bikes. The spirit of the group was good, and we all seemed to get along well. Highlights included the cycle tour of Moscow and the walking tour of Novgorod. The walk in St Petersburg was not as informative. Accommodations were basically fine, though I was assigned a Read more… noisy room in Petersburg on the second floor above a heavily trafficked street and the management would not change it despite my requests.

    Countries: Russia

  • Halkidiki Peninsula
    by Teri B. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It is difficult to pin point the most memorable part of this trip as it was all so fantastic! The guide was one of a kind, he was extremely helpful and so fun. The views on the ride along with all of the beaches were magnificent. I've never seen a more beautiful region. The bikes worked well and I can't wait to take another tour with TripSite.

    Countries: Greece

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Donald B. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Especially loved the area of the Dolomite Mountains, from Bolzano to Lake Gardia, for the beauty and then arriving in Venice.
    Trip was extremely well organized; wonderful crew, special tour guides in Mantova and Venice, good food...and bravo to Vivian and Sonya, excellent guides
    The cyclists really got along well so that was an added bonus.
    First trip that was guided for us and I was pleasantly surprised. Other trips were self-guided and so was the first part of the trip, from Bolzano to Mantova.
    Lack of toilets on the way...

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by KEVIN 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip was so incredible on multiple levels,

    Sergio and his staff Henrique, Diego and Marta were fantastic. The equipment was excellent as was the walking tour of Porto.

    The accommodations were unbelievable especially the Torre do Rio The two paradors were amazing in history and comfort. Each of the hotels provided great rooms and breakfasts. The service at each location was wonderful and really appreciated.

    As we did this as a unsupported self guided tour we were on our own. This gave us the opportunity to meet many amazing people along the way. As many people do this as a religious pilgrimage by walking or riding there was no shortage of opportunities to meet new people. We met people that will be friends for years.

    This tour is listed as easy to moderate. I would not recommend this to newer riders as a lot of the tour is on trails of sand, gravel, rocks, dirt and other surfaces. There is also many climbs.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by Tom H. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip this segment of the Danube cycle path is nearly 100% paved and very smooth. It is relatively easy to follow the cycle path route markings. The GPS maps I was sent did not work for this segment. They worked fine from regensburg to passau so probably not user error. The cycle path is really popular with cyclists but never too crowded even though not everyone has good bike handling skill so you need to pay attention. Maps provided to hotels are not very good however people I talked to with other trip companies had the same issues and in several different languages people we met were helpful and anxious to provide
    information. Hotels were all very pleasant and comfortable even though it was very hot and they did not have air conditioning.

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Pat L. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The last day of the beautiful rolling hills and gorgeous monastery on the hill and quaint historic towns along the way were the highlight of the trip.

    I loved Jan's presentations. He was very well prepared and his delivery was great. You should keep him doing that. However, his personal customer service leaves something to be desired. He had no patience for details that were not perfect.

    All guides except for one were exceptionally good. The one guide in Budapest was so bad we got our money back for the bike guide in the city.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Gayl G. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Two wonderful ways to travel and see the world: on a bike and on the sun deck of a boat.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sarah H. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed Wachau. Definitely stop for the wine tour, and enjoy the biking through the vineyards. It was absolutely beautiful.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Michael B. S. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful experience on the Magnifiquell. Everything about the trip was great. The staff including the ship crew and guides were fantastic. This was a well organized and efficient trip.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Rachel F. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The best part was the first three days self-guided tour near the Dolomites on our 10 day tour.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Aschaffenburg to Stuttgart
    by David M. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Iris is a well equipped and comfortable barge with a fantastic crew. Our guide, Thomas, was knowledgeable and very helpful and the Italian chefs (husband and wife) cooked delicious food and were super cute! Lenny, the owner of the Iris, was present throughout the trip and this added a special warmth to the trip. This was the first time this itinerary was offered on the Iris and it went off without a hitch. Many of the guests had E Bikes (which I recommend even though it was rated as an easy route) which made the several small hills a piece of cake! Would definitely recommend this trip on the Iris.

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Germany

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Donald K. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had such a wonderful time - The bikes were great, the accommodations were very good, and the total experience was just suburb! We were a large party of 14, but all was taken care off, and we had a great time - a trip of a life time!

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Rhonda G. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This cycling tour was amazing. I would have to say the Rhine Falls were spectacular. Riding into the Stein am Rhein village was simply breathtaking. To see how people live and still live in this village was simply amazing

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Paul K. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Guides were very knowledgeable & helpful............ The crew went above & beyond...........

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Aschaffenburg to Stuttgart
    by Arthur S. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great barge, good people, great guide and good food. The only thing missing was a good detailed map of where we were riding.

