4 star rated Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Quo Vadis 1 to 8 of 8

 

 Boat/Barge: Quo Vadis • REMOVE  About Quo Vadis

  • Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
    by Lyn 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We recently completed the 11 day Amsterdam to Brugge tour on the Quo Vadis. We really enjoyed ourselves. The boat was very nicely appointed, the cabins are not large and the bathrooms small but very adequate, lots of hot water which is really appreciated after a day of cycling. Food was very good, especially the dinners. The staff did everything to make our trip enjoyable and mixed well with the guests. We had 2 excellent guides who both had extensive knowledge of the history and geography of both countries. The tour itself gave us a really good taste of the Netherlands and Belgium, from the beautiful countryside, through the dunes at the North Sea, over the dams that prevent the floods, past and into windmills, into the cities and large towns like Rotterdam, The Hague, Ghent and a day visiting the World War 1 sites around Ypres. We were very fortunate the on most days the wind assisted our travels and we had very little rain. All and all a great adventure.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by John G. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Tulip Tour was overall a great experience. The staff on the Quo Vadis did an excellent job and the accommodations were very comfortable. The 24 passengers was a nice size group.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Jan B. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Great vistas of remarkable vineyards. More WWII history info prior to the trip and designated site visits would truly be great.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Rick H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable parts were Keukenhof gardens and fellow bikers. Disappointed that a week long "tulip tour" ended up being about 3 hours of tulip tour. Primarily focused on 1953 Delta Plan, interesting but spent too much time...days, on it. Enjoyed seeing Kinderdijk windmills. Would have been nice to see more small towns and tulip fields.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Cologne to Bamberg
    by Grace F. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Overall, the trip was good. There was, however, a disconnect among what our trip itinerary described and what the guide and the captain thought in terms of mileages and what entrance fees were included. The guide used the corner system. That means that the entire group has to ride together and do the same mileages each day. The trip description notes that each participant will receive maps and be able to ride on their own. We did not receive maps and therefore it made it impossible to ride on our own.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Germany

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Susan B. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Super trip. I was a inexperienced bicycler and the ebike made the journey very enjoyable.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Brussels to Bruges Bike and Boat Tour
    by George Pappas 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We have made two bike and barge tours in the Netherlands and thoroughly enjoyed both trips. We are looking forward to another trip this coming spring on a barge with low beds. (Bunk beds are not as easy to use as we get older.)

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium

  • Brussels to Bruges Bike and Boat Tour
    by Maryellen Doyle 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Barge Quo Vadis was intimate and comfortable. Although small, our cabin had sufficient shelving available to store our clothes (we used ebags pouches to keep biking stuff and hanging out later stuff organized). Our very large roller duffels collapsed enough to store under the beds. The bathroom was fine and we eventually realized the shower squeegee was for the floor - to bring the water towards the drain in middle. Wifi was very limited as the captain made his hotspot available to us but that only seemed to work at the end if the dining room closest to his quarters. We would have liked more seating areas as you had a small sofa/ chairs seating area bordering the dining tables but once filled you would have to sit at a dining table to read etc. The outside seating area actually would seat twenty but appeared smaller....would have liked a bigger outside area too. The staff was wonderful. The bikes were great and i loved my ebike (you have to pedal every bit as much as on a Read more… regular bike but you are always "assisted" so you never break a sweat or have to huff puff if encountering an incline or a headwind. In truth i probably would have liked some kind of arrangement where we had the option to do a bit more touring on foot/ time in cute little towns, vs all the time on the bike. We did see things I never would have seen on my own and Belgium is fascinating....hence the wish to actually have had a bit more time in towns like Mechelen where we had a one hour lunch stop and then were on our way. For my next trip i would also invest in a pair of rain pants. I did not know about them but all the Swiss ladies jumped into them as well as their rain jackets when clouds opened up three times as we cycled. One other wardrobe tip...we were spending four weeks in Europe and packing was an issue. I did not bring sneakers which i would only have used while biking, then having to lug for three weeks through fashionable France. Instead my black Sketchers, GO WALK line, did the trick for both a great bike shoe and a walking shoe in France.
    We really enjoyed the trip in general and would just search out a barge with a bit more public space were we to do a future trip. "

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium

PWPC