Highest RatedLowest RatedNewestOldest
Rosemary P.12 months ago
Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country TourAustria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary
I am truly amazed about quantity of 5 star reviews for this tour, as I could only give it a 2 star! And, this 2 rating is for the wonderful restaurant and housekeeping staff , as the boat crew , bike assistants were unpleasant to deal with, and the captain kept his distance. This was such a drastic difference from my very enjoyable Netherlands, and Croatia bike and boat tours. The maps and directions were inadequate and usually incorrect. The "tour guide" (who never lead a tour) Jan was unbelievably nasty, rude and impatient about any and all questions and concerns. He sent many on what was to be an easy, level ride only for it to take us over a mountain where our bikes were unsuitable and directions e completely wrong. I would not recommend neither this boat or trip to anyone.
Jehiel from Tripsite • 12 months ago Tripsite Staff
Hi Rosemary,We are sorry to hear that this trip didn't meet your expectations. It's unfortunate that you experienced some negative exchanges with Jan. We apologize for that.
About the biking: For the self-guided option a guide is not expected to lead the tour. Riders are expected to be able to navigate independently using the route descriptions and maps. We will look into the maps but we have never gotten feedback about the inaccuracy of the route descriptions for this tour. Furthermore, the tour is rated easy with very little elevation gain and the daily mileages are listed.
We hope that you still had an enjoyable time.
Rosemary Palus • 12 months ago
Not having a guide was not an issue for me as I am a much seasoned rider (of plus 30 years experience) with dozens extended touring rides both here in the states, besides several international. We had started with transporting our personal bikes to Europe, reserving our accommodations , creating ride maps, etc.. so telling me to "navigate independently using the route description and maps" given is insulting. IF one were given proper maps and descriptions it would have been acceptable with the exception of Jan's famous easy farm ride that took us over dangerous mountainous, cliff side, terrain. He is very fortunate all returned minus major accidents, and this was only due to the fact we WERE EXPERIENCED!. And, you really need to fully read all feedback as there were other complaints regarding inadequate mapping and directions. Tripsite is also responsible by ignoring this issue. AMEN!
Rosemary, I am not trying to insult you or downplay your experience. I am trying to address your concerns. I wanted to clarify that Jan is not a tour guide and with the self-guided option, there is no leader. Gps tracks are available for most tours and routes are being updated and improved frequently.If you were not given maps and route descriptions and if Jan's suggestion was misguided and dangerous, that is unacceptable. If Jan was rude to you, that is unacceptable. This is not characteristic of our local partners or Tripsite. I can assure you we are addressing these issues with our local partner. I personally read hundreds of feedback submissions each season and respond. We do this because we care about your experience and want to make the tours we offer better. I am sorry we and our partners failed to give you a positive experience. Jehiel
Rick M.1 year ago
Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & WineFrance
The boat was quite old and noisy. Due to either river conditions or dock accommodations, the skipper had to move the boat off the dock multiple times during the days and at night, disrupting sleep for many of the guests. Air conditioning did not work in several of the cabins, and the crew was very slow to repair. At our "welcome aboard" briefing, we were told that there were 130 life vests on board the vessel, and that was the extent of the safety briefing - nothing about where they were located or how to don them. No word about where fire extinguishers were located. Nothing about how to get off the boat in an emergency. If there was an AED on board, it was well hidden!
Several of the young ladies in the crew were very friendly and helpful to the passengers, but others were not very helpful at all - The Captain could best be described as an old Curmudgeon. Time for him to retire! The bikes were Read More old and somewhat worn out. Very little help from the crew with getting them set up and ready to roll each day. The first day of "bike fitting" was pandemonium, with 80+ people all trying to get their bikes at once. Probably could have been a little better organized - as could several other aspects of the trip. Our guide was trying very hard to do the best he could, but he was handicapped by a lack of experience and local area knowledge. His regular job was working in the office for the boat company, and I suspect he was pressed into service as a guide, probably because so many people requested the guided option.
