Bike Tour Reviews 3151 to 3180 of 3373

 

  • Main Trail
    by William Osborn 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Just back from Germany yesterday and I just wanted to say thank you for helping with the arrangements for the trip. We really enjoyed ourselves. Everything worked out perfectly for the bikes, hotels, and transportation.

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Wendy Davey 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What a fantastic trip. From the moment we were on board we knew it was going to be well organised and professional. The barge "My Story" was always very clean and the food was fantastic along with the staff very helpful and accommodating. The cycling along the Danube was picture perfect. All the extra tours were well organised. Wonderful memories! Thankyou.

    Boat: My Story

  • Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
    by Donna Flotron 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is a well run tour with some minor irritations.The ebikes are not very safe as they have very small wheels with a high seat and handle bars.Only 8 ebikes were used but there were 3 accidents due to the balance issue.

    Crew and guides were very good and very hospitable.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Dolomites to Venice
    by Yarden Dor 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I just came back from this trip two days ago and all I can say is "wow!"

    Not only were the views absolutely amazing and dramatically different each day, but the tour itself exceeded my expectations! All the hotels were clean and comfortable, and you can really tell that the individuals who organize the trip truly care about what they do as well as your satisfaction! The directions were super easy to follow each day and even provided further detail about certain key cities or building.

    Such an enjoyable trip! Will definitely book another! Thank you for a great time!

    Countries: Italy

  • Dolomites to Venice
    by Natana Shek 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have done many self guided trips across Europe. This trip I did with my two daughters. This was by far the best organized and coordinated trip I have every done. The support, the hotels and the bikes were outstanding. The people involved in coordinating bike delivery and some transport were engaging and very interesting sharing the history of the landscape and area. The ride itself was magnificent with no two days being the same. I highly recommend this trip and this tour operator!

    Countries: Italy

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Jean Stock 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I had always wanted to take a bike and barge trip in Europe for many years and finally did as my retirement celebration. Everything about the tour exceeded my expectations! The bicycling through the country, villages and cities was pleasant; our tour guide Sjac (Jack) aboard the FLUVIUS was friendly, helpful, indefatigable and could speak 4 languages; the camaraderie with the other cyclists and staff was outstanding; the food was excellent; the cabins were clean and actually bigger than I expected for a barge; and we lucked out and had perfect bicycling weather day after day. The folks at tripsite always responded quickly and were very helpful when I emailed or called them with questions. I would highly recommend this mode of travel as a way to get exercise and see Europe close up!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Marilyn Kuntze 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I did the four country tour along the Danbue with 11 others. We booked through Tripsite. From the beginning I was impressed with the friendly and professional backup from the staff. The trip was better than expected. The boat "My Story" -friendly staff, delicious Food, nice atmosphere. We had good weather, tours well explained and organized with no time pressure. My husband and I did the trip six years ago and enjoyed it and recommended it to friends and Family in the USA. I believe that all were very pleased with everything, This is ideal for a bike that is doing something like this for the first time.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Dalmatian Coast
    by Don Lubach 6 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Our family would set sail on this trip again. It is overreaching to describe the accommodations as luxurious in any way. But the skill and friendliness of the crew is all the luxury anyone needs. The owner has carefully mapped out the most charming bicycle routes with great care. Our 13 and 15-year-old daughters were never bored -- and that means a lot. I liked that there were no hidden costs and even extra beer/wine was a great price (not like evil cruise ship prices.) This group took care of unexpected extras, like helping us with our phone cards and finding us at the airport. Thank You.

    Boat: Odisej

    Countries: Croatia

  • Along the Dalmatian Coast
    by Dave Wallace 6 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Inga and I enjoyed our boat and bike trip on the northern Dalmatian Islands very much. We will do it again! The boat, accommodations, meals bicycling and hosts were all we expected. And scenery on the islands and sea are breath-taking.

    Boat: Odisej

    Countries: Croatia

  • Around Romantic Bruges
    by Martin Bay 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We are really impressed and will give all our friends top ratings on Brugge.

    Great things to say about the hotel and the area. June is cool weather - bring jacket & light rain gear, but just expect to get a little wet every day and you won't be disappointed.

    Paul and Mannie are great. One runs the hotel and one the B&B. They are very helpful and good people. There are not real "rides". You get a map, you ask questions and you go ride. It's just not that specific. A total beginner needs a little more hand-holding. Nancy & I did not.

