4 star rated Austria Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 118

 

 Country: Austria • REMOVE

  • St. Moritz to Innsbruck
    by Bob M. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip reaffirmed by previous experiences that dealing directly with a local provider is the best way to go for overseas bike tours. Although Tripsite was excellent in their pre-trip work, their local partner -- EuroBike -- left a lot to be desired. And, once you are at the site of your trip, Tripsite has nothing to offer, so you are in the hands of their partner. The problems with EuroBike start with this unsolvable fact: They are NOT located in Switzerland. As their name implies, they run trips all over Europe. So when we needed an extra ebike, they couldn't come through. When we had problems with the ebikes we did have, they couldn't come through. The bike mapping they supplied was in German; we speak English. More unacceptable was the fact they were not aware of several sections of the Inn River Bike Trail that had been closed since the huge spring snow runoff had wiped out two bridges and closed several kilometers of trail. Their mapping notes provided NO alternate Read more… route. We spent four hours one morning going less than 5K looking for a route that would avoid a busy highway. They did have an emergency number to call (in Austria) and answered rapidly. But they either said, "Sorry there is nothing we can do" Or "Peter is our man in that area. He will call." Peter never called.

    There were other issues. The ebikes were not the best with the power suddenly cutting off on some climbs; riders with other companies had much better, more current ebikes. They didn't even have water bottle cages on the bikes, so we had to make major stops to retrieve water from the panniers. Riders with other companies had no such problems; they even had bottle holders attached to the handlebars!

    So, we had a great trip in a spectacular area, but that success had little to do with Tripsite's choice of local partner. Hopefully they will do better in the future.

    Bob Marshall

    Countries: Austria, Switzerland

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by Wyn D. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Well organised, with bikes made available as required, bags portaged without incident, accommodation arranged as planned.
    Overall good organisation albeit the bikes with their infinitely variable in hub gears seemed less efficient than conventional bikes.

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ann R. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was wonderful and the biking very enjoyable. It was a nice balance between biking and being about to see the sights. Especially loved the day in Vienna. It was all lovely.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Henk G. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Nature, food, organisation
    Only BIG problem was engine trouble which delayed arrival in Passau by 5 hours and complicated the next part of our vacation

    Boat: Arlene II

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Peggy O. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great biking and lovely boat.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Chris A. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding up towards the on the water stage in Bergenz was amazing. You could see it from quite a distance which built anticipation. We walked around the seating area and read all of the informational signs (presented in German and English) and took lots of photos.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Simone C. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved the trip. The crew was very attentive, the itinerary was beautiful, the meals positively surprised me, the room was well equipped and spacious. I recommend the tour.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Carol M. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food was fabulous! 5 star for sure.
    I would suggest either doing a cycling tour or sightseeing tour but not combining them.We had to rush to get back to the boat from cycling sometimes.
    Not enough small towns/villages when we cycled on this tour. The tour guide was extremely bad.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by R Lynn B. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful trip through 7 countries with breathtaking scenery. Biking most days about 25-30 miles on mostly excellent bike paths.Fun day stops in Vienna and Budapest. Most excursions for dinner or entertainment well worth it!
    Be sure to ride prior to going otherwise get the electric assisted but also need to ride and have cycling shorts/gear.
    Great trip!!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Marie R. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff was fantastic, food was great, bikes were good. Met great folks there at the dinner table. Enjoyed being able to have walking tours in Vienna and Budapest, broke the week up nicely.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by peter b. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our trip was changed as the boat had a broken rudder and not able to be fixed by the time we started. The people involved int he tour then changed it to a bike and hotel trip which was great.
    Memorable part of the trip was seeing all the small towns along the way. The bigger towns were ok but the smaller ones were better

    Boat: Arlene II

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by Barry M. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best part: Biking into Vienna

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Susan L. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was memorable. Great scenery, small towns and villages, very friendly people. It's great meeting new people from varied countries and backgrounds. Having a guide and local tours really enhanced the experience.

    Our only complaint is that our travel agent was very unresponsive to our communications. We had to call the company several times to get information. We booked transportation from airport to the hotel through Tripsite and were taken the wrong hotel. We had to find the correct hotel and get there on our own.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Ed D. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Each city or town visited was a treasure. Lot's to explore. The hotels were good, many in excellent locations. Breakfast was large. The bike riding was pleasant.

    Countries: Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Louise E. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Beautiful countries, great bikes and fun tour. Flexible dining seating would be preferred.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Darlene L. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Beauty of the Surroundings, intimate boat, fantastic food, met new great friends!
    Instructions for biking could have been better.. with mileage.. to better time management for return to boat. Cruise Director too pompous for me... had better.. but think his last tour with you

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Don D. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The normandie boat and crew was well run and has a nice flow to the week. Most memorable moment was Vienna concert operetta

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kerrie G. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the opportunity to cycle along the Danube and see more of the countryside and visit the small towns. Could have done without the wind though! Need to be prepared for all kinds of weather in October. Each day was different - Vienna and Budapest were amazing to visit (once again!).