The food was generally good, but there was no choice during evening meals. If you happened not to like duck, too bad!
While the crew and the company had no control over the weather, it rained almost every day, and to top it all off, I found I really prefer California/Washington wines to any we tasted in the Bordeaux region.
While this was our first barge experience, we have taken many other cycling trips, with other companies. In general, they have all been far more organized an better executed than this trip. The bikes were always better in quality and better maintained by the crew. The tour leaders were far more informed and informative about the areas we were riding in.
Bottom line: I will not take another bike/barge trip through your company, nor can I recommend your trips to others.
Guilherme G.1 year ago
Amsterdam to Bruges Bike TourNetherlands, Belgium
Maps must be improved.We got lost more than one time.The signs are very poor in many places.Local people are not used to the signs used in the bike route used in the maps. So they could not help us.
The first day of the trip is too long. It would be better to do it in two days.
The normal package hotels are not good. For few cities we payed for upgrade hotels. This ones were very nice.
Diane F.1 year ago
Judy L.1 year ago
Sailing Home Bruges to AmsterdamBelgium, Netherlands
Coming around a corner in rural netherlands and seeing a tradition windmill complete with thatched roof! Beautiful!
Elizabeth T.1 year ago
Road of 100 Castles - MünsterlandGermany, Netherlands
1. There were only about 10 castles on the tour. Most of the castles were not open to the public to visit.2. The maps and written instructions given to us upon arrival were in German which we do not know. There was an option to download these instructions onto a smart phone but we were not given this information until on day 3 of the tour. We had made no provisions to attach a smart phone to our bike and protect it from the weather.3. The scenery was pleasant for a few days but became boring as there was not much difference each day.
Carla from Tripsite • 1 year ago Tripsite Staff
Hi Elizabeth! Thanks for your feedback. The routebook with maps is in the German language however we find it is still an excellent tool for riding. We are very sorry you were not aware of the GPS tracks or device sooner. Despite these issues, I hope you were able to bring home good memories of your trip!
LEONIDAS ROUSSINOS1 year ago
North Holland TourNetherlands
Margaret E.1 year ago
Along the Danube - Passau to ViennaAustria, Germany
Most Memorable Part: The biking and comradery of the other bikers on the trip.
Dennis E.1 year ago
Theodor Körner Along the Danube-Iron GatesGermany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia
Most Memorable Part: The black mold (or something) that had many people coughing in their rooms. I had to take allergy pills each night.
Robert W M.1 year ago
The crew & food were great & acceptable respectively. There were very few vegetables served. The ship was terrible, moldy, poor lighting nonexistent waste baskets except in private rooms. The ship had a strong sewer odor which our cabin boy could not remedy. This problem involved several rooms. We would not return to the The(odor) Körner.
Jayne Allerton1 year ago
Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019France
MARIA JOSE R.1 year ago
Romantica National Parks of DalmatiaCroatia
Trip with some room for improvement.As positive:1. Bike guides were kind and always trying to fulfill all of our requests.2. Waiter was really helpful, efficient and nice with all of us3. Meals on board were tastefulAs 'not so positive':1. All the the bike routes run 100% by car roads2. We just were able to take a swim from the boat 2 or 3 times during the full week3. Captain had to change the itinerary, that initially it did not sound as a problem until we finally spent 24 hours with the ship docked beside the garbage containers in a city with absolutely nothing to visit or to do... while enduring flies and really unpleasant smell...4. Captain and part of the crew far from 'nice behavior' during the full trip until the last moment that they started to open the tip envelopes and count the money in the dining room with all of us still on board
As a summary, this National Park 'bike & Boat' trip was far from expectations.
Mark H.2 years ago
Zwaantje Champagne TourFrance
The general biking was above average , with some awesome sites visited.As far as the accommodation was concerned this was below average. Although the space was confined more emphasis could have been done to the quality and hospitality of stay.