    Breakfast is filling & tasty. Cereal, juice, coffee (more American than most of the places in Belgium), toast, cheese, ham (really good ham), and a soft boiled egg every day. Plus yogurt, fruit, jams/jellies, and always something sweet like a cookie/chocolate. And an apple, kiwi, or banana to go.

    You don't need to eat again until 2pm.

    It stays light until 10:30, so you end up eating Read more… late.

    Mondays & Thursdays pose the most challenge with eating out. And you have to venture outside the cirucular canal to find groceries who sell you sandwiches and trinkets at normal prices. Everything inside the canal is triple price.

    All chocolate shops are good. Dumon is excellent because they are more creative and they put more thought into their display.

    The cobblestones get a little old after awhile, but the bikes have spring seats and low-air tires so it's not too bad. Ride a road bike through the town at your own risk. :-)

    Be prepared for wind. We were so surprised at the cooler June temps; very pleasant. A light jacket and a rain-proof attitude is all you need.

    The hotel internet logs you off constantly, so every 30 min or so you have to log back on, but otherwise is very solid. I had good VPN all the time, so I could check work emails.

    The B&B is larger rooms, with larger showers. If you are over 200 lbs, you get a little cramped in the hotel showers. But otherwise, the hotel is great value It's in a quiet area, and yet only minutes walking or riding to all the touristy things.

    I'd Recommend the Groeninge Museum for art collection. It's fascinating and all the works are in top shape.

    The Diamont Museum is a must is you have any interest at all in diamonds. The demonstration for an extra 3 euros each was well worth it.

    And the restaurant across the street (forgot the name) is great value and offers free wifi.

    There is no common language. You may hear Dutch, German, French or English spoken at any store. But everyone has enough English to get by. Paul says he can sell a room in 6 different languages. :-)

    Countries: Belgium

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Jim Elkan 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What can I say?

    This was our 10th trip, I believe, with Pack and Pedal and it was outstanding! The Ave Maria was a beautiful boat; modern, clean and roomy. The three of us from Kansas City: Stanley, KartaPurhk and myself enjoyed the company of 27 others and it was a week of great riding, camaraderie and superb food. The crew of the Ave Maria: Tullio and , Luciano got the boat to where it needed to be safely and on time every day. The chefs: Vera and Erica prepared wonderful meals each day while catering to individual's specific dietary needs. Helmut, our bike guide was patient and knowledgeable. It's not easy herding 25-29 bicyclers safely each day from point A to point B and back to the boat each late afternoon. a "well done" to Helmut.

    The real highlight of the trip for the three of us was getting to meet Hennie for the first time when she visited the Ave Maria. What a delightful person she is!

    The trip exceeded all of our high expectations Read more… and we look forward to our European trip next year through Tripsite.

    Jim E.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Daniel Edwards 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    we just returned from our trip. Brugges to Amsterdam. It was AWESOME. We had such a great time on the Gandalf with Hans. Els was our biking guide. She was terrific. It was fabulous and a great way to spend my 50th birthday!

    Thank you for everything you did to arrange this trip for us. We will be back on some other trip in the future.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Along the Dalmatian Coast
    by B and E Cooper 6 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    We have just returned from this boat and bike tour. It was absolutely wonderful ! The hosts were very friendly & accommodating, the food was excellent, the bikes and saddles were very good, the riding was mainly easy, the scenery was spectacular and finally, it was a very relaxing holiday !!!

    Boat: Odisej

    Countries: Croatia

  • Tauern Path
    by Ron Zauski 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic! We road the Aare two years ago and it was great. We sought something a bit more challenging and selected this ride. We stayed in lots of small towns, biked on beautiful trails, and saw scenery just as exquisite as is shown on this site. Salzburg was outstanding. We had only one stretch of riding on a road with traffic; otherwise, it was serene.

    Countries: Austria

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by J. Geraerdts 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    At first we were hesitant to book another bike and barge trip-- how could it ever compare with the 2012 tour on the Ave Maria, with Hein as guide, which set the bar so high?

    The Provence trip did look very interesting and, after fretting about the significant uphills, we did go ahead and book, adding the ebike option.

    We were able to board the Soleo as, apparently there was a cancellation. We had asked you to request a transfer from the other boat-- thanks.

    The trip was excellent! The crew was very capable and accommodating. Our guide, Martina, especially helped make the trip memorable. She maintained her sense of humor throughout. Any setbacks were met only with a "mama mia" and difficulties, either overcome or anticipated, were "a piece of cake".

