Bike Tour Reviews 3151 to 3180 of 3230

 

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Christiane Dufour 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our experience on board the Magnifique from Amsterdam to Bruges was all that was promised and more. The ship is beautiful, well managed, clean and comfortable. The bicycles were of German design, 7 speed, sturdy , comfortable and well maintained. Yan, our guide, was so competent and knowledgeable that we chose to follow the group rather than hit off on our own. Everything went smoothly every step of the way thanks to the work of the entire staff. More sun would have made it absolutely perfect, but they had no control over that, or I'm sure they would have provided it for us! We’re hooked and we'll try other tours with you for sure!

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tuscany - Round Trip Pisa
    by Doug Lay 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I took this Tuscany III tour in June 2012. It was a trip I will fondly remember forever!

    Tripsite and the local Italian tour organizer, Girolibero, provided excellent support from booking, to the tour itself. I was fully informed with information about the routes, hotel accommodations, what will be provided, and what I need to bring. There were no surprises!!

    I always felt safe and comfortable every day of riding. We were taken along the backroads of Tuscany, away from heavily travelled areas. The beauty of the rural scenery, and charm of the medieval villages and towns, were exactly what I had hoped for.

    The hotels were first rate - clean, comfortable and most providing a/c and free WiFi. The breakfasts provided a wide selection of food, something for everyone's taste.

    There were two things that would have made this tour even more enjoyable for me. One, is the bicycle seat. It was a wide, soft, gel seat. Contrary to what would be expected, it gave me Read more… saddle sores. I wish I had taken from hard, leather saddle from my own bike.

    The second disappointment was that the group of thirteen never rode together. Being on my own, I sought the company of others because I didn't want to cycle alone. This was never a problem, but nonetheless, I was expecting there to be group riding. Perhaps that would be addressed with a guided tour.

    All in all, I was very happy with the tour and the wonderful introduction to Italy and the beautiful region of Tuscany!

    Thank you Tripsite and Girolibero for a fabulous experience!!

    Doug

    Countries: Italy

  • Magdeburg to Berlin
    by Carol Vanevenhoven 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Magneburg-Berlin was a truly great bike and boat trip. Kudos to Jantin whose meals were varied, delicious and presented so well. Cabin was roomy and comfortable and service was outstanding. I would like to travel on the Merlijn again in the future and would gladly recommend it.

    Carol Vanevenhoven

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Magdeburg to Berlin
    by Paul Vanevenhoven 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Magdeburg to Berlin aboard the Merlijn was outstanding. Jantin's meals were "to die for," accomodations comfortable and service superior. Only concern, at times, even with small group, bikers got too spread out making it difficult for those in rear to catch up. Would highly recommend!

    Paul Vanevenhoven

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Koblenz to Saarburg
    by Chantal Pollock 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    To the staff of Pack & Pedal Europe Inc,

    This e-mail is in reference of our booked Bike and Boat trip on the MS Patria from Saarburg to Koblenz on the Mosel River in Germany for the week of May 5, 2012. Overall, our experience was excellent.

    The staff was very professional, courteous and useful. Also, most of the staff dealing directly with the guests had a reasonable knowledge of English. The boat, the public rooms and the cabins were all in good shape and clean, The guide was very knowledgeable about the Mosel region, very accessible and useful. The bikes were in very good working order. The food was delicious, fresh, varied, on time and most of the time it was 5 to 4 courses for suppers. The Mosel River is very scenic with Roman ruins, medieval castles, many pretty little villages with fun and interesting market squares and many vineyards on slopped hills. There were many opportunities to taste Mosel Riesling wines from the various little villages. Read more… From now on, we will stock our personal bar at home with wines from the Mosel region.

    As a handicapped person with limited mobility, the overall experience was excellent. The staff was always available to offer their assistance as necessary. They soon understood that I required limited assistance. The captain and his wife both invited me to sit with them on the sun deck in the navigation room when the boat was travelling which was both interesting and very pleasant. It was a good thing that my cabin was on the main deck. Although doable, my cabin was at the far end of the hallway and sometimes a bit of a challenge because of the distance. However, I think it was the only accessible room on the boat. My cabin was roomier which was convenient to store the wheelchair out of the way when not in use. The bathroom was small but accessible with a stool in the shower. The lift chair to descend to the lower level to the dining area worked most of the time and temperamental for the last few days. When the chair lift was temperamental, the staff did their best to fix it or to bring the food of our party to the upper deck. The lift chair was bulky and an older model. A few grab bars on the boat such as in the public washrooms and in the cabin shower would of been useful. When boarding or exiting the boat to dry dock, the plank to walk on had rope hand rails which made it a bit tricky because it wasn't solid as opposed to solid hand rails.

    Again, I will reiterate that we had an excellent experience and would highly recommend it to our friends. Our bike and boat trip was a rich experience of history, geography, economy and culture about the Mosel region.

