Austria Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 854

4.4 out of 5

 


Randall J.
22 hours ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Misunderstanding on inclusion of meals at the hotels other than Vienna, Bratislava, & Budapest. We specified that we’d like them included and they were not. We were able to find restaurants, but obviously that increased the cost for us.

Mike
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Vienna
Austria, Czech Republic

Our group of four completed the nine-day Prague to Vienna Tour from 21st to 29th June 2024. Our experience was wonderful and memorable. We highly recommend this tour!

First, we had good support in the lead up to our tour and during it. All of our questions were promptly answered, both before we made reservations and when a few issues arose during the tour.

Second, the tour was very well organised. We had a detailed briefing and support before we started. Clear group communication was set up on WhatsApp among our group and with the tour’s support team. We were given maps and written guides for the ride each day, which pointed to tourist highlights and places to eat. Our rides were guided by Ride with GPS on our phones (bring a lithium battery to extend your phone’s life each day). Each bike had a phone mount to facilitate the use of Ride with GPS. The bikes and equipment were very good quality. We never worried about a breakdown. We were quickly back Read More

Sara S.
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Family friendly Prague to Vienna
Czech Republic, Austria

This was our 3rd trip like this and by far the best! It was a wonderfully well organized trip. We went with our children (3 and 11) and two of our friends in their 50s. Everyone have a great time. The distances and difficulties were doable. The towns were beautiful and interesting. And the routes provided a good variation of scenery. The non-biking days were well placed throughout the tour. Finally, the trip organizers were amazingly supportive when we had questions or needed to make adjustments. I can't recommend this trip enough!

Sally H.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The premium bikes were very good for the trip and a nice selection of hotels to stay at along the way.

Connie L.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Leslie, the cruise director made this trip the best one I’ve ever experienced!!!!

Rhonda S.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The most memorable part of our trip was the ability of the cruise director and crew to adapt to the high waters of the Danube. It was a wonderful trip; the bike rides we did were all enjoyable, even when many of them were ended by flooded back paths or required unexpected detours. The food was great!

Caroline S.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The buildings in the towns, castles, and fortresses along the way were marvelous.

Mary G.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Almost missing it! You failed to keep in contact with Rad and Reisen - plans were shifting due to flooding and you did not keep us informed! Thanks to our hotel manager, we discovered the changes and got on the tour. Your lack of communication was unacceptable to me.

Julia M.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Cycling through the Wachau area was incredible! The quaint villages were beautiful. The Danube was unfortunately in flood so we missed out on parts, but the staff did what they could to allow us to cycle and see various sites.

Philip C.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

We had a great time! As a bike guide in the US myself, I know how these things work. You cannot foresee every situation. And as a guide, we know to be flexible. And because of that we thoroughly enjoyed the trip.

Here are some thoughts for improvements for your next guests. These by no means took away from our enjoyment and are meant for future trips.
-- The hotels in general were nice. A few issues here and there (mostly normal stuff).
-- In Hainburg - Altes Kloster - there was no individually controlled AC. It was fine for us because the night was cool.
-- The breakfasts at all the hotels were excellent
-- In Esztergom, the Portobello Hotel was not so great. The hotel room actually smelled bad. My wife says it smelled like old shrimp. They sent someone up with a spray can which they left for us. That "hid" the smell for a while, and you got used to it. But when you stepped back in the room from outside you could clearly Read More

Tony J.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The villages we biked through., the people we met & the city tours we did.

Ronald L.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The entire crew was exceptional! The only complaint, and it’s a big one, was lack of communication from headquarters when unexpected flooding altered the itinerary. The boat was not able to land where planned and there should have been an email sent out to inform us that they were working on it and to stand by for more information when they knew more. We had friends on the previous cruise and they knew Saturday morning that they were not going to land in Passau. No messages were sent from headquarters to inform us that things were in flux and we had passengers on our cruise that went to an empty dock in Passau and this could have been easily avoided had headquarters been set up for group emails.

Andrea A.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The director and crew were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the ride through the scenic landscape and quaint towns. The tours were very good too!

James E.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Food and service, cleanliness was excellent. The Staff was fantastic also. Only drawback was charging for coffee and water during non- meal times.

Paul and Mary P.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The Vivienne and its crew were all exceptional! I would not change anything. Our guide, Leslie went above and beyond.

Kathryn A.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Vienna
Germany, Austria

We really enjoyed cycling along the Danube. The nine days went by quickly and some of the overnight stay locations were in such interesting towns that we explored in the evening. Although it is rated "Easy", be prepared for some days of cycling into strong headwinds and a few days of 65-70 km of cycling. Accommodations were very good and the breakfasts provided set us up for the ride. The GPX tracks were sometimes out of sync with the printed tour book on the portion of the trip in Germany. In a few locations the tracks shown did not exist, or were out-of-date due to new construction. This tour would benefit from an option to stay an extra day in one of the towns to provide a cycling break as well as an opportunity to explore, e.g. Linz.

