Austria Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 651

 

 Country: Austria • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Rosemary P. 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I am truly amazed about quantity of 5 star reviews for this tour, as I could only give it a 2 star! And, this 2 rating is for the wonderful restaurant and housekeeping staff , as the boat crew , bike assistants were unpleasant to deal with, and the captain kept his distance. This was such a drastic difference from my very enjoyable Netherlands, and Croatia bike and boat tours. The maps and directions were inadequate and usually incorrect. The "tour guide" (who never lead a tour) Jan was unbelievably nasty, rude and impatient about any and all questions and concerns. He sent many on what was to be an easy, level ride only for it to take us over a mountain where our bikes were unsuitable and directions e completely wrong. I would not recommend neither this boat or trip to anyone.

    Boat: Normandie

    • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
      by Jehiel from Tripsite 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Rosemary,
      We are sorry to hear that this trip didn't meet your expectations. It's unfortunate that you experienced some negative exchanges with Jan. We apologize for that.

      About the biking: For the self-guided option a guide is not expected to lead the tour. Riders are expected to be able to navigate independently using the route descriptions and maps. We will look into the maps but we have never gotten feedback about the inaccuracy of the route descriptions for this tour. Furthermore, the tour is rated easy with very little elevation gain and the daily mileages are listed.

      We hope that you still had an enjoyable time.

      • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
        by Rosemary Palus 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply    

        Not having a guide was not an issue for me as I am a much seasoned rider (of plus 30 years experience) with dozens extended touring rides both here in the states, besides several international. We had started with transporting our personal bikes to Europe, reserving our accommodations , creating ride maps, etc.. so telling me to "navigate independently using the route description and maps" given is insulting. IF one were given proper maps and descriptions it would have been acceptable with the exception of Jan's famous easy farm ride that took us over dangerous mountainous, cliff side, terrain. He is very fortunate all returned minus major accidents, and this was only due to the fact we WERE EXPERIENCED!. And, you really need to fully read all feedback as there were other complaints regarding inadequate mapping and directions. Tripsite is also responsible by ignoring this issue. AMEN!

        • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
          by Jehiel from Tripsite 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

          Rosemary,
          I am not trying to insult you or downplay your experience. I am trying to address your concerns. I wanted to clarify that Jan is not a tour guide and with the self-guided option, there is no leader. Gps tracks are available for most tours and routes are being updated and improved frequently.
          If you were not given maps and route descriptions and if Jan's suggestion was misguided and dangerous, that is unacceptable. If Jan was rude to you, that is unacceptable. This is not characteristic of our local partners or Tripsite. I can assure you we are addressing these issues with our local partner.
          I personally read hundreds of feedback submissions each season and respond. We do this because we care about your experience and want to make the tours we offer better.
          I am sorry we and our partners failed to give you a positive experience.
          Jehiel

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Tom M. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking was just ok, could have been more challenging but I knew going into this tour the biking was rated easy. The towns and villages are beautiful. The breakfast was good but the lunches they gave you for the tour during the day were horrible, thankfully there were places to eat along the way. The dinners were also poor quality, many dinners were a repeat of the day before presented differently ,especially the fish dinners. There also seem to be a discontent among the staff they could’ve been a little bit more accommodating and friendly. The rooms are basically neat and clean and comfortable the bikes were also good and the mechanics that maintain them were readily available to assist anyone in the morning before the ride. My main concern was the constant smell of sewage that was present throughout the boat and especially in the main lobby ,they often kept the sliding glass doors on both sides of the ship open to alleviate the smell. This was an obvious problem they Read more… couldn’t solve. At times, we were rafter up to other ships at port and had to walk through these other boats to the Carissima, it was obvious that the Carissima was no- frills compared to these other boats. If you are considering a tour along the Danube I would suggest looking into other cruise ships.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Tripsite Traveler - Lake Constance
    by Jeanne Evans 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent overview and pics!
    Thanks for sharing!

  • St. Moritz to Innsbruck
    by Bob M. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip reaffirmed by previous experiences that dealing directly with a local provider is the best way to go for overseas bike tours. Although Tripsite was excellent in their pre-trip work, their local partner -- EuroBike -- left a lot to be desired. And, once you are at the site of your trip, Tripsite has nothing to offer, so you are in the hands of their partner. The problems with EuroBike start with this unsolvable fact: They are NOT located in Switzerland. As their name implies, they run trips all over Europe. So when we needed an extra ebike, they couldn't come through. When we had problems with the ebikes we did have, they couldn't come through. The bike mapping they supplied was in German; we speak English. More unacceptable was the fact they were not aware of several sections of the Inn River Bike Trail that had been closed since the huge spring snow runoff had wiped out two bridges and closed several kilometers of trail. Their mapping notes provided NO alternate Read more… route. We spent four hours one morning going less than 5K looking for a route that would avoid a busy highway. They did have an emergency number to call (in Austria) and answered rapidly. But they either said, "Sorry there is nothing we can do" Or "Peter is our man in that area. He will call." Peter never called.

    There were other issues. The ebikes were not the best with the power suddenly cutting off on some climbs; riders with other companies had much better, more current ebikes. They didn't even have water bottle cages on the bikes, so we had to make major stops to retrieve water from the panniers. Riders with other companies had no such problems; they even had bottle holders attached to the handlebars!

