Hungary Bike Tour Reviews 151 to 180 of 407

 

 Country: Hungary • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jennifer G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a wonderful time on the bike/boat on the Danube.
    The guide Axel was terrific. He took us to some out of the way places. He offered suggestions. The ride was scenic and easy to ride. 90% if the bike paths were paved which made riding easy. The bicycle crew was awesome. The bike were lined up and ready to go each morning.
    The accommodation and food exceeded my expectation. Rooms were clean but walls between rooms are thin.
    We will definitely do another trip with Tripsite.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Anita G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The MS Arkona was a lovely ship, very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately The Danube River was low and we were bus to Budapest where we had a nice tour. The biking on the trip was scenic, and a lot of fun. Due to a change in itinerary we were shorted a day of biking but that was out of anyone’s control. The bikes could have been newer because they were not operating at their best.
    My e bike was wonderful but was grinding gears quite often.
    The food on the ship could have been better. Breakfast could have had more fresh fruit, granola, oatmeal with other breakfast specialties. The dinners lacked fresh salads. My favorite meal was when we were on the boat for lunch one day and had a fresh salad bar with soup and pasta.
    The tour guide on the boat could have been more communicative and answered questions more readily. The explanation of the bike riding should have included an overview map of the riding from point A to point B everyday.
    Overall the trip was Read more… good and the weather conditions with the Danube were out of the tour company’s control. The biking that we did do was spectacular!

    Boat: Arkona

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lisa H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The beautiful bike paths along the Danube and the great food on the MS Arkona. Found the unguided bike tour confusing. Comfortable beds but loud vibrating boat motor at night made it impossible to sleep. Yay sleeping pills.

    Boat: Arkona

  • Prague to Budapest
    by Pamela B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a wonderful tour with many interesting & historic stops along the way. The portion in the Czech Republic included challenging terrain while the ride from Vienna to Budapest was fairly flat. The hotels were all unique and very different, from botels to spas to penzione. Locations were great, had delicious breakfasts and were clean with the exception of the last one, which I'll discuss later. This trip would have been perfect if a few simple things had occurred: we received detailed information for the trip the day we left for Prague. Since there were some modifications, I lost half a day in Prague getting those worked out. That easily could've been taken care of before we left if we had the detailed info sooner. When we arrived in Prague, the cycling company sent Maps.me files to load. Because of the types of phones we have, it again took some vacation time to figure out how to download. We discovered that these were imperative to smooth navigating along the Read more… routes so I recommend that those files be sent in advance. The only other disappointment was that the hotel in Budapest was very dirty with mold all over the shower floor and walls. We had been told we'd be in a much nicer hotel, but i'm assuming they were unable to book it. Fortunately, we had booked our extra nights elsewhere. Bottom line, I would recommend this trip with the modifications above.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kieron G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I just finished this trip with another couple. First of all, remember that you get what you pay for. This cruise is much cheaper than Viking or Avalon or some of the others so you can't expect as much opulence or fine cuisine. That said, everything was fine. The food was good but not great. The walls to the cabins are thin so if the person in the room next to you is a loud talker, you will hear every word. Also, try to avoid the lowest level of rooms - the windows don't open and are noisier as you are close to the engine. The trip it self was great. The cycling was easy and scenic. We had Axel as our guide, and seriously, he ruins you for any other guide. If we went on another cruise, it would have to be with Axel - any other guide would suffer in comparison I suspect. He is Austrian with a very keen sense of humour (He would have to be as he is an Arsenal fan). He went above and beyond.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Denise G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a mixed experience on this trip, having completed two other bike and barge trips on smaller boats (and smaller waterways). This is a wonderful region for riding - much of the route follows bike paths that parallel the river and provide gorgeous views of river towns. Unlike our other trips, participants ride on their own without a guide, and this worked well for us. Because the boat travels from Passau to Budapest and back again, there is quite a bit of travel time on the boat. At times, we enjoyed watching the scenery, but this also meant that our time on land was quite limited. Food was decent and several options were available at each meal. The dining room was noisy and it does take quite a bit of time to serve everyone, with the staff clearly working hard! During our tour, there were engine problems which resulted in a change in itinerary. The company struggled to manage this and identify reasonable options. In the end, they have promised us a partial refund, which Read more… seems quite fair. We would have preferred that this offer had come sooner in the process, without the numerous conversations that were needed to help the company understand the concerns of passengers.

