Quo Vadis boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 30 of 144

4.6 out of 5

 


Kathleen R.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

Bicycling through the beautiful vineyards and the opportunity to visit picturesque towns.

Rick C.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

This trip was amazing with great scenery and a great crew and staff who were so friendly and fun. The towns we rode through were small but very interesting and loaded with history. The barge was perfect and similar to the different barge we were on with 12 cabins which we think is a great size. Our group of 11 met 8 amazing people from Canada and 2 others from the states who just made the trip so much fun with a lot of laughter. Time to start planning the trip for next year.

Johanne P.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

I particularly enjoyed the beautiful scenery along the river and the little villages we stopped in.

Lauren L.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

Our week was the last week of the season and the ferry across the river to Luxembourg was closed. The guide saw how disappointed we were and offered us to bike an additional 14 km to be able to get to that country which was an unanimous decision by our group.

Bobby H.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

Too many memorable parts to decide. The staff aboard the quo vadis, the food, the beautiful scenery both on the bikes and barge. All were superior.

Carl M.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

The food was very good, the accomodations were fine, the crew was very helpful and friendly. The route was less scenic than i had hoped for. Holland is prettier than Belgium (for what we saw) and the dutch bike paths are awesome.

Gary H.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

This was our first Bike and Barge tour, it was great. The stay on the barge was what I expected. The captain and crew were wonderful. Captain (Hans) gave daily briefings, chef (Marcel) created a wide range of meals throughout the week that were excellent, desserts by Maria were also excellent. We enjoyed the whole experience on the barge.
Cycling with a guide was also wonderful, Ron (our guide) has a great knowledge of the history and facts of the areas we cycled, is very friendly and personable. He found hidden gems. We laughed and had a great time with him. Our group was friendly and made some new friends by the end of 11 days. It's a great experience. Cycling was easy, flat but winding in places.
I would recommend this ride.

Candace J.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Aschaffenburg to Bamberg
Germany

The captain, the crew, the beautiful and delicious meals and the lovely towns we biked through were wonderful. The entire trip was delightful except for directions from the airport and very very poor directions from Bamberg to the ship. Our taxi drivers could not find the boat with your directions and no one from tripsite would answer the phone. That was not a good start to the tour.

Arthur H.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Aschaffenburg to Bamberg
Germany

Great time. Food excellent. Even swam in the river twice!

Carol G.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Aschaffenburg to Bamberg
Germany

Absoloutely above and beyond my expectations. Crew and owner of boat gave went out of their way daily to make sure our needs were met. QUO vadis was a beautiful boat.

Carol G.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Aschaffenburg to Bamberg
Germany

Absoloutely above and beyond my expectations. Crew and owner of boat gave went out of their way daily to make sure our needs were met. QUO vadis was a beautiful boat.

Carol G.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Aschaffenburg to Bamberg
Germany

BEST TOUR EVER! The crew and owner gave 100% to make sure all our needs were met. Absoloutely above and beyond my expectations.

david l.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Aschaffenburg to Bamberg
Germany

Generally the trip was very good. The only disappointment was that the dining room was not air-conditioned and became quite uncomfortable.

Michele S.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

A couple of stands out . First the staff , they were friendly and welcoming. There was nothing they would not do to ensure your safety and enjoyment. They worked hard so we didn’t have to . The evening gatherings to discuss next’s days events . And the flexibility of the captain to make a few stops that to allow people to return or leave.
The bike route brought us through beautiful vineyards, gorgeous landscape, and river views. Biking downhill through the tunnels and stopping in a wine cave was exhilarating.
Tips take rain gear, forecast was for sunny skies everyday but we ran into thunder shows.

Robert B.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

The ship Quo Vadis the boat and crew were great. Our guides Leah and Tami made the bike riding and stops along the way very interesting.

Anne T.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

We loved biking thru the wineries and the different scenery each day. We also loved the evening meals visiting with new and old friends.

BRUNO S.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

Great Guides and accomodation

Brian M.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

Another great trip on the Quo Vadis!

