Bike Tour Reviews 361 to 390 of 3392

 

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Kathryn C. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Hard to say what was the best part. The route we took was beautiful - along rivers and canals, through rural areas, stopping in places of interest. The weather happened to be perfect. Our guides were wonderful and really did take extra steps to show us some special places. The boat was very comfortable and captain and crew were great. It was my first bike tour and I am really looking forward to the next.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Prosper B. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery, the fellow riders the entire experience was so rewarding.
    The boat however left a lot to be desired. The dining room windows were small and you felt confined. The food was below what i’ve experienced on my 6 other tripsite bike/barge tours.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • South Holland Tour
    by Abraham V. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    An amazing physical experience with 68 fellow bikers from Germany and the US. Dutch hospitality warmly visible on multiple beautiful biking paths. Well organized tour. Tour leader Magreet Klijn deserves kudos for leadership role.

    Boat: De Nassau

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Puglia - Heel of Italy
    by Joni M. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the trip despite the fact that a cyclist in another self guided trip was killed in a motor vehicle accident on the day prior to the start of our self guided bike tour. We were very cautious at all intersections as a result of the accident. It would be a good idea to include in the instructions that you provide to the cyclists that they should exercise caution at all intersections. The GPS was easy to follow although on at least 10 occasions it directed us to go the wrong way on a one way street. I was not comfortable riding the wrong way on one way streets and this should be corrected. On the whole the trip was great and I would highly recommend it and I plan to book another cycling trip with trip site again.

    Countries: Italy

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary Joanne T. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The efficiency of collecting and dropping off the bike at the beginning and the end of the day could not have gone smoother. The guidebooks were very helpful though it would have been nice to have more information on sights along the way. The bikes were extremely comfortable and we had no issues. We are already planning on our next tour!

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by Marion L. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What a fabulous way to see Provence. The route selected took us through many memorable villages. Provence Bike did a great job with high quality bikes, good maps and well set up GPS systems. We particularly enjoyed seeing Roussilon; Gordes; Baix Aux Provence as well as the source of River Sourge. Our group of 4 decided on e-bikes which we did not regret because of the steep hills getting in and out of the villages. We particularly liked the idea of staying multiple nights in one location. A great trip!! A suggestion -- include a list of things "not to miss" that are less than a kilometer from the route or, in the villages we are going through. It is convenient to have a guide book but a few notes would be really helpful.

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Wynn Washle 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Where to start? What an amazing adventure! Wendy at Tripsite was so gracious and easy to work with. We reserved the entire boat and she was always so responsive to our questions and needs. Pascal and her staff on the Bordeaux were first rate. Within one day, most of her staff knew everyone's first name! This was our second Tripsite bike and boat trip (Danube). The food was excellent, the bikes were newer (loved the e-bikes) and the Bordeaux region was gorgeous. We loved packing a lunch and sharing a bottle of wine in a park or overlooking a vineyard. There are some hills, so be prepared if you don't have an e-bike. GPS was also very helpful. We were never lost, but sometimes "temporarily misplaced"...but that is part of the fun of a cycling trip. Highly recommend this trip.

    Countries: France

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by HELEN S. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic trip - guides and crew were professional, helpful at all times. Ebikes the way to go, making cycling around the islands enjoyable.
    Food on board was excellent - great variety and well presented.
    Would recommend this trip to anyone.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Claudia W. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was outstanding from beginning to end. We had a small group of 9 guests from Australia, US, New Zealand and Canada. The group clicked right from the start and we quickly became good traveling partners. We peddaled along the coast and viewed gorgeous beaches, wetlands, rugged Atlantic shores, pine forests and so much more. The biking was rigourous as we encountered many different surfaces from sand to cobblestone to dirt to gravel. However, the bikes we were provided allowed us a safe and pleasurable journey. There were many highlights along the way. Everyday had its own special sights and experiences. The hotel accomodations were excellent. The most spectacular was the Torre do Rio. A recommendation is to consider scheduling dinner there rather than going into town. Hotel Parador in Pontevedra was very special, as well.
    Our tour guides, Henrique and Sergio, were wonderful. They provided us with excellent equippment and ensured we were all fitted properly. Read more… Safety was always a priority. In addition, they were attentive, helpful and cheerful. They arranged for meals, set appropriate time schedules and set a biking pace that worked for all. They made excellent recommendations for additional activities. Both were highly professional and dedicated to helping their guests enjoy the trip. They were also very good looking.