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Peggy B. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I really loved the last day of the bicycling - we rode through the beautiful Wachau valley’s vineyards. The towns were quaint and the landscape was breathtaking! Also, we had a sunset while on the barge that was unforgettable.
    Tips: *Be ready to adapt and roll with things. If you want a boring, unexciting trip, take a bus! *You will be in close contact with lots of other people. If that makes you uncomfortable, maybe this is not the trip for you. *Bring some salty snacks and other electrolyte-replacers, especially if biking in warm weather, as these are not available on the ship.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Deirdre E. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Visiting wonderful towns and cities.
    We found that the bikes provided were very heavy, making them a bit tough to ride. We were there at the end of the season and the brakes on the bikes were worn out. The bike maintenance was not ideal

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Dennis H 5 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    The Theodor Korner is an older boat. A little loud sometimes with the bedrooms a little small. Otherwise, the dining room, the lounge, other areas – all were fine. The meals, both breakfast and dinner, were very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. And the tours, whether guided or on your own, were very-well organized and led.

    One problem with the Bike and Boat tour – the bikes. I do not consider them well-maintained. Mine had bad brakes and wobbly steering, leading to accidents. And the “sailors” responsible for maintaining them did not seem to have much of an interest in doing so. They were the least helpful people on the boat; it wasn’t even close.

    Would I go on another B&B tour? Yes, overall it was a lot of fun. Would I take the Theodor Korner? Maybe. Would I recommend that a biker INSIST upon a good working bike – no matter what you have to do, who you have to talk to? Absolutely.
    And good luck on your trip.

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary Joanne T. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The efficiency of collecting and dropping off the bike at the beginning and the end of the day could not have gone smoother. The guidebooks were very helpful though it would have been nice to have more information on sights along the way. The bikes were extremely comfortable and we had no issues. We are already planning on our next tour!

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
    by Phil C. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My trip from Passau to Budapest was what I hoped it would be. The original information and directions were excellent. However there was almost no communication with Rad+Riesen once the trip started. This was not really a problem except for one day when my hotel was changed without notifying me until I arrived at the wrong hotel. Luggage transfer was smooth and breakfasts were good. Generally a very positive experience with a bit of adventure. The trip from Passau to Vienna was smoother than from Vienna to Budapest in all aspects, but both were memorable and enjoyable.

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Susan P. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved biking though the country side and seeing the small towns along the way. I wish I could have spent a little more time in the small towns. I kind of felt like I had to keep moving. The bike trail itself was very well marked and I really didn't need to use the map much. Just looked where I was going next and how far it was that was really all I needed to get around. The people were lovely. We enjoyed meeting other bikers on their bike trip many from England and having a beer with them at our destination. The hotels were all great, most in historic buildings that have been redone to modern standards. This was my first bike trip would defiantly take another one, but would pay the extra money to get an e-bike.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Glenn M. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the biking. Most the trails were very nice and the scenery was beautiful.The most memorable part was probably the Wachau Valley. The bikes were very good. The rooms on the boat were good and the food was also plentiful and tasty.We enjoyed the entertainment put on by the crew.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Donna L. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The beauty. Flowers were in bloom, the orchards were full of apples, the green hillsides were gorgeous.
    The booklet we received would have been more helpful if received beforehand. The directions could have been much clearer, especially to the hotels.

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by kirk g. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Parts: cruising, dining, kitchen, bar, admin, cleaning staff - wonderful, friendly, helpful. couldn't be better
    food - very good variety and quality. lunches especially good
    cycling and tour director and staff - excellent every day with information, quality equipment, attention to questions
    ship public facilities - quite adequate quality and quantity. updating on decor is needed
    hotel staff - very nice, accommodating and efficient
    hotel - needs cleaning, air conditioning was not working every day, which was a problem. air quality was not great. updated decor is needed.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Adrienne N. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part? Biking along the Danube the first day in the beautiful countryside. Spectacular!!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Cathy K. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The biking was absolutely wonderful; so incredibly beautiful especially through the vineyards and orchards. The ride around Bratislava was not marked well at all and 90% of the riders got lost going in all different directions, thank God for smart phones. The food on board was well prepared, always hot and nutritional. Where this trip fell short was the crew abroad the Normandie. Unlike the other TWO Bike and Barge Trips I experienced, this crew was a bit unwelcoming, rude, and times condescending and scolding. Not everyone but it certainly was the feel on the boat and many were talking about it. I know the crew work long hours and they all have to help with most tasks on the boat; however, there would be nothing to do if WE weren't there. I absolutely love this way of travel and will do another one again very soon. This was NOT a Tripsite issue but am hopeful this information will be passed to the appropriate people. Tripsite has been excellent in providing information Read more… and always seems to offer a great deal.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Patrice W. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved the convenience of all the planning and coordinating by Tripsite which allowed my party to really enjoy the biking, hotels and experience of the trip. I was pleasantly surprised with the quality and care of the bikes which could make or break of this trip. Working with Tripsite was easy and pleasant.

    Countries: Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

PWPC