4 Star Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 659

 


Matthew H.
6 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The food, the guide and the route and biking were all great. Excellent value for a low budget trip.

Darla Q.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Alentejo Vineyards
Portugal

You will love, love, love the quiet days on the road, the accommodations, the sights and the breakfasts. You may not love the instant coffee in some locations or the fact that the gps system stops talking to you in the towns where you most need it. The Evora loop day was a bit of a disappointment due to travelling on a highway for a good part of it, especially after having so many glorious days prior to that.

Ed Paquette
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Amsterdam to Bruges was our first bike and barge experience in 2016. The experience of small group travel, seeing villages and countrysides at 12-14 mph, and the coziness of barge life intoxicated us. We have since done six more tours. Everyone unique, quirky, full of beautiful vistas, and future friends from all over the world.
If you are considering this type of travel adventure for the first time, this tour is for you. AND for you stubborn Americans, there is absolutely no stigma attached to e-bikes. In fact, they are prolific throughout Europe.

Gary M.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

For me, the most memorable parts of the trip were the moments our trip guide, Hein, stopped, got us off our bikes and took time to do some interpretation of the landscape, or when he brought us to little known local places. One example was a local museum for traveling entertainers and amusements. In the states we would call this a circus museum. Hein described life for us in the walled and protected castles and the city-states of Italy before there was an Italy, and the power of the family heads in the se little kingdoms. He took us on a tour of one of those castles that is not generally open to the public. I also appreciated the 90-minute guided tours by Christina in Mantova and her counterpart in Venice. Passionate about the cities that they call home, they both really brought these special places to life for me.
Not to overlook the moderate exercise we got on bikes everyday, which was helpful because the delicious food our crew served was difficult to turn down. I would have Read More

Celine O.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

scenic views.great accommodations and enjoyable group dinners. Guides were friendly and helpful.

suggestions- rating it as " easy" was not accurate. the varying terrains made it more challenging. hill durations might be described better. I would give participants a branded water bottle as a take away.

Lynne P.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The bikes were a problem everyday- not well maintained or just end of season but not good
The barge was very warm- esp with comforters- suggest availability of a sheet for these conditions. A soap dish is needed in the shower, the hair dryer was very inadequate. Need to have some sort of wax paper or plastic bag for the sandwiches- wrapping in napkins does not work. The barge should offer/highlight local wines!!! The whole point of this trip is particular.
Our guides Heddy and intern Micah were fabulous.

Ward A.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Crew was amazing. Everyone helpful. 30 person biking too big. Suggest it be split into 2 15 person groups.

Linda N.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The most memorable part of the trip was time aboard the Ave Maria. The crew made every effort to make sure all our needs were met, suggested places to visit that you wouldn’t find in guide books, fed us the most delicious local foods prepared from ingredients found that day and recipes from their grandmothers, their creativity and their obvious joy in cooking. I can still taste the lasagna with squash flowers! The other passengers were all fascinating people as well, all very experienced travelers and bikers. The thing I want others to know is that some parts of the trip, especially leaving Chioggio and Ferrara, we’re on busy roads with cars whizzing by you and crossing roundabouts and corners, and that even on the low traffic, one lane roads, you’ll frequently hear “car up” or “car back”. There were times when you could not enjoy the scenery because you had to watch for potholes and negotiate gravel. We bike on an at least weekly basis but Read More

Margaret Jay B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Lovely route, wonderful guides, comfortable accommodations. Absolutely superb food!

Bring your own water bottle - despite the tripsite literature, one is not provided

Glenn S.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Great scenery, great chef on the barge, nice boat, and great guides! Overall a great experience. However if I must find something that needs a bit of upgrading, it’s the bikes. They were getting pretty tired and needing tune ups. Some had bald tires and most lacked correct air pressure in the tires, on previous Boat Bike trips the bikes were much better maintained. It was the end of the season and the bikes had gone through a lot over the year was the reasoning, but I paid so I expect good bikes regardless of the time of year.

