Amsterdam to Bruges Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 250

Canals and boats in Amsterdam, North Holland, the Netherlands. Photo via Flickr:Sergey Galyonkin 52.365485079614636, 4.902579565655142

Amsterdam to Bruges

8 days from €1060

4.8 out of 5

Amsterdam to Bruges

Easy Bike + Boat Tour in Netherlands, Belgium

From Holland's intriguing capital to Belgium's artistic gem, this bike and boat tour follows meandering rivers and canals from Amsterdam to Bruges. The Golden Age of the 17th Century was a peaceful…

4.8 out of 5

 


Ed Paquette
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges was our first bike and barge experience in 2016. The experience of small group travel, seeing villages and countrysides at 12-14 mph, and the coziness of barge life intoxicated us. We have since done six more tours. Everyone unique, quirky, full of beautiful vistas, and future friends from all over the world.
If you are considering this type of travel adventure for the first time, this tour is for you. AND for you stubborn Americans, there is absolutely no stigma attached to e-bikes. In fact, they are prolific throughout Europe.

Leslie H.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Cycling through the countryside and then returning to the comfort of our boat. The staff were accommodating and considerate. By far the best cruise that I have experienced. The meals were exceptional and the small group setting provided an opportunity for both socialization and relaxation. The crew also provided a variety of opportunities which enhanced the experience .

Rodney H.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip was very enjoyable. The scenery and bike paths were great. The staff and cook were excellent.
Suggestions:
The bike groups should be split up into smaller groups (6-8 riders), especially when using busy routes.
The strong bikers should not be grouped with the more leisurely bikers.
The guides should have good skills in GPS navigation and/or riders could use an app such as "Ride with GPS".

Keven A.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Just a great experience. The food and views were wonderful and the guide was excellent.

Gay T.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I think more questions about individuals biking ability and whether they have experience with e-bikes would be good. Also, people should not expect the bike guides to know all the history of the places people bike through-they are there to assist in biking and take care of problems. They have knowledge but they are not historians etc. I think it should be explained that biking with regular bikes and e-bikes are going to be a part of the same group and unless you are going on your own, it might be difficult to keep up. More emphasis on the App that can assist you when biking. Might also want to emphasize preparation before coming such as doing some long rides. It seems some people think they used to bike and this should be a easy ride especially in the Netherlands where it is flat-they forget it is windy and you are doing this every day for a week!

Gay T.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The ability to really get to know your other travelers. The scenery and routes were wonderful.
Be sure you have put in the miles before you go so you don’t get so tired you can’t enjoy the rest of the trip. If you sign up for an e-bike, get some experience before you go. Know your ability today not when you were 18, 25 years old. This is a bike tour with guides for the route and care of the bikes. They are not there to give you the history of the areas or buildings you visit-you need to do your own work. They share their knowledge but that isn’t their job!

Tracey L.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The guides and their local knowledge really made this trip unforgettable. For other travelers - yes, your behind will hurt if you aren't used to cycling every day. It's 100% worth it. You'll see towns and places that tourists don't normally visit.

Monica M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Magnifique III is a beautiful ship. I had a suite on the upper deck (highly recommend) and was able to sit by my open window and watch the world glide by, The large common areas are very comfortable. All the staff from the Captain, Walter, to the tour guides, Esther and Tom, were friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. And the Dutch/Belgian countryside and towns are picturesque and lovely. Just do not expect long distances (our longest day was 57 km) or fast speeds (we averaged as a group under 10 mph). This trip is designed to enjoy the journey. We cycled on marvellous dedicated pathways and quiet roads where traffic was always courteous. Unfortunately, we had more rain than we all would have liked but no one can control the weather!

Anita G.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Trip met or exceeded all of our expectations. I enjoyed seeing the Netherlands and Belgium from a variety of vantage points. Walking into Antwerp old central square at night was magical.

randall r.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I was very disappointed with this trip! Not only were the cabins very small, they were completely enclosed with no external air flow systems. So, when one person in our group came down with COVID, it quickly spread to 4 more.

Since I had been rooming with one of the persons who tested positive, I offered to leave the trip [so I would not spread the virus to other customers] with the understanding that the ship's crew would pay for my hotel stay in Gent Belgium and the cab fare from the boat to the hotel. Moreover, I expected the crew to give me a refund for the portion of the trip I could not use [not the entire sum, but just what they would save on meals, etc.]. However, after packing my suitcase, isolating from the rest of the customers on board, and preparing to deboard, I was told than not only was the crew not going to pay for the items they said they would, the crew insisted that I pay a surcharge of another 30 Euros for increased fuel costs.

Donna D.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This trip was a disappointment compared to our previous week on the De Holland. This barge has no ventilation. The lower rooms were very damp and moldy smelling. We would have to open the door to the hallway after we showered. No fan in the bathroom and no way to eliminate moisture or odors. They were not using a proper disinfectant spray between groups so the virus germs can stay in these damp rooms. One woman entered the barge with Covid. She ended up passing it to 9 people.. They were all asked to leave the barge on their own expense. People need to be aware of this potential expense. Guides were ok but best for experienced riders. They encouraged independent travel but they are in the process of changing from the GPS maps so it was confusing and we frequently were lost and had to look at the map. No serious troubles.

craig C.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our staff. Hans and Wilfred were exceptional.

