4 star rated Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 376

 

  • Kvarner Bay E-Bike and Boat
    by Del P. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Highlight: The cycling and the swimming off the back of the boat.

    Boat: Andela Lora

    Countries: Croatia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Michael H. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Best Part? The nice people on the boat

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lorne H. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Earlier this year (May), my wife and I did the 4 country bike - barge tour, on the Danube. First I have to remark that everything "Tripsite" advertised was delivered at what we thought to be a reasonable price. In spite of unusually cold (damp) weather, our first experience (s) in Passau, Bratislava, Budapest and Vienna were very memorable highlights. However, aboard the "Normandie" we did have some concerns with the overall tour management. There were some particularly disappointing moments with an apparent strategy to keep the English speaking guests, and non-english speaking guests (mostly German) separated? For our part, we were keen to mingle - assimilate with all the guests aboard. That should not reflect our overall impression of the boat crew, who were very courteous and helpful.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau - Vienna - Budapest aboard the Primadonna
    by Patricia C. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Sailing down the Danube at night under the full moon we witnessed the beautiful lighted bridges and magnificent buildings of Vienna. It was magical!

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Bob T. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Biking through the countryside of the Netherlands and Belgium at a pace that allowed us to learn about both cultures and their histories was an opportunity not to be missed.

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Maastricht
    by Winona N. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff as well as the beautiful scenery.

    Boat: Sarah

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by William B. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was a wonderful way to see Northern Europe, leisurely experiencing a diversity of landscapes, towns, and scenic attractions.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
    by Naomi G. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Biking through Belgium and Holland. Great bike paths, lovely scenery, good companions made for a memorable journey.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Alex Zucosky 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was a great experience. Andreas was a wonderful tour director/leader. 2 weeks aloud us to have a great experience. As this was the ship's first cruise of the year we did experience a problem with our room but Andreas resolved the problem promptly and provided some compensation for our troubles. The crew provided excellent service. The meals were better than expected( I am not a gourmet but enjoyed every meal). the bike routes were very interesting. Our only issue was with the a/c but as this was an older ship some things are not always up to modern standards. Great value.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Camino de Santiago Bike Tour
    by Jan & Jim Roy 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My wife and I did the self-guided Camino tour. It did not start well, as promised reception at airport did not appear, definitely the fault of Trip Site staff, who were barely apologetic. Level of difficulty was billed “easy” to “moderate,” but for this weekend biker it was more like “moderate” to “difficult.” Nonetheless, it was a really gratifying experience. Our e-bikes were top notch, and with GPS we were able to navigate pretty well along the route, some of which was definitely “off the beaten track.” When the description of route says "hard surfaces," implying smooth going, what they often mean are hard-on-the-butt cobblestones Cannot say enough about Sergio and his team in Oporto. Maybe it was because we were older and didn’t look like Tour de France candidates, but he made it a point to check in with us 3 or 4 times during the week to make certain we were ok. If anything had gone wrong, we knew he’d be there in a flash. The accommodations were excellent, and the gratification of making it into the cathedral square at Santiago de Compostela was profound. If your purpose in taking on this challenge is at all spiritual, highly recommend.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Island of Crete
    by Lowell Snow 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We just finished this tour of Crete, and for context I should say we are both in our 70's and ride quite a bit. So, Crete: The scenery, mountains and beaches are beautiful, the people are friendly, warm and accepting, the food is out of this world, and the biking was great for us. Some thoughts about the bike tour itself:
    We were provided with new Ideal eBikes that were exceptional.
    The routes were varied and generally perfect for us.
    Routes were described adequately, but GPS directions were great.
    Total elevation gains were substantial, but ok with eBikes.
    We were driven to each daily tour starting point, generally at high elevation.
    Our driver driver was excellent and extremely helpful.
    The price of the tour was very reasonable.
    We should have upgraded the hotels - some were minimally adequate.
    Overall we give the tour a thumbs-up and are very glad we went. The operator is very competent and provided a wonderful experience.

    Countries: Greece

  • Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
    by Lyn 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We recently completed the 11 day Amsterdam to Brugge tour on the Quo Vadis. We really enjoyed ourselves. The boat was very nicely appointed, the cabins are not large and the bathrooms small but very adequate, lots of hot water which is really appreciated after a day of cycling. Food was very good, especially the dinners. The staff did everything to make our trip enjoyable and mixed well with the guests. We had 2 excellent guides who both had extensive knowledge of the history and geography of both countries. The tour itself gave us a really good taste of the Netherlands and Belgium, from the beautiful countryside, through the dunes at the North Sea, over the dams that prevent the floods, past and into windmills, into the cities and large towns like Rotterdam, The Hague, Ghent and a day visiting the World War 1 sites around Ypres. We were very fortunate the on most days the wind assisted our travels and we had very little rain. All and all a great adventure.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Prosper 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was my 5th bike/barge Tripsite tour and it was just as amazing as my first. The guide was knowledgeable and the group was an interesting blend of former and present U.S. Air Force personnel as well as Italians, Americans, French and Flemish. The weather in mid April was the biggest challenge with hailstorms and thunder, which made the trip all the more memorable.
    The bull fights (humane but sad), the aqueducts, and the food, oh the food! As always a nice cross section of people who are like minded in their zest for life and the enjoyment of experiencing Provence at 11 mph at sea level. (Oh, and they do warn you about the hills and the wind, which I glossed over BEFORE we went). The reason I rated this a 4 Star is I'm reserving the top prize for something that knocks my socks off!

