Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Quo Vadis 1 to 30 of 84

 

 Boat/Barge: Quo Vadis • REMOVE  About Quo Vadis

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Suzanne F. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was beautiful with the steep vineyards on either side of the Moselle River. We loved the Quo Vadis boat and the staff were all so professional, yet friendly and fun. Cabins were nicely appointed and the food was delicious. It was also great to have the option to try out an e-bike for the day, even if you hadn't reserved one for the week. A memorable day was finishing off the cycle part to attend a wine tasting night at Leo Schwab's winery...very entertaining. I feel totally comfortable recommending this particular cycle trip to anyone who is interested. Thanks so much for this wonderful experience.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Jennifer S. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was perhaps the star of this trip with gorgeous views of vineyards and quaint villages all along the Mosel River. But also we had a wonderful group of staff on the Quo Vadis who were lots of fun and thought of every detail. Meals were amazing. This made this trip probably our favourite trip ever. We travel with a group of friends and have done several other barge and bike trips.
    The daily biking was longer than some other trips but most enjoyable with stops for points of history or picnics, coffee etc.
    It will be hard to improve on our Metz to Cochem experience.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Nancy B. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole trip was really wonderful. Being from North America, we don't have paved bicycle paths on both sides of our rivers, especially out in the coutnry side. As a result, I was just amazed at the fact of being able to ride beside the Mosel River through the vineyards and be able to soak in the atmosphere without having to worry about traffic or rough roads. The Quo Vadis was a treat. The cabins were a decent size, the crew was friendly, knowledgeable and lots of fun and the food, prepared in the relatively small galley, was fabulous. All that were highlights for me.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Peter B. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Easy riding in a beautiful settling with a great group spirit. The boat was very comfortable and clean and the staff made every effort to ensure we had everything we needed. Would recommend to anyone to have a look at this trip to see if it will suit them, all the information on the site was reliable and the experience was really enjoyable.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
    by Linda H. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our trip went from Bruges to Amsterdam on the Quo Vadis. Our last day took us through Amsterdam to get to our docking site. Captain Bert must have taken us under at least a dozen bridges. Bridges of all shapes, sizes and ages. It was a beautiful day and we were all up front on the boat taking pictures and waving to people near the bridges. It was fantastic! One evening during our cruise Captain Bert had a Belgium beer tasting event for us on the barge. We learned a lot and then knew what to order when we were sitting in town squares near the end of a biking day with our very knowledgeable and personable guide, Rikko.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Erik G. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    8 day Tulips bike and barge trip last April 2019 was excellent! Great scenery and cultural experience, fun living on the barge, and the entire group was fun. The meals were wholesome and tasty and the crew super friendly. The week went by too quickly. The bikes were top of the line and well maintained. Bring layers to wear as the weather can change quickly. If you're at all concerned that you can't bike the distance, then just get an e-bike and it will be easy and doable. Some people who thought they were strong cyclists wished they had e-bikes. Holland is flat, but that means cycling against the wind at times!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Marilyn T. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved cycling through the country side and coming across the beautiful and colorful tulip fields.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Liz L. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We did 8 day Tulip bike and barge last April 2019. What an amazing trip! Our first bike and barge was the Dalmation islands last Sept with a different company. Tripsite compared to the other company was so much better. We had better food, great bikes, and a gorgeous barge with excellent staff. The value for money was excellent and we look forward to our next bike and barge trip with Tripsite. Really liked how the routes were optimized for the weather each night for the next day, and the friendly captain and crew. Meals and snacks were plentiful and the scenery was spectacular. Would highly recommend cycling through Holland during the tulip season!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Gigi S. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a wonderful time on the tulip tour. The staff was courteous and helpful whenever we needed anything. The boat was immaculate and the scenery and tulips were the best ever! Can't wait to do this trip again.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
