Bike Tour Reviews 1351 to 1380 of 3386

 

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Janet C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guides were terrific, funny and knowledgeable. The choice of our route was very interesting. Also our waiters Stephan and Naomi were delightful.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
    by Sandra V. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Merlijn was definitely a "comfort plus" barge. Rooms and beds very comfortable; staff couldn't have been friendlier or more accommodating; Captain Henk was a genius at docking and piloting the barge; our guide Lea, was professional, knowledgeable, and fun; Jantien, the jack of all trades, did everything from ministering to ill or injured to cooking gourmet meals. This was my second trip on the Merlijn. We booked the entire barge. There were two fantastic upgrades from two years ago--new bikes and helmets and better internet. Obviously, I cannot say enough positive about this experience. Highly recommend it.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Southern Dalmatia
    by André G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The atmosphere among the guests thanks to the two guides was exceptionally good. Congratulations to Tina and Lannis.

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Katharine S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was arriving at the Cathedral in Santiago de Compostela. After 6 days of cycling over varied and often challenging surfaces it was a thrill to reach our ultimate destination. What a way to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary!
    Other highlights include turning in our Pilgrim's Passport to receive our certificates of completion, attending Mass in the Cathedral, as well as the magnificent coastal scenery along the way.
    Sergio and his team - Tiago, José and Pédro - are real pros. Safety is their number one concern and they are extremely attentive to the needs of their riders. The bicycles were well-maintained and adjusted as required.The support van was a much appreciated added feature.
    Our accommodations were top-notch, in fact one place was the nicest in which we have ever stayed. The breakfast selections at every stop were plentiful and varied.
    It was enjoyable speaking to the walking pilgrims and finding Read more… out their countries of origin.
    If walking is not the way you choose to complete your Camino Journey we highly recommend joining this tour. Make sure that during your preparation you not only cycle "distances". Cycle "hills" and if possible a "variety of surfaces".
    Everyone in our group of 22 felt a real sense of accomplishment having completed 280 km of challenging terrain.
    The great food, wine and fellow cyclists add to the enjoyment.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Basque Country to Asturias
    by Alana B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The vistas on this trip were the most spectacular we've seen. Coming down a hill and seeing the cliffs along the coastline and the roaring ocean, the picturesque villages and green fields dotted with cows was unforgettable. Hearing the clanging cowbells only added to the experience! The accommodations were top notch and including breakfast was the way to go. However, anyone taking this trip should be prepared to climb many hills. Not sure this is "easy to moderate" until the last day!

    Countries: Spain

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Barbara 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Just returned from five days of cycling through the Czech and German countryside from Prague to Dresden: A Tale of Two Rivers. A wonderful experience - beautiful countryside, quaint accommodations, good food and excellent service. Lukas and company of Europe Bike Tours do all they can to please and support their riders. Try it - you'll love it!

  • Prague to Vienna
    by Amy Sandlin 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful trip! We did the self-guided tour option (and used the GPS coordinates from the tour company to help with directions). Everything about the trip went very smoothly, and someone from Europe Bike Tours was always quick to respond if we had any questions or issues during the trip. Every city we stayed in along the route had something interesting for us to see and do. The routes were long enough that we got the physical challenge we were looking for, but also had time to sight-see every day in each city. I cannot recommend this trip enough. Loved every day!

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Martha 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Very nice bike tour - great scenery and nice hotels. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Sergio is wonderful to work with and very responsive to our questions and requests. Wonderful trip!

    Countries: Portugal

  • Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau
    by Emily P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Beautiful scenery, bike path was quite clearly marked as well without having to constantly refer to the map booklet, especially once we got onto the Danube trail. The booklet also had details on where we could find rest stops with food which was very handy. It was a great cycle experience for me and my companion, even though he's an inexperienced cyclist (it's only his 5th time or so on a bike!) we both enjoyed it very much--helps that the route is largely flat, the bike was very comfortable and we came prepared with extra seat padding just in case! The route also felt very safe, with minimal sections with road traffic. Accommodations were clean, comfortable and near the bike path, however the Deggendorf stop didn't have air-conditioning which I imagine may be a little uncomfortable later in the summer. One especially memorable moment was stopping by Walhalla, perched on a hill overlooking the Danube--incredibly peaceful with the most amazing views.

