Venice to Florence Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 10 of 10

 

  • Venice to Florence
    by Neil M. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the small roads and bike paths often used to take us in to the villages. The accommodations were well placed in the towns with easy access to restaurants.
    Most memorable was the last day (finding the climb quite the challenge ) but the exhilarating run down worth it .

    To mention more signage in busy areas would be appreciated to put one at ease.

    Countries: Italy

  • Venice to Florence
    by Sherri 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved this trip! We went in September and it was perfect weather. So much to see along the way. Lots of small towns to ride through and such beautiful scenery. The hotels we stayed in were good and the morninbreakfasts delicious. Don’t hesitate - book it!!

    Countries: Italy

  • Venice to Florence
    by Sherri 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved this trip! We went in September and it was perfect weather. So much to see along the way. Lots of small towns to ride through and such beautiful scenery. The hotels we stayed in were good and the morninbreakfasts delicious. Don’t hesitate - book it!!

    Countries: Italy

  • Venice to Florence
    by Erica W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This bike ride was scenic and full of pleasant surprises! The fields we passed were full of fragrant flowers and fruit hanging off of the trees. The towns were small enough to get around by bicycle easily with lots of options for food and activities.

    We had some difficulty reading the paper maps because the English translation was not always words we would use to describe the route. (Also the mileage was in kilometers) My GPS did not work. That was probably due to our inability to make the technology work in another country ! So, we just got used to getting a little lost every day.

    We are adventurous people so none of this would prevent me from doing it again! We rode the self guided route.

    There was one day there was a long stretch of a gravel bumpy bike path. We opted to go another route on our own to avoid it. That was an adventure in itself!
    The last day the hill was steeper than anything we had ever ridden and we did Cape Bretton in Nova Scotia with 17% Read more… grade hills. So we walked up!

    Overall the trip was absolutely wonderful, people were super helpful etc. I would do it again in a heartbeat.

    Countries: Italy

  • Venice to Florence
    by Mary Ann K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved the small towns along the way that we stayed in. There was one day of biking that was a real slog on mainly gravel paths around water with not much to see...my least favorite day:( The rest of the trip I really enjoyed.

    Countries: Italy

  • Venice to Florence
    by Janice V. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Riding through vineyards and orchards.

    Countries: Italy

  • Venice to Florence
    by Mary C. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This tour was a lovely way to experience the quiet county roads and villages of Italy.

    Countries: Italy

  • Venice to Florence
    by Donna Buck 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Tripsite personnel...Just wanted say that "the girls" had a "blast" on this trip. This was the first one for 2 of the riders and the second one for another rider. Venice was great fun and the water taxi at night was beautiful. Taking the ferries and riding along the water was wonderful. Even the rain a few days did not dampen our spirits. Every little town along the way was a gift to us as we peddled through or visited the sites in the evening. The hill up to the tuscan views was a leg burner and had to be walked but well worth the effort as we rode down into Florence. Thanks from all of us for coordinating a bucket list item for Deb and a great memory for all!

    Countries: Italy

  • Venice to Florence
    by Stan Pearson 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our group loved the Venice-Florence trip. Extra days at venice beforehand and Florence afterwards is very worthwhile. And having reservations made for us was very handy. The ride downhill from Fisole into Florence is one of the most spctacular 7 miles in Europe! As usual, Pack and Pedal really took care of us.

    Stan

    Countries: Italy

  • Venice to Florence
    by Jim Elkan 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Hennie, Carla and Mary,

    We just got back from our annual P&P European trip..This year it was Venice to Florence and I must say it was the best one we've had..P&P did their normal excellent job setting up the trip..Everything was great: the route, the hotels and the bike provisioner-Eurobike..The scenery was awesome, the stage lengths were just right to allow viewing the beautiful Italian countryside, sightseeing and still arrive in the next city ready to enjoy the sights and good food..

    I cannot say enough about Eurobike and their maps, route discripions and route markings..The markings almost totally eliminated the concern of missing a turn..The markings took us from one hotel to the next..We could have done the ride without maps!!

    Anyway, thanks for another great job and, as always, we are eagerly looking forward to next year's European trip with Pack and Pedal..(Our seventh one, I think.)

    Best regards,

    Jim

    Countries: Italy

PWPC