George R.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The dinners were fantastic.

Cindy S.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This trip exceeded our expectations. The accommodations and food on the barge were wonderful. We were so comfortable. The guides were terrific, they were so informative and made adjustments as needed to suit weather and safety. The evening tours to special places where we stopped were special. The crew was great. I can’t wait to do it again.

Karen K.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bicycling through the picturesque countryside was magical. We saw beautiful homes and gardens, bridges, small villages, windmills, and night touring the bigger towns to learn a little about the history was a bonus. Staying on a smaller barge gave us an opportunity to get to know the other guests and crew. This too made for a memorable trip. The company is very organized and have a well thought out program. Our tour guide Roseanna was amazing. She had much information to share on our route, kept us together, tremendous patience and lots of fun. Our Chef, Captain and crew made for a comfortable, safe and relaxing trip down the canals after our ride.

Peter A.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The riding was relatively easy given the flat countryside. The rides along country lanes and through farmland was magical. The stops in towns were a great opportunity to experience small town life in the Netherlands. The food on board the sailing home was wonderful, and the staff were great--attentive, available, friendly, enthusiastic. So few people did so much--it was remarkable.

The one thing I forgot to mention in the survey while I was still on the barge ( while still basking in the glow of such a wonderful trip), is regarding the first evening. The plan was for a short "shakedown" bike ride to check out our bikes, and get used to them. By the time we got outside, it was nearly dark. There were some bikes that needed some attention and the short ride through town was difficult in the dark. It was a frustrating and anxiety provoking first outing. I think the solution would be easy---either make dinner that night earlier, and/or, at the least, postpone Read More

Caryl M.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Kudos to chef Joost! Great food.
Also to tour guide Ingrid who gave us background into Dutch culture and history.
I did fine on the heavy Dutch bike but if you want to have an easier time of it, rent an e-bike and have no worries about the cycling.

Henry K.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The bicycling each day through fabulous scenery led by a wonderful guy and guide - Mark Van Rossom. The leap-frogging of our comfortable barge each day to pick us at at a new spot along the way from Netherlands to Belgium.
Also extremely impressed with our barge’s captain Coba.

Joan K.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Every aspect of the trip was delivered as advertised. Crew and cycling guide were outstanding. Sailing Home was more than comfortable and food was plentiful and delicious.

Stephen R.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Magnifique IV was a lovely barge, we’ll set out and nicely appointed. Meals were delicious, the suite was spacious and the bathroom was the equal or better of many we experience in quality hotels. The staff including the guides were excellent and contributed to a delightful week of seeing the Netherlands and Belgium.

robert w.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The enthusiasm of our tour guides was excellent. They helped the family (our group of 6) a couple of times by sacrifice of their personal time and attention.
Some better orientation on ebike and gears would have been helpful. The "sore-butt" syndrome for inexperienced riders was worth it.

Bob W

Jeremy S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I was very excited to be going on this bike tour of Holland/Belgium. It was a great chance for some father-son bonding, especially after a 3-year vacation drought due to the pandemic. If anything, the trip was even better than I imagined. The guides (Hans and Arnold) were fantastic, the rides were gorgeous, the accommodations were luxurious, the food was excellent—a really top-notch trip and a very affordable price. I also can't say enough good things about Walter and the crew of the Magnifique III (Corrie, Inge, Albert-first mate). If you're thinking about it, book-it you won't be disappointed. The only piece of advice would be to bring padded shorts or a gel saddle, especially if you're not used to being on a bike saddle for several hours a day. The only other piece of advice would be to wait until the 2022 summer travel chaos has subsided; and/or consider flying into/out of Brussels, instead of Amsterdam.

Karin S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The ease of bicycling, bicycle trails, beautiful scenery, people we meant and all of the staff made this trip memorable to us!

Susan P.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our family of 7 made wonderful memories Everything was so well done from accommodations , food and the attentive staff

Harvey L.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This trip was the most memorable we've ever been on. The boat was fantastic - clean and in pristine condition. The food was equal to anything we've had in any fine restaurant - tasty and served with elegance. The crew members were energetic and fun and always had time to answer any and all questions. The biking part of the trip was perfect - equal parts cycling and resting, with coffee and pastries! It was the best way to see another country - on your bike - so much time to take in the pristine beauty of Holland and Belgium. The accommodations were comfy and cosy and inviting. The hot tub was delightful after a day of cycling.
We would do this trip again without hesitation.
Harvey and Martha

Karen Melby T.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Loved the great bike paths

Paul F.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Most memorable part: Boat staff bikes food and dancing all fantastic, we had a great time

Russell H.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I organized the bike/barge trip aboard the Magnifique IV for eight couples and all of us would agree it exceeded our expectations. Bert and Hans are brilliant tour leaders, Mieke and John wonderful hosts, and Gerard a fine chef. Accommodations were first class, the boat was immaculate, the food great, and our fellow passengers were well traveled like-minded folks whom we had great time getting to know. The bike itinerary works nicely for both experienced or inexperienced riders, I strongly recommend an e-bike for the latter group. All in all, Walter the captain and boat owner runs a classy operation and offers terrific value for the price.

Robert R.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Captain, crew, and tour guides were wonderful; and the beer was delicious!

John L.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Best way to experience the local cultures and idyllic country sides and charming villages of Holland and Belgium.