Austria Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 594

 

 Country: Austria • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by deirdre e. 6 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Visiting wonderful towns and cities.
    We found that the bikes provided were very heavy, making them a bit tough to ride. We were there at the end of the season and the brakes on the bikes were worn out. The bike maintenance was not ideal

    Boat: Carissima

  • Prague to Vienna
    by George W. 6 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Krumlov, Telc and Znojmo are truly heritage towns, and worth more time than we had to explore them. Moravia in general is a great biking area, with more and prettier villages and squares.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Chereda B. 6 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent cruise director, wonderful bike trails with good instructions as to how to follow them, excellent food. It was a great trip.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Cindy R. 7 days ago         Verified Reviewer

    The Vinyards were amazing to bike thru. Beauty all around. It was a Breathtaking day that I will always remember.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Colin F. 7 days ago         Verified Reviewer

    This tour was very well organized and it was a fabulous trip. We did the self guided bicycle tour and it was was easy to follow the suggested cycling route. The tour director, Andreas, did an excellent job providing us with information every day about the cycling route and he made the trip flow smoothly. Our boat did not go to Bratislava because of the water level of the Danube, so we spent an extra day in Vienna. There was an optional bus trip to Bratislava for the afternoon.
    The scenery along the Danube was beautiful. We really enjoyed meeting interesting people from all over the world and socializing with them afterwards in the bar. Our tip: if you want to book a Tripsite tour, do it early because the rooms fill up fast. We waited too long and got the last room on the Theodor Körner, an eco bunk bed room.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Prague to Vienna
    by Katherine G. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every moment was memorable. From the moment Vitek appeared with my wonderful bicycle and a pile of maps..... to my arrival in Vienna - it was a great adventure from beginning to end. And I could NOT have asked for anything more.
    I felt very well cared for by your staff and it was reassuring to be provided with multiple ways to handle problems along the way - although none came up.
    The countryside of Bohemia and Moravia was glorious, fall is a great time of year to travel. I loved the flexibility to doing a self-guided trip. My hotels were perfect and welcoming, the route easy to comprehend with extra ideas of what to see and do at every turn.
    I cannot thank you guys enough for a 'trip to remember'.
    Sincerely, Kathy Greene

  • Prague to Vienna
    by Leonie R. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Lovely countryside, getting lost a lot. I would strongly recommend that the company heavily promotes the trip ap, as directions often were not clear and we got lost a lot. Due to type of hybrid bike and being lost there was not time to fully explore the region - so I would recommend the use of e bikes or shorter days.
    Also reminding people that nothing is open on Sundays and most small towns did not have any shops for food/drink.

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Dennis H 2 weeks ago         Verified Reviewer

    The Theodor Korner is an older boat. A little loud sometimes with the bedrooms a little small. Otherwise, the dining room, the lounge, other areas – all were fine. The meals, both breakfast and dinner, were very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. And the tours, whether guided or on your own, were very-well organized and led.

    One problem with the Bike and Boat tour – the bikes. I do not consider them well-maintained. Mine had bad brakes and wobbly steering, leading to accidents. And the “sailors” responsible for maintaining them did not seem to have much of an interest in doing so. They were the least helpful people on the boat; it wasn’t even close.

    Would I go on another B&B tour? Yes, overall it was a lot of fun. Would I take the Theodor Korner? Maybe. Would I recommend that a biker INSIST upon a good working bike – no matter what you have to do, who you have to talk to? Absolutely.
    And good luck on your trip.

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Barbara Happ 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply    

    We are also awaiting 2020 info!!! This was a great review!

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Janice M. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our Danube 4-Country bike and boat tour, Our ship the Carissima was very comfortable and the staff were great. The food was amazing- beautifully prepared and good variety for meat eaters and vegetarians alike. The bike trails were easy to follow for the most part and the scenery spectacular. We had so many memorable moments. One of the highlights were the bonds we formed with our fellow passengers. We got to meet some terrific people who became instant friends and who we will stay in touch with.
    My only suggestion would be to provide easier trail maps and directions. The briefings were helpful, but hard to remember all the details. Finding our way at times was a comedy of errors and we muddled through with other fellow riders. I guess all part of the experience.
    Overall an amazing trip and would highly recommend to others.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary Joanne T. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The efficiency of collecting and dropping off the bike at the beginning and the end of the day could not have gone smoother. The guidebooks were very helpful though it would have been nice to have more information on sights along the way. The bikes were extremely comfortable and we had no issues. We are already planning on our next tour!

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Christine A. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Self guiding our way along the Danube through amazing countryside.

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
    by Phil C. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My trip from Passau to Budapest was what I hoped it would be. The original information and directions were excellent. However there was almost no communication with Rad+Riesen once the trip started. This was not really a problem except for one day when my hotel was changed without notifying me until I arrived at the wrong hotel. Luggage transfer was smooth and breakfasts were good. Generally a very positive experience with a bit of adventure. The trip from Passau to Vienna was smoother than from Vienna to Budapest in all aspects, but both were memorable and enjoyable.

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Susan P. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved biking though the country side and seeing the small towns along the way. I wish I could have spent a little more time in the small towns. I kind of felt like I had to keep moving. The bike trail itself was very well marked and I really didn't need to use the map much. Just looked where I was going next and how far it was that was really all I needed to get around. The people were lovely. We enjoyed meeting other bikers on their bike trip many from England and having a beer with them at our destination. The hotels were all great, most in historic buildings that have been redone to modern standards. This was my first bike trip would defiantly take another one, but would pay the extra money to get an e-bike.

