5 star rated Hungary Bike Tour Reviews 151 to 180 of 208

 

 Country: Hungary • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by J. Lockwood 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Only bad was some hills and a very long bridge (wife is afraid of heights and had to walk the over mile long bridge).

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by A. Roebelen 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The bike path signs were sometimes hard to follow and we got off course a few times.
    The staff of the boat, The Normandie, was fabulous. The food was better than we expected and they were very accommodating with our lunches. The wifi was very disappointing.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by V. Assis 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was better than I could imagine! Thank you all.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by K. Thibodeau 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We found this to be one of our best trips ever!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by S. Garson 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I know that there was a mid cruise change of cruise directors and neither were particularly helpful. We basically did the routes ourselves and there could have been better instructions. We had a wonderful trip though.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by B. Burwell 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Biking - generally excellent. There is one day - Budapest - that is described as a biking day in most of the material we saw but when we were on the boat the tour director tried to discourage us from biking that day. There was a good reason for that - the route was confusing and included a VERY busy road for a few km. It should be removed from the promotional material as a biking day,

    Boat - another boat broke down and several people were transferred to empty cabins on our boat. I think as a result there was more people on board than could be handled at dinners. Dinners went on for 2-3 hours just because the staff couldn't deal with all the guests. The good itself was fine when it finally arrived.

    Boat: My Story

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Michael Jenks 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    WOW!!!!
    Everything was outstanding. All my fears were for naught...
    Hotels knew to expect us, knew where to store our bikes, and knew our names!

    Bratislava, as someone mentioned, was under construction, but should be ok by summer 2016.

    18 thumbs up! Will do this exact trip again and again if I could!

    Countries: Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by J. Wagemakers 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This adventure was more than we expected. The boat was very well equipped, and our cabin was comfortable and larger than we expected. The staff was very friendly and dealt with all of our needs, and the meals were fabulous. Our bikes were well maintained and were well suited for the route we rode. The scenery was amazing and we come home with a collection of pictures and memories.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by K. Kehrberg 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The itinerary was excellent. A nice blend of bike routes and city site seeing along the way. We spent a couple days in Vienna before the trip and then used our Vienna day to bike on the island. Glad we didn't have to cram Vienna into a few hours. It was our cruise director's first trip and his enthusiasm was greater than his organizational skills in his presentations.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by R. Hennigan 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our Normandie trip from Passau to Budapest was spectacular! The weather, the boat, the food, the fellow bikers, the countryside and the bikes were all a delight. We were also pleased to learn that our guide rode each day. He was very knowledgeable; however, under stress was verbally contentious and short with guests. It became almost comical and so we learned to stay out of his way during certain times of the day. Nevertheless, the trip was a dream and we thank-you!!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Judy Lucas 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    As this was our 1st bike and boat experience, we did not know what to expect. We are recreational cyclists, not cycling fanatics, and were very happy with this trip and look forward to saving up to do another similar adventure.

    I do have 2 comments. The meal situation. It was disappointing not to have the opportunity to mix with more of the passengers as we were at a table by ourselves and had to stay at this table for every meal - even breakfast - every day. As it was a breakfast buffet and not everyone arrives for breakfast at the same time, being free to sit wherever, would definitely encourage more socializing amongst all passengers. Also, some nights, even though the staff was definitely hustling, it took more than 2 hours to be served our main course. It would seem that a few more staff members could help with this loooong wait after a long tiring day.

    Also, there was a definite, obvious bias each day towards the larger group of German speaking passengers when it came to the briefing on the bike route. They were always briefed first and always went over the allotted time leaving the briefing for the English speaking passengers a very rushed affair, leaving no time for clarifications and a late start each day. This did result in some people getting lost. Alternating which group was briefed first might alleviate this problem.