Denise V.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Constance - Highlights & Hinterland
Germany, Austria, Switzerland

The scenic views were the most beautiful I experienced in our 5 bike trips.
The hotels were great as well as breakfast.
In my opinion this ride was more challenging then lead on to believe. The hills were steep.
We had a oroblem day one with hotel.
Left 2 hours late dud nit have the combination to the bike. Did kit have any maps, any welcome package.nothing.
Also we had mostly rain , would have needed a map peotector for our bikes. The maps were useless in the rain.

Moira T.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Vienna, Budapest and gyor. There wasn’t much to see along the ride.

Jeff J.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Overall the trip was amazing. The most memorable part was just doing it, and so glad we did. The service staff on the ship was terrific. The food was pretty good but not quite 5 stars. The routes were fairly easy to navigate but in trickier areas, a guide or more detailed maps would be helpful. The tour guide was okay and did an adequate job if approached with questions. He did ride right by us on the trail on the last day and didn't even offer a friendly hello. That was a bit surprising to our group and fellow riders. No worries, though, it was a really fun trip. It was great to visit all the amazing cities along the way. The whole crew was first-rate from start to finish. I would easily recommend this trip to interested parties.

Sally H.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Constance - Highlights & Hinterland
Germany, Austria, Switzerland

Great hotels which were distinct from each other. Quality bikes with comfortable seats and smooth gear changing.
The bikes were all locked when we arrived. It took far too long for someone to find the lock codes. There were no welcome packets/route maps and general information for the group of 12 and little help from the hotel who had apparently, all the information we needed. Unfortunate and unprofessional. The local people were apologetic but it should never have happened.

David W.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Constance - Highlights & Hinterland
Germany, Austria, Switzerland

This was a good tour , the hotels selections were great, but we had a terrible start as there was no one on site to provide maps and to unlock the bikes . Very frustrating. Our weather was wet, for 2.5 days, so check out the rainy season. Also there were no front panniers for the bikes to hold the maps, a problem especially in wet weather.we finally received our maps on day 3 of 5. Poor planning on Tripsites behalf.
It’s a good thing some of us had the electronic maps or we would have been totally lost.

Leslie T.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

Beautiful scenery, good excursions, very professional staff, international community.

Robert G.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This is the perfect way to see the Danube for anybody who enjoys easy cycling with beautiful scenery. The MS Vivienne is a great boat, very recently refurbished with small but comfortable cabins, extremely friendly staff, and very good food. Everything was very well organized and the tour director provided plenty (sometimes too much) information regarding the next day’s ride or city visit. Take advantage of tours offered in Bratislava, Vienna and Budapest as the time in each (especially Vienna) is brief. The biking is mostly on paved trails with just a few places where we had to ride with traffic. We booked e-bikes, but could have easily done this with regular bikes. Our cruise was about half German speakers and half English speakers (with largest group being from US, followed by Canada, Australia, NZ, the Netherlands and the UK). The staff on board all speak English and the tour director is fluent in both German and English, so language is not an issue.

Robert Y.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

Very luxurious ship with superb dining and service. Highly recommend the Iron Gate cruise.

Margaret D.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

Everything we experienced was wonderful- the biking, the routes, the food on the boat, the excellent service , the room, the smooth transitions for tours. I highly recommend this trip and hope to go on another Swiss Crown trip in the futurez

Callyn W.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

If using the GUIBO app for route navigation, be sure to have an extra battery pack. The app uses up your phone battery.

If this review can be applied to the GUIBO app then, I'd give it (GUIBO) a poor rating. It sucks the phone battery. It does NOT guide you to (or back to) the route. It randomly talks to you (sometimes it tells you to turn, sometimes not). Fortunately, the routes are very simple, but it could certainly be improved. Providing a gpx file for my own device would be great. Even using google to navigate might be better.

Elizabeth R.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The route was a great mix of countryside, nature and village. The cruise director, Leslie, provided invaluable information for route and highlights.

Ruth O.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Our party of 4 had an amazing time on this tour. We loved the cycling and each day was different. The accommodations that we stayed in were all comfortable and had amazing breakfasts!
You will need some extra Euros for ferries and we crossed the Danube 3 or 4 times and it was not always covered. Also, the stairs at the train stations can be challenging with your bikes, especially for heavier e-bikes. We managed though and had a great time!

Steven T.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The Hungarian dinner, music and bridge tour was one of the highlights.
The guides gave personal help with excursion directions. They were out on the trails that were our shepherds leading us.

Denilson Donizete L.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance - 12 Day
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

O roteiro é espetacular. Um trecho mais lindo que o outro. Os percursos são razoavelmente curtos e com baixo nível de dificuldade. Portanto, não é necessário ser um atleta ou dispor de grande preparo físico para essa aventura. Você não precisa sair cedo do hotel e vai chegar ao local de destino ainda cedo, para poder apreciar as belezas de cada lugar. No que se refere à organização, registro que, tanto a TRIPSITE quanto o seu parceiro RADWEG, de Constança, fizeram uma organização excepcional. Não deixaram nada a desejar. Pelo contrário, foram maravilhosos. Parabéns!