4 star rated Bike Tour Reviews 211 to 240 of 376

 

  • Dolomites to Venice
    by M. Sciulli 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The trip itself was amazing! Spectacular scenery and just the right amount of cycling every day. We loved the fact that it was self-guided so we could go at our own pace. The description of easy to moderate was accurate, but I know it would have been much harder had we not had electric bikes. I have 2 specific complaints: First, the quality of the hotels was not up to par. A friend described one as exactly like his dorm room in college...small, smelly, run down, not properly air-conditioned, out of the way, and generally unsatisfactory. Secondly, the directions and the maps need to be updated. More than once we found ourselves at a dead-end or could not find a turn we were supposed to take. We wasted a lot to time going back and forth trying to find the supposed route. Thankfully we speak Italian, so we could stop and ask locals for directions. At other times we just ended up relying on the GPS on our phone to find a proper route. Overall, if these two things were improved this would be a perfect trip. I highly recommend the trip.

    Countries: Italy

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna - OV (no longer available)
    by R. Kocher 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The scenery between Passau and Vienna was the most memorable part of the trip, even when we were away from the Danube. Beautiful.

    The reason I gave the first question a 4 out of 5 is because the daily rides were long enough that it was hard (tiring) to get back out in the evenings to see the local sites or to see some of the sites along the way. That was probably also a result of trying to coordinate and corral too many people (9 on our trip) to get things done in a timely manner. I suspect the 10-day option for this trip might have been better for us.

    Regarding route and description guides, sometimes it was a little too much to remember to coordinate the route book, the additional instructions in the travel documents (voucher) book, and Rad & Reisen's Travel Information book, not to mention the daily itinerary in the literature advertising this trip. In fact, the worst mistake we made was the worst one we could have made: ignoring the instructions to take the van transfer from Grein to Gasthof zum Aigner Kreuz, Bad Kreuzen to avoid very steep inclines. However, some of the literature given to us suggested we go to Klam Castle (a good way up the incline to Bad Kreuzen), which was not on the way to Grein, and that is what we did.

    I've now taken 5 bike trips in Europe: 2 using hotels, 3 using boats/barges. Barges are easier: you only have to unpack and repack once while riding.

    Thank you for all your help putting this trip together. Overall, it was a great experience.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Clare and the Burren
    by K. Hatcher 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part was the scenic route along the Burren and the Wild Atlantic Way. It was 22 km of beautiful ocean views and incredible landscape. It was also amazing to see the Cliffs of Moher.

    Countries: Ireland

  • Dolomites to Venice
    by C. Baird 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Guide gave us very little information about either the equipment or route before he left us. Just simple things would have helped significantly. He was abrupt, especially with women and certainly less than helpful. The guidebook was good for the most part, but some sections were completely useless. Some of this may have been due to translation, but improvements are needed. When we entered cities, we always had to ask for assistance.
    We have taken about 10 European bike trips and expect some difficulties finding our way, but have never encountered the degree of problems we had on this trip.

    Countries: Italy

  • Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea - Bike & Boat
    by T. Petersen 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Loved our guide, the food quality and variety was the only disappointment.

    Boat: Deriya Deniz

    Countries: Italy

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by L.G. Germishuys 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Really impressed by the effort and kindness of the staff on the boat.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by M. Collins 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The boat was not in location we were told it would be. But once there the boat was good. The tour guide didn't seem to know the route as well as he should have. The directions on the maps could have been a lot better But we did have a great time but would recommend a different route next time.

    Tripsite was great. Would highly recommend booking with them.

    Boat: My Story

  • Dresden to Magdeburg
    by C. Thompson 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Some of the directions from the bike path to the hotel were not great. In 2 cases, when hotel was far from bike path, it was only with GPS in our phone that we were able to find our way. Loved having the meal plan where possible. Thanks for setting that up.

    Countries: Germany

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by C. Machado 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Try and offer more non-meat entrees for dinner. Too much meat. Also, try and incorporate rail trails( voies ferrees) when possible. They provide relaxed cycling without worrying about constant traffic.
    Very friendly staff and good display of professionalism. Bikes were easy to ride! And, it was hard to have to drink only what the boat offered. Can we have more choice, especially in wine country like Bordeaux? Thanks for everything.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by J. Backes 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Fabulous trip. Great, hospitable staff willing to please, answer questions, professional, share information. Boat was clean, comfortable, well equipped. Food was excellent and there was plenty to enjoy.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by C. Radcliffe 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Overall I was very pleased. Croatia is a beautiful country. The Romantica was perfect! Thank you to all the staff.

