Zwaantje boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 30 of 92

4.8 out of 5

 


Alan L.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Biking from Noyon - Compiègne, the Compiegne forest was very beautiful to bike through.

As we neared Paris, the biking was sometimes more difficult due to traffic on some sections of the route.

Edward M.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Comfortable lodging, excellent food (especially the soups- thanks Frank) knowledgeable guide and unforgettable landscapes - what more could you ask for?

John M.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

OK. So we weren't expecting luxury at this price and on a barge trip. The rooms took a bit of getting used to but we really only slept there and mostly ears the comfortable common areas. Loved every minute of the biking and every bite of the food. Chef was amazing. The crew worked their butts off looking after us and the bike guide was everything one would want. Knowledgeable competent careful and patient. My only wish would be for a larger room and a bigger window but hey I got what I paid for and more

Sandy P.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

The crew, the guides and the scenery. The stops at historical places was a really nice bonus.

Linda M.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Northern Burgundy
France

The wonderful guides who helped me, the splendid rides, the friendly stafff

Kurt A.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Northern Burgundy
France

The Zwaantje crew and guides were first rate: highly competent, upbeat and accommodating. Our guides were fun to ride with and loaded with local knowledge, and were flexible enough to improve the schedule of sailing and ride routing to better match the weather and riding group. Very well done! We will be back for more.
The bicycles were fine, and in good order. Next time we will bring strap-on water bottle cages so good hydration is closer to hand.

Dee (DIana) S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

It was so amazingly organized. The tour guides were exemplary, the rest of the staff absolutely wonderful and so personable, the food was totally extraordinary, the bikes were really well maintained and wonderful.

And three of my colleagues on the trip - who had been, between them, on no less than13 other bike and barge trips - all said whole-heartedly that this particular July 23rd, 2022 was the best by far that they had ever experienced. Was I ever lucky as it was my first!!

Gillian H.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Champagne Tour
France

The daily bike rides were more than I expected through beautiful countrysides and charming villages. The staff were outstanding in their efforts to make us comfortable- loved the swim off the barge after a long days ride! . The cuisine was superb and reasonably portioned - loved daily fresh baguettes.

James C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Barge trip out of Paris was special. Great way to begin trip and see Paris on Sunday morning. Biking through back roads and trails of France and Belgium was great.

Blaine L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Trip was great.
Crew treated us to a very friendly and efficient environment. Food was amazing, dinners each night had a theme from different countries. It was a highlight of each to have this kind of dinner waiting.

Bike ride started in Bruge with great trails and welcoming towns. As we moved to France a few days of rolling hills with interesting stops during the day.

Our guide had his hands full with 24 riders but he was professional, organized, well informed and was just a great person to sit and talk with.

A great trip with a great crew looking after us.

Blaine Larsen

Richard J.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Zeaantje barge is very nice. Crew was great. Our guide, Andre, was the best we have ever had—very knowledgeable about the route and special sites to see/visit, adjusted our route a couple times to accommodate the rain. Frank, the cook, was really outstanding—creative meals, good variety. My only, minor, complaint is that the barge’s lounge can be very noisy when a group is in it, especially at meal time. Bikes were ok but could use some TLC; we had a lot of flats, and some brake issues, but everyone pitched in to make repairs.

Anne Denise H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Champagne Tour
France

Our third Tripsite bike and barge trip, it was very well organised as we have come to expect - well done! Loved the camaraderie of the small group, and glorious country scenery. E bikes were a must! Yay!

John M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Every biking day was a new adventure which culminated in our finding our barge (Zwaantje) as if by magic; but in reality through the skill and navigation expertise of our fearless guide. Beautiful countryside, lovely quiet towns and the bustling town hall squares of the larger cities. Absolutely loved it. Our chef on board was a delight and the food was excellent featuring both local produce and an international flair. Very well looked after throughout.

Kinne H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Terrific sights made better by great group of cyclists.

James C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Excellent trip. Two weeks wasn't even enough. Barge was great... super clean, great food. Small cabins, but really nice common areas. Staff was awesome.

Doug L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Each day was a new adventure. We saw some great scenery, visited some beautiful towns and cities, learned much about the history of WW1 and enjoyed the company of friends aboard the Zwaantje. It was nice not having to decide which meal to order every day. Frank, our chef, did an excellent job of choosing for us and prepared superb dinners. Two views were particularly memorable: "The approach to Chantilly Castle" and "The view of Paris from St. Germain en Laye". The cruise into Paris on the final day was the icing on the cake. What a great way to see the north of France. Oh wait, Belgium was great too. I think Bruges is now one of my favourite Cities.

Mark H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Champagne Tour
France

The general biking was above average , with some awesome sites visited.
As far as the accommodation was concerned this was below average.
Although the space was confined more emphasis could have been done to the quality and hospitality of stay.

Carl B.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

I couldn't pick out one specific thing. It was our first trip to Europe, first bike trip. From the moment we met the crew from chef to guide we could not have been more pleased.

Tom D.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Cycling, food, and staff were great. Lots to see and it was fun!

William B.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

This was a wonderful way to see Northern Europe, leisurely experiencing a diversity of landscapes, towns, and scenic attractions.

Amy B.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

The most memorable part of our bike/barge trip from Brugge to Paris cannot be summed up easily into one moment. I enjoyed the bonding of a group of people from various backgrounds and countries. The group worked as a team making it possible for my husband and me to thoroughly enjoy the amazing scenery, historic sites, cities, onboard dining, and even the tough rides. The staff cannot be overlooked as they were the backbone of the entire amazing experience!

Allen L.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Paris to Brugge on Zwanntje 5 stars is not enough to describe the barge and crew.

Jane B.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

This was my first barge supported trip after a number of Hotel and Van supported trips. I loved the combination of bike and barge will keep doing this for sure. Highly recommend the Zwaantje for its captain, crew, meals and general comfort. I’ve already booked another trip for next year.

Ed H.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

What a great trip. Would like to do another.

Kim K.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

Everything was fantastic. It was the whole experience altogether.

Jody S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The staff, food and barge accommodations were perfect.

Chuck P.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The entire trip was memorable. The boat staff was terrific, the meals from Frank our chef, were gourmet quality, the weather sunny tho a bit chilly first days, the tulips were in full bloom, our bike leader had contacts in many cities and we had private evening tours from local guides, the boat was comfortable and always well maintained. I think the only caution I might offer is we started the tour in downtown Amsterdam at the train station and for those of us with limited bike experience going thru the city was a challenge keeping the group together thru traffic, turns, bridges, stop lights. A more rural start would have been better was the general consensus, but that aside virtually everything well received.

Warren K.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Bruges to Paris - Visit to the Australian WW1 cemetery at Bullecourt was very moving. The WW1 museum at Perone is well worth a visit. The ride into Paris is unforgettable.

Janice B.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The tulips and the windmills were awesome. Eight of us were on a bike barge trip from Bruges to Amsterdam. I would recommend you put it on our bucket list. We had a blast!

Angela M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

We did the Bruges to Paris on the Zwaantje in September 2018. It was fantastic! The boat was great - clean and comfortable, the crew fabulous - professional and friendly and the food top class. I would definitely recommend (and I have) this trip to others.