Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Theodor Körner 1 to 30 of 56

 

 Boat/Barge: Theodor Körner • REMOVE  About Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Cindy R. 1 month ago         Verified Reviewer

    The Vinyards were amazing to bike thru. Beauty all around. It was a Breathtaking day that I will always remember.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Colin F. 1 month ago         Verified Reviewer

    This tour was very well organized and it was a fabulous trip. We did the self guided bicycle tour and it was was easy to follow the suggested cycling route. The tour director, Andreas, did an excellent job providing us with information every day about the cycling route and he made the trip flow smoothly. Our boat did not go to Bratislava because of the water level of the Danube, so we spent an extra day in Vienna. There was an optional bus trip to Bratislava for the afternoon.
    The scenery along the Danube was beautiful. We really enjoyed meeting interesting people from all over the world and socializing with them afterwards in the bar. Our tip: if you want to book a Tripsite tour, do it early because the rooms fill up fast. We waited too long and got the last room on the Theodor Körner, an eco bunk bed room.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Darren B. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Touring on bike different areas of the Danube and meeting new people that were enjoying the same sites.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by kirk g. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Parts: cruising, dining, kitchen, bar, admin, cleaning staff - wonderful, friendly, helpful. couldn't be better
    food - very good variety and quality. lunches especially good
    cycling and tour director and staff - excellent every day with information, quality equipment, attention to questions
    ship public facilities - quite adequate quality and quantity. updating on decor is needed
    hotel staff - very nice, accommodating and efficient
    hotel - needs cleaning, air conditioning was not working every day, which was a problem. air quality was not great. updated decor is needed.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Ida L. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part: Dancing the polka with local croatians. Thank goodness a fellow tripster took a video

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Dennis E. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The black mold (or something) that had many people coughing in their rooms. I had to take allergy pills each night.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Lloyd M. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    -we called Tripsite several times before the trip with 2 questions. Calls were not returned or when they finally were returned, the concerns were not addressed.
    -the advertising for the boat was misleading. Stated as recently refurbished with a/c in every cabin. The lower deck had no a/c and some windows would not open, while another room could not shut the window and it leaked. The carpet at our door was loose, which I tripped on several times. Some rooms had mold in the showers. Our mattress was filthy. The linens were tattered and worn and need to be replaced. The bathrooms sometimes have a sewer gas smell. The overall feel of the ship was that it was not clean.
    -the water onboard was terrible tasting and smelled bad. The cyclist received bottled water for the days they rode, but if non- bikers wanted anything but tap water, ( coffee, tea, bottles of water) there was a charge.
    -there was no consideration in the timing of shore time for non cyclists.
    Read more… >-WiFi was very poor and most of the time only available only with a charge. It should be available like at any modern hotel.
    -sitting at the same table with the same people every breakfast and dinner for two weeks got really boring. We would have rather moved around and become acquainted with more shipmates.
    -one positive was the crew. They were trying very hard to respond to our needs.
    -Sorry, I will not recommend Tripsite or the Theodor Körner to anyone.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Scott S. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Cycling and travel along the Danube River. Still more markings on the Bike routes.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Robert W M. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew & food were great & acceptable respectively. There were very few vegetables served. The ship was terrible, moldy, poor lighting nonexistent waste baskets except in private rooms. The ship had a strong sewer odor which our cabin boy could not remedy. This problem involved several rooms. We would not return to the The(odor) Körner.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Roger P. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Food & last day of riding + Vienna