    So, we had a great trip in a spectacular area, but that success had little to do with Tripsite's choice of local partner. Hopefully they will do better in the future.

    Bob Marshall

    Countries: Austria, Switzerland

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by Wyn D. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Well organised, with bikes made available as required, bags portaged without incident, accommodation arranged as planned.
    Overall good organisation albeit the bikes with their infinitely variable in hub gears seemed less efficient than conventional bikes.

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Beth T. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved cycling through the Wachau valley. The boat staff was so attentive and everything ran smoothly, in spite of a few minor hiccups. The scenery and the daily stops were great. I loved spending time in the big notable cities.

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Charlott H. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Traveling on the Danube was the most beautiful and fun experience we’ve ever had as a couple. Starting the day biking and being active, having great food, meeting lots of interesting people and seeing amazing countries and the culture was Incredible. I hope I can travel on Tripsite again for another bike and boat tour soon!!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jessica R. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was amazing, the biking was very scenic and not difficult at all. The boat staff was very friendly and very upbeat. The food was to die for. I would recommend doing this trip you will really enjoy it.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ann R. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was wonderful and the biking very enjoyable. It was a nice balance between biking and being about to see the sights. Especially loved the day in Vienna. It was all lovely.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sandra S. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was the most amazing bike tour that I have been on. We had a guide, Axel, and that made the trip so relaxing because we didn't need to worry about where to meet the boat or language issues. Axel had lots of extra information along the trip. The boat was very relaxing. Dinner was excellent with choices for entrees every night. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this trip for families with children 12 or so, and seniors (an E bike can make a big difference.)

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Henk G. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Nature, food, organisation
    Only BIG problem was engine trouble which delayed arrival in Passau by 5 hours and complicated the next part of our vacation

    Boat: Arlene II

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jon B. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We very much enjoyed the trip. The staff/crew were very accommodating, and the biking was great. The only drawback was the problem with the rudder system, which led to our tour being altered, and us not being able to go to Budapest.

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Peggy O. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great biking and lovely boat.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Christa M. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time exploring Austria, Germany, Hungary and Slovakia. The boat was comfortable. The staff was super fun. Food was great. Excursions were top notch. Truly no complaints.

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Donna B. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip was amazing...so much to see and do. Great shore excursions. Food on the Carrissima was so good!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Chris A. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding up towards the on the water stage in Bergenz was amazing. You could see it from quite a distance which built anticipation. We walked around the seating area and read all of the informational signs (presented in German and English) and took lots of photos.

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Marcia Regina L. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I and my husband loved the tour. Everything was perfect, the barge, the meals, all the staff was kind and we had now new friends that we knew in this tour.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dawn P. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every day was beautiful and different from each other. The first day we rode through forests and plenty of shade with wildflowers such as columbine. Other days were fun with stops at hidden cafes or using unique bike ferries that crossed from one side of the river to the other. One morning I opened the curtains & we were docked under the ruins of a castle. Every day held surprises such as Hapsburg palaces, groomed gardens or rolling vineyards with stops to sample wine and brandy. Ancient monasteries beckoned. Artisan shops required our attention. After touring, we returned to the ship for perhaps a swim and cocktails before unique dinners offering a taste from local cuisine.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Around Lake Constance - 12 Day
    by Michael F. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We started in Thun on the Aare Trail which ends in the city of Konstanz, where the Around Lake Konstanz tour begins. The memories I have of this trip are of how beautiful the scenery was. Also, for attractions along the way, vouchers were provided so we could visit them at no extra cost.

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Karen P. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved bike riding along the Danube, through the little towns and country. We had a great guide who biked with us, although lots of people just followed the daily maps. Very well organized! Our boat was a nice size, just over 100 people so it felt cozy. The workers kept the bikes perfectly maintained and organized too. Hope to do another ride next year!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany

    • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
      by Merla 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply    

      Hi Karen
      I plan to do this Danube bike tour this May. I am torn between the 3 ship choices....I like the Theodore but don't see pics.of rms & bathrms & am concerned b/c my travel friend is picky. Are they ok?? Is there an open sun deck? Would also consider Arlene2 but don't like bike itinerary as well & seems to have less freebies...wine, bike lock, etc. I would love your personal comments, please!! ❤ Merla

      Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Diane Q. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was travelling through small Austrian villages! The bakeries and the little cafe’s were awesome!
    The food on the ship was delicious and plentiful. I would suggest mentioning to participants that they must bring their own helmets. We had unfortunately assumed we could rent some onboard and were stuck scrambling at the last minute having to go to a local bike shop to purchase some.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Simone C. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved the trip. The crew was very attentive, the itinerary was beautiful, the meals positively surprised me, the room was well equipped and spacious. I recommend the tour.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Mary P. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent trip on the Theodor Kondor. Great staff, great food, great scenery. Juergen was the perfect goodie for the Comfort Package.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Barb W. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was that we could ride our bikes everyday in the countryside while being guided by Liacha. Then back to the barge where the captain, chef and steward were so lovely to us. They went beyond their duties and always with a smile.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sara W. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking along the river was absolutely beautiful. We were able to do some site seeing in Bratislava, Budapest and Vienna. Highlight was the bus trip back from the Hungarian dancers in Budapest, we went up to a beautiful view of the city with all the city lights, it was after a day fighting the rain, so the rain had let up and we could enjoy then view.

    Boat: Carissima

PWPC