    Having said this, it was a tremendous trip and I would definitely recommend it to any recreational cyclist. Wonderful scenery with fantastic suggested rest stops made it an exceptional adventure. Thank you for all your help in making this a superb, memorable experience. Your service was outstanding. Thank you again.
    Judy.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Anna Brasier 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Ship broke down and we were bused to Budapest vs cycling in, that was disappointing, but not to be helped. Jurgen our guide was very good.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Susan Oman 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I liked the ease of being in a larger boat vs a small barge. There was plenty of room in the lounge and other public places so we could get some quiet time. Also a little more anonymity on the larger boat and self guiding was fun.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Leslie Kerluke 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Enjoyed the trip fully but thought there could have been a little better information on riding and expected timeline for rides, as we often rode faster than necessary and didn't know we could stop along the way for sight seeing etc. Our cycle guide was very nice but did not have all the information to answer our questions or help us to maximize our sight seeing experience.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Elise Manners 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The whole trip was fantastic! I have already recommended it to many of my friends and one group have already booked a trip for next year!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Susan Martin 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    There was a mixup checking in to the cabins on the boat. The boat staff assigned us different rooms than the vouchers from TripSite indicated. Glad I had my voucher, otherwise we wouldn't have been placed in the upper deck room we paid for. I think the mixup affected everyone in our group of 12, and unfortunately some people were not as fortunate as we were and ended up in lower deck cabins when they reserved upper deck ones.

    Boat: My Story

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Mary Sandra Duggan 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We enjoyed the trip very much and are planning another. We enquired about the the free shirts for repeat customers but haven't gotten them. The website is not clear about ordering them.

    Countries: Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Bill Fleshman 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This is the 3rd travel group I've put together through tripsite and each was very enjoyable. My groups ranged in size from 3 to 12. The first was a land bike trip in Provence, France and the next two were bike and boat trips on the Mozel and the Danube. I am not associated with a tour company but found working with Tripsite personnel, Mary, Carla and others, to be easy even for a novice like me to put together such trips. I have worked with other agencies but have found Tripsite to be more "reachable" and available at any time I had questions. I will continue to use them for future group and individual trips.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Julie Kummel jkummel@rain.org 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Some of the routes were complicated, but we had good backup from our staff, and possibility of getting lost was reduced considerably. The bikes were in excellent condition, the staff were friendly and very knowledgeable--it was a very enjoyable trip and I would do it again.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Doug Okey 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Have recommended the 2 trips we did to all our friends and they are very keen to go.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Michael Sudheer 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    A wonderful experience made even better by the friendly and so very helpful staff. Thank you!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Art Shotwell 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My wife & I had a wonderful four country bike-boat trip on the Danube. Saw wonderful little towns, met good friends on the trip, and enjoyed good food and wine.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sandra Stocks 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Despite nasty weather conditions, which no one can control, the crew made our trip fun and exciting.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Rafael Camarota 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My wife and I enjoyed eating off the boat. It was our choice to have more local flare and maximize time off boat. It did feel wasteful. It would be great if there was a reduced meals option or an option to "donate" meals or value of meals to charity.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Gary Saelens 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Great bike/boat trip along the Danube!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathleen Josten 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The captain crew and trip leaders all went out of their way to make us feel at home and special. The bikes were ready when they needed to be. The dinners were ready on time. We were prepared for the next day's ride. I could not ask for a better experience! The My Story crew and Lesley as trip leader were the best!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathryn Smith 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The tour guide, Jan (not sure of the spelling) was amazing! He was funny, helpful and friendly. All the logistics with the bike stuff worked very smoothly.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Paul Finger 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We couldn't be happier. Everyone from the trip "arrangers" to all the personnel on the barge could not have been more helpful. This was our first trip like this, everything was superb.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jill Roach 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We loved everything about this trip. The bikes were in excellent condition, the cruise director was very helpful, the boat's staff was super attentive. The boat is definitely older but it was very clean and we loved having drinks on the top deck every night under the stars. My two teens had a great time as well and the staff was wonderful to them. The scenery was incredible and the tour excursions were a great value and well worth it.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Maureen Molony 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a great time, the staff worked very hard to please, and it was a very good trip.

    Boat: My Story

PWPC