Switzerland Tour Reviews — 61 to 90 of 90

4.6 out of 5

 


Jeanie Lundell
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Four Country
Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland

The first day out, my e-bike had a low tire and faulty valve - not a great start, but the rest was very good. Sometimes, the route was to as clearly marked as we would have preferred. Nevertheless, I've told several friends about this trip and one is considering booking reservations! Thanks for everything.

Tammy Schmidt
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

We could not have had such an amazing trip without the help from Tripsite. Anna from Tripsite worked with me on all of my hotel request, allowing us to customize our trip. We were able to choose the towns we preferred to stay in around the lake. Anna recommended hotels over other hotels and reserved lake view rooms which we requested. Our biking trip around Lake Constance would not have turned out as spectacular if it were not for Anna's hard work. I don't think we will use another tour company. The Barge/bike trip offers it all. An added bonus of traveling by boat is that you don't have to pack up every morning like you would have to with other tours that move your stuff from hotel to hotel with a van. The stress of packing up every morning is not there with this tour.
On the Barge/boat trips you simply wake up, go have your coffee and breakfast before you set off on your bike no packing required. When you return to the boat after the day's biking Read More

Hazem Zayed
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

It was a great trip very well organized the team is very supportive, will definitely repeat with my wife and kids I enjoyed big time.

Eileen Biggs
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

We were pretty unlucky with the weather. Exciting trip in spite of that

Mari Jo Krebs
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

We prefer guided trips because we miss the guides knowledge of area. We start riding and don't take time to check out the sights

Mark Hensien
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

We had a great family adventure. We all enjoyed seeing and exploring new things while staying active. We really liked the self guided option, because it let us control the schedule and select what we wanted to see and do.

Michele Forsberg
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

St. Moritz to Innsbruck
Austria, Switzerland

This was our first European experience, and we enjoyed every minute of it! What a great way to get to know the countries we went to and engage with the locals. Our bike trip took us off the beaten path and in to the old tiny villages and backcountry of Switzerland and Austria. It was a trip we will never forget. From the first day we arrived at our hotel in St. Moritz, Switzerland, with the exception of a flat tire, everything went off without a hitch. Thank you Tripsite!

Cecil Harris
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

One of our hotels was not up to our expectations or the trip rating. Most of our maps/directions were good but missed a detour/construction.

Linda Callard
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  MS Andante Mainz to Basel
Germany, Switzerland, France

The boat was great and we all got the cabins we were hoping for – the food was really good. The girls commented that they weren’t expecting the food to be as good as it was.
• The biking was as easy as we expected, I didn’t like the bikes as much as the bikes we had on the Danube the year before but the bikes were exactly what they said on the web-site. Pretty well all the trails were paved – makes it hard to come back to PEI trails!
• Apparently we weren’t on as pretty a section of the Rhine as we could have been but we saw some great scenery and little villages were so clean, friendly and relatively easy to get around. The crew said they didn’t like this route because it wasn’t as scenic and not as many places to stop. Apparently, they are not going to do the same route next year.
• I don’t think the tour itself was quite as well run as the one on MV Story on Danube IN 2014. I didn’t think the tour Read More

John Lonsway
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Four Country
Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland

The four country tour is one of the best trips you offer. Thanks

Thomas Brandt
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Four Country
Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland

Some hotels were too far from the center of the city. Directions need more detail, such as recommendations for lunch or rest stops, and places where you might want to bike on the road rather than a gravel or hilly bike route. Detailed maps of town and cities would be good.

Susan Miller
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  MS Andante Mainz to Basel
Germany, Switzerland, France

The guide was not well prepared with maps and the boat kept changing docking locations. The Rhine is very industrial from Basel to Mainz. The rides were not very interesting or long. It was not one of your better offers.

Marcus O'Neill
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Pearls of the Alsace Wine Route
France, Switzerland

Only real complaint was the signage throughout the route. More route markers would have been very helpful and prevented us from getting lost several times.

Kenneth Larsen
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Pearls of the Alsace Wine Route
France, Switzerland

We started with the book with maps and directions. Although it was pretty good, we got lost a couple times with that. I think on the 3rd day we met the woman who wrote the directions and she got us the file for my Garmin. That gave us turn by turn directions with no mistakes. Everyone we met was very pleasant. The trip was great. The bikes were a bit heavy.

Jessica Kiedrowski
5 years ago

Tripsite Staff

  MS Andante Mainz to Basel
Germany, Switzerland, France

I was pleased with the points of interest on the tour (Strasbourg, Heidelberg, Colmar, Breisach), however, the route was very industrial at times and there was just nothing special about it. The maps and route descriptions were terrible and I'd say that was the number one complaint of fellow passengers. I talked to the guide and he said they will redo the route for next year so hopefully with some changes, it will be much better.

Anna Zdancewicz
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  MS Andante Mainz to Basel
Germany, Switzerland, France

The boat itself is nothing remarkable, but quite comfortable and clean. The staff was amazingly friendly. Route descriptions were sparse in some sections so there was some guessing involved. The maps themselves didn't have any road names on them if you did get lost they were of no use. We honestly didn't rely on the maps/route descriptions as much as the info from our daily meetings with the tour guide. There were good and bad days as far as scenery on the rides, a few days were pretty boring with not a lot to look at, while others were quite beautiful. We docked within walking distance to town on all days except one (where you had the option of one lonely restaurant). On board you are provided with maps and flyers for each overnight town. The bikes were super heavy and cumbersome (not bikes I am used to) but this is the norm in Europe. The food on board was excellent. I would recommend this trip as I know the routes are being reviewed and descriptions/maps updated.

