4 star rated Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 456

 

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Rob H. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bruges was outstanding, boat crew very nice.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Simone C. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved the trip. The crew was very attentive, the itinerary was beautiful, the meals positively surprised me, the room was well equipped and spacious. I recommend the tour.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Carol M. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food was fabulous! 5 star for sure.
    I would suggest either doing a cycling tour or sightseeing tour but not combining them.We had to rush to get back to the boat from cycling sometimes.
    Not enough small towns/villages when we cycled on this tour. The tour guide was extremely bad.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by R Lynn B. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful trip through 7 countries with breathtaking scenery. Biking most days about 25-30 miles on mostly excellent bike paths.Fun day stops in Vienna and Budapest. Most excursions for dinner or entertainment well worth it!
    Be sure to ride prior to going otherwise get the electric assisted but also need to ride and have cycling shorts/gear.
    Great trip!!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Marie R. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff was fantastic, food was great, bikes were good. Met great folks there at the dinner table. Enjoyed being able to have walking tours in Vienna and Budapest, broke the week up nicely.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Istria
    by Patti S. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guides Ina and Alvin were fabulous and we loved the staff on the boat.

    Boat: Tarin

    Countries: Croatia

  • Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
    by Jane S. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The overall concept of being able to bike daily, sleep in the same bed every night and socialize with great people during the 11 days both on the boat and on the daily rides was a fantastic way to experience our vacation time. Anyone can go to a city and be a tourist. Cycling allows you to experience so many other places along the way in a less busy format. Countryside, quaint villages and towns, beautiful homes and churches, the scenery all the while chatting with your new friends about what you are seeing. I would do a bike and barge again any time.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Auxerre to Paris and Paris to Auxerre
    by Cecilia C. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The tour was beautiful but I don’t know if there was a misunderstanding in communication I had believed the bike riding was mild rides and not so advanced. I suffered grave pain in my body after our first bike tour. This not recommended for elder persons with any arthritis problems. Thank you.

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: France

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by peter b. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our trip was changed as the boat had a broken rudder and not able to be fixed by the time we started. The people involved int he tour then changed it to a bike and hotel trip which was great.
    Memorable part of the trip was seeing all the small towns along the way. The bigger towns were ok but the smaller ones were better

    Boat: Arlene II

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Margaret E. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The beautiful scenery and great bike routes planned for us. Only difficulty with the routes was navigating Libourne the last Friday in rush hour afternoon traffic. Perhaps a longer route, going around Libourne, could be investigated

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by Barry M. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best part: Biking into Vienna

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Susan L. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was memorable. Great scenery, small towns and villages, very friendly people. It's great meeting new people from varied countries and backgrounds. Having a guide and local tours really enhanced the experience.

    Our only complaint is that our travel agent was very unresponsive to our communications. We had to call the company several times to get information. We booked transportation from airport to the hotel through Tripsite and were taken the wrong hotel. We had to find the correct hotel and get there on our own.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Ed D. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Each city or town visited was a treasure. Lot's to explore. The hotels were good, many in excellent locations. Breakfast was large. The bike riding was pleasant.

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Carol B. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike tour was immensely enjoyable. Even though it rained 6 of 7 days, it was still a highlight of our vacation in Europe. Thanks to Tripsite's instructions, we were well prepared for various weather from rain to warm and cool weather. Taking a barge is a great way to travel without unpacking each night, returning to the same room and delicious meals served on board. I hope to take a bike trip again trying out another river.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Istria
    by Carl W. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bike tour guides OUTSTANDING. Tarins crew accommodating! Food four stars!

    Boat: Tarin

    Countries: Croatia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Louise E. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Beautiful countries, great bikes and fun tour. Flexible dining seating would be preferred.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Darlene L. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Beauty of the Surroundings, intimate boat, fantastic food, met new great friends!
    Instructions for biking could have been better.. with mileage.. to better time management for return to boat. Cruise Director too pompous for me... had better.. but think his last tour with you

  • Vietnam
    by Michael W. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I am still in Cambodia.
    I can tell you that it was an extraordinary experience for me all around.
    I have one suggestion, and that is, the hiking and or mountain climbing need to be more explained to the travelers.
    Thank you.

