Amsterdam to Bruges Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 293

Biking the windmills of Kinderdijk, South Holland.

Amsterdam to Bruges

8 days from €1265

4.8 out of 5

Amsterdam to Bruges

Easy Bike + Boat Tour in Netherlands, Belgium

From Holland's intriguing capital to Belgium's artistic gem, this bike and boat tour follows meandering rivers and canals from Amsterdam to Bruges. The Golden Age of the 17th Century was a peaceful…

4.8 out of 5

 


Nicolas R.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The ease and convenience of returning to the ship every afternoon to share experiences with the rest of our group was the most noteworthy comment I could make. However there were many other hiighliights.
Riding through the Dutch countryside on the first day was a highlight.
Both guides and the bikes were great and the varied nature of the cycle paths on this tour was terrific.
Food was varied, good quality and well prepared. Rooms were efficient and comfortable as advertised.
Onboard staff from Croatia were terrific – friendly, hard working, accommodating and very nice with our grandsons.

Deirdre R.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Magnifique 11 promised luxury, and they most certainly delivered every step of the way! The welcome from the captain, chef, tour guides and assistants was outstanding. They established a comraderie among the guests who were sharing the experience. Our rooms were immaculate, the food tasty and beautifully presented, fantastic 24hour coffee machine too. The first two days of biking were brutal with the head winds, but getting an e-bike was a saver, one I would recommend, even as a seasoned biker! We’ve come home with new friendships - so how rich is that! Thank you so much for another grand experience tripsite! (My 4th)

Carol P.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a wonderful time on our trip. The Boat ,room, staff, and meals were excellent. All the staff work very hard to make sure all have a great trip.
One thing I would recommend to others is to bring light rain gear and gloves for riding

Don S.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The people on board. And the food. Stella was great, too. I liked the open windows in the upstairs rooms. Also, coffee or cappuccino, espresso 24/7.

Ronald B.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The overall organised week-the daily presentation of our next days excursions. On top of biking through beautiful routes , we also benefited from nightly activities and presentations of local cultural products such as chocolaterie,beer and cuisine.
The warm and welcoming reception of the whole crew, especially our two experienced and knowledgeable guides : Peter Van Avermaet & Tom Stout ,their camaraderie and sense of humor made the whole group feel at ease !
The chef was very accommodating as I had requested a gluten and lactose free diet. Many thanks !!!
Tips - In order to fully enjoy this wonderful adventure ,when booking a Bike & Barge ,you should be ready ,comfortable and expecting to be biking !!!!

Glen H.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Excellent staff, from the Captain on down through the chef, support personnel and the two knowledgeable tour guides on the very comfortable and well appointed Magnifique 11.

Tip: the pendulum has swung strongly towards the use of E bikes on this tour. Suggest you put the miles in ahead of time, if you plan to go with a hybrid bike so as to comfortably keep up with the e bikers.

Andrew H.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The quality of the boat's amenities, the cuisine and the areas travelled through were exceptional.
My last bike and barge was more than a decade ago. Since then the growth of e-bikes has accelerated. On this tour, 24 of 34 riders were using e-bikes. I'm not convinced that mixing e-bikes and regular bikes is viable.

shelley R.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The whole trip was amazing!! But the one thing that sticks out is when we we stopped at the Canadian war cemetery…. And after touring around… Peter our guide stood proud in front of us and read the Poem “Flanders Field”. It brought tears to most of eyes.
Tips& suggestions… please make sure you know how to ride a bike! Being a bike tour… this is very important, as our tour guides did have to make the decision to have one couple stay back as they were not confident on the bikes. It is an easy ride but we did ride in towns and over cobble stone road ways. But they had to make that decision for the safety for them and others and I know it was a hard decision, but for that we thank them.

Martine O.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The whole trip was memorable and the guides made it even more special. They was so funny and very informative. Always wanting to help you if you needed it and always so approachable.

Richard F.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The tour guides, the boat captain, the chef and the kitchen manager were all extremely friendly and helpful. They made the trip a pleasure. My only suggestion is for the tour guides to pay attention to rush hour bicycle travel times and not have out group on the road in and around cities during rush hour.

Maya H.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

All of it was memorable- cycling by farms and canals, how old the towns are, and how beautiful the cathedral of Ghent is inside, Bruge at night…

Alice T.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Good trails, good food and the app “Ride with gps” was the best.
The bikes were good, seats comfortable.
The bar on the ship had reasonable prices.
The Fluvius boat needed updating. The room smelt musty and the air conditioning didn’t always work.
The first day something made us late so we were given our bikes at dusk to try them out and get adjustments made. Not enough time before it was dark.
It was pretty bad to run out of water numerous times.
The ice machine didn’t work so occasionally they bought ice.
The staff turn over was incredible. None of the staff seemed to be with the company very long.
The guides were excellent. We did self guided and we think that had GPS on us as everytime when we weren’t sure which way to go a guide would show up and help us out. The app was very good to tell you when you were off course.
This was my first bike and barge trip so I can’t compare it to another.

