2 Star Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 61

 


Ian and Phyllis Paine
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Classic Tuscany E-Bike tour
Italy

We booked this trip for September, 2023 and had numerous issues with this company. We are experienced cyclists both on regular and e-bikes, and have cycled in Europe previously. With Tripsite, on the first day, the bikes were delivered to us without helmets and even without a seat. On Cycling Day 1, one of the apps on our phones was blank and it took a while to get that reinstalled. Halfway through the route, we found ourselves stuck on the side of the road, as our bikes no longer had a charge. They were transported to our final destination for the day by van/shuttle. On Cycling Day 2, only one of the two chargers was working, so one bike was still dead. We used the only working charger to charge the second bike - which takes 3-4 hours. After an obviously late start, again the bikes were just not what was needed for this route. It is not "Easy-Moderate" as stated and we found ourselves pushing very heavy bikes up very steep hills. Again the bikes were not Read More

Timothy V.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Allure Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

Stopping at local towns to sight see and hit a cafe mid-morning and for a glass of wine or beer in the afternoon. Allure barge never made enough food for our group, rarely made stops while biking at cafe’s or towns for coffee or drinks in the mornings or afternoons. Felt rushed to get from point A to B and not enjoying the ride.

Cheryl Smith
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Saint Moritz to Lake Garda E-Bike Tour
Switzerland, Austria, Italy

This is my 6 th European cycle tour in two years. Overpriced and overbooked. Avoid this shameless money grab at all costs. An enormous motor coach with limited access to parking lots and some tour stops replaced the advertised support van. Thus, Zero ability to stop during an accident or transport an injured rider—- which happened twice. There were no picnic lunches provided. We were handed a cheese/cured meat sandwich with optional banana/apple and choice of energy bars every morning. Meals provided were high-carb, low cost— as sub standard as the accommodations. Our last hotel provided rooms with, I kid you not, two flights of stairs within the room. At least it had an elevator. Many of the places we stayed did not. At first, we were expected to transfer our own luggage to/from the bus and back. As well as our e-bike batteries and chargers. The last few nights our luggage was actually taken to our rooms— a huge relief. When heavy rains set in and I asked Read More

Ingdís Lindal J.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Catalonian Flavors of the Mediterranean
Spain

The hotels were great and the weather good.

Sharon E.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Bordeaux to Sarlat Wine and E-Bike Tour
France

Scenery, especially the last 2 days through the Vezere Valley was beautiful. The route had many more hills and more riding on roads, some with a good bit of traffic than we expected, but happy to have e-bikes. We loved our e-bikes, although ideally we would have gotten them the evening before, not 9am the morning we started riding. Norbert and his crew who delivered the bikes were helpful with setting up the bikes, as well as getting the GPS tracks for us which we requested, but hadn't gotten. Our first day riding there was a bridge out over the river that was being completely rebuilt. We used Google maps to find a way around, but it meant riding on a busy highway for 12km. When we called Loire Valley Travel that evening to let them know so the map could be updated, we were told they don't check the routes each year. That bridge construction appeared to be a long ongoing project. However, the most concerning thing was our accommodation on the 3rd night, which was in a remote Read More

Timothy R.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

More of a boat trip than a ride. Lots of time stuck on the boat, minimal time at each location. Many rides cancelled or shorter than the advertised tour.

Jean B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

Getting to see so much of the Green Heart of Holland. However, incompetent dining room staff making me late for outings, insufficient/late availability of food for packing lunches, one guide leaving mid-trip, broken down barge meaning loss of 2 days of itinerary and then overloaded internet making us unable to download alternative routes, maid skipping our room first day - all made this a memorable trip as well, but not in a good way

Levi H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Harmonia Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

I wish the group leader an responsible for eight people signing up for this trip. Guides were good, response from trip site was horrible when our bags did not arrive another party that we had signed up also did not have their bags arrive. Very disappointing with no bike clothes no pet it shorts no pedals etc.

Diane P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

Going to Poland. This trip was too rural and remote. Very few stops and few points of interest. Mainly dirt paths or cobblestone paths that were very difficult to ride a bike on. The farm fields we drove our bikes through were awful, some were full of holes and quite dangerous. I do not recommend this trip for those who have back and neck problems or those who never have rode a mountain bike.

Bonnie G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Love Boat South Greek Aegean Sea
Greece, Turkey

The captain backing up the ship to fit into a small space at the dock.

Sarah k.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Silver Coast of Portugal
Portugal

The trip was more of a bike ride than informational tour of the country. We thought we would learn more about Portugal.