John N.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magellan Southern Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

The trip was beautiful, the rides on the islands were fantastic, and the guides were absolutely the best! Riding on the islands of Hvar, Korcula, and Brac was a once in a lifetime experience. We loved it. Our guides added a great deal to the rides by offering explanations of the history, the language, and the sites. They also set up guided tours (included) in Split and Trogir that were excellent. The guides' knowledge of the area was remarkable; they made the tour that much more interesting. The on-board service was very good; Tina did an excellent job. The scenery was consistently breathtaking. We loved this trip.

The one area that could be improved was the on-board dinners. For the most part they were unremarkable, and sometimes disappointing. If the food were as good as it's been on other bike and boat trips this would have been a 5-star tour. I hope this can be improved.

Rita P.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Matera to Lecce Food & Wine
Italy

We really enjoyed the small group of 11 guided experience. The accommodations and dinners included were exceptional nice.

We found the biking experience challenging—not the number of miles, but the condition of the paths. We were often on abandoned, bumpy, poorly kept roads or busy roads. Rarely were we on a bike path.

My e-bike had structural defects that held the battery to the frame and no front shock absorbers.

Our guide Suzanna was very fun, friendly and accommodating to our group!

Rick C.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

This trip was amazing with great scenery and a great crew and staff who were so friendly and fun. The towns we rode through were small but very interesting and loaded with history. The barge was perfect and similar to the different barge we were on with 12 cabins which we think is a great size. Our group of 11 met 8 amazing people from Canada and 2 others from the states who just made the trip so much fun with a lot of laughter. Time to start planning the trip for next year.

Johanne P.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

I particularly enjoyed the beautiful scenery along the river and the little villages we stopped in.

Lauren L.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

Our week was the last week of the season and the ferry across the river to Luxembourg was closed. The guide saw how disappointed we were and offered us to bike an additional 14 km to be able to get to that country which was an unanimous decision by our group.

Clifford H.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Traveling on the IRIS was nice. Highlights: Bike ride from the extinct volcano down to the Mosel was a great 40 mile ride (almost all down hill). The wine tasting excursion was set up by our guide Paul. Quite different than others I have been to. It was an intimate meeting with the owner of the winery that had been in his family since the 1600s. It rained (really just a mist) during 2 of our rides but with rain gear, it didn’t effect us.

Give me a call if you would like to hear some minor suggestions for improvement.

Roderick M.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Melody Southern Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

A nice trip but the rides should be longer and normal bikes shouldn't be mixed in with E-Bikes.

Tamara S.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Halkidiki Peninsula
Greece

Of course the beautiful views of the Adriatic and the wonderful seafood will be fond memories, as will be the kind attention and care given to me by Anton when I managed to get sick from the food on the plane that landed us in Thessaloniki. He transported my husband and I in the support van for the days until I felt well enough to ride. Although our e-bikes could have been better, and the hotel the first night was pretty basic, we found the rest of the accommodations lovely. And certainly rated this as a memorable bike tour. We have taken almost 2 dozen bike tours over the past twelve years, and have never had better care given by the tour operators.

Dick S.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The food was outstanding! Great chefs. Amazing how hard our small crew worked to provide everything needed. All ran smoothly. Michaela was an outstanding leader. We were disappointed in the lack of coordination between the leader and the bikers as we ride. Corners were not posted at turns; some ended up going the wrong way, and we spent time finding them. Fortunately one person in the “lost” group was able to call our leader. There should always be arrangements for a “sweep” with phone communication to the guide.
Coming home, the pack with the trip literature was stolen. I would like to get another copy of that excellent information. How?

Alan L.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Biking from Noyon - Compiègne, the Compiegne forest was very beautiful to bike through.

As we neared Paris, the biking was sometimes more difficult due to traffic on some sections of the route.

William O.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sarah Amsterdam to Maastricht
Netherlands

The bike routes were the best and our tour guide Klaas exceeded our expectations

Molly M.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Siem Reap to Saigon
Cambodia, Vietnam

The trip enabled us to see places we would never have found ourselves. An ebike is absolutely not necessary. It is very flat. Our group was large -15 people. Unfortunately, that was a disappointment.

