4 Star Bike Tour Reviews — 241 to 270 of 483

 


Doyle S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Wending South Holland Tour
Netherlands

Most Memorable Part: The trip to kinderdijk was fantastic.

Monika M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Odisej Along the Dalmatian Coast
Croatia

It was 38 degrees in Croatia with very little shade to be found on the biking route. Tip: Recommend an Ebike.

Elyse Jacob B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

St. Moritz to Innsbruck
Austria, Switzerland

Most Memorable Part: The 3rd day of riding downhill.
Tip: The first two days are difficult. When you train for this trip be sure to train on hills.

Kristie J.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Most memorable: The scenery in Venice, Lodi and Chiogga.

Kathryn K.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Northern Normandy
France

We enjoyed the freedom of making our own decisions with our self-guided tour. We did not necessarily follow the maps and we chose to do completely different things on two days. The area was beautiful with a lot of different environments to enjoy. The hotel had wonderful staff who refused you nothing. The food was delicious and different. We were forced to use our French since there is very little English spoken in the area. We enjoyed the immersion into the community.

Andrew L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Drenthe - Holland’s Venice
Netherlands

Our self-guided bike trip to Drench had outstanding scenery due to well-chosen routes, lovely accommodations with excellent food, friendly people, and the best beer in the world. There were problems with the bicycles from the beginning that were met with skepticism when I called for a replacement for one of them, and the directions were sometimes terrific, and other times terrible. There was one incident with the directions where it called for a left turn, but was actually a right. If these problems could be corrected so they don't happen again, this trip would be 5 star and I would recommend it without hesitation.

Sian W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Anna Maria Agnes South Holland Tour
Netherlands

The biking was wonderful with a great variety of landscapes and villages to see.

Vince K.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

Most Memorable: Arriving in Budapest just at dark and seeing the city all lit up and riding through the Wachow valley. The visits to the cities, Vienna, Budapest, Bratislava, were too short and left us wanting more. This particular boat was geared more towards German speaking guests and English was a poorly translated afterthought.

Gabrielle Kauffman
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bavaria Tour
Germany

Excellent friendly guide. Pristine boat. Great route. Some of the docking locations were in industrial sites. We had a good time overall in spite of a rough start when we asked to self guide and to use the bikes after 6. We needed to double check Tripsite website when we were initially told the tour was guided, but our requests were accommodated in the end. Great value.

Fiona M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau
Germany

One hotel was excellent, one was poor and two were OK. For the money paid I would have expected air conditioning as standard. The advertised price of rooms was about half what we paid. I would also have liked to pay in sterling as I found the holiday through a UK search so would have thought this was possible. So - nice holiday, somewhat over-priced, let down by some inferior (noisy and very hot) accommodation.

Trent A.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Elodie Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Most memorable part: Going through the locks. Tip would be to practice cycling up hills.

Darren T.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

The most memorable part: The views and experiences we shared together as we ride along.

John H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Authentic Holland
Netherlands

Having been on several of these bike/barge tours, this was a different area culturally than trips south of Amsterdam. Interesting history of the area. Our guide was excellent and made the trip.

Mary P.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Magdeburg to Berlin
Germany

All our needs were addressed. Being a guest on the Merlin was a pleasure. Our guide, Felix was very informative.

John A.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Magdeburg to Berlin
Germany

Most memorable part: Biking through the small towns and rural parts of our route.

Vitali B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I am very glad that I did this trip: the boat, cabin, food, bike, everything was very good. But there were some challenges, which I would like to mention.
1. The tour guide (Jan, his first name) was not rude, but more like indifferent to your problems. Very often his answer was ""It's up to you. You want this, go this way, you want that, go that way."" Hr didn't try to understand your problem and to find the best solution for your situation.
2. Bike path pavement sometimes was bad and poorly marked. For people with not good vision (like myself) it was a big problem. European bikers are more aggressive speed wise and more comfortable in the crowded environment. It was a problem to have pedestrians and bikers in both directions at the same time. So, for me it was easy to complete 50-60 kilometers physically, but it was stressful psychologically to be in such crowded place.
3. Unguided tour is a challenge: you can get lost, something Read More

Bob McKechnie
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Paris
France

Had a great time on this tour through Paris on the Clair de Lune. Marco, Thea, and Weiger were all great. A Dutch boat and crew through Paris! The daily rides were good. Anyone who has cycled around towns and flat trails could do it. Cycling into Paris city centre was a thrill. Food was very good on the boat.