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Champagne Tour
    by C. Robinson 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Rooms really small; Guide was lost a lot; Staffers not very good with knowledge of E bikes;
    But food was great..staff was kind..trip was pretty.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Southern Alsace
    by K. Hagan 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This is our third trip with Tripsite and this was our least favorite so far. The scenery was not particularly stunning and in France we were on more roads than we would have preferred. We also stayed in larger cities such as Basel and Freiburg than in previous trips. It is a personal preference, but we prefer the smaller towns such as the ones we encountered on our trip from Amsterdam to Brugge and from Prague to Dresden.

    On the positive front, the lodging and equipment were the best that we have had from the three trips. The hotels were quite nice and truly were 4 star accommodations. The bikes had cushy seats and comfortable handlebars. Even the panniers were a step up with easy snap on and off functionality and very good water proofing.

    We enjoyed the trip and it was high quality as we have enjoyed with Tripsite. The scenery just wasn't as nice and that's why we rank this as our least favorite of our trips so far. Have no fear, we will go again next year and are already looking at the Barcelona/Girona trip. We love working with Tripsite and will be long-term customers!

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by J. Kister 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    When I first heard of a bike & barge trip, I thought I would be sleeping on a cot under the stars! After obtaining more info, I realized we would have a comfortable room but I was very impressed with our accommodations. It was like being on a mini cruise. Food was great, tour guide was personable and entertaining, friendly staff went out of their way to make this trip extra special. We had an arranged canal boat tour complete with champagne after arriving in Amsterdam! I would highly recommend the Magnifique and this crew, for an awesome way to experience Belgium and The Netherlands.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by S. Burwell 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The plan changed from recommending biking in Budapest...to it not being recommended - and therefore no briefing/description of the route was provided. While the stickers on signposts helped to guide the way, the book could have been more fully annotated. The boat was too full, there were not enough dishes for all passengers, dinner took 3 hours (2 hours too long). Bikes were generally in good repair and available when promised. Although the food was very good, bottled water was not provided every day as contracted.

    Boat: My Story

  • Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea - Bike & Boat
    by W. Watkins 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had the time of our life and look forward to our next bike and boat tour. Thanks so much for everything!

    Boat: Deriya Deniz

    Countries: Italy

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by J. Backes 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Exceptional staff, welcoming, friendly, informative, knowledgable. Perhaps on the rides having a buddy system so the guide doesn't need to count all the people to make sure everyone is present would be my only suggestion. I sometimes got the sense that people wanted to stop more often to take pictures and no one told them not to but then it can take time away from getting to visit town at the end of the day. Perhaps that needs to be discussed in more depth. Sometimes some of the breaks were longer than necessary. Again they were fine but took time from visiting a town at the end of the trip.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Linda Reiland 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We just completed this tour and enjoyed it BUT there are some caveats to be aware of. We did not follow the itinerary as described. We did not tour Nin even though it was listed in the itinerary. We rode on some very busy roads/thoroughfares which were not fun. The map was not an accurate depiction of what we actually did on the mainland. That part was very disappointing. The food was great... The e-bikes were very heavy but the only way to do this tour. There were some VERY long hills to climb. Our guides were good, especially Bjoran. Just be aware that the itinerary changes and that seems to be at the whim of the boat captain, guides and weather. I was really looking forward to seeing Nin and spending a little more time in Sibenik. The boat was very nice and generally comfortable. Igor, the bartender and waiter, was fabulous. I'd rate the trip as a 3.5-4 star.

    Boat: Princess Diana

    Countries: Croatia

  • Authentic Holland
    by G. Dunsmuir 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I would recommend this trip but only if a group of friends were going or if there was some way to know the mix of language of fellow travellers. I was the only person who did not speak the German language. I felt very isolated. A number of German people did try to speak English but it was hard work for them and they were on holidays. One English sailor on board as staff was very kind and attentive. The cook made wonderful gluten free dishes for me!! The guide did an excellent job of switching back and forth from German to English. The cycling and countryside was very pleasant. Sometimes the stops were a bit long but perhaps that was because I couldn't chat around with other travellers.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by R. Bass 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a problem with sewage odor in our room - which they boat crew was unable to fix - Also room was hot and we had to use a fan. When we complained to Rad and Reisen about the temperature they denied that the AC was not working. We complained to Rad and Reisen and they issued us a 10% refund which Tripsite matched. We appreciated your concern attentiveness to these problems and you willingness to offer some compensation.

    Despite these problems, overall the trip was great - good people, great rides and beautiful scenery and points of interest. We would definately book another trip with your company, but not with Rad and Reisen.

    Boat: My Story

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by J. Farina 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The trip was great! Mostly all positive. Tom and I would like to have the pace a bit faster....that was the only negative.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Andalusia - Seville to Granada
    by H. Devine 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We requested electric bikes, but the guide and company was not very familiar with them, and the bikes provided were outdated and clunky compared to newer bikes that are available, and were not sized properly for the taller riders. E-bikes are a growing trend - they allow people to take bike trips that they otherwise would not have, and the company should get competitive with promoting them.