Lia P.2 years ago
Florentina The Elbe River and PragueCzech Republic
Visiting Prague. What a magical city. The bikes on our trip were very nice. I rented an ebike and my husband had a regular bike. We love biking in Europe but I would not recommend this trip. Lots of the paths were dirt paths that were rough to ride on. The trails were not marked very making it easy to miss a road sign because you had to look where you were riding due to the rough terrain. The towns were small and poor. Not many places to stop for a lunch or beer. The villages were very boring to our group of 12. The MS Florentine was very nice and the food was good. The restaurant manager provided excellent service. Our tour guide Frank was very disappointing. His English skills were marginal (he is German) and he wasn’t very friendly. We hated to ask him questions, he always acted put out by us bothering him. The map and written description of the daily route needs improving making it easy to get lost. I was grateful we were traveling with 10 friends since most of the guests were German and we never connected with others on the ship. I will do another bike and barge trip but I will pick a more interesting itinerary.
Jeanne W.2 years ago
Silver Coast of PortugalPortugal
Porto was extraordinary as was Aveiro. The bike routes were primitive or sand covered. Local company was extremely nice and accommodating. Portuguese people couldn’t have been friendlier.
Elizabeth C.2 years ago
Krakow to WarsawPoland
Kathryn K.2 years ago
We had a great time touring the area. The hills were a challenge! The hotel food was varied and tasty.
Beth M.2 years ago
I am commenting on the Bordeaux tour which I decided to go on last minute. If I had done my research on the boat & room size I wouldn’t have gone. My husband is 6’6” and the cabin was too small & very uncomfortable. I don’t know how it gets the Comfort Plus rating, all of the cabins on the lower level with the exception of one were all very small, & from other fellow pax comments, the upper level was not much better. This was our third trip with TripSite, we thoroughly enjoyed the 2 prior trips. We are sorry to say that the Bordeaux trip was underwhelming as far as scenery & bike routes.
Wendy from Tripsite • 2 years ago Tripsite Staff
Hi Beth,I'm sorry that you found the boat not up to the comfort plus standards you are used to from your other tours. Yes, the cabins on this boat are smaller than other boats in this class. To clarify the classification...in the past, boats that offered air conditioned cabins were automatically placed in the comfort plus category which is why this boat was in that class. However, we have recently reconfigured our boat classification system and now rate the Bordeaux boat in the comfort class. I personally think the scenery doesn't get much better than this beautiful region of France!
Susan G.2 years ago
Harmonia Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and BoatCroatia
Two of the islands with national parks were removed due to weather concerns. High wind and rough seas evident with the first one, the second the weather did not happen and some of the guests thought we were taken to our final port of Zadar a day early (two nights there instead of one) perhaps for the convenience of the crew. Release the captain a day early, save on fuel? Food on the boat was institutional. Bikes were very comfortable and handled well, but should have rear-view mirrors. Guides Ivana and Kristofer have a lot of personality and were very engaging. Some of the scenery was spectacular. Guided walks provided for us at some of the ports were excellent. Tripsite should send trip info farther in advance of the trip. When it finally did arrive, it included info about flying to Dubrovnik, etc. By then, we and likely most other clients had made plans.
David F.2 years ago
Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country TourAustria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary
Breakfast good. Bagged lunches okay but not great and they only had sparkling water which I don't like and can't drink. No option to get still water without paying extra. Dinners good but not great. Only one meal very good. Most upset about not being able to drink the water from the room sink (which was announced over the PA system just before dinner after we had been onboard for a few hours)and then having to pay for still safe water for the cabin, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Bike barge nightly talk about the following day was always the second talk of the evening (made for later evenings or no room in the bar). Would have liked to share the first time slot for half of the evenings.Concierge staff outstanding and serving staff in the dinning room good.
Mok L.2 years ago
Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to ViennaAustria, Germany
The Danube / bike path was wonderful , My bike was a red girls bike that clunked “hate it”, my wife’s ebike was great, the food was good except the hair in couple of dishes, the tour dir and the hotel mgr were friggen rude (not just us to about 14 others ) would Never take a SE tour again. The people we met on board were great, Austria was very nice. Omg Austria wine was fantastic. thx Mik
PsStill like Tripsite’s
Patti P.2 years ago
Anna Maria IV Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019France
The best part was traveling with friends. I would have enjoyed more information about the area and towns we were traveling through.