Ray C.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

It was a amazing trip, the crew of Liza Marleen was a great crew. The guide for our trip (Sietse) was the main reason that the trip was exceptional for us all as he was a very hard working member that tour with us all day and then led a tour each evening ashore. His knowledge of the Netherlands was very informative and entertaining. Each day he always had a plan of the day on where we were going and plans of what we would visit.

If you are looking to do a biking trip of the Netherlands, look no further than the Amsterdam to Brugge you will thoroughly enjoy the whole trip and have a wonderful time

Kathleen P.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Biking in the Netherlands is any cyclist's dream. There are numerous paths that are in excellent condition and well marked. Plan to bring layers to adjust to the climate. The few motorists in the countryside are respectful of cyclists which makes for safe and fun ride.

Marilyn K.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our tour guides, Jeroen, Hilco and Linda did an excellent job. I loved the countryside riding.
I did not enjoy riding through the large cities to get to our destination. It is important that when the paths are narrow walking is necessary for safety.

Neil L.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Peaceful transit through canals and rivers.

David Z.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable part of the trip for me was the interpretation the trip leaders gave of their culture. It felt very personal and caring. The food was very good and the onboard staff were excellent. The ship is sound but needs refurbishing. Be aware that the Dutch and Belgians make their beds with a bottom sheet and a duvet only. You may want to bring a top sheet and a wash cloth or two.

Really enjoyed the camaraderie with other participants & the captain & crew members & our tour guides. Some suggestions would be a few more stops to drink water & take photos on the rides. Also, the gluten free accommodations were very much appreciated.

Carolyn M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Antwerp, Ghent and Brugge were our favourite towns/cities. The tour leaders were fun and informative and our experience on the boat - food, accommodation and relaxed atmosphere - was wonderful. Would recommend to anyone.

Leslie L.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This is a beautiful and scenic ride, along canals, through farm lands, and picture perfect villages. This is flat ride for - those who do not like hills!
The Fluvius was a comfortable boat with a very friendly staff and excellent dinners.
Our tour guides were fun, efficient and always there when needed.

Rebecca V.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was a great trip for our family of 5 with 3 teenagers. How great to have a vacation filled with activity that we could do together, meals made and planned for us, and time to relax together and meet new people! We also loved seeing so many great places in the Netherlands and Belgium.

Tina R.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Crew and meals were awesome. Would be great if they introduced everyone at the first meeting or meal. Also would be great if they had a signup sheet for emails to keep the group connected.

Marian W.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Riding through the beautiful countryside as well as riding through wonderful cities. Stopping for coffee or a drink at a local spot. Really getting to see the neighborhoods and towns of Holland and Belgium. In addition, getting to know the other people on the ship, which were from all over the world. The staff is excellent, the food was excellent, the trip exceeded my expectations. If you decide to do this trip, you will not be disappointed.

Alexandra G.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The whole experience was amazing!

Sylvia N.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Riding through the countryside and neighborhoods seeing how people lived & getting the history of areas we passed through. Most memorable would be the Windmills and learning the reason for being & their purpose.
Enjoyed the guides, Haans & Brian, they were informative and attentive to all our needs on the rides. The rides through the countryside were relaxing, interesting to see how the people lived as we rode through neighborhoods, visiting the Towns after our lunch & coffee breaks. The whole staff on the cruise were excellent. Chef Michael outdid himself with the meals every night. The servers, Marja & Meca were pleasant and looked after all our needs. And of course Captain Michael did an excellent job maneuvering the Canals and got us back safe & sound.

Giovanni P.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Muito Obrigado pelo passeio!!!
Superou todas as minhas expectativas, os guias ofereceram conhecimento e entretenimento e a equipe de bordo muito entusiasmada, a alimentação sensacional. E o tamanho do barco proporciona interação entre os passageiros.
Agradecemos a toda equipe do návio em especial ao Ronald, Steve e Jolene.
Luciana e Giovanni

Até Breve!!!

Joel S.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We enjoyed the immersive experience of biking through beautiful countryside, villages, and forests as the method of sightseeing - an activity that was entirely new to us.

Anne H.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

What a wonderful trip! We found the biking very enjoyable- the scenery was BEAUTIFUL and the daily routes mostly flat. It was nice to stop after riding awhile for a beer/drink or snack while enjoying the sights and history of local villages. The Magnifique II had welcoming staff, nice accommodations, and great food. Would highly recommend this trip!!

Elia H.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Best way to see the countryside, Unesco heritage sites ( Kinderdijk and Delta Works) of the Netherlands and Belgium (Bruges). An added bonus were the evening tour guided walks through each town where we met our docked barge. The dinners were always 3 courses- much tastier than expected and breakfast offered healthy options. As a senior traveller, I was happy to have rented an e-bike for the couple of days where we biked into the wind. The crew was warm & friendly and the accommodations on the Sailing Home barge were cozy and comfortable. The sun deck with cover was an additional gathering space. After a week together, felt like I was leaving family.

Nancy R.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Barge, Crew and Captain were all so welcoming and accommodating. The Guides were knowledgeable and the biking was easy for all levels. The combination of guests was the magical part, we all blended extremely well which made the experience all the more Memorable.

Kevin A.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Time spent in Bruges. Bruges is a beautiful small city.
Suggestions: More information for unguided bikers, e.g. places to stop, places of interest