    Our guide Jeff got off to a rough start by being late and because he was alone trying to resolve faulty bikes, was not able to provide several walking tours that were discussed in the itinerary. He wasn't a ""people"" person and didn't respond well to equipment problems and various requests by the guests. Toward the end of the trip, he really tried to redeem himself though, and knocked himself out to be helpful. Jeff is a wonderful person and I enjoyed his company and expertise very much. I think it was a little much to have 10 guests with only one guide to handle everything.

    The hotels were fine, some a bit dated, but acceptable. I would have been willing to pay a little more for slightly better accommodations in Seville and Granada.

    Breakfasts at the hotels were all very good, but the group dinners provided in Seville and especially Alcala a Real were seriously awful. Definitely needs to be rethought and the restaurants upgraded. We would have preferred to dine on our own.

    The approach to Granada was a big buzz-kill. We had been riding for days in bucolic serenity, and to navigate the busy traffic circles and congested streets, trying to follow the guide's van was frightening, dangerous and a big let-down. Just as we took a local bus from Seville to our bike point in Carmona, the same should have been done with our ending. I would recommend that taxis be called at the last lunch stop outside of Granada to take guests and their bags directly to the hotel, with the bikes finally put away in the van at that point. Much better than the guide trying to transition everything on a busy sidewalk in front of the hotel after a harrowing ride. There was simply no reason to continue the bike course into the heart of Granada.

    Other than Granada, the bike course overall was outstanding -- I can only say wonderful things about the beauty, friendliness and road quality, including the Via Verde, what a treat. The rest day in Zuheros was actually our favorite day, with a lovely hotel and pool to enjoy.

    My negative comments are only meant to be constructive and to improve upon what was a fantastic vacation for us. We only want to do bike vacations from now on, and can't wait to plan the next one. Congrats to Tripsite for having such a great site and ability to find unique tours and operators all over the world. "

    Countries: Spain

  • Paris to London
    by E. Greer 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Everything did not go perfectly all the time but we had a great time and the guys from Girolibero were always doing their best to help out when needed.

    Countries: France, England

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by W. Staab 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Great bike leader. Have name tags for participants or for bikes to help us w names. Would like to have been brave enough to ride on my own! Some participants were not really regular cyclists. Would have been good to have a briefing re group bike rules, including spacing, passing, signaling, warnings, etc.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea - Bike & Boat
    by M. Hunt 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a long line of riders of various abilities even though it was basically a flat ride. There should have been an official sweeper at the end of the line. Our guide was a great guy but seemingly casual in this regard. Toilets on the boat needed continual tweaking - a bit unnerving. Loved the crew- all hard working, super upbeat and friendly.

    Countries: Italy

  • Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea - Bike & Boat
    by E. Greer 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Everything did not go perfectly all the time but we had a great time and the guys from Girolibero were always doing their best to help out when needed.

    Boat: Deriya Deniz

    Countries: Italy

  • Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea - Bike & Boat
    by V. Milner 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Well organised overall. In honesty the food was at times ordinary with great emphasis on fish & pasta. Bit more variety would have been good. Riccardo (tour guide) was excellent - he really made the tour worthwhile with his enthusiasm and knowledge. Not all staff on board were as friendly or able to communicate which did make a big difference to the overall atmosphere on board. We did have some difficulties with the booking process initially which remained unresolved in that we were unsure of why someone was phoning us from US.

    Boat: Deriya Deniz

    Countries: Italy

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by K. Sattler 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Only thing missing was quality wifi on the boat. The trip more than met our expectations

    Boat: My Story

  • South Holland Tour
    by P. Watson 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Due to the length of the cycling routes, there should have been better quality bikes. All gears should have been in working order.

    Boat: Anna Maria Agnes

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Authentic Holland
    by L. Roussinos 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This is a great route and the cycling areas are excellent in so many ways. Scenic paths through forests, parks, graphic small towns and with well defined directions given daily by the guide. The barge cabins were quite adequate in size and even though the bathroom was small it served the purpose for the week long trip. Having porthole windows that we were able to open was great in order to bring in fresh air. The disappointment was that the barge was not very clean overall (dust and cobwebs), there was very little deck space to enjoy the views during cruising and having two large dogs on board did not help matters.
    The food quantity was good but hardly any quality in it. Four out of seven meals were rice oriented, little meat substance and overall not comparable to other similar meals on other barge and bike trips we have taken and the first time we have ever had "fish" lasagna!
    Breakfasts were by far the best meals and there was always plenty to go around and to prepare for your take away lunch. The crew were friendly and welcoming. I would most definitely recommend this trip if done on a better ship. The trip gets 5 out of 5 stars, the ship hardly 3 out of five.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Netherlands

PWPC