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Germany

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by John B. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food was terrific always (one of us is a chef, so that’s a big compliment). The guides (Corrie and Nel) are both amazing—really perfect at what they do. Their patience and positive attitudes and exuberance overcame little quibbles and challenges that were occasionally encountered (weather, construction). The bicycle routes were always interesting and the trip from Brugge to De Haan was especially memorable. The crew were always friendly and helpful, especially Sigrid.

    If we changed anything, it would be to NOT bring our helmets; the helmets on board seemed more than adequate.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Ilene W. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Mantova to Venice bike and barge on the Ava Maria! The crew, the ship, the food and our guides were outstanding! Also all the guides we had in the cities and venues were fabulous!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by MARIA JOSE R. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Trip with some room for improvement.
    As positive:
    1. Bike guides were kind and always trying to fulfill all of our requests.
    2. Waiter was really helpful, efficient and nice with all of us
    3. Meals on board were tasteful
    As 'not so positive':
    1. All the the bike routes run 100% by car roads
    2. We just were able to take a swim from the boat 2 or 3 times during the full week
    3. Captain had to change the itinerary, that initially it did not sound as a problem until we finally spent 24 hours with the ship docked beside the garbage containers in a city with absolutely nothing to visit or to do... while enduring flies and really unpleasant smell...
    4. Captain and part of the crew far from 'nice behavior' during the full trip until the last moment that they started to open the tip envelopes and count the money in the dining room with all of us still on board

    As a summary, this National Park 'bike & Boat' trip Read more… was far from expectations.

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Diane S. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I thought the most memorable part of the trip was going to be the scenery and the bike riding, but most of my memories are of the people I met and the connections we have made sharing our stories with each other. The trip was very well organized and our guide Arie did his best to make sure each day had the best bicycling experiences. The accommodations aboard the Magnifique were wonderful and the staff exceptional. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone interested in exploring and learning about the area between Amsterdam and Bruges and having some easy physical activity along the way. Each day had new things to see and learn.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Janet Zimmerman 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our week on the Quo Vadis was fantastic. The Captain,crew and cycling guides were all wonderful. The served up tasty, beautifully presented, filling and nutritious meals. Our cycling routes were interesting and fun. I’d do another trip on the Quo Vadis

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by James J. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Staff and guides Comfort of boat, the daily tours and the scenic bike paths

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • The Elbe River and Prague
    by Greg T. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The boat and crew and guide were all top notch

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • Portugal Atlantic Route
    by Elisa N. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We absolutely loved our trip along the Portugal Atlantic coast! The route was beautiful and different everyday. We loved the variety of pine forest, coast line and little towns. The route was pretty easy to follow and the GPS worked great. Thank you again for a great trip!

    Countries: Portugal

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Therese Z. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My husband, son (16), nephew (17) and myself did the 7 day Lake Constance tour in Germany in August. It was an awesome experience from the booking, payment, tour, and hotels. We travelled from Canada and stayed in Zurich the night before tour. We took an Uber from Zurich to Lake Constance (approx 1 hour). The train was also available and the station in Lake Constance was directly across from our first night accommodation, Hotel Halm. The Hotel was quite nice with a beautiful dining room and incredible breakfast. All the hotels were clean, easy to ride to and had super friendly staff. We stayed in 3-5 star hotels as we wanted to be close to town centers.
    The bike tour itself was mostly flat with a few hills. You must pay close attention to bike signs as we got lost a few times. Even with this, it was easy to get back on track. My husband had google maps that showed bike routes. Although I am an avid road biker my family is not. They had no problem biking 40km to 65km Read more… (our longest day) without training.
    Our luggage was picked up around 9am everyday and was at the next Hotel each day before we arrived. We opted to eat our dinners on our own and did not include this in our tour. This was a good idea as it was nice to walk around the new towns and decide where we wanted to eat.
    Lake “Konstanz” “Bodensee” was beautiful. We road through cornfields, next to vineyards, near the lake, and had endless opportunities to find places to eat. The bikes have a nice pack on them to accommodate water, food, extra clothing, a lock that came with bike, and the map given to us before we began. The bikes were smooth to ride and the gears were just enough to bike the terrain (mostly paved). I would ask for a male bike the next time as I missed the crossbar across the top.
    I would certainly recommend this tour. There was just so much to see and bike and the tour was organized so well by Tripsite. I honestly have only good things to say.
    We were e-mailed 2020 tours and I was already eagerly looking at Bike and Barge tours. Make sure you book early as the tours do book quickly.

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Kathy C. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food on the barge was amazing! We had strong winds for the bike but our leader made modifications to give people options for shorter routes. Amazing trip!!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

PWPC