    Very sincerely,

    Chantal

    Ontario Canada

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Algarve
    by Sam Brewster 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Affordable and well-managed at both ends, A+ stateside, B for Europe. Don'ts: clip-in pedals, tandem rentals, and Ryan Air. Do bring your own bottle and cage. Above all, to see Portugal up close by bike (and foot) was an exceptional treat.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Brussels to Bruges
    by Stanley Pearson 8 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Our group of 12 took this tour several years ago. We had extra days in Brussels (well worth it) and in Brugges (three days will give you a day to visit the seacost resorts (just 10 miles away. This trip is entirely in the Flenish (Northern) part of Belgium. Pack and Pedal took care of us in a first class manner..

    Countries: Belgium

  • Baltic Sea
    by Stanley Pearson 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our group of 11 cyclists took this tour in May 2009. We have taken some 8 European tours, and somehow this was the most memorable. It has s great combination of scdenery and historic sites. Our weather was perfect. Flying in and out of Berlin is handy. Hennie has cycled this route herself, so she knows it well! Pack and Pedal's service is, as usual, excellent.

    Stan Pearson.

    Countries: Germany

  • Loire Valley - Orléans to Tours
    by Stanley Pearson 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our group of 12 took this tour in 2010. We combined it to go from Orleans to Angers.

    The routes are pleasant and the hisoric sites are aewsome. As usual, Pack and Pedal took care of us in a very first class way.

    Stan Pearson

    Countries: France

  • Venice to Florence - old version
    by Stan Pearson 8 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Our group loved the Venice-Florence trip. Extra days at venice beforehand and Florence afterwards is very worthwhile. And having reservations made for us was very handy. The ride downhill from Fisole into Florence is one of the most spctacular 7 miles in Europe! As usual, Pack and Pedal really took care of us.

    Stan

    Countries: Italy

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by William Adams 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent trip. Great weather, great guide, nice boat. Great group of people, both other bikers and staff. Took some great pictures.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Southern Dalmatia
    by Joyce Baiardi 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was definitely a MODERATE trip. Biking was tough.The boat was nice, the food was fair at best, the wine on board ship was very expensive for a local bottle ($30). Croatia is beautiful, pictures of it don't do it justice. The seawater is gorgeous,clear, blue. The people are very friendly and speak excellent english. Overall this is the only way to vacation.

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Barbara Reed 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A glorious week of biking, eating, and comrade ride. All details were perfect. Just booked my third trip with your company!

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bolzano to Venice
    by Gary Macfarlane 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great!!!!! Fantastic bike ride.

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Hans and Lynn de Jongh 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our group of 10 Canadian friends took this tour July 9-16 and we were met with a better-than-expected trip! Super staff, outstanding food and great accommodations aboard the Ave Maria keeps us talking about this amazing time we had. We'd highly recommend this tour - it was flat and very doable by any age! Tripsite is the best and we are planning our next excursion for 2013.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • West Flanders & Bruges
    by Jennifer Simon 8 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The trip we did was a self-guided tour of West Flanders & Brugge, and I can honestly say it was the best trip of my life! I can't recommend travel through Tripsite.com enough. Using them, we experienced the highest level of professionalism & security, in addition to a fantastic cycling adventure. We're definitely planning on another self-guided tour, the only problem we're having is agreeing on which one to take first! Thank you, Carla, Hennie & everyone at tripsite for giving us an experience we will never forget!

    Countries: Belgium

  • Mosel Bike Tour
    by Stephen Roberts 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip...We did the 7 day but wish we would have done the five days however. We are planning on booking for the third time this year just looking for a 5 day and it seems most are much longer.

    Thanks

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Tulip Tour - 4 Day
    by Jessamyn Ressler-Maerlender 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We took this trip and loved every minute. The pace was relaxed and the flat terrain was easy and beautiful. And, as a pleasant surprise, the food was excellent (we really enjoyed having home cooked meals--a real treat on vacation) and the company was a great group of international people who were easy and fun to be with.

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Penny Keys 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Probably one of the best vacations of my life so far. The crew of the Zwaan and our guide Albert were wonderful. I have recommended this trip to friends. And I will definately book another vacation with this company.

    Boat: Zwaan

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Breisgau & Alsace Wine Road
    by Derek 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Overall a very enjoyable tour staying at good hotels and the bikes while a little heavy did the job well. The one area that needs improvement was the directions. For the first couple of days we were given detailed instructions in English but subsequently we were instructed to follow the route in the map book which was in German! As a consequence we had to work out our own route which we did using a large scale map and google maps. Also the suggestion was that we could have taken two possible routes on the first ride day but we only given instructions for one. Still a most enjoyable ride, fantastic scenary the weather was perfect.