    Countries: Vietnam, Cambodia

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Don D. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The normandie boat and crew was well run and has a nice flow to the week. Most memorable moment was Vienna concert operetta

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Tina C. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I truly enjoyed this tour that included daily rides through the picturesque Italian countryside. Each day we biked through a variety of landscapes, stopping in small towns along the way for cappuccino breaks, lunch and local tours. The bike tour staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The boat crew was equally as wonderful, preparing wonderful meals each evening and serving them with a smile. Everyone bent over backwards to make this a once-in-a-lifetime experience.
    As for suggestions, I think the last leg from Pellestrina Island to Venice could be improved. The morning was wasted in a small town that was not really open for business. Why not take an earlier Ferry to Lido and spend more time there before heading to Venice?

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Poland’s Lake District
    by Patsy V. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Seeing Warsaw and the Poland Lake District, places that few Americans go, was on my list to see. Warsaw was a pleasant surprise with free walking tours in English of the old city restoration. The lakes are scenic and the forests around them lovely. Historically they have been a significant element of Poland's past. The biking was challenging for traditional road bikers but offered a new experience in off-road trails.

    Boat: MS Classic Lady

    Countries: Poland

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kerrie G. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the opportunity to cycle along the Danube and see more of the countryside and visit the small towns. Could have done without the wind though! Need to be prepared for all kinds of weather in October. Each day was different - Vienna and Budapest were amazing to visit (once again!).

    Boat: Carissima

  • Siem Reap to Saigon
    by Molly M. 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our trip was great, especially our guides. They worked very hard to make sure everyone’s needs were met. The ride itself was easy - very flat. Heat and humidity, cleanliness were challenges.
    My biggest complaint would be the size of the group. 15 people was too large.

    Countries: Cambodia, Vietnam

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Matthew B. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Crew on the boat (Captain Eduardo, Sylvia, & Barb) and our biking guide Antonella were all PHENOMENAL. The service and the food are first class.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mainz to Merzig
    by Courtney R. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The owners and staff were fabulous. The boat was beautiful with very comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms. The common areas were comfortable, flexible, and nicely decorated. The food was delicious. Unfortunately the bikes weren't in very good condition, and that impacted the whole group since we stayed together with our tour guide (flat tires, locked gears, bad brakes). We had lots of rain, so we didn't see much of the beautiful scenery.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Peggy B. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I really loved the last day of the bicycling - we rode through the beautiful Wachau valley’s vineyards. The towns were quaint and the landscape was breathtaking! Also, we had a sunset while on the barge that was unforgettable.
    Tips: *Be ready to adapt and roll with things. If you want a boring, unexciting trip, take a bus! *You will be in close contact with lots of other people. If that makes you uncomfortable, maybe this is not the trip for you. *Bring some salty snacks and other electrolyte-replacers, especially if biking in warm weather, as these are not available on the ship.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Richard R. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was getting to see the countries from a bicycle. The weather was not good and the tour guide did an excellent job of juggling the personalities with varying degrees of athletic fitness. At 53-58, there were people on the boat that were over 20 years older than my wife and I, and as a result, some rides were cut short somewhat - this was a bit disappointing as my wife and I had hoped to ride at least the distances advertised. One additional constructive comment - some of the bikes were not in good shape. The bike set aside for me had its front brakes permanently rubbing and the solution was for me to ride a women's small bike for the week. Disappointing. The trip was excellent overall and we will do a bike and barge tour again.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
    by Carol C. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved riding through all of the farm land and villages. All of the hotels we stayed in were great. They all had fantastic breakfasts. Only down fall was the GPS device, it would just stop working so we would have to rely on street signs or local people to send us in the right direction. My bike was great, but another person in the party had to put up with a seat that was falling.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Castles of the Loire
    by Sheri A. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Make sure you bring layers in case of rain

    Countries: France

  • Mosel and Saar
    by Rosalind K. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The boat crew and participants were wonderful. The food was beyond belief. The guide did any excellent job of leading the group on the road, but when we arrived at historic areas left us to ourselves. We did not receive any of the three guided town tours that the trip description promised.

    Boat: Zwaan

    Countries: Germany

PWPC