    I highly recommend this trip and would encourage others to consider it. E-bikes are a good option for those who want assistance going uphill. There is quite a bit of uphill and at times it is very challenging.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Bike & Sail the Ijsselmeer
    by Andrea S. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is our 5th bike and boat trip, and all of the others have been 5 star experiences. This tour was very nice, but we had one major problem. We were absolutely unable to keep up with the tour guide. Another Canadian couple was in the same boat. Many of the German guests brought their own e-bikes along. Thankfully, the Dutch wayfinding system is excellent, but we really missed going with the group. Also, the tour guide did not stop at cafes, churches, wineries, breweries, etc. like we have had on other tours. He did make reservations for an interesting water works plant, but the entire group needed to pedal as fast as possible to get there by 2PM. I went to see the plant the next morning on my own. The boat was super fun, especially when the sails were hoisted. The food was great, the crew was great. I would urge anyone looking at this tour to rent an e-bike to keep up, or not pay extra for the tour guide, and just do the trip on your own.

    Boat: Leafde Fan Fryslân

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Suzanne F. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was beautiful with the steep vineyards on either side of the Moselle River. We loved the Quo Vadis boat and the staff were all so professional, yet friendly and fun. Cabins were nicely appointed and the food was delicious. It was also great to have the option to try out an e-bike for the day, even if you hadn't reserved one for the week. A memorable day was finishing off the cycle part to attend a wine tasting night at Leo Schwab's winery...very entertaining. I feel totally comfortable recommending this particular cycle trip to anyone who is interested. Thanks so much for this wonderful experience.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Christine A. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Self guiding our way along the Danube through amazing countryside.

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
    by Phil C. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My trip from Passau to Budapest was what I hoped it would be. The original information and directions were excellent. However there was almost no communication with Rad+Riesen once the trip started. This was not really a problem except for one day when my hotel was changed without notifying me until I arrived at the wrong hotel. Luggage transfer was smooth and breakfasts were good. Generally a very positive experience with a bit of adventure. The trip from Passau to Vienna was smoother than from Vienna to Budapest in all aspects, but both were memorable and enjoyable.

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Susan P. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved biking though the country side and seeing the small towns along the way. I wish I could have spent a little more time in the small towns. I kind of felt like I had to keep moving. The bike trail itself was very well marked and I really didn't need to use the map much. Just looked where I was going next and how far it was that was really all I needed to get around. The people were lovely. We enjoyed meeting other bikers on their bike trip many from England and having a beer with them at our destination. The hotels were all great, most in historic buildings that have been redone to modern standards. This was my first bike trip would defiantly take another one, but would pay the extra money to get an e-bike.

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Jennifer S. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was perhaps the star of this trip with gorgeous views of vineyards and quaint villages all along the Mosel River. But also we had a wonderful group of staff on the Quo Vadis who were lots of fun and thought of every detail. Meals were amazing. This made this trip probably our favourite trip ever. We travel with a group of friends and have done several other barge and bike trips.
    The daily biking was longer than some other trips but most enjoyable with stops for points of history or picnics, coffee etc.
    It will be hard to improve on our Metz to Cochem experience.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Nancy B. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole trip was really wonderful. Being from North America, we don't have paved bicycle paths on both sides of our rivers, especially out in the coutnry side. As a result, I was just amazed at the fact of being able to ride beside the Mosel River through the vineyards and be able to soak in the atmosphere without having to worry about traffic or rough roads. The Quo Vadis was a treat. The cabins were a decent size, the crew was friendly, knowledgeable and lots of fun and the food, prepared in the relatively small galley, was fabulous. All that were highlights for me.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Judy C. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew were amazing! The food was absolutely delicious. The people on the trip with us were great! Very well organized. The cycle tour guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the countries we toured in (Belgium and Holland) and took extra time to ensure that we saw a variety of sites.