    The cycling was, as compared to the Venice trip, both more challenging and more interesting. The weather did not always cooperate but there was no complaining . We think we have come to realize Read more… that those who book into this type of travel are a little more adventurous and require less pampering than the typical big boat cruise passengers.

    We are in our 70's and were probably the oldest couple on the barge but we had no more difficulties than anyone else. Our Tripsite shirts made us look to be very veteran riders. Everything, in the final analysis, was "a piece of cake".

    Suggestions: The museum at Pont du Gard is very worthwhile. Giro Libero should consider making a little more time available for this and to stress its value. Likewise, we enjoyed the Lumieres at Les Baux. Many in the group did not have much awareness of this very interesting and innovative show. It would be helpful to promote this attraction.

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Bonnie Johnson 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Not too sure what I can say that the above feedback haven't already said. We travelled as a group of 6 on the Magnifique from Brugge to Amsterdam May 31st to June 7th, 2014. Everything and everyone was top notch. We started out with Carl as our Captain but due to holidays the barges owner, Walter, took over. Not only can he handle the barge but he does a mean BBQ. Our guide Tom was perfect. With a great sense of humour and and sweet personality. There was not one person who did not get along with him. Meeka, bar tender, server, cleaner, and Peter the amazing cook finished off the crew. The barge itself was fantastic. No complaints there. The beds are extremely comfortable.

    Unfortunately one of our group was not able to complete the trip but we did meet a great group of people from all over the world.

    I am not the greatest biker but thoroughly enjoyed the whole journey and would do it again.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Riccione - Villages & Castles
    by Mary B 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was my second biking holiday. Like the first one to Croatia, Hennie and her staff took care of all the details. All I had to do was enjoy.

    With five riding-group levels to choose, those who wanted to do extreme riding could. Those of us with lesser ambitions could still enjoy challenging rides interspersed with photo stops and cappuccino breaks. My group, Bikeness, rode along the Adriatic coast, through the rolling hills of Emilia-Romagna, and up the mountainous terrain to San Marino.

    Each day we returned to Hotel Dory to fabulous food and fellowship.

    This trip was a delight.

    Countries: Italy

  • Riccione
    by Mary 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip. Accommodations and staff were top notch. The addition of the Bikeness group was a great way to test out my biking ability after knee surgery. There is something for bikers of all levels

    Countries: Italy

  • Tuscany Road Bike Tour
    by Jerome Sims 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My daughter and i just finished trip and it was a fantastic week. Rental bikes were awesome. And set up for the climbing. Beautiful countryside and a trip you should consider taking. A + trip all the way around and hotels were great and Hotel San Lino food was awesome. Book it today. Thanks

    Countries: Italy

  • Riccione - Villages & Castles
    by susan muldoon 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was my first bike tour and I cannot wait to book my next tour with TripSite!!! The hotel and staff were wonderful, I also liked that the cyclists were divided into groups with people with similar abilities. Met very interesting people enjoyed the proximity to the beach and shopping. The sights were beautiful and the food, well the food and cocktails were never-ending! Absolutely loved this tour and Hennie and her staff made sure everything ran smoothly. Thank you, Hennie!!!

    Countries: Italy

  • Riccione - Villages & Castles
    by Bonnie 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful experience! The biking was great and such a good way to see the countryside. The food was fresh, typical Italian, and delicious. I had a terrific time.

    Countries: Italy

  • Connemara
    by Lynn Tindula 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We went in July, two years ago. The Irish people were delightful. Everywhere we stayed was great!The Irish homes (B&B's) had all been updated and bedrooms and bathrooms were comfortable and modern. All of the hosts were just wonderful; so accommodating and fun to talk with! Irish breakfasts were great in the B&B’s. The food was delicious almost everywhere!

    You do a fair amount of riding on the road with cars in Ireland. The drivers are very nice and respectful of bikers, but I do like a dedicated bike path better. Also, some of the rides were a bit more challenging than our previous trips but you can take it at your own pace and they usually give you can easier option. The scenic beauty of the west of Ireland is spectacular!

    LOVED the Irish people - friendly, accommodating, with a terrific sense of humor. We ended our trip by staying four days in Dublin. I would recommend the trip! If you haven't been to Europe before and/or don't speak another Read more… language, Ireland is very easy to navigate and everyone is very helpful!

