4 star rated Austria Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 100

 

 Country: Austria • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Peggy B. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I really loved the last day of the bicycling - we rode through the beautiful Wachau valley’s vineyards. The towns were quaint and the landscape was breathtaking! Also, we had a sunset while on the barge that was unforgettable.
    Tips: *Be ready to adapt and roll with things. If you want a boring, unexciting trip, take a bus! *You will be in close contact with lots of other people. If that makes you uncomfortable, maybe this is not the trip for you. *Bring some salty snacks and other electrolyte-replacers, especially if biking in warm weather, as these are not available on the ship.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Deirdre E. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Visiting wonderful towns and cities.
    We found that the bikes provided were very heavy, making them a bit tough to ride. We were there at the end of the season and the brakes on the bikes were worn out. The bike maintenance was not ideal

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Dennis H 2 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    The Theodor Korner is an older boat. A little loud sometimes with the bedrooms a little small. Otherwise, the dining room, the lounge, other areas – all were fine. The meals, both breakfast and dinner, were very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. And the tours, whether guided or on your own, were very-well organized and led.

    One problem with the Bike and Boat tour – the bikes. I do not consider them well-maintained. Mine had bad brakes and wobbly steering, leading to accidents. And the “sailors” responsible for maintaining them did not seem to have much of an interest in doing so. They were the least helpful people on the boat; it wasn’t even close.

    Would I go on another B&B tour? Yes, overall it was a lot of fun. Would I take the Theodor Korner? Maybe. Would I recommend that a biker INSIST upon a good working bike – no matter what you have to do, who you have to talk to? Absolutely.
    And good luck on your trip.

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary Joanne T. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The efficiency of collecting and dropping off the bike at the beginning and the end of the day could not have gone smoother. The guidebooks were very helpful though it would have been nice to have more information on sights along the way. The bikes were extremely comfortable and we had no issues. We are already planning on our next tour!

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
    by Phil C. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My trip from Passau to Budapest was what I hoped it would be. The original information and directions were excellent. However there was almost no communication with Rad+Riesen once the trip started. This was not really a problem except for one day when my hotel was changed without notifying me until I arrived at the wrong hotel. Luggage transfer was smooth and breakfasts were good. Generally a very positive experience with a bit of adventure. The trip from Passau to Vienna was smoother than from Vienna to Budapest in all aspects, but both were memorable and enjoyable.

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Susan P. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved biking though the country side and seeing the small towns along the way. I wish I could have spent a little more time in the small towns. I kind of felt like I had to keep moving. The bike trail itself was very well marked and I really didn't need to use the map much. Just looked where I was going next and how far it was that was really all I needed to get around. The people were lovely. We enjoyed meeting other bikers on their bike trip many from England and having a beer with them at our destination. The hotels were all great, most in historic buildings that have been redone to modern standards. This was my first bike trip would defiantly take another one, but would pay the extra money to get an e-bike.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Glenn M. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the biking. Most the trails were very nice and the scenery was beautiful.The most memorable part was probably the Wachau Valley. The bikes were very good. The rooms on the boat were good and the food was also plentiful and tasty.We enjoyed the entertainment put on by the crew.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Donna L. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The beauty. Flowers were in bloom, the orchards were full of apples, the green hillsides were gorgeous.
    The booklet we received would have been more helpful if received beforehand. The directions could have been much clearer, especially to the hotels.

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by kirk g. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Parts: cruising, dining, kitchen, bar, admin, cleaning staff - wonderful, friendly, helpful. couldn't be better
    food - very good variety and quality. lunches especially good
    cycling and tour director and staff - excellent every day with information, quality equipment, attention to questions
    ship public facilities - quite adequate quality and quantity. updating on decor is needed
    hotel staff - very nice, accommodating and efficient
    hotel - needs cleaning, air conditioning was not working every day, which was a problem. air quality was not great. updated decor is needed.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Adrienne N. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part? Biking along the Danube the first day in the beautiful countryside. Spectacular!!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Cathy K. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The biking was absolutely wonderful; so incredibly beautiful especially through the vineyards and orchards. The ride around Bratislava was not marked well at all and 90% of the riders got lost going in all different directions, thank God for smart phones. The food on board was well prepared, always hot and nutritional. Where this trip fell short was the crew abroad the Normandie. Unlike the other TWO Bike and Barge Trips I experienced, this crew was a bit unwelcoming, rude, and times condescending and scolding. Not everyone but it certainly was the feel on the boat and many were talking about it. I know the crew work long hours and they all have to help with most tasks on the boat; however, there would be nothing to do if WE weren't there. I absolutely love this way of travel and will do another one again very soon. This was NOT a Tripsite issue but am hopeful this information will be passed to the appropriate people. Tripsite has been excellent in providing information Read more… and always seems to offer a great deal.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Patrice W. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved the convenience of all the planning and coordinating by Tripsite which allowed my party to really enjoy the biking, hotels and experience of the trip. I was pleasantly surprised with the quality and care of the bikes which could make or break of this trip. Working with Tripsite was easy and pleasant.

    Countries: Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Scott S. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Cycling and travel along the Danube River. Still more markings on the Bike routes.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Roger P. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Food & last day of riding + Vienna

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by Tom H. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip this segment of the Danube cycle path is nearly 100% paved and very smooth. It is relatively easy to follow the cycle path route markings. The GPS maps I was sent did not work for this segment. They worked fine from regensburg to passau so probably not user error. The cycle path is really popular with cyclists but never too crowded even though not everyone has good bike handling skill so you need to pay attention. Maps provided to hotels are not very good however people I talked to with other trip companies had the same issues and in several different languages people we met were helpful and anxious to provide
    information. Hotels were all very pleasant and comfortable even though it was very hot and they did not have air conditioning.

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sarah H. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed Wachau. Definitely stop for the wine tour, and enjoy the biking through the vineyards. It was absolutely beautiful.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Susan B. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the trails that ran close to the sea shore, as well as passing through the small towns. It’s really important to watch the signage along the way in order to stay on