    Countries: France, Germany

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by S. Gordon 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were very impressed with the trip on the Ave Maria July 9 - 16, 2011 from Mantova to Venice. It far exceeded our expectations! We were amazed at the quality of the rooms and the fabulous food prepared by our chef Juliano! Our tour guides, Helmut and Martina, were incredibly knowledgeable and had many interesting facts to share with us each day as we went from town to town. The bikes were wonderful as well. With 32 riders, none of us had any issues with the mechanics of our bikes. No flat tires, no chain problems, no gear issues, etc. Even the panier bags were perfect for carrying our lunch, water bottles, cameras, swimming gear! Our group of friends were so delighted with this trip that we are planning our next one with your company to go to France in 2014! We found your staff to be very friendly and helpful. Thanks for making that leg of our trip so successful!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Castles of the Loire
    by Brian Surgenor 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Did Castles of the Loire with another couple. No complaints. Bikes were great. Meals were great. Accommodations were great. Weather was great (didn't rain at all !). Only glitch was the lack of an in-house meal on the monday (Oct 17) at Auberge Du Centre in Chitenay.

    Countries: France

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Jon Lafleur 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The tour was one of my best travel experiences. The meals were so good that people asked for recipes. The days were varied, interesting and rewarding; the pacing comfortable. Highlights were seeing "The girl with the pearl earing" and visiting the Keukenhof gardens. We happened to hit a rainy week but still had fun.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Cynthia Adams 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed this tour. My husband and I and 2 friends sailed on the Soleo in September 2011. The weather was perfect. Although nothing fancy the boat had everything we needed. Our room had a private bath and never ran out of hot water for showers! Our tour guide was great, fun and really brought the group of Americans, Brits, Aussies, and Germans together. The country side, vineyards, beaches, small towns were like traveling in a postcard at every turn. Some of the biking was more challenging (more hilly) than I had expected, but the ebike was wonderful. This trip has my highest recommendation!

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • South Holland Tour
    by Alison Stilwell 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It has been about 5 years since I did the Southern Tour. I have wonderful memories and have been thinking about booking another bike/barge tour for the past few years. Maybe 2012 will be the year! Never having completed a bike tour, I was happily surprised by the quality of the bikes and was always able to easily keep up with the group.

    Boat: Anna Maria Agnes

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 4 Day
    by Ted Barto 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our 4 day trip aboard the Jelmar may have been the best 4 days of a wonderful 3 week European trip. Loved the other guests, had a really great female guide, the biking and sites were terrific - just a lot of fun. I think the only complaint from the guests centered upon the boat captain - quite infatuated with himself and a bit much, but, we only had brief daily contact with him. We have already recommended this experience to others - just wonderful. Happy New Year - Ted

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Around the IJsselmeer
    by Melissa Briggs 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We biked around the IJsselmeer in September. We made the mistake of booking our airline tickets prior to the bike tour. As a result, some hotels that were normally used for this trip were already booked. Staff did a superb job working around our schedule, changing things up just a bit, to make this happen for us. I really felt like we got top notch service. Very much enjoyed the route and all the scenery. Along the lake can be quite windy! Lodging was all very nice and the Dutch are very friendly people. I think we ate apple cake and had coffee every afternoon! I would definitely recommend Tripsite and especially the Netherlands.

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Montargis to Paris
    by Beth Orris 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We took this tour in July of 2010. We have used tripsite before and have loved the experience. But I have to say, that for the biking, we liked the Netherlands tour better. There weren't many sites open to tour. Cafes and restaurants were often closed when we got there. Having said that, the scenery was beautiful. The food was wonderful too. And it was a treat to barge our way into and around Paris. Thank you.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: France

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by George and ginny 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We have taken a few trips with Tripsite and enjoyed them immensely, but this one stands out as a diamond among the jewels. The adriatric is blissful, the scenery spectacular, and the efficiency and friendliness of the tour guide and staff were exceptional. The blend of cycling, old town tours, and nature walks was perfect. Thank you SO much.

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Sherrie Bennett 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We took the Mantova to Venice bike & boat trip in early July 2011.

    EVERYTHING about our trip was fabulous! We found the staff at Tripsite was awesome to work with and any questions we may have had... they were quick to respond. The boat....the Ave Maria was newly renovated and we thoroughly enjoyed our staterooms. The staff was terrific and was always available to interact and help throughout our whole trip. The food was delicious and we always looked forward to our dinner at the end of the day.:-) Our two cycling guides, Helmut & Martina were wonderful, helpful, informative & cheerful. The captain of the Ave Maria, Michele was engaging and helpful. The bikes were of superior quality and wonderful to ride. Our cycling trip with Tripsite surpassed any expectations we may have had. We have recommended Tripsite and this particular trip to many friends since returning. We had such a fabulous time that our group of 10 plus many extras will be booking another cycling Read more… and boat adventure through Tripsite in 2014!:-)

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

PWPC