Zwaantje boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 30 of 106

4.8 out of 5

 


Janet L.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

This was a great trip and the guides and crew on the boat were wonderful! Karin, Eric, Frank and Brando made the trip and the food absoulutely great! Every day we had delicious meals and wonderful desserts! Despite some days of cold and rainy weather, the guides made sure we cycled through the beautiful countryside with good stops for rest and lunch. Keukenhof and the beautiful tulip fields were a highlight. The boat is so clean and well-taken care of. I would definitely recommend Zwaantje for this trip!

Linda R.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

This was my first bike and barge trip. Honestly, I haven't rode a bike in 25 years! Shame on me. I travel extensively, however I have never been on a trip like this previously. I would recommend this experience to anyone! Specifically, I believe Tripsite accounted for most of the pleasure. From the boat to the staff to the chef to the guides....everything was perfect and I can't wait to book my next trip with them. Tripsite took the STRESS out of planning and the caliber of accommodations were perfect. Thank you to everyone that made this memory possible!

Ann M.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

All the staff on the barge were excellent...especially the chef! We were well fed with lots of good food! The support staff on the barge were wonderful and graciously responded to any and all requests. The guides were the bestl but their technology left something to be desired...lots of U turns ! The bike paths and trip stops were perfect! We will have to order better weather next time!

Mary Monahan G.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

This tour was very good. The crew and bike leaders were wonderful. The boat was comfortable.. The food was outstanding. I would recommend this tour.

Carol W.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

All of it!!! Loved bicycling through the beautiful countryside with the never ending flowers, water, green fields full of fowl of all kinds, beautiful historical homes and buildings, delicious food, windmills, cheese markets and the personal friendliness of the attentive and informative crew of the Zwaantje. Honestly, these people made us feel so welcome and were so accommodating to our needs. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return again to visit.

Lorraine R.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

The bike and barge was amazing,
The group of 21 related well and had many happy times, riding and chatting after the day.
The ride leaders did a great job, especially with the changes necessary due to the lock closures.
Great adventure, recommend this highly.

Hannah S.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The Zwaantje, Captain Martijn, and his crew were among the highlights of this trip. We had an amazing time exploring the different cities. The routes were easy to follow and the guides were great, friendly and personable, though I would have loved more history/information during our rides. We enjoyed the variety of scenery, the option to go off on our own, and the opportunity to socialize with many other adventurous people :)

Mary Ann D.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Champagne Tour
France

For me the most memorable part of the trip was meeting all the passengers and crew and enjoying their company for a week. The rides each day that were planned were great and I can't say enough about the food we had on the boat. I would do another boat/bike trip again!

Susan C.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Champagne Tour
France

This was my first experience riding an electric bike and I was skeptical at first, but now I’m sold! I’ve done many bike tours in years past and am older now and haven’t ridden enough to be in shape for riding hills. The e-bike allowed me to greatly enjoy the tour AND have energy left over for enjoying evening activities! My favorite part of the tour was riding through the champagne area. The vistas were breathtaking and visits to the vineyards for wine tasting were such fun. I loved riding off the usual tourist paths through quaint villages filled with cottages that looked like they were from fairy tales, complete with beautiful gardens and clay tiled roofs. Stops along our daily rides to enjoy coffee in a cafe or maybe a beer or glass of wine in the late afternoons was an added treat. We often squeezed in a little shopping during these stops. The crew of the Zwaantje couldn’t have been more pleasant. The meals prepared by Chef Frank were a delight each evening!

Sandra H.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Champagne Tour
France

Seeing the beautiful country side of the Champagne region of France. The three course meals each night were spectacular! Great job Chef Frank.

Maureen G.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Champagne Tour
France

The boat living area and dining room were lovely. The meals were SO GOOD and beautifully presented. The guides were great and I learned a lot. I appreciated being divided into two groups. Seeing poppies in fields as we biked along was delightful.!!

georgia p.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Champagne Tour
France

We have been on 9 tours now - and this is definitely one of the good trips - why? the CREW!!!! Cpt Willie runs a great barge -that crew from the chef to the guides to the deck hand - all were involved in making our trip a success - and they were so much fun ....... the chef Frank definitely a big winner as well.
he ride was good - getting to see all the war memorials and WW1 battle regions - then on the champagne region .... very beautiful .... we had 2 tastings at 2 cellars - (what would have been nice is having a tasting at a champagne cellar - show casing a variety of labels and how the tastes vary .....this is the first time all were on electric bikes and they were definitely handy on the hills and handled Frances bike tracks and trails well .
The other passengers were alot of fun also and everyone got on well - but it was a good trip - good ride -good boat - good scenery - yep ready to book 2024!

Derek G.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Champagne Tour
France

The food on board Zwaantje was the best we have had on the three trips we have now completed with tripsite. The use of e-bikes was a good decision it allowed us to experience the sometimes challenging climbs with ease.

