Highest RatedLowest RatedNewestOldest
Levi H.1 month ago
Harmonia Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike & BoatCroatia
I wish the group leader an responsible for eight people signing up for this trip. Guides were good, response from trip site was horrible when our bags did not arrive another party that we had signed up also did not have their bags arrive. Very disappointing with no bike clothes no pet it shorts no pedals etc.
Tripsite Staff • 1 month ago Tripsite Staff
I am sorry about your unfortunate luggage situation. We phoned you several times to try to help but unfortunately we do not have any control over the airlines' delivery time. I hope you had a great tour nevertheless!
Diane P.2 months ago
Merlijn Berlin to MalchinGermany, Poland
Going to Poland. This trip was too rural and remote. Very few stops and few points of interest. Mainly dirt paths or cobblestone paths that were very difficult to ride a bike on. The farm fields we drove our bikes through were awful, some were full of holes and quite dangerous. I do not recommend this trip for those who have back and neck problems or those who never have rode a mountain bike.
Bonnie G.2 months ago
Love Boat South Greek Aegean SeaGreece, Turkey
The captain backing up the ship to fit into a small space at the dock.
Sarah k.2 months ago
Silver Coast of PortugalPortugal
The trip was more of a bike ride than informational tour of the country. We thought we would learn more about Portugal.
Tamara R.2 months ago
Fluvius Bruges to AmsterdamBelgium, Netherlands
Now, on the to problems with the ship. Upon arrival, we were given the key to our cabin in the lower forward part of the boat. I opened the door and the smell of mold and mildew just about knocked me off my feet! I immediately turned on the air conditioner and set it to cold with the fan running constantly. If the fan went off for even a few minutes, the smell returned. There was absolutely NO ventilation in these rooms, not an exhaust fan, nothing! Every time we took a shower, the entire cabin turned into a steam bath which made it impossible to dry my hair or put on make up. After a day, I started becoming very ill from the smell since I am highly allergic to mold. My throat was sore and I was having asthma which is the normal reaction to me being exposed to mold spores. I was not the only one who had a problem with the smell in the cabins. It seems as if the further forward you got in the boat, the worse it was. The upstairs was unaffected although those who had cabins up top with opening windows had no heat for the first 2 nights. Bottom line is that the boat is a floating nightmare and I would never, ever, use that company for trips again. It needs to be renovated before taking any more passengers. The crew did the best they could in trying to clean but then it just smelled like moldy clorox.
This boat needs to be renovated before carrying passengers again. On a positive note...Kudos to the chef! The food was excellent!
Tamara thank you so much for these comments. We have spoken to the owner of the Fluvius and your complaints have been heard and dealt with appropriately. Foremost, I want to emphasize that this is not the quality we demand from our boats. Professionalism and friendliness towards our guests are our number one priority, but unfortunately, we missed the mark on your tour. We are so deeply sorry for this.
The Fluvius is currently undergoing renovations and deep cleaning to ensure no one experiences these same problems.
Margaret W.2 months ago
Mosel & SaarGermany
Think twice before booking a bike and barge tour along the Mosel & Saar rivers in Germany on the Zwaan boat. It was infested with BED BUGS...cabins 1 & 2. My tour embarked Sept 19, 2022. I ended up with over 50 bites that were nearly unbearable! My last three nights of the tour I slept in on-shore accommodations but continued riding with the group. There are other larger boats that are available. Maybe a little more money, but worth the safety of your health. The fiasco that one has to go through to rid your clothes and luggage from bed bugs is difficult when on vacation. Save yourself and book on another boat!
We appreciate your comments so much! This helps us improve our tours. Unfortunately, we did indeed have issues with bed bugs on your departure. They are a terrible nuisance and I can imagine how uncomfortable it was for you! I am so sorry for this. Bed bugs are not an uncommon occurrence where travelers come and go, and can happen even in the most luxurious ships or hotels as they are extremely difficult to eradicate. The Zwaan has since been cleared by an exterminator and cleaned thoroughly. I truly hope the compensation you were given makes up, if only partially, for your experience on board.
Donna D.2 months ago
Fluvius Amsterdam to BrugesNetherlands, Belgium
This trip was a disappointment compared to our previous week on the De Holland. This barge has no ventilation. The lower rooms were very damp and moldy smelling. We would have to open the door to the hallway after we showered. No fan in the bathroom and no way to eliminate moisture or odors. They were not using a proper disinfectant spray between groups so the virus germs can stay in these damp rooms. One woman entered the barge with Covid. She ended up passing it to 9 people.. They were all asked to leave the barge on their own expense. People need to be aware of this potential expense. Guides were ok but best for experienced riders. They encouraged independent travel but they are in the process of changing from the GPS maps so it was confusing and we frequently were lost and had to look at the map. No serious troubles.