Nicholas C.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Holland - Past & Present
Netherlands

Cycling along dykes near Amorongen and through huge avenues of ancient beech trees in the woods

Tahnee R.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

This is our second TripSite tour and we love the combination of bike/hotel/luggage transport support and being on our own and without the added cost of a guide. We have recommended Trip Sites to many friends.

A few of the positives and suggestions...

Pros

Great bikes. High quality, both the regular and e-bikes.

Friendly, responsive and helpful staff. When a few of our group asked to exchange for e-bikes after a first very windy day, the local company (Dutch Bike Tours) was very friendly and drove them to us within a couple of hours (for a cost but that was expected).

The Netherlands is amazing for biking. Flat, accessed by a huge network of bike paths (seemingly every roadway), very well signed, drivers unexpectedly respectful to cyclists (compared to the U.S.), and so scenic.

Some lovely towns: we especially loved Gouda, Willemstadt, Zierikzee, Middleburg and Bruge.

Suggestions

Information: While we had contact with the local Read More

SANTIAGO R.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Castles of the Loire
France

The trip was very well organized. There were no glitches and the people we were in contact with were very friendly.
On the other hand, I totally recommend the route, on the banks of the Loire river, with wonderful landscapes and very picturesque villages, all complemented by good French gastronomy.
In short: totally recommended.

Stephanie H.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Harmonia Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

We had a great time and the e bikes worked great! Best way to see the islands of Croatia! Beautiful and the guides were awesome! Only disappointment was the food. I'm a picky eater so I don't judge based on what I like, but our whole group had issues with the cold vegetables at dinner, the overwhelming number of fish entrees and the lack of salad dressing variety beyond olive oil and vinegar. Be sure to tell them if you don't like fish...they do try to accommodate with veggie burgers and reconstituted dinner entrees. I ate out on the economy as much as possible! There was pizza everywhere!

Timothy B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Costa Rica Bike Tour & Adventure
Costa Rica

We loved interacting with the local guides, who were all so friendly, positive, accommodating, knowledgeable, and obviously loved their work and their country.

Nancy P.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The food on the trip was excellent. We enjoyed the local fare, the wine pairings from the various regions .
The crew work very hard to deliver a positive experience . Helmut was a great guide offering lots of information about the different places we stopped at. We loved the cheese factory tour and tasting

Julie A.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The Merlijn and their staff were excellent! The food was fabulous too! The only reason I am giving this trip a 4 out of 5 stars is the tulips were on somewhat dying on May 11th. We booked this trip in 2019 for April 2020 and then COVID took over all of our lives. Then we rebooked for 2021 and had to change 1 week later. Then 2021 was still not safe to travel so when booking again for 2022, we had to switch to start May 3 in Bruges with the tulip part at the end of the trip. I loved Bruges and thoroughly enjoyed biking in Belgium. I developed a cough so unfortunately I missed a lot of biking in The Netherlands. But I did enjoy the river views while on the boat and got to experience locks also. When cruising into Rotterdam, I saw one of the super yacht builders' ship yard (Oceanco) and that was exciting for me as we sell to the super yachts.

Suzanne F.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Alva Douro River E-Bike & Boat
Portugal

The most memorable both positive and negative :
Having a small biking group aboard the ship we were on- we got to get off and bike through the countryside and explore in a way a bus tour group (like the other people on the boat) we not able to . It was a beautiful experience and great guides .
The most memorable negative was the boat was German and all the people on the ship were German and myself and my friend were the only 2 American and english speaking people. I would have appreciated a heads up that this boat rarely has Americans travel on it as I may have selected a different option for my trip and we were both unable to socialize or understand much of what being said . Being that every one on this boat was in their late 60's and 70's it was an old and old world vibe and I can not say that we were meant to feel welcome by anyone other than our waiter and bartender!