Tim Devine2 years ago
Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and ViennaAustria, Germany, Slovakia
The biking itself was fabulous. The staff looked after the bikes well, and the routes were lovely. My problems are with the boat itself, and there are several significant issues. First, our room was next to some machinery near the bridge that woke us up frequently during the night. The bathroom smelled bad, and other guests on a lower floor had major issues with smells too. The boat broke down on one occasion, and we had the feeling that it was on its last legs. The food was okay, sometimes good, sometimes not so good. The staff were very good, although the music was mostly orientated to non-English speakers. I know that this is not a Viking riverboat, but I have a reasonable expectation of having a comfortable and fairly quiet room. Never again on this boat.
Faith S.2 years ago
Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country TourAustria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary
I was disappointed in this tour, the scenery was mostly uninteresting and much more difficult than expected due to high winds on 2 days. I am short and was given a crappy bike to ride, having been told I could not fit on the e-bike I wanted. However, after 2 days of suffering my tour guide was able to find me a bike that fit (even after the company itself said it could not accommodate). The ship itself was wonderful, with big bright cabins and excellent food. I was on the guided comfort relax package, and the tour guide was way too laid back for my taste. I thought we did not have much time in the big cities to explore.
Ann B.2 years ago
Fleur Montargis to ParisFrance
The time on the boat was fun and enjoyable. Your description of the bike ride being easy to moderate was way off. It should have been described as hard to difficult!! It was very misleading.
Audrey F.3 years ago
The quality of hybrid bike was a piece of junk compared with the bike I used in Amsterdam with a group was much better quality two years ago. I would have enjoyed cycling if the bike was in a better quality. The food was too heavy. Other than that, the scenery was beautiful.
Tama L.3 years ago
Around Lake ConstanceAustria, Germany, Switzerland
My dissatisfactions, two nights in the suburbs of Constance, out of the way, should not be used. Konono staff excellent, but cost us for taxi to get there and back to the train. Route book imprecise. What is the route sign we were supposed to follow? What good is a dotted line on a map when there are multiple routes? Which are more scenic? Less hilly? Passing by cafes? Unpaved in a forest? Exactly how do you get to the Rhein Falls ferry? Book never mentioned the three elevators that take you up and down. We had frustrations every day.Is it a beautiful trip? Absolutely. The Mozart and Park Villa are beautiful hotels, although not air conditioned.
Jehiel from Tripsite • 3 years ago Tripsite Staff
Hi Tama,Sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with certain aspects of this tour. As far as the hotel locations, we always try to provide the best hotels possible (location, quality, reputation) but this is based on availability. This region is very popular and hotel development hasn't quite caught up with demand. In reference to the Route Book....we strongly recommend that clients also request GPS tracks to supplement Route Books. The tracks are more interactive and tend to be more precise. If requested, these tracks can be downloaded beforehand and used with a GPS or your smartphone. See this Blog to learn more. Im glad you still had an enjoyable time and appreciated the beauty of this region. We hope to help you plan your next trip!
Margaret J.3 years ago
Difficulty not explained accurately. Bike not a hybrid. Definitely more a mountain bike. Please include fruit at meals and please provide laundry facility somewhere on trip.
Mary Beth R.3 years ago
Scenery was gorgeous, food was superb. Accommodations good.If you took Albert out of the equation I would give much higher ratings. He was inadequate with trail details. His info was hard to follow on the maps. Someone described him as a Peacock. Very apt. The rest of the staff was very good although you need another person in the dining room. Way to many people for the amount of people serving.Don’t advertise that you have WiFi....you really don’t .....
Lisa S.3 years ago
We traveled on the ship Bordeaux in France. The bike routes were beautiful, but the instructions provided by not so great. No worries, we had maps and a GPS, we made each day into an adventure!!!