Tripsite staff • 1 month ago Tripsite Staff
Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us, your comments are incredibly important!
I'm so terribly sorry for the experience you had aboard the Fluvius. The boat was not at all up to our standards during your departure, as we have been made aware. The boat is currently in the shipyard to undergo renovations and deep cleaning for the coming season. We will ensure these problems are rectified!
COVID is still a lurking issue when it comes to travel. At the time, regulations required anyone infected to quarantine off the boat. We understand how inconvenient this is, most of us here in the office have experienced it. Unfortunately, post-COVID travel carries this risk. Thankfully, these regulations are loosening every day and we could see them disappear entirely in the future.
Thank you again for this feedback, this is how we get better.
ROBERT P.2 months ago
Thalassa Cyclades IslandsGreece
Biking is not moderate as listed. Fun but lots of hills.The towns and villages visited were very nice. Two of the islands dry with not much vegetation. The other three were beautiful.The main problem with this trip was the ship which smelled of diesel and sewage fumes in some state rooms. The second problem was that the bikes were not in the best shape.We have been on three other trips site bike and boat trips and have been pleased. This trip did not live up to our expectations.
Frank G.3 months ago
The ebike trips through wonderful countryside and lovely small towns en route were great. Dinners were excellent on board but I would try a better quality boat. The Fluvius is old, tiny cabins, no bathroom hooks, towel racks; shower head falls, dangerous 6” high step which caused a fall, unresponsive captain to requests to fix shower. Crowded buffet in a tiny space for 40 people. Bikes and staff excellent except captain. Tripside is doing a disservice by choosing such a downgraded boat. Surely there are better choices.
Thank you so much for your feedback. You help us be better! I'm so sorry your time on the Fluvius was not enjoyable. The Fluvius is one of the older boats in our program. We try to be as transparent as possible about the accommodations, from the good and bad to the ugly, but this boat definitely needed maintenance and thorough cleaning. I apologize so much you didn't get to experience it in its best condition. The owner has informed us that the Fluvius is in the boatyard currently to undergo much needed revisions.
Terry h.3 months ago
Danube Bike Path - Passau to BudapestGermany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia
The challenge of finding our way and doing it successfully despite the guide books being almost useless. The guide book for the Passau to Vienna book was slightly better but that was mostly because the paths were self evident. The book for the Vienna to Budapest leg was quite useless.
Carla • 3 months ago Tripsite Staff
Hi Terry, I'm sorry to hear the route descriptions were useless. We are working to present new and improved route books for the 2023 season. In the meantime, I recommend considering using GPS tracks for future tours which should lead to seamless guiding.
Silvia S.4 months ago
Caprice Provence - Wilderness of CamargueFrance
The route and group were amazing! The cities are very nice and historical… what I fell could be better is reception of participants of tour… inviting each one to identify oneself with others, to make a group… And I think our guide wasn’t so careful with the group… so quick some days… with no explanation about the beautiful little towns we were!! So pity!! And they could help us about car parking before tour… You could have better support to guests.
Kathy Feeley4 months ago
Istria to the AdriaticSlovenia, Croatia, Italy
This tour was described as having a dedicated bike path and great for families.After completing it today I have to disagree.Long stretches (20 kms) of Parenzana path were like washed out river beds, full of deep loose gravel and rocks.Unless-you are used to this surface then it is very slow going,scary and dangerous .My cycle buddy and I both fell off twice,and had cuts and bruises.We have cycled all over Europe and have never been on anything like this.We did cycle from Piran to Grojnan and Grojnan to Motovun and the path was really bad,a goat track in some parts.We caught a taxi from Motovun to Porec as the Komoot map indicated 20 kms of unpaved path through the forest and no roads to turn onto if we needed to escape .This state of this path really is atrocious and it’s the worst self guided tour I have ever done
Richard S.5 months ago
Luxury Castles of the LoireFrance
This was a self guided tour and the directions provided were terrible. Spent a lot of time lost
Bruce E.6 months ago
Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country TourAustria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary
anna • 6 months ago Tripsite Staff
Thank you so much for this feedback and sharing your experience, it was great to connect with you via email to better understand this situation. Falling on an ebike is awful, I can understand how disappointing (and surely painful) this was and especially on the 2nd day of cycling. I am happy our crew was able to assist and ultimately ensure you received the care you needed. We hope you continue to heal and recover, and please don't hesitate to reach out if I can help you in any way in the future.