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Darren B. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Touring on bike different areas of the Danube and meeting new people that were enjoying the same sites.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Glenn M. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the biking. Most the trails were very nice and the scenery was beautiful.The most memorable part was probably the Wachau Valley. The bikes were very good. The rooms on the boat were good and the food was also plentiful and tasty.We enjoyed the entertainment put on by the crew.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Donna L. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The beauty. Flowers were in bloom, the orchards were full of apples, the green hillsides were gorgeous.
    The booklet we received would have been more helpful if received beforehand. The directions could have been much clearer, especially to the hotels.

  • Along the Danube - Passau - Vienna - Budapest aboard the Primadonna
    by Debra N. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the arrival by night in Budapest! It was unexpectedly gorgeous with all the lighted bridges and buildings. Truly amazing. Fireworks were an unexpected highlight of the evening in Linz which just happened to have a celebration. Our third highlight was the last biking day through the Wachau Valley--such beautiful vineyards and small villages! One tip: bring a multi USB plug and more than one adaptor for use in the room.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Jehiel from Tripsite 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Hi Tom,
    Thanks for submitting this feedback. We too were disappointed that the itinerary had to be changed because of the boat repairs, but of course, these situations are out of our control.
    For the alternative tour - Danube Bike Path - Self-Guided - our local partners never have representatives at each hotel. You pick up your information at the first hotel and you are responsible for navigating independently. However, we provided you with emergency numbers of both our local partners and our US-based staff. We cannot help if we do not know about your situation.
    We hope that you still had an enjoyable time and hope we can help you plan your next trip.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by kirk g. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Parts: cruising, dining, kitchen, bar, admin, cleaning staff - wonderful, friendly, helpful. couldn't be better
    food - very good variety and quality. lunches especially good
    cycling and tour director and staff - excellent every day with information, quality equipment, attention to questions
    ship public facilities - quite adequate quality and quantity. updating on decor is needed
    hotel staff - very nice, accommodating and efficient
    hotel - needs cleaning, air conditioning was not working every day, which was a problem. air quality was not great. updated decor is needed.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Ronald B. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We thoroughly enjoyed our cycling trip , the sceneries were absolutely beautiful.
    We were disappointed to learn , three days prior to our departure from Canada, the MS Arlene 11 was in repairs and not be ready for our departure date.Trip Site offered alternatives,using the same route the group were accommodated in hotels along the way .The group did NOT have any representatives at any hotels from Trip Site except a very brief meeting on our very first night.We were basically left on our own , with somewhat mediocre instructions to and from city hotels.
    Allowing for a scénario that was beyond their controls, we would have appreciated TripSite going further to assure the comfort and reliability in this unfortunate incident.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Karen J. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Getting lost the second day!
    No guide and I heard all were getting lost!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Ida L. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part: Dancing the polka with local croatians. Thank goodness a fellow tripster took a video

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Bonnie B. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding along the Danube offered many beautiful vistas. The bikes were great, the seats very comfortable, which made for a nice ride. We met some fun people on board although a greater mix of English speaking to German speaking would have been even better. Suggestions as mentioned to Tripsite staff would be to make this tour guided (the entire group of 100 passengers were lost on several days which minimized the opportunity to make it to some of the sites), to include ferries in the pricing, so that passengers aren't always searching to make sure they have cash (our previous trip included the ferries so wasn't an issue.), and the excursions were sometimes canceled so these could also be improved. All in all we had fun and the cabin staff took great care of our rooms...I'd make a different selection though next time.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sally 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is my 3rd bike/boat tour, and the 1st unguided. I love to travel this way. But the number of people on the boat -- 100 -- were just too many for the crew to serve in any special way. The food and accommodations were excellent. The cruise director and schedule were below average. Out of 7 days, there were 4 days of biking -- 3 of these were spectacular along the Danube. The Wachau ride was simply stunning. However, the ride around Bratislava featured few, if any, interesting attractions, and many of us got lost. The cruise director suggested stopping at a restaurant as a highlight of the day -- but the restaurant was not in operation. The briefings for English speakers were later than those for the Germans and we were then constrained by the boat schedule in the afternoon -- making at least 2 of the biking days a dash to finish the ride and get back on time -- not leisurely and not affording us to stop much. All the staff on the boat work really hard and it shows. But I prefer a Read more… guided tour with a smaller group and boat for better biking and a better overall experience.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Adrienne N. 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part? Biking along the Danube the first day in the beautiful countryside. Spectacular!!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Cathy K. 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The biking was absolutely wonderful; so incredibly beautiful especially through the vineyards and orchards. The ride around Bratislava was not marked well at all and 90% of the riders got lost going in all different directions, thank God for smart phones. The food on board was well prepared, always hot and nutritional. Where this trip fell short was the crew abroad the Normandie. Unlike the other TWO Bike and Barge Trips I experienced, this crew was a bit unwelcoming, rude, and times condescending and scolding. Not everyone but it certainly was the feel on the boat and many were talking about it. I know the crew work long hours and they all have to help with most tasks on the boat; however, there would be nothing to do if WE weren't there. I absolutely love this way of travel and will do another one again very soon. This was NOT a Tripsite issue but am hopeful this information will be passed to the appropriate people. Tripsite has been excellent in providing information Read more… and always seems to offer a great deal.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Margaret E. 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The biking and comradery of the other bikers on the trip.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Patrice W. 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved the convenience of all the planning and coordinating by Tripsite which allowed my party to really enjoy the biking, hotels and experience of the trip. I was pleasantly surprised with the quality and care of the bikes which could make or break of this trip. Working with Tripsite was easy and pleasant.

    Countries: Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jennifer S. 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The journey and visiting the 4 capitols was the best.
    However too many people on the boat - the noise level in the dining room was excessive. The cruise director was obnoxious especially towards women and favored the Germans on the boat. Our group of 18 was split into 3 tables and we always sat with the same people. Never mixed with other groups.

    Boat: Carissima

PWPC