    by Alan L. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Highlight: Sailing along the many canals as we arrive in Amsterdam on the Quo Vadis barge.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
    by Stephen R. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Better than great! We loved our Amsterdam Bruges 11 day on the Quo Vadis. The guides were both really great; knew the route and it’s cultural and historical background. Most simply, they were really nice people and interested in everyone of us. Our group came together so well; lots of laughs and camaraderie at night and sing along with a guitar brought along by a guest. Our meals were ample and nicely prepared and presented. The captain and his crew were so welcoming. E-bikes were top quality; easy to use and always ready for us. We’ll be back for a second Tripsite booking.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
    by James G. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    As we neared Amsterdam, the captain of the Quo Vadis took us through a canal with 13 bridges - many of which had to be raised by a Raiser. We were the biggest boat on that canal and the site was spectacular. Someone in our party reported seeing the Raiser at one bridge running up ahead of the boat to raise the next bridge - very quaint!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
    by Lyn 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We recently completed the 11 day Amsterdam to Brugge tour on the Quo Vadis. We really enjoyed ourselves. The boat was very nicely appointed, the cabins are not large and the bathrooms small but very adequate, lots of hot water which is really appreciated after a day of cycling. Food was very good, especially the dinners. The staff did everything to make our trip enjoyable and mixed well with the guests. We had 2 excellent guides who both had extensive knowledge of the history and geography of both countries. The tour itself gave us a really good taste of the Netherlands and Belgium, from the beautiful countryside, through the dunes at the North Sea, over the dams that prevent the floods, past and into windmills, into the cities and large towns like Rotterdam, The Hague, Ghent and a day visiting the World War 1 sites around Ypres. We were very fortunate the on most days the wind assisted our travels and we had very little rain. All and all a great adventure.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Jean B. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The expected/promised highlights on our 8 Day - Tulip Tour (Keukenhof Gardens, the Royal Flora Holland Auction, Zaanse Schans and a visit to a cheese farm on an island in Rijpwetering) were wonderful. But it was the unexpected stops introduced by our guides that were most memorable. The visit to a windmill making paper from recycled rags, watching the release of cows for the first time in the spring near Spaarndam , the stop at the Aalsmeer Crash Museum and a visit to the Hortus Bulborum in Limmen made our trip extra special.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Elizabeth S. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a wonderful Tulip Tour week on the Quo Vadis. We had excellent tour guides who were knowledgeable and personable. In addition to the planned events, we "happened upon" many extras, including "a cow dance," farmers shearing sheep, a WWII museum and some regal looking deer in the dunes at the North Sea. The ship was comfortable, the staff friendly and the food was great. Highly recommendable!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Susan D. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had the perfect week for our Bike & Barge adventure! We brought rain gear but never had to use it. First day it was rather cold 39 degrees when we started out biking with wind, but of course it is the land of windmills. I was glad I had an ebike. The guides were knowledgeable and our experiences very local. They knew the market days, unique cafes, great places we wouldn’t have wanted to miss. The tulips were all in bloom and we biked through seas of color. The captain and crew of our barge, “Quo Vadis” were absolutely the best and individually got to know us all. I would highly recommend this trip to all. You don’t have to be an avid biker to enjoy this trip, all levels were welcomed.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Carl B. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Crew and Guides were exceptional! Boat was more than we could ask for.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Will E. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Tulip tour was wonderful. Loved the Quo Vadis and it’s crew and enjoyed the biking. Our guide Rikko was so well informed and enthusiastic about the places we saw. Everything about the tour was first-rate.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Cologne to Bamberg
    by Peter D. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our barge the Quo Vardis was nothing short of beautiful with great accommodation, great food great staff, great food and as clean as a whistle. The scenery along the Rhine valley is as you would expect. Castles, vineyards and picture perfect towns and villagers. We highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting a casual cycle through stunning country side.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Germany