Tamara R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The Bike Tours with Carla were fantastic. The e-bikes were terrible, poorly maintained and were breaking down daily. Tom, the other tour guide didn't stop for anything unless you made him. He would fly past beautiful pictures, areas of interest, and historic sites without a word of explanation. By the end of the trip, people were switching groups daily to ride with Carla instead of with Tom. Back to the e-bikes...The first one I had was not shifting properly nor was the battery working properly. They changed it out for another bike. That bike worked for a few days and then the brakes went out. All I had to slow me down was a tiny bit of front brake and to drag my feet. (felt like I was in an episode of the Flintstones!) This happened with 10 miles to go on the ride. I reported it to Tom upon arrival and the "the bike mechanic", Rabi, was going to fix it. It was clearly an adjustment that needed to be made and that was it. I was informed at that time that they Read More

Margaret W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mosel & Saar
Germany

Think twice before booking a bike and barge tour along the Mosel & Saar rivers in Germany on the Zwaan boat. It was infested with BED BUGS...cabins 1 & 2. My tour embarked Sept 19, 2022. I ended up with over 50 bites that were nearly unbearable! My last three nights of the tour I slept in on-shore accommodations but continued riding with the group. There are other larger boats that are available. Maybe a little more money, but worth the safety of your health. The fiasco that one has to go through to rid your clothes and luggage from bed bugs is difficult when on vacation. Save yourself and book on another boat!

Donna D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

This trip was a disappointment compared to our previous week on the De Holland. This barge has no ventilation. The lower rooms were very damp and moldy smelling. We would have to open the door to the hallway after we showered. No fan in the bathroom and no way to eliminate moisture or odors. They were not using a proper disinfectant spray between groups so the virus germs can stay in these damp rooms. One woman entered the barge with Covid. She ended up passing it to 9 people.. They were all asked to leave the barge on their own expense. People need to be aware of this potential expense. Guides were ok but best for experienced riders. They encouraged independent travel but they are in the process of changing from the GPS maps so it was confusing and we frequently were lost and had to look at the map. No serious troubles.

Frank G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The ebike trips through wonderful countryside and lovely small towns en route were great. Dinners were excellent on board but I would try a better quality boat. The Fluvius is old, tiny cabins, no bathroom hooks, towel racks; shower head falls, dangerous 6” high step which caused a fall, unresponsive captain to requests to fix shower. Crowded buffet in a tiny space for 40 people. Bikes and staff excellent except captain. Tripside is doing a disservice by choosing such a downgraded boat. Surely there are better choices.

Terry h.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The challenge of finding our way and doing it successfully despite the guide books being almost useless. The guide book for the Passau to Vienna book was slightly better but that was mostly because the paths were self evident. The book for the Vienna to Budapest leg was quite useless.

Silvia S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

The route and group were amazing! The cities are very nice and historical… what I fell could be better is reception of participants of tour… inviting each one to identify oneself with others, to make a group… And I think our guide wasn’t so careful with the group… so quick some days… with no explanation about the beautiful little towns we were!! So pity!!
And they could help us about car parking before tour… You could have better support to guests.

Kathy Feeley
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria to the Adriatic
Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

This tour was described as having a dedicated bike path and great for families.After completing it today I have to disagree.
Long stretches (20 kms) of Parenzana path were like washed out river beds, full of deep loose gravel and rocks.Unless-you are used to this surface then it is very slow going,scary and dangerous .
My cycle buddy and I both fell off twice,and had cuts and bruises.We have cycled all over Europe and have never been on anything like this.We did cycle from Piran to Grojnan and Grojnan to Motovun and the path was really bad,a goat track in some parts.
We caught a taxi from Motovun to Porec as the Komoot map indicated 20 kms of unpaved path through the forest and no roads to turn onto if we needed to escape .
This state of this path really is atrocious and it’s the worst self guided tour I have ever done

Richard S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Luxury Castles of the Loire
France

This was a self guided tour and the directions provided were terrible. Spent a lot of time lost

Bruce E.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We boarded the Primadonna on Friday & started our biking the following day. It was a little hectic & we didn't get any tips about the e-bike since we hadn't ridden one before. We got a briefing the night before about where to go but we had to wait until the German was completed before the English started. We were all very tired by then from traveling. The first day of biking went well as we got used to the e-bike. The second day we began our ride from Tulin to Vienna. The bike trail was crowded today and as we were coming up to a curve I had to move out of the way for on- coming traffic & I hit the gravel and crashed to the ground. My husband was behind me & had to stop fast so he also tipped over on his bike. I hit my face & landed on my left knee & my knee was bleeding heavily. My husband had multiple abrasions on his arms & legs. We continued our ride back to the boat so we could figure out what to do next. I checked my knee & I Read More

Deborah D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Super Tulip Tour
Netherlands

Comparing that ship to the one that I’m on now I would not give it a high rating. Bathroom was filthy, toilet kept running, floor stayed wet from condensation from the shower and toilet and the bed situation was not desirable. However I booked this knowing that it was a low budget trip so therefore I was not disappointed. The guide was superb. He gave us lots of history and really made the trip fun. The food was less than desirable.