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Thomas A. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was beyond our expectations. We have taken other bike and boat tours and this was superior to the others. The food on board the boat was wonderful. The cities visited were beautiful and interesting. We took the guided bike tour and the guide, Jurgen Gehrke, was wonderful. I would encourage anyone interested in a bike and boat trip to seriously look into this trip.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by Ruth M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved being part of the Southern Holland Tulip Tour! The biking was wonderful, the scenery was unparalleled, and the Sailing Home was comfortable and well appointed. Staff was uniformly pleasant and accommodating. I enjoyed bonding with the other riders in the group , mostly from the Central and Western US and Canada. Our guide was knowledgeable and entertaining, however I feel that keeping our large group of 26 riders together on the rides was a challenge, and he would have benefited from the use of "corners" to make sure that all the riders were clear on the turns. Also, we were each given a booklet with the daily ride routes, but it would have been helpful to go over the next days map each evening so that we could visualize the lay of the land.
    Great trip all around and I am hoping to join another in the future!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by Curtiss M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We came to see the tulips and that was definitely accomplished. Albeit a bit late for most of the major fields, but Keukenhof was spectacular. Cycling through the polders and quiet countryside was also very enjoyable.
    On the negative side, the last days cycling into Amsterdam and departure from the boat was a bit rushed.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by John S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our first bike and barge trip. It is a great way to travel. There is time to see the area and not have to worry about finding lodging. The crew of the Merlijn was first rate. I will sign up for another trip with them. Jantien was like your mom welcoming you on your trip home.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Debbie S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Italian barge staff and guide Carlos made the group feel like family. We laughed so much every day. It was sad to leave at the end of the week. Cycling, scenery was all very nice.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Elizabeth Dianne D. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Montova was a really lovely spot and I liked the cycling around there. It might be easier in the towns if the cyclists all had either jerseys or pennies to identify the group so locals see we are all together which would prevent us from getting cut off or unable to pass.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bike and Sail the Ijsselmeer
    by Geoff 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic trip! The biking was great...very serene and relaxing thru small towns and villages thru farmland and along the coast.
    The best part was the socializing with felllow travelers and the crew. The ship is huge for a sailboat, but much smaller than the big barges. Between biking and the ship, we all spent a lot of time together, and had a lot of fun getting to know each other. My cruise happened to be on a German holiday...I was the only non-German on the tour. It worked out fine, everyone was welcoming and willing. Between a bit of Ge-english and sign language we shared many laughs (and beers!) together.
    Ilse led our tour-her knowledge of the area was great, even opened her riverboat home to us during our stop there.
    The ships crew was terrific. Captain Eelke, first mate Annemaj, and Thabea all made us feel at home. Chef Alf served up restaurant quality meals, this was an awesome surprise.
    Would absolutely return to Netherlands...would even consider Read more… repeating this trip/ship with other friends and family, it was that good.

    Boat: Leafde Fan Fryslân

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Betty S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We absolutely loved our first Bike & Barge. We did the Tulip Tour the week of Apr 14 - 21/18 on board the Sarah and had a fantastic time. We had beautiful weather the entire week with absolutely no rain. The scenery was amazing and the tulips were at their peak during this week. We enjoyed the Dutch culture and food especially the cheese, chocolate and yogurt. The crew were amazing. Thanks to Ivo, Reintje, Kristof and Agnieszka who looked after us so well on the Sarah. A special thanks to Cornel our tour guide. He went above and beyond to make sure we were safe and that we all had an enjoyable week. We would love do another tour in the future.

    Boat: Sarah

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 4 Day
    by Connie B. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The two excellent guides, Anya and Age, made the trip fun and informative. We also had a very congenital group of bikers, which helped make the trip truly memorable! We had an excellent time!

    Boat: Tijdgeest

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 4 Day
    by Sandy R. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Awesome opportunity to experience the many Dutch highlights and tulips without being too touristy. The 4 day Tulip Tour offered an easy ride for retired bikers but was still adventurous and so interesting with incredibly beautiful scenery. Our guide, Bob, was fun, well organized and knowledgable about the area and towns we visited. The Jelmar berth was really comfortable and clean and they offered us first rate meals. Definitely a trip of a lifetime for me!

    Boat: Flora

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Avace W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Having a guide who provided all the extra touches for touring for our perfect sized group of 10. Dinners on the boat were very dragged out with no opportunity to change tables and meet other guests. Food was beautifully presented, but the petite portions left me starving after a day of biking. I made sure to stock up on a big breakfast. Director made a big deal of tipping whereas this could have been explained ahead of time, so more time could have been spent on what to see in the quaint, darling villages. More info on what to see along the way would have enhanced the adventure. We did a lot of homework ahead of time on what to look for in each village and that helped us to appreciate the history and stories. Highly recommend a guide, but keep groups small for safety and management purposes.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by April S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Had an absolute great time on this Tour. Venice was amazing and Mantova as well. Our cook was Erica who is wonderful chef. Every meal was impressive— creative and delicious. This was my fifth bike/barge tour and she is definitely the best cook. Really enjoyed my fellow Travelers, as well.
    Vita Pugna

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Barbara C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our private guide, Axel, was excellent. I strongly recommend a guide because it took away all of the worry about maps, directions and getting lost. He was also very knowledgeable about the history and geography of the areas we visited. I would definitely do another bike tour with Axel.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lou Ann C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was amazing and fortunately, the weather cooperated and made it even more perfect. My only “suggestion” (not complaint) was that coffee was not available in the rooms. Being an early riser, a lot of us “seniors” prefer to have our coffee in the room while getting ready for breakfast! :).

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Beverly B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part: Being on the water at night and looking out our bedroom window to see the Budapest Parliament bathed in a golden glow against the clear night sky.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Charlotte G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable was biking through the peaceful countryside, getting lost (not with the guides, but when we ventured out on our own), finding a real working windmill, and being invited inside by the owner. Lunch selections could have varied more but dinner onboard was always wonderful. Staff was also on point and always ready to help.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Robert V. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every aspect of the trip was as expected or better.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Barbara N. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A great balance of activity, wonderful scenery, and interesting towns and culture. Lovely!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Kim D. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our Bike and Barge trip on the new Magnifique III was the BEST! The boat was beautiful, the food was fabulous, the the guides and staff were so helpful and friendly. We'll never forgot all of the beautiful sites - windmills, tulips, and baby animals - just to name a few. Memories that will last a lifetime. I cannot recommend this vacation highly enough!

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by Laurie M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The people who we met in the trip made it memorable. Cornel was a wonderful guide who made everything fun and interesting as we were biking. Everyone on the Quo Vadis made us feel so welcome. Food was fantastic. Loved meeting all the other bikers and had lots of great times together.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

PWPC