    Boat: Arkona

    • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
      by Carla - Partner at Tripsite 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Denise,
      Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback.
      It's unfortunate the ship had engine troubles during your tour. These ships are machines and sometimes things can go wrong. I know it is always a very stressful time for everyone involved. Our local partners work hard to make the best of the situation. I'm glad in the end everything worked out fine. Another adventure in the books! I hope you will be back for more....
      Thank you again! ~Carla, Partner at Tripsite

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dan C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best part? The cycling along the Wachau valley

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lori C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I adored the trip from start to finish. The scenery, the towns and cities and of course seeing everything by bike. I met wonderful people who share a love of travel and adventure. The only problem with the trip was the tour leader. He was condescending and rude to several guests. The rest of the staff was phenomenal. I would do this trip again tomorrow.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Gail W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bike Boat 4 countries Germany, Austria, Slovakia and Hungary - most memorable part of the trip was experiencing the Danube River up close; boat was comfortable and so smooth sometimes I had to look out the window to see if we were moving

    Boat: Arkona

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Wendy T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? The beauty & grandeur of the Danube...and the ability to enjoy this while riding a bike!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Susan W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I would highly recommend this trip. The food was fantastic. The rooms were of a good size and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The cycle route were scenic and enjoyable. I would definitely do another.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Paul H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What an unforgettable trip! We were able to take our 75 year old dad and he cycled the whole thing easily. The touring days in the cities were full, overwhelming, and inspiring for someone who's never seen the rich history of Europe. Cruising down the river while eating a 4 course dinner was a perfect finish to cycling though forests and orchards all day. It was a perfect combination of cycling, cruising, relaxing and sight seeing. I would recommend it to anyone!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Paula H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip provides a chance to explore the rural areas along the Danube by bike and to visit the great cities of Budapest and Vienna. There is a lot packed into this trip.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sherry D. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a perfect way to spend a holiday. The food was AMAZING! The staff was personable, kind, and so very efficient with all they do. I was pleasantly surprised with all the paved bike paths and the number of cyclists out traveling on vacation. It was inspirational to interact with them along the way. Thank you, Normandie and staff. We had a fantastic time!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sandi B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling past the remnants of the Iron Curtain. WOW!
    There were so many highlights, but having Axel as our guide certainly added a great deal to our daily rides. Thanks Axel!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ursula T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking along the Danube and in the evening sitting watching the sunset on the top deck. I would like more time on the bike, but happy we got to see so much!

    Boat: Arkona

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Tracy F. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was wonderful! The food was great, accommodations were perfect and the scenery is spectacular.

    Boat: Arkona

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Larry B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking along river was the greatest. Budapest and Bratislava wonderful. Time in Vienna too rushed. Strongly advise participants to take an extra day or two in Passau before the trip—a lovely small town.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dean Y. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great bike routes. Vast majority on nice bike paths.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Donald V. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff on the boat were wonderful. Very helpful, friendly and hard working. The food on the boat was excellent. They consistently turned out perfectly prepared delicious meals. The bicycles were in excellent condition and performed perfectly. I thoroughly enjoyed this trip.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Mary R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The cruise through the iron gate was a highlight of this trip. Cruise director did a great job throughout the cruise. Weather was much warmer than average and many days of biking were at 90 degrees F on roads and trails with little cover or shade so were somewhat more difficult than anticipated. It was a great experience but people need to be aware that most of the riding in the Eastern European countries are on the side of roads sometimes without a bike lane and there was some traffic.

    • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
      by Wendy 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

      Did you just do the trip? I am seriously considering this trip with my husband. Would end of April or mid June be better? Those are the 2019 dates offered we are considering.
      Any other tips/advice or details you can add would be appreciated. Thanks

      • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
        by Mary R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

        Wendy - This tour was a little different than our first bike and barge which was on the Mosell in Germany. On that tour we rode bike trails almost exclusively and we were not traveling such a great distance on the river so our rides were quite leisurely with not having to really be back to the boat until dinner time. However, because of the long distance on the Danube to get to the Iron Gate and back, many of the ride had to be completed in a much shorter time frame so were more about the bike ride and less about the villages and towns in between. Two or three of the days were primarily on bike trails but the rest were either on the road or a couple times across dikes that were long and boring. However, overall, we enjoyed the experience, especially crossing into the various countries and the time in the capitals. There were only six of the 110 that were from the US so we really enjoyed the diversity of the 10 countries represented on the boat. As far as the weather, I would check the Read more… average temperatures for the area for both April and June. Our temps of 90 degrees F during the day were quite unusual for the area. The average temperatures in June were supposed to be comfortable in the low 70's during the day and low to middle 60's at night. I haven't checked April but it might be quite cool then and not sure about rain.

        • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
          by Wendy 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

          Mary,
          Thanks ever so much for all of the useful information you provided. We have booked next June and are quite excited. We love the bike and boat combination. It’s a great opportunity to have a nice mix of travel/touring and exercise. We did Brussels to Bruges last year and loved it. Mantova to Venice is booked for this fall.
          Again thanks much. Who knows. Maybe our paths will cross on some trip.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary Beth R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Scenery was gorgeous, food was superb. Accommodations good.
    If you took Albert out of the equation I would give much higher ratings. He was inadequate with trail details. His info was hard to follow on the maps. Someone described him as a Peacock. Very apt. The rest of the staff was very good although you need another person in the dining room. Way to many people for the amount of people serving.
    Don’t advertise that you have WiFi....you really don’t .....

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Janet H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful time with friends. The maps and route descriptions need to be more exact.

    Boat: Carissima

PWPC