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Cheryl M. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Amazing staff and great guide

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
    by Jim C. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Meeting the native people from the Netherlands and Belgium. Meeting other cyclists on the tour routes.

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Lake Garda and the Adige River Cycle route
    by Rosana S. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The best trip i’ve ever done was through Danubio, from Passau to Vienna. It was perfect, the scenery, the route, the boat. It was my first time in a bike and tour trip. It was in 2016 and since then it,’s the only way i like to travel. A new world for me, I felt like a child recovering my childhood near from nature!

    Countries: Italy

  • Tulip Tour - 4 Day
    by Liz B. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    A wonderful way to see The Netherlands. Visiting the tulip fields and flower market was so colourful and informative. Very easy cycling on great roads.

    Boat: Tijdgeest

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Douglas Y. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our bike and barge from Venice was fantastic. The villages were quaint and the opportunity to swim in the Adriatic Sea was a great way to cool down and relax. Our trip aboard the Ave Maria was wonderful. Captain Connie, Enrico, Giuliano, Silvia and Helmut made our trip to be quite memorable! Giuliano and Silvia made fabulous gourmet dinners for us. Our only complaint would be that there were periods of riding on dikes/floodbanks but all the stops along the way were very interesting and full of character. The visit to a Grana Padano cheese plant was followed by a wine and cheese picnic and our ending destination, Mantua was beautifully surrounded by 3 lakes. We would definitely recommend this trip!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Istria
    by Susane R. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Dinners on board were amazing! Our cook, Kuki, was creative and as gourmet as a fine restaurant would be!

    Boat: Tarin

    Countries: Croatia

  • La Rioja - Land of Wine
    by Cindy D. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Every bike should come with a FPS or Harmon with the route loaded in it. Pulling out a piece of paper at every turn is not an option

    Countries: Spain

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Garnet T. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The preparation and presentation of the meals, especially the evening meals was outstanding. And the fellowship with the other passengers was also a great highlight aided by the small number of guests.

    Boat: Iris

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Michael O. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Sailing Home was a great boat, well finished, very clean, lots of room and nice staff. The trip from Bruges to Amsterdam was very scenic and flat country yet the riding did not offer the flexibility friends had experienced with other tours.
    We had expected to ride 30kms (+or- 10) a day and were somewhat surprised to hear the daily ride was 60 kms. That said, on one day, it was possible to ride 20 kms in the morning then 40 kms in the afternoon as the bike route crossed the boats route.
    There were nine in our group and to a person we thought it would have been far better to have the boat dock at mid day for people wanting to ride a shorter distance, then head to the overnight stopping point. We would have liked the option to stop in some local villages, had lunch in a cafe and strolled at some of the scenic spots. It is not supposed to be the Tour de France.
    Would we do it again, yes, but at our own pace, so we would do it 'self guided' next time as I don't think our guide could comprehend our desire to enjoy all the joys of the ride.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Around Stockholm: Land of Lakes and Castles
    by Yael B. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The scenery is beautiful. Some of the hotels -2- were super. We had problems with our bicycles and it took time to have a solution. We enjoyed.

    Countries: Sweden

  • Koblenz to Saarburg
    by Lynn F. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our first trip with Tripsite (bike/barge on the Mosel River) was fantastic! Our “barge” was charming, neat, well run... my idea of a barge. The bikes were good, our route along the river could not have been more beautiful, with the little towns and all the vineyards. The food was great, the other passengers were nice and friendly, staff were wonderful, the weather perfect... we all had a great time.

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by John G. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Tulip Tour was overall a great experience. The staff on the Quo Vadis did an excellent job and the accommodations were very comfortable. The 24 passengers was a nice size group.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Ann A. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Seeing the original Brooklyn (Breukelen, Netherlands) Bridge, and all the other quaint and charming towns between Brugge and Amsterdam was wonderful and worth every pedal!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • North Holland Tour
    by Susan O. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The De Holland is a lovely barge with a proficient staff and nice upper level staterooms. The food was above average and the after-ride beer is a great value. The North Holland area is very rural with small towns but mostly agricultural routes. Easy navigating because The Netherlands has an extensive network of bikeways and understandable wayfinding. The history of diking, watermills and pumping is fascinating and would be good to know about as you ride through this area. Our trip was in the beginning of October and we had beautiful weather although it can be windy along some portions of the ride.

    Boat: De Holland

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by Colleen J. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The e-bikes are essential for enjoying the beautiful, hilly terrain!

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by April S. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Awesome experience...biked along canals, by windmills and visited cities...literally smelled the roses. Must do!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Lakes Trail
    by Susan J. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Unfortunately left a jacket and pair of arm warmers in the pannier and when we contacted the tour company they said they’d check and get back to us but they didn’t and had to be chased several times and then they eventually said they couldn’t find them. This also applied to my partners pedals, they said there would be someone to remove them at our final destination and there wasn’t. We did eventually get these back but not the coat or arm warmers. Panniers must be emptied and checked for tools, locks etc so surprised these weren’t put in lost property. Lack of responses etc was disappointing after what was a good and well organized holiday.

    Countries: Switzerland

PWPC