David Miller
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  MS Andante Mainz to Basel
Germany, Switzerland, France

Garrit, our bike tour leader, was a novice on this route as well as a poor communicator to the english speaking clients. The docking area changed at each stop from the printed instructions, and the maps and turn-by-turn instructions were only partly correct! Everyone got lost at some point in the trip!! I had asked for GPS routing for my bike Garmin GPS but was told the route was to new and that it was not available! I think some accurate preparation would have made the trip more pleasant.
Second - the route along the Rhine is not scenic (as on the Danube) with few small towns to stop and look/snack on the way. The most notable sights were gravel pits and cement manufacturing. Of course, that is not the fault of the tour operator, however, they should have provided a detailed description of the small towns on the way (although not on the river) to give us the option of exploring the interesting ones and forgetting about the towns with 3 streets and no interesting sights.

Nigel Finney
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The Konstanz trip and bikes were very good. The Danube trip bikes were not as good and the scenery needed to be varied more since riding alongside the Danube got a touch boring after a while. (Review from Around Lake Constance and Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna)

Norbert Glatt
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  MS Andante Mainz to Basel
Germany, Switzerland, France

Boat staff need to learn how to be more polite and friendly. The management seems to be in the military service.

Gregory Akin
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  MS Andante Mainz to Basel
Germany, Switzerland, France

The Rhine from Mainz to Basel, for the most part, is industrial and not as picturesque as other European bike and barge routes we've enjoyed. There were a few cities (Heidelberg, Germany and Strausbourg, France) which were beautiful and offered much to do, but we were expecting the scenic bike routes with quaint towns for cake and coffee, or beer stops along the way and were sorely disappointed. But the most disappointing aspect of this trip was the inability of the on-board guide to give proper instructions nor enlighten us of things to see or visit. We found out about popular sites from all channels except the guides. In Strausbourg, while chatting with tourists, we heard of an amazing evening light show projected onto an enormous cathedral - huge crowds gathered to enjoy this historic presentation, yet nothing was mentioned of it by our guide. We have needed so little guidance to enjoy our bike and barge trips, but this one missed the mark. Based on previous trips that Read More

Ray Damijonaitis
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Good job in organizing the trip. The only suggestion I would have is for the route organizers to take construction projects into account when giving the directions . We encountered 2 cases which made us deviate from the stated route. One of which go us quite turned around.

In any case it ultimately added to the adventure.

Hazem Zayed
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

wonderful tour around the Constance perfect roads visited Switzerland, Austria and Germany perfect organizing and extremely caring team despite that we made the booking at the very last minute.
Hazem Zayed

ryan
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

This is an awesome bike tour, great work.

Paula Birch
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  MS Andante Mainz to Basel
Germany, Switzerland, France

I really enjoyed the bike/boat tour on the Rhine. Accommodations on the boat were very good and the meals were excellent. On our arrival we found that our boat was not at the dock as listed but had changed locations and was on the other side of the river. This created a longer taxi drive thus a much bigger fare (54 euros instead of 21 euros) for the 3 of us in each taxi. We had a briefing each morning by our tour guide and on almost every day, the directions were not detailed enough. One of the people we biked with had a GPS and with that and along with discussions among all of us, we managed to find our way back. I really feel this was a big gap and should be rectified before another tour. However it was a wonderful experience and we met many lovely and
interesting people. I would love to do a different bike/boat tour at some time in the future.

Harry Krebs
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Trip was great fun and as promised. I recommend this bike ride. We road in September and it was a little warm so I recommend an early start to enjoy all the sights along the way .

Chris Prince
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Absolutely the greatest vacation I've ever had. My wife and I did this for our honeymoon- Tripsite made planning this an absolute breeze. Picturesque sights, loads of activities and things to do. This was the quintessential vacation/honeymoon.

Clara Kai
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

It's nice to jump into the lake after riding the bike under the sun. The beaches were easily accessed. The guesthouse in Arbon was very comfortable. My friend and I enjoyed the tour very much.

Maria Aller Huggins
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Beautiful ride for the whole family. Our boys are 8 and 10 and they did great because it was fun jumping in the lake. It was just right for a family of four. A lot of things to see on the way including castles, cathedrals, and the kids got to feed a monkey. The trails were well marked and we did not get lost. The accommodations were wonderful and the people very friendly. I would do this tour with my family again!

Greg
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Alpine Panoramic Route
Switzerland

What a trip! My wife and I (both avid cyclists) biked the Alpine Panoramic Trail from Rorschach to Thun in July 2011. The hills were difficult, but the views were worth the effort. The entire route is well marked and the people at Swiss Trails (the tour operator) were very helpful. The seatpost on my wife's bike was too long, so they send someone with a saw to shorten it for her. They also gave me a second route guide in German (which I speak) to replace the route guide in French (which I do not speak). I recommend the top class touring bikes for this trip. The disc brakes were great on the long downhills. We opted for the "standard" accommodations, which were very nice. We had lake or mountain views from our rooms each night.

Donna Buck
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

This is a beautiful tour around the lake. My girlfriend and I road this several years ago (2004) and went back to the area for another partial trip around this summer to revisit with more friends. The scenery is beautiful and it is an easy ride with much to see! I love being near the water!