    The only thing I would suggest is a way for the guide cycling at the front to communicate with the person at the back.

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Sicily - Syracuse, Noto Valley, and Baroque Villages
    by Maria Luiza L. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The cities of Noto, Syracuse, and Modica. The architecture, atmosphere, and food...

    Countries: Italy

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Darren B. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Touring on bike different areas of the Danube and meeting new people that were enjoying the same sites.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Amboise in the Loire Valley
    by Louise P. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The bikes were top quality, delivered and picked up from hotel on time. Great itineraries- we highly recommend Tripsite!

    Countries: France

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Glenn M. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the biking. Most the trails were very nice and the scenery was beautiful.The most memorable part was probably the Wachau Valley. The bikes were very good. The rooms on the boat were good and the food was also plentiful and tasty.We enjoyed the entertainment put on by the crew.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Authentic Holland
    by Lynn V. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Holland was on my bucket list to visit the country I was born in but left as a young girl. What better way to see it than on this wonderful barge/bike tour with a good friend. Upon arrival where the De Nassau’s docked we were greeted by our wonderful hosts and crew. There is absolutely nothing that I can criticize about this trip. The food, the accommodations and the beauty of biking through northern holland on my E Bike was amazing. I highly recommend these bikes as I usually don’t bike 186 miles in 7 days, but they sure help put “ the wind beneath my wings”. I even bought a smoked eel which we shared with some companions we biked with...not usual Canadian fare! Tripsite has opened up a whole new concept for me and my love of travelling. Perhaps Ireland, France, Portugal...I can hardly wait till the next trip I take knowing that I will not be disappointed. Thanks Tripsite for making my dream come true of visiting this amazing country.

    Boat: De Nassau

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Venice to Florence - old version
    by Neil M. 6 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    We loved the small roads and bike paths often used to take us in to the villages. The accommodations were well placed in the towns with easy access to restaurants.
    Most memorable was the last day (finding the climb quite the challenge ) but the exhilarating run down worth it .

    To mention more signage in busy areas would be appreciated to put one at ease.

    Countries: Italy

  • Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
    by Howard J. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Gandalf has a great crew and captain, excellent service great meals clean and tidy. You must remember where you are you are on a barge not a 5 star hotel. Cabin cleaning was done regularly and clean towels were available when ever needed. Patrick our tour guide went out of his way to accommodate everyone, even taking us for walks in the evening. His knowledge was amazing. Bikes were well suited and maintained. It is hard to say what was the most memorable part of the trip as we saw and enjoyed everything. We would definitely look at another trip especially on the Gandalf.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Donna L. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The beauty. Flowers were in bloom, the orchards were full of apples, the green hillsides were gorgeous.
    The booklet we received would have been more helpful if received beforehand. The directions could have been much clearer, especially to the hotels.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Debra N. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the arrival by night in Budapest! It was unexpectedly gorgeous with all the lighted bridges and buildings. Truly amazing. Fireworks were an unexpected highlight of the evening in Linz which just happened to have a celebration. Our third highlight was the last biking day through the Wachau Valley--such beautiful vineyards and small villages! One tip: bring a multi USB plug and more than one adaptor for use in the room.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Krakow and Southeast Poland
    by Sveinn O. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Well worth time. good tracks beautiful landscape. we started 3 hour trip in przmysl very nice town that is not on map going to top of town hill panoramic wiew. hotel in korczowa we got dessert first than main course :). staff in training

    Countries: Poland

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by kirk g. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Parts: cruising, dining, kitchen, bar, admin, cleaning staff - wonderful, friendly, helpful. couldn't be better
    food - very good variety and quality. lunches especially good
    cycling and tour director and staff - excellent every day with information, quality equipment, attention to questions
    ship public facilities - quite adequate quality and quantity. updating on decor is needed
    hotel staff - very nice, accommodating and efficient
    hotel - needs cleaning, air conditioning was not working every day, which was a problem. air quality was not great. updated decor is needed.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

PWPC