Henga N.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

Loved biking through vineyards and stopping in little towns with loads of history and sipping wine or coffee with the gorup. The crew and the guides were superb and very caring.

Joy G.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

I truly enjoyed the trip. The Quo Vadis is a beautiful boat, lovingly maintained. The captain and owner, RJ, was unfailingly gracious. The food was terrific! Hats off to Martina, the chef. Guides Rocco and Jacks were pleasant and helpful, and the other guests were great as well. I think I could perhaps have managed a little more cycling each day, but what we did was certainly very pleasant.
All in all, really great trip!

Joy Goodman

Richard S.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

We had a wonderful trip up the Moselle and Saar rivers. This was our fifth Bike/Barge trip and our second on the Quo Vadis. The trip does not disappoint! Capt RJ and his entire crew are most hospitable and the bike guides Japke and Rikko made our daily bike rides most enjoyable! The cycling was relatively easy on 80% paved cycling paths, with the balance either cobblestones or gravel pathways. The scenery was outstanding! My highlife of the trip was cycling down through the old train tunnels back to the Moselle! Epic!

Joseph L.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

We enjoyed all aspects of this trip: the clean, efficiently-laid out accommodations, the delicious food(especially the vegetarian options cooked specifically for us), the great bikes, fun staff, knowledgable tour guides, and the towns and scenery we rode and boated through. We brought travel slippers to wear onboard which we enjoyed and others commented they wished they had done so. We wore padded bike shorts which we thought helped us avoid sore bottoms from biking since we are not accustomed to long rides. Although we rented electric bikes, this is a mostly flat trip and I don't think you need electric if you are a reasonably fit biker.

Thomas O.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Cologne to Bamberg
Germany

Bike and barge touring is wonderful way to explore a country with an experience no other way of travelling can match. With the immediacy of biking and expert guides to facilitate while backed by the secuŕity of the barge 'Quo Vadis' one can really settle in to enjoy the trip. All logistical details are taken care of and an excellent array of cuisine is available. Best vacation ever!

Jeff G.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Cologne to Bamberg
Germany

Crew Competence and friendliness. Cruising on the portions of bike baths through tunnels of trees on stretches, immediately next to the river, especially in the morning.
Suggestions:
--Bike guides should wear helmets. They're role models for the guests, some of whom aren't fully aware of the frequency with which helmets save lives. The silent message from our bare-headed guides was that it's perfectly fine, and maybe more 'cool,' to go without helmets.
-- Move to earlier starts in very hot weather. Riding in the morning was heaven. Riding in mid-afternoon was unpleasant.
--Getting left at the end of the trip at a barren concrete outpost far from town was not elegant. It would leave a better last impression to spring 100 Euro for a van to take us the 5 miles to the town center or train station.

Paul A.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

Crew and both guides were professional, knowledgeable and very friendly throughout the trip. Our chef Wendy was superb and prepared wonderful dinners...also prepared crispy bacon and delicious scrambled eggs to start of out day. Our guides shared interesting stories and history about relevant sites we visited...all in all a great trip!!

Kenneth B.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

Fourteen strangers came together for 11 days of cycling, with lots of laughing, good food, and camaraderie. We learned a lot about the places we saw and by the last day we were all friends.

Mary Jane O.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

An excellent biking experience through beautiful countryside and on top of dikes allowing views of the sea and dunes. Then on to the boat for delicious food and an after dinner tour through picturesque towns and cities. It's my favorite way to visit a country.

Maria E.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

It was a magical trip. We learned everything about tulips, chesse, windmills and much more. Try the E-bike, you exercise and also you enyoy the ride in a better way.

Sheryl K.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

The visits to the the lovely villages in our bikes. The great meals in the evening. The great breakfasts in the morning. The wonderful sense of togetherness

Jane M.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

We loved everything about the trip. Biking was great... Guides were awesome. Loved Yepka... Food was amazing. Thank you Inma. Staff on boat was awesome. Helga and RJ and daughter was so great. Biking was beautiful. Loved the gardens and Yepka's information. Husband loved Seiste's historical information.