David W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I understand the latitudes taken in promotion and advertising. That being said, I highly resent being intentionally deceived. We were “warned” prior to leaving that there might be last minute changes in where the ship docked in Passau. Sure enough, 2 days prior to boarding we were informed of the change “due to construction.” There was no construction around the docks. We walked by there several times each day, and ships were docking all the time. No, this had to do with not wanting to dock in Germany where COVID restrictions were tighter for the ship to set sail.

What we were left with instead was a vague set of instructions that led us to the wrong place and a group of suspected fellow passengers (none spoke English) also waiting in several places for the bus. We tried your 800 number. No one answered. We tried the local “help line”. The person who answered did not speak English. There was no one at the presumed site to board the Read More

Rosemary P.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I am truly amazed about quantity of 5 star reviews for this tour, as I could only give it a 2 star! And, this 2 rating is for the wonderful restaurant and housekeeping staff , as the boat crew , bike assistants were unpleasant to deal with, and the captain kept his distance. This was such a drastic difference from my very enjoyable Netherlands, and Croatia bike and boat tours. The maps and directions were inadequate and usually incorrect. The "tour guide" (who never lead a tour) Jan was unbelievably nasty, rude and impatient about any and all questions and concerns. He sent many on what was to be an easy, level ride only for it to take us over a mountain where our bikes were unsuitable and directions e completely wrong. I would not recommend neither this boat or trip to anyone.

Rick M.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

Suggestion for others: Take a different bike/barge trip!

The boat was quite old and noisy. Due to either river conditions or dock accommodations, the skipper had to move the boat off the dock multiple times during the days and at night, disrupting sleep for many of the guests. Air conditioning did not work in several of the cabins, and the crew was very slow to repair. At our "welcome aboard" briefing, we were told that there were 130 life vests on board the vessel, and that was the extent of the safety briefing - nothing about where they were located or how to don them. No word about where fire extinguishers were located. Nothing about how to get off the boat in an emergency. If there was an AED on board, it was well hidden!

Several of the young ladies in the crew were very friendly and helpful to the passengers, but others were not very helpful at all - The Captain could best be described as an old Curmudgeon. Time for him to retire! The bikes were Read More

Guilherme G.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

Maps must be improved.
We got lost more than one time.
The signs are very poor in many places.
Local people are not used to the signs used in the bike route used in the maps. So they could not help us.

The first day of the trip is too long. It would be better to do it in two days.

The normal package hotels are not good. For few cities we payed for upgrade hotels. This ones were very nice.

Diane F.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

I took the Bordeaux bike and barge trip the first week of September 2019. I am comparing it to the Danube bike & barge trip I took in October 2017 via Tripsite. The Danube trip was great all the way around, good food, nice dining service, white linen, well cooked and good variety of food. Excellent value for the money. The itinerary, guides, and crew service were great. The Bordeaux trip on MS Bordeaux held great expectations. The itinerary and scenery were fantastic. The quality and variety of food needed a lot of work. The morning coffee was dreadful each day, and there were no proper coffee mugs, teacups or teapots. Paper placemats did not add to the breakfast atmosphere. We were offered the same overcooked eggs each morning. One morning garlic carrots were on offer. Our make yourself lunches were exactly the same ingredients each day. The dinners were often overcooked with a complete lack of fresh greens or fresh market cheeses. In fact, the cheeses on offer each morning were Read More

Judy L.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Coming around a corner in rural netherlands and seeing a tradition windmill complete with thatched roof! Beautiful!

Elizabeth T.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Road of 100 Castles - Münsterland
Germany, Netherlands

1. There were only about 10 castles on the tour. Most of the castles were not open to the public to visit.
2. The maps and written instructions given to us upon arrival were in German which we do not know. There was an option to download these instructions onto a smart phone but we were not given this information until on day 3 of the tour. We had made no provisions to attach a smart phone to our bike and protect it from the weather.
3. The scenery was pleasant for a few days but became boring as there was not much difference each day.

LEONIDAS ROUSSINOS
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

North Holland Tour
Netherlands

We have completed many boat and bike tours all through TripSite who have always done an outstanding job to make sure the customers get their information on time. Carla and her team do a great job.
The North Holland tour is the least desirable tour to choose for a number of reasons.
The De Holland boat is the least agreeable thing to ever float on a river, a box with no charm at all. On the other hand the cabins inside even though they are small, they are clean and the bathrooms are fitted nicely and roomy. It also has a decent deck from where to enjoy the view when in port or sailing.
The administration of this company are not doing themselves any favours. They have cut down the crew to the level that they are unable to properly serve their customers. The persons working as crew on this boat are killing themselves to provide the best service possible without much success most of the time. Just not enough people to do the jobs. Furthermore if you plan to charge for WiFi Read More

Margaret E.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Most Memorable Part: The biking and comradery of the other bikers on the trip.