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Wendy R. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is a great way to see four capital cities (Bratislava, Belgrade, Budapest and Vienna as well as get in 10 days of cycling! It's also fairly low mileage (less than 35 miles per day) but training to prepare is still a must. The scenery is very nice and it is about half on roads - mostly slower village streets. The group of people we dined with and rode with were all terrific and we all worked together to find our way since our tour was unguided. The days when you visit the cities can be a little overwhelming - so my advice is to pick one or two things you really want to see beforehand and focus on getting to those. At least in the summer the crowds were large in Vienna, Budapest and Bratislava. As for boat living - the dinners were tasty and served by a friendly staff each evening but I'm vegetarian so I had much more of a struggle with getting any protein. I would have also appreciated a little variety with the breakfasts and lunches. My advice also is to avoid Read more… the hotter weather months like July or August - we had days of over 90 degrees which made cycling tough - but the Theodor Korner is not well air conditioned either. Overall it was a nice trip and certainly the staff was terrific!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by John H. 4 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic Value; super helpful staff. Only 80 riders. Very friendly guests attracted. Beautiful sights. Good food. Bikes heavy and clunky with no choice in quality except electric. Excellent trip overall.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by SUSAN C. 4 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    Briefing by tour director daily with clear instructions on the following days ride. Highlighting and suggestions where to break for coffee and lunch, and points of interest along the way.
    Breakfast and evening meal was delicious.
    A great range of reasonably priced good quality bike attire, including wet weather jackets ,and bike helmets for sale.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Alex Zucosky 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a great experience. Andreas was a wonderful tour director/leader. 2 weeks aloud us to have a great experience. As this was the ship's first cruise of the year we did experience a problem with our room but Andreas resolved the problem promptly and provided some compensation for our troubles. The crew provided excellent service. The meals were better than expected( I am not a gourmet but enjoyed every meal). the bike routes were very interesting. Our only issue was with the a/c but as this was an older ship some things are not always up to modern standards. Great value.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Dean G. 10 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was more than we had expected in most ways. The highlight was definitely the sights we saw and as we cycled along bike paths that were so well kept and safe. Time spent on the boat was enjoyable-the food was varied and tasty. The servers and dining staff were very attentive and helpful. We have shared our experience with many friends and highly recommend the Danube bike and boat trip to everyone we talk to.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Ray B. 10 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I completed a trip along the Danube. The riding was very easy, the scenery fascinating and the staff on the barge both friendly and helpful. We were very appreciative of the standard of food and professionalism of the staff. We organized this trip from Australia and found this to be a very easy process. We will definitely be looking to do more bike/barge trips in the future.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Linda B. 11 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    Best Part? Exploring new places in a relaxing way and getting exercise at the same time.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Cheryle C. 12 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    Our bike tour guide was terrific. It was wonderful to not have to worry about missing sites. Riding in Vienna was made easy by 2 tour guides. Our group was like family by the end of the trip. The director of the boat made sure we made it to the opera night on time despite heavy traffic and extra security due to an important government meeting. Our rooms were immaculate. Our second trip with Tripsite and we plan on doing another next year!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Richard S. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    Great experience overall, will do another trip soon!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Deirdre S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic experience...staff could not have been better....the food was unreal!....everyone of the staff went out of their way to help... even through a surprise birthday celebration for me.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Tim Devine 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    The biking itself was fabulous. The staff looked after the bikes well, and the routes were lovely. My problems are with the boat itself, and there are several significant issues. First, our room was next to some machinery near the bridge that woke us up frequently during the night. The bathroom smelled bad, and other guests on a lower floor had major issues with smells too. The boat broke down on one occasion, and we had the feeling that it was on its last legs. The food was okay, sometimes good, sometimes not so good. The staff were very good, although the music was mostly orientated to non-English speakers. I know that this is not a Viking riverboat, but I have a reasonable expectation of having a comfortable and fairly quiet room. Never again on this boat.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Dale K. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    We biked the Danube, 7 days departing Passau and had one of the best weeks ever. Our cabin was beyond what we expected and very comfortable. The tour director gave us great information for our following days cycle. The dining both breakfast and dinner couldn't be faulted.
    A peaceful, relaxing week, where we only had to think about the experience.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Earl W. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    Best part of the trip was bicycling through the scenic Wachau wine region. The views of the Danube River and vineyards were magical. Views like you see in PBS commercials for Viking cruises. Bratislava was the most pleasant surprise. A beautiful city with an active cafe culture that is not as big and intimidating as Vienna.

    If you are unsure of your bicycling skills consider the hop-on hop-off tour option for Vienna instead of the bicycle tour. The crowds and heavy traffic make the bicycle tour slightly treacherous.

    The hardest bicycling day ironically was the first day with steep hills up to the Mauthausen concentration camp and the Clam Castle both of which were worth seeing. If you question whether you are in good enough physical condition for this trip rent the electric bikes, they make a huge difference.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Janene M. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    Each day of the tour had its own special treat. A castle one day, a palace the next. The opera experience in Vienna was amazing. A day cycling through the vineyards with a relaxing place to sample wines. Crossing the river through the lock. The guide always explains in advance the best places to visit on the ride.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Saundra F. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    The scenery, along our bike route was like a dream! So spectacular! I felt I could bike forever! We did a video of all of us peddling through the lush trees! It could be a commercial for happinesses!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Glenn S. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The scenery and history while cycling though the Danube river valley.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Terrence Zito 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time along the Danube river! The cycling was very good and the bikes adequate. The crew of the Theodor Korner were especially nice and competent. The tour guide was really on his game! Unfortunately, the boat itself needs a thorough rehab- our stateroom had an odd odor and was extremely noisy due to mid-ship engines. If we decide to do the Danube tour again we will choose a different boat!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Judith B. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Bike and Barge- along the Danube to 3 countries- was wonderful. The weather ended up being perfect, though it was October, and that made it all even better! Scenery was super! Bikes- well maintained and easy to ride. Lots of great encounters with staff on board; only problem was an accident with the ship on the last day. I am sure it will not happen again!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Linda B. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Getting to explore so many intriguing places along the Danube was an awesome experience. The varying landscapes - farmland, vineyards, orchards, and enchanting villages - was very memorable. The route was a fairly easy ride, but I would stress to future riders to make sure that they do a fair amount of cycling before they embark on this adventure.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Lorna T. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The convenience and friendliness of the atmosphere on the boat, the helpfulness of the staff and the beauty of the of the scenery. All in all it was a wonderful experience.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

PWPC