Karen S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

The crew on the Zwaantje was awesome. Captain Martin,first mate, Karin, guides Franz and Ronald, chef Frank and cabin helper, Yoke saw to our every need. Coupled with a wonderful sense of humor everything was well planned accompanied with a wealth of information about the sights and culture of the Netherlands. I was a neophyte on an e bike but with amble assistance everything went well.

Alan L.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Biking from Noyon - Compiègne, the Compiegne forest was very beautiful to bike through.

As we neared Paris, the biking was sometimes more difficult due to traffic on some sections of the route.

Edward M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Comfortable lodging, excellent food (especially the soups- thanks Frank) knowledgeable guide and unforgettable landscapes - what more could you ask for?

John M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

OK. So we weren't expecting luxury at this price and on a barge trip. The rooms took a bit of getting used to but we really only slept there and mostly ears the comfortable common areas. Loved every minute of the biking and every bite of the food. Chef was amazing. The crew worked their butts off looking after us and the bike guide was everything one would want. Knowledgeable competent careful and patient. My only wish would be for a larger room and a bigger window but hey I got what I paid for and more

Sandy P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

The crew, the guides and the scenery. The stops at historical places was a really nice bonus.

Linda M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Northern Burgundy
France

The wonderful guides who helped me, the splendid rides, the friendly stafff

Kurt A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Northern Burgundy
France

The Zwaantje crew and guides were first rate: highly competent, upbeat and accommodating. Our guides were fun to ride with and loaded with local knowledge, and were flexible enough to improve the schedule of sailing and ride routing to better match the weather and riding group. Very well done! We will be back for more.
The bicycles were fine, and in good order. Next time we will bring strap-on water bottle cages so good hydration is closer to hand.

Dee (DIana) S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

It was so amazingly organized. The tour guides were exemplary, the rest of the staff absolutely wonderful and so personable, the food was totally extraordinary, the bikes were really well maintained and wonderful.

And three of my colleagues on the trip - who had been, between them, on no less than13 other bike and barge trips - all said whole-heartedly that this particular July 23rd, 2022 was the best by far that they had ever experienced. Was I ever lucky as it was my first!!

Gillian H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Champagne Tour
France

The daily bike rides were more than I expected through beautiful countrysides and charming villages. The staff were outstanding in their efforts to make us comfortable- loved the swim off the barge after a long days ride! . The cuisine was superb and reasonably portioned - loved daily fresh baguettes.

James C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Barge trip out of Paris was special. Great way to begin trip and see Paris on Sunday morning. Biking through back roads and trails of France and Belgium was great.

Blaine L.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Trip was great.
Crew treated us to a very friendly and efficient environment. Food was amazing, dinners each night had a theme from different countries. It was a highlight of each to have this kind of dinner waiting.

Bike ride started in Bruge with great trails and welcoming towns. As we moved to France a few days of rolling hills with interesting stops during the day.

Our guide had his hands full with 24 riders but he was professional, organized, well informed and was just a great person to sit and talk with.

A great trip with a great crew looking after us.

Blaine Larsen

Richard J.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Zeaantje barge is very nice. Crew was great. Our guide, Andre, was the best we have ever had—very knowledgeable about the route and special sites to see/visit, adjusted our route a couple times to accommodate the rain. Frank, the cook, was really outstanding—creative meals, good variety. My only, minor, complaint is that the barge’s lounge can be very noisy when a group is in it, especially at meal time. Bikes were ok but could use some TLC; we had a lot of flats, and some brake issues, but everyone pitched in to make repairs.

Anne Denise H.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Champagne Tour
France

Our third Tripsite bike and barge trip, it was very well organised as we have come to expect - well done! Loved the camaraderie of the small group, and glorious country scenery. E bikes were a must! Yay!

John M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Every biking day was a new adventure which culminated in our finding our barge (Zwaantje) as if by magic; but in reality through the skill and navigation expertise of our fearless guide. Beautiful countryside, lovely quiet towns and the bustling town hall squares of the larger cities. Absolutely loved it. Our chef on board was a delight and the food was excellent featuring both local produce and an international flair. Very well looked after throughout.

Kinne H.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Terrific sights made better by great group of cyclists.

James C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Excellent trip. Two weeks wasn't even enough. Barge was great... super clean, great food. Small cabins, but really nice common areas. Staff was awesome.

Doug L.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Each day was a new adventure. We saw some great scenery, visited some beautiful towns and cities, learned much about the history of WW1 and enjoyed the company of friends aboard the Zwaantje. It was nice not having to decide which meal to order every day. Frank, our chef, did an excellent job of choosing for us and prepared superb dinners. Two views were particularly memorable: "The approach to Chantilly Castle" and "The view of Paris from St. Germain en Laye". The cruise into Paris on the final day was the icing on the cake. What a great way to see the north of France. Oh wait, Belgium was great too. I think Bruges is now one of my favourite Cities.