    Countries: Ireland

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Liz and Bill Chudoba 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Highly recommend Trip Site for our bicycling vacations. We, family and friends booked the Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Amsterdam. Had a fantastic time again on the MERLIJN. Knew one week was not enough, after our 1st tour in 2011 in Germany, we had to book the following week also - Amsterdam to Brugge. The highlight of course were all the flowers in the Keukenhof. This is a must see for all flower lovers. Trip Site employees in PA were very easy to work with and will book all our tours for us. In fact we will return to the MERLIJN on September 27 to October 4th 2014 for wine country.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 4 Day
    by Rachel Beyerle 6 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    I just wanted to say a belated thanks to the staff for your assistance with the Gandalf trip earlier in the month. Everything was great and well-organized with the boat, the tour, and we had a fun group of travelers.

    Thank you!

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Holland in a Nutshell - a Tulip Tour
    by Michiele C. 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had an absolutely great time!!! The first couple of days it was very windy and rainy but the weather just kept getting better. The hotels were comfortable. Maybe the only change would have been a smaller town than coming into Hilversum. The Dutch people, countryside and food were fantastic. Everything went very smoothly.

    Thank you for a great tour!! It was a very special time for my daughter and me!!

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Around Romantic Bruges
    by Kimberley White 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our cycle trip to beautiful, medieval Brugges was exceptional. The routes were picturesque and diverse; small castles, forests, canals, sea views, beautiful farmland and interesting architecture.The bike paths are amazing, easy to follow and extensive . Our rental bikes were new, well-maintained and suitable for any level rider. Hotel Fevery was very comfortable and quaint; we especially enjoyed our hosts', Paul and Benny, who had many suggestions and helpful hints for our daily rides. Breakfast was super and filling with cheeses, meats, baskets of bakery fresh breads, and market fresh fruit.

    Because the terrain is so flat and easy to cycle we recommend this bike trip to anyone who is just starting out on their quest to tour Europe by bike.

    Ian and Kim White, Canada

    Countries: Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Prosper Bellizia 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    At the risk of sounding hyperbolic, this was a vacation that I still think about everyday, almost 2 months later. The only way to see this beautiful country is at ground level on a bike. And the only way to do it is with the crew of the Quo Vadis who made the trip so much fun.

    Did I say how much I loved this trip?!!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dean Pond 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We have just returned from your four country tour on My Story. We were very satisfied with the accommodation despite a malfunction the last night which resulted in our being moved to another room. Our accommodation was kept extremely clean and the staff were very accommodating. We enjoyed the cycling and found the day to day schedule manageable. Although this was only the second week of operation for the season with a new staff, the meals were well prepared and quite enjoyable. We were seated with other English speaking travellers and it was interesting comparing the day's cycling and sightseeing. We will certainly consider another bike-boat tour.

    Boat: My Story

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Ralph and Erna Fluit 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had an absolutely marvelous time.

    The crew was amazing,the food very delicious, they all went out of their way to make it a very memorable vacation.

    We truly appreciated all the extra things that Lia did for us, taking us on excursions in the town at night, even arranging a tour one night through the canals in one of the towns.

    We highly recommend a bike and barge tour and have done so already, we will definitely do it again and would love to be with the same crew.

    Thank you so much!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Shirley Stephens 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and had no glitches. I would like to recommend the barge and bike trip around Amsterdam thru the US affiliate, "TripSite". The office was very helpful, pleasant and efficient. The information offered prior to the trip was excellent and unexpectedly thorough including a history of the history of the Netherlands! The excursion did not disappoint. The barge was compact, as expected but clean and comfortable. Most notably, the food was OUTSTANDING. The wife of the captain is an excellent cook and offered a different, interesting 3 course fair nightly. The passengers complimented her frequently after the meal and gave her special applause at the end. As promised we were offered coffee and cake just before disembarking. An extra detail but so nice for closure.The guide on our bike tour was fluent in English and happy to answer all questions. He was thoroughly knowledgeable in the bike routes, taking short a cut through the tulip fields because they Read more… had were largely harvested due to the very early spring. This allowed us an extra half hour at the OUTSTANDING Keukenhof Gardens. There was a medical emergency while we were biking necessitating an ambulance. He handled it efficiently without alarm. He and the captain called for taxis for those of us needing them at disembarkation and gave directions to trains, etc for others. They stayed around until all were on their way. One of us talked to a local bartender in Leiden while using WiFi there. He asked what boat we were on and offered that it was "the best". He asked about the food. When we said it was outstanding, he offered that passengers from other boats had complained about their food onboard. Feel free to share our experience with anyone interested in such a tour in the future. Thanks again for your help.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

PWPC