Golden City of Prague Tour Reviews — 1 to 10 of 10

4.9 out of 5

 


Philippe R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Trip was overall multidimensional satisfying, boat, food, drink, bike, route descriptions, local colour, culture, language, guides, value for money (ten factors).

Mary C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Trip went way above my expectations. Everything started exactly on time, the food and entertainment was excellent. The maps and bike routes were well detailed and went through beautiful countryside. Routes also gave you many opportunities to stop and enjoy the culture of each city.

Jan W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Just finished this trip, in August 2017. We had a 2 bed (twin) room and had plenty of space for our suitcases and also to unpack for a week. Loved the international favor of all the guests, my group of 3 were the only Americans. Biking was easy but with a few challenging hills to keep you interested. Many people used electric bikes, but my 7 speed bike was fine. ( I bike in Northern NJ so I am very use to hills) Experience following a cue sheet would be recommended to anyone who goes on this trip. But most of the routes were easy to follow, although wrong turns is always part of the adventure! Although most of the information said Euros on board, you can pay your ship bill (bar bill) with Czech Koruna, Euros or Credit card. But any excursions you book had to be paid with Euro cash. Food on board was good and seconds were always offered. Boat is docked in the Old Town very close to Charles Bridge. Easy to arrange your own walking tours if you find like I did, the boat Read More

Suasan O.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

In the height of the tourist season 4 of us booked the Golden City of Prague bike/barge and enjoyed every aspect of this route and three nights on the boat in the heart of city. The Florentina is a fabulous accommodation for this venture up the Vltava and Elbe Rivers. The staff provide good but not obsequious service. The food served was a pleasant surprise and our guide was helpful and informative. I would recommend that bikers have experience in wayfinding or be able to download maps to assist them. Along with this skill, the presentations (in English) and the written descriptions/maps in the booklets kept us on track. Much of the bike trails are along the rivers' edge and the condition varied from paved to gravel to rough, but that just made it more interesting.

All the Czech people we encountered were helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the historic towns of Litomerice, Melnick, the birthplace of Dvorak and the many Lobkowicz palace(s.) We did a short bike ride Read More

John F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Our favorite part: Viewing Prague at night from Charles bridge

Jan M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Boat and crew were great. Biking and shore excursions were confusing. Explanations not always clear in English.

Henk Vanden Hengel
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Wonderful tour through the northern part of the Czech Republic. The local people are quite reserved. The boat works well as a big floating hotel and the crew is well trained. Lots of people to meet on board or along the way. Prague really is the jewel in the middle of Europe. Pictures aplenty!
I won't forget it.

L. Tindula
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I think the most memorable part was all of the different people from other countries that we met on the boat along with meeting and learning about the Czech Republic and their people! Great tours offered as well!

D. Dray
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Our first day was quite rocky… The directions were not good and the routes were not well marked. Everyone was frustrated. The guide promised to bike out again from Prague and redo it--hopefully that happened.

Becky Nuttall
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I have mixed feelings about this tour. The boat was nice- clean, and incredibly well run; the food was good. The Czech Republic was beautiful (albeit unusually hot) and we enjoyed the countryside and the towns. However, if you did not speak German, which was the native language of the tour guide, Hans, you were in for some difficult times. He was outwardly pleasant, clearly organized (although the trip sheets needed updating), and I believe he gave the updates to the German tourists. Unfortunately, he did not provide all of the info in English and it made things difficult for us. He said that the other Germans didn't like it when he gave the presentation and then gave it in English (to all of us together). At one point, we (Americans, Aussies and Swedes) took him to task and he had a meeting with us to discuss - but had difficulty accepting our point of view. Also, the tour excursions, which were supposed to be available in English, didn't all happen. So we missed some of Read More