Franziska P.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Love the boat ride, also liked the bikes and bike riding as well as our tour guide.
The food was too American, it could have been more European. The scenery was
lovely and the trails terrific. Weather fantastic. Would do it again.

Anne S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Paris
France

The most memorable part was biking immediately after Fountainbleu, through the park's woodlands.

Deborah P.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fleur Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Needed the second guide as group unwieldy for one. Unlike prior trips, guide gave little info on trip sites/locales, despite being quite personable.

Charles H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Biking through the Wachau valley and the small towns was most memorable. Staff/guides could be more customer focused and less argumentative with guest/customers. First day of biking was too rushed to complete prior to boat departure ... ride did not accommodate leisurely stops. Guides did not provide enough information on daily routes to assist with historical sites, lunch/rest stops, places to visit or provide assistance on route to ensure guests made it back to the ship. This trip did not meet the standards that previous (5 trips) Tripsite trips offered in the past that we booked.

Lynne
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Dublin & Wicklow
Ireland

The itinerary right up to Glendalough is great, except cycling along Dublin's coastline is not much fun having to pass by many parked cars. Take time to enjoy some easy hikes in Glendalough looking out to gorgeous views. From Day 5 onwards, the route is boring -- just riding as there's not much to see and do.
GIANT-brand bikes were in excellent condition as they were supplied from the base of Irish Cycling Safaris in Dublin (Belfield Bike Shop).

Craig Riley
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Lochs and Castles
Scotland

Terrific!!! Good ebikes. Love the Turbo to get over hills. First time I have used and still had a great work out at end of day but help in those windy and hilly moments. Friendly service and everything went smooth. Would definitely recommend.
SUGGESTION: Sleep after a long day is critical. The mattress should be good for the rest we need. I will say that the Killin B&B was not good. Bad old mattresses. Slept terrible. And the Double room was so small it was difficult to move around in for 2 people with their bags.
Also, would recommend a clarification of the riding instructions from Aberfeldy to Pitlochry. Not real clear. Be sure to tell them DO NOT take the foot path to Pitlochry.
Overall though would heartily recommend this tour. Much thanks.

Frank V.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The most memorable part was cruising down the river during dinner.

Rick H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

The most memorable parts were Keukenhof gardens and fellow bikers. Disappointed that a week long "tulip tour" ended up being about 3 hours of tulip tour. Primarily focused on 1953 Delta Plan, interesting but spent too much time...days, on it. Enjoyed seeing Kinderdijk windmills. Would have been nice to see more small towns and tulip fields.

Robin T.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

My first Tripsite vacation, first bike/barge trip, first trip to the 4 countries.....loved it. Somewhat poor attitudes of hotel manager, Peter and the guides did not spoil my trip...in fact, became a bit of a joke to us. I would not let it stop from booking another trip.

Jim S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

The scenery , chateaus and winery were beautiful.

Rose F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

After sorting out problems with the bikes I was assigned I found the tour through the tulip fields to be amazing. I only wish the biking had been more leisurely with opportunities to stop and enjoy the fields and take more photos.

Mireille G.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Costa Rica Bike Tour & Adventure
Costa Rica

The most memorable part of my trip was our day in Samara. We biked to three beaches and the views were wonderful. We biked on the beach at sunset and that experience was surreal.

Greg and Susan H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Andalusia - Seville to Granada
Spain

In relation to overall satisfaction for the trip we felt the breaks for coffee and lunch were a bit long and being in November daylight at the end of the day was an issue so in our opinion the breaks needed to be shorter.
In relation to hotel food overall the breakfasts provided were superb except for the hotel in Alcala La Real (Hotel Terrepalma) where the breakfast was both meagre and unhealthy. If the hotel can't accommodate the breakfast requirements perhaps another location for breakfast could be found for a group of hungry bikers.
In relation to the route descriptions that were written for the bikers to carry they were, at times, difficult to follow and somewhat confusing. For the most part the guide was able to offset the confusion.
The time of the year impacted the scenery as most fields were plowed under and there was a lot of smoke from fall burning making the views hazy however we did have fantastic weather which certainly added to the scenic Read More