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by Phillip R. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Whether it was the “barge”, the food or the bikes or the bike routes.....everything was thoughtfully planned for the best customer experience possible. Friendly family type atmosphere with a “flair”! Truly enjoyable!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Brussels to Bruges Bike and Boat Tour
    by Robert B. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent Boat, best cabins, & cheap beer

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Gord W. 10 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Off ride to the Arnhem museum. What a memorable day!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Karina M. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved it all but the range of fellow travelers was perfect, fast, fit riders for my husband and some less fit, slower riders for me to ride with.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by John G. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Tulip Tour was overall a great experience. The staff on the Quo Vadis did an excellent job and the accommodations were very comfortable. The 24 passengers was a nice size group.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Cologne to Bamberg
    by Joanne B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great Bike & Barge with the QuoVadis. Food was excellent, friendly people, lots of exercise. We will do this again, maybe a seven day instead of ten :)

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Germany

  • Cologne to Bamberg
    by Jacqueline E. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It would be hard to decide on the most memorable part of the trip as there were so many. The barge Quo Vadis was exceptional in every way. Clean, bright and comfortable and so obviously cared for by the owners Captain Rendert Jan and his wife Ina. They had a great chef, Franco, whose meals were so good I even ate things I normally wouldn't. Our guide Peter led us with enthusiasm and humour and we enjoyed lovely scenery and many historical sites along the route from Cologne to Bamberg. The cycling was mostly on good bike paths away from traffic and where we did have to ride for short periods on the road, the drivers were considerate. We are looking forward to our next trip, hopefully again on the Quo Vadis.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Germany

  • Cologne to Bamberg
    by Jacqueline E. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We just returned from a wonderful tour on the Quo Vadis from Cologne to Bamberg. The Quo Vadis is a beautiful little ship and the Captain Rendert Jan and his wife Ina are fabulous hosts. Our chef Franco provided amazing meals every day and our biking guide Peter led us through the lovely countryside with humour and care. This is our fourth barge and bike and we are already looking forward to our next one, hopefully on Quo Vadis.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Germany

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by James K. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I did a 10 Day Barge and Bike trip from Brugge to Amsterdam during Tulip season. The boat Quo Vadis was really excellent. The rooms were small but quite comfortable. The dining room and lounge were well appointed and welcoming. Everything was always spotlessly clean! The crew was incredibly hospitable catering to any need. Captain RJ was knowledgeable, experienced and and very approachable. The evening walks he led in towns were great fun. Also really enjoyed sitting in the wheel house and chatting as he navigated rivers and canals.

    The food was basically gourmet with delightful surprises every dinner. Fresh bread was baked on board every day and breakfast was a mix of american style eggs, bacon, etc and European style meats, cheeses, fruit, veggies, etc. Chef Franco deserves many accolades for his commitment to healthy and delicious food.

    Our bicycle guide was extremely competent. He knew the roads and towns well and was able to make changes to routes as Read more… needed on the fly. An example would be an extra loop on some roads when he spotted blazing fields of tulips off in the distance. Our timing was good as there were acres of fields in full bloom as we rode down tiny country roads with no other tours, tourists or buses anywhere to be seen but our little bicycle group. It was sublime! Wind mills, polders, dykes, historic locks & bridges dating back centuries, and wonderful local festivals in the central squares of small towns on Kings Day - all to be seen on an 'organic' level from the saddle of a bike. It really doesn't get much better! And our guide, Cornell, knew the history and had a story to tell about so many places. He also knew the best places to stop for a coffee break, a picnic lunch or a hot bowl of soup and a slice of Dutch Apple Pie ... maybe even a great spot to get a good Belgian beer. Thanks Cornell!

    It is almost impossible to pick one favorite thing as best of trip. The fields of tulips, the Kings Day Festivals and the gourmet food would all have to rank high on a list of many highs. Towns? Brugge, Antwerp, Delft, Amsterdam - all high on the list and each for different reasons. History, culture, shops, vibrancy, beautiful town squares & lovely streets are all a part of European charm! I don't know what else to say other than we will do another and Bike and Barge trip through the wine region of Germany in the future. It's just such a great way to get a more intimate experience when traveling.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by Ronald R. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Memorable parts: The other guests, the scenery, and the barge experience. The Tulip time is also the rain time, so be prepared with proper clothing. Even though the weather may not be ideal, the experience more than makes up for it.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by Alix L. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Qua Vadis boat, staff, tour route all exceeded my expectations. The food is fabulous and the chef, Franco, made me fabulous gluten free options. I loved the small group, our guide was knowledgeable and fun. He made sure to take us on loops that would show us major sights. R.J. And Ina, owners and captain, are personable and accommodating. I would recommend any tour on the Quo Vadis.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

PWPC