Deborah D.7 months ago
Clair de Lune Super Tulip TourNetherlands
Comparing that ship to the one that I’m on now I would not give it a high rating. Bathroom was filthy, toilet kept running, floor stayed wet from condensation from the shower and toilet and the bed situation was not desirable. However I booked this knowing that it was a low budget trip so therefore I was not disappointed. The guide was superb. He gave us lots of history and really made the trip fun. The food was less than desirable.
Jehiel • 7 months ago Tripsite Staff
Hi Deborah,I am sorry this boat did not meet your expectations. Next time, maybe a boat in a Premium or Deluxe class would be a better fit? The issues with your bathroom were promptly resolved.Glad you enjoyed the cycling and guide. Hope to help you plan your next trip!
David W.1 year ago
What we were left with instead was a vague set of instructions that led us to the wrong place and a group of suspected fellow passengers (none spoke English) also waiting in several places for the bus. We tried your 800 number. No one answered. We tried the local “help line”. The person who answered did not speak English. There was no one at the presumed site to board the Read More bus to inform us that we were at the correct location. Had the original one not broken down and caused an unexpected delay, we would have never made it to be bus, even though we left our hotel two hours earlier. Two unexpected cab fares and hours of stress wondering if we would actually make embarkation is not the way to start a voyage. We must have been your only clients on board, and that explains quite a lot of what happened. The only other English-speaking passengers were Danish. Daytime announcements were only made in German.
If I were asked to describe the food on this voyage with one word it would be: BLAND. Presentation 10. Taste 3. Selection 2. They need to invest more in spices to make it taste better and less on garnish to make it look good.
The saving grace was the attitude and professionalism of all those who worked on board, from the Captain helping get the bicycles ashore, to the ladies at the information desk, to our waiter, bartender, and cabin stewardess. All worked hard, were extremely helpful, and I have no complaints whatsoever.
The bicycles were good quality, well-maintained, and those who instructed us in their use were quite helpful. The young lady who instructed us each evening about the day ahead was superb. But her graphics, maps, handouts, were awful. The biking experience itself was nothing like I imagined. Cars, trucks, pedestrians, and multitudes of other cyclists all trying to pass on the left at any opportunity. Some very dangerous gravel trails and quite a bit of city riding with cars whizzing by at breakneck speed. The distance vs. time allowed created a “race to the finish line” experience rather than the comfortable, leisurely ride through the countryside with frequent stops to take in the scenery that I had come to expect from your promotional materials.
Four days into the voyage we learned that our original information that all on board were vaccinated was, in fact, not true. Both passengers and crew members were unvaccinated. No one wore a mask on board, and social distancing was impossible. In retrospect, the overcrowded dining room and three hour evening meals were just a breeding ground for COVID transmission. Thankfully, our COVID testing (required for reentry to US) was negative. Had it been positive and my trip extended for another two weeks of quarantine, I would be seeking monetary compensation from the cruise line.
There were other minor things. There was, literally, no “entertainment” on board. Someone played the piano in the bar 2 hours a day, but the promised “movies” in the evening followed by midnight snacks must have been more of those “older things” still in your promotional literature. There were no movies. No place to watch them. The theatre was used to store the bicycles. I suspect that’s why they dragged out the evening meal to upwards of three hours! Even the documents we received at embarkation mentioned (in German only) a “massage” included in our tickets. But no one at the customer service desk seemed to understand what I was talking about when I inquired, and not once during the voyage was anyone working in the indoor sauna area. And to think, I was forced to pay an additional 150 Euros to “rebook” this voyage when the one I put down a deposit for (in January, 2020, no less) was cancelled by the cruise line due to COVID restrictions in travel. They were unable to fulfill the contract, and I had to pay more to protect my deposit! Dare I say it? Bait and switch.
And I do not blame the tour company entirely for this deception. Your promotional materials, time and again, “had not been updated” when I inquired prior to sailing about discrepancies I found in them. The video on your website from someone who had taken the tour presented a world totally foreign to the experience we endured. I suspect that during the COVID delay the ship or line was sold to some new company and the new owners were cutting costs at every turn. The crew told us ours would be the last voyage for this boat using the bicycling format.
Carla • 1 year ago Tripsite Staff
Hi David, It was nice chatting with you and thank you for your kind consideration. As I mentioned, Passau docking authorities are very strict and can announce docking changes at short notice and without reason. While it may have appeared there was nothing going on, we don't have any control over this. I don't understand why our 1-800 number did not work. My personal cell phone number is listed in all tour documents for emergencies, as well as in our 800 number voicemail message. For the 2021 sailing season, we could never guarantee that all passengers and crew were vaccinated. I'm sorry the whole experience did not meet your expectations. I've refunded you the rebooking fees and hope we may able you again in the future. - Carla from Tripsite
Rosemary P.3 years ago
Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country TourAustria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary
I am truly amazed about quantity of 5 star reviews for this tour, as I could only give it a 2 star! And, this 2 rating is for the wonderful restaurant and housekeeping staff , as the boat crew , bike assistants were unpleasant to deal with, and the captain kept his distance. This was such a drastic difference from my very enjoyable Netherlands, and Croatia bike and boat tours. The maps and directions were inadequate and usually incorrect. The "tour guide" (who never lead a tour) Jan was unbelievably nasty, rude and impatient about any and all questions and concerns. He sent many on what was to be an easy, level ride only for it to take us over a mountain where our bikes were unsuitable and directions e completely wrong. I would not recommend neither this boat or trip to anyone.
Jehiel from Tripsite • 3 years ago Tripsite Staff
Hi Rosemary,We are sorry to hear that this trip didn't meet your expectations. It's unfortunate that you experienced some negative exchanges with Jan. We apologize for that.
About the biking: For the self-guided option a guide is not expected to lead the tour. Riders are expected to be able to navigate independently using the route descriptions and maps. We will look into the maps but we have never gotten feedback about the inaccuracy of the route descriptions for this tour. Furthermore, the tour is rated easy with very little elevation gain and the daily mileages are listed.
We hope that you still had an enjoyable time.
Rosemary Palus • 3 years ago
Not having a guide was not an issue for me as I am a much seasoned rider (of plus 30 years experience) with dozens extended touring rides both here in the states, besides several international. We had started with transporting our personal bikes to Europe, reserving our accommodations , creating ride maps, etc.. so telling me to "navigate independently using the route description and maps" given is insulting. IF one were given proper maps and descriptions it would have been acceptable with the exception of Jan's famous easy farm ride that took us over dangerous mountainous, cliff side, terrain. He is very fortunate all returned minus major accidents, and this was only due to the fact we WERE EXPERIENCED!. And, you really need to fully read all feedback as there were other complaints regarding inadequate mapping and directions. Tripsite is also responsible by ignoring this issue. AMEN!
Rosemary, I am not trying to insult you or downplay your experience. I am trying to address your concerns. I wanted to clarify that Jan is not a tour guide and with the self-guided option, there is no leader. Gps tracks are available for most tours and routes are being updated and improved frequently.If you were not given maps and route descriptions and if Jan's suggestion was misguided and dangerous, that is unacceptable. If Jan was rude to you, that is unacceptable. This is not characteristic of our local partners or Tripsite. I can assure you we are addressing these issues with our local partner. I personally read hundreds of feedback submissions each season and respond. We do this because we care about your experience and want to make the tours we offer better. I am sorry we and our partners failed to give you a positive experience. Jehiel
Rick M.3 years ago
Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & WineFrance
The boat was quite old and noisy. Due to either river conditions or dock accommodations, the skipper had to move the boat off the dock multiple times during the days and at night, disrupting sleep for many of the guests. Air conditioning did not work in several of the cabins, and the crew was very slow to repair. At our "welcome aboard" briefing, we were told that there were 130 life vests on board the vessel, and that was the extent of the safety briefing - nothing about where they were located or how to don them. No word about where fire extinguishers were located. Nothing about how to get off the boat in an emergency. If there was an AED on board, it was well hidden!
Several of the young ladies in the crew were very friendly and helpful to the passengers, but others were not very helpful at all - The Captain could best be described as an old Curmudgeon. Time for him to retire! The bikes were Read More old and somewhat worn out. Very little help from the crew with getting them set up and ready to roll each day. The first day of "bike fitting" was pandemonium, with 80+ people all trying to get their bikes at once. Probably could have been a little better organized - as could several other aspects of the trip. Our guide was trying very hard to do the best he could, but he was handicapped by a lack of experience and local area knowledge. His regular job was working in the office for the boat company, and I suspect he was pressed into service as a guide, probably because so many people requested the guided option.
The food was generally good, but there was no choice during evening meals. If you happened not to like duck, too bad!
While the crew and the company had no control over the weather, it rained almost every day, and to top it all off, I found I really prefer California/Washington wines to any we tasted in the Bordeaux region.
While this was our first barge experience, we have taken many other cycling trips, with other companies. In general, they have all been far more organized an better executed than this trip. The bikes were always better in quality and better maintained by the crew. The tour leaders were far more informed and informative about the areas we were riding in.
Bottom line: I will not take another bike/barge trip through your company, nor can I recommend your trips to others.
Guilherme G.3 years ago
Amsterdam to Bruges Bike TourNetherlands, Belgium
Maps must be improved.We got lost more than one time.The signs are very poor in many places.Local people are not used to the signs used in the bike route used in the maps. So they could not help us.
The first day of the trip is too long. It would be better to do it in two days.
The normal package hotels are not good. For few cities we payed for upgrade hotels. This ones were very nice.
Diane F.3 years ago
Judy L.3 years ago
Sailing Home Bruges to AmsterdamBelgium, Netherlands
Coming around a corner in rural netherlands and seeing a tradition windmill complete with thatched roof! Beautiful!
Elizabeth T.3 years ago
Road of 100 Castles - MünsterlandGermany, Netherlands
1. There were only about 10 castles on the tour. Most of the castles were not open to the public to visit.2. The maps and written instructions given to us upon arrival were in German which we do not know. There was an option to download these instructions onto a smart phone but we were not given this information until on day 3 of the tour. We had made no provisions to attach a smart phone to our bike and protect it from the weather.3. The scenery was pleasant for a few days but became boring as there was not much difference each day.
Carla from Tripsite • 3 years ago Tripsite Staff
Hi Elizabeth! Thanks for your feedback. The routebook with maps is in the German language however we find it is still an excellent tool for riding. We are very sorry you were not aware of the GPS tracks or device sooner. Despite these issues, I hope you were able to bring home good memories of your trip!
LEONIDAS ROUSSINOS3 years ago
North Holland TourNetherlands
Margaret E.3 years ago
Along the Danube - Passau to ViennaAustria, Germany
Most Memorable Part: The biking and comradery of the other bikers on the trip.
Dennis E.3 years ago
Theodor Körner Along the Danube-Iron GatesGermany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia
Most Memorable Part: The black mold (or something) that had many people coughing in their rooms. I had to take allergy pills each night.
Robert W M.3 years ago
The crew & food were great & acceptable respectively. There were very few vegetables served. The ship was terrible, moldy, poor lighting nonexistent waste baskets except in private rooms. The ship had a strong sewer odor which our cabin boy could not remedy. This problem involved several rooms. We would not return to the The(odor) Körner.
Jayne Allerton3 years ago
Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019France
MARIA JOSE R.3 years ago
Romantica National Parks of DalmatiaCroatia
Trip with some room for improvement.As positive:1. Bike guides were kind and always trying to fulfill all of our requests.2. Waiter was really helpful, efficient and nice with all of us3. Meals on board were tastefulAs 'not so positive':1. All the the bike routes run 100% by car roads2. We just were able to take a swim from the boat 2 or 3 times during the full week3. Captain had to change the itinerary, that initially it did not sound as a problem until we finally spent 24 hours with the ship docked beside the garbage containers in a city with absolutely nothing to visit or to do... while enduring flies and really unpleasant smell...4. Captain and part of the crew far from 'nice behavior' during the full trip until the last moment that they started to open the tip envelopes and count the money in the dining room with all of us still on board
As a summary, this National Park 'bike & Boat' trip was far from expectations.
Mark H.3 years ago
Zwaantje Champagne TourFrance
The general biking was above average , with some awesome sites visited.As far as the accommodation was concerned this was below average. Although the space was confined more emphasis could have been done to the quality and hospitality of stay.
Lia P.3 years ago
Florentina The Elbe River and PragueCzech Republic
Visiting Prague. What a magical city. The bikes on our trip were very nice. I rented an ebike and my husband had a regular bike. We love biking in Europe but I would not recommend this trip. Lots of the paths were dirt paths that were rough to ride on. The trails were not marked very making it easy to miss a road sign because you had to look where you were riding due to the rough terrain. The towns were small and poor. Not many places to stop for a lunch or beer. The villages were very boring to our group of 12. The MS Florentine was very nice and the food was good. The restaurant manager provided excellent service. Our tour guide Frank was very disappointing. His English skills were marginal (he is German) and he wasn’t very friendly. We hated to ask him questions, he always acted put out by us bothering him. The map and written description of the daily route needs improving making it easy to get lost. I was grateful we were traveling with 10 friends since most of the guests were German and we never connected with others on the ship. I will do another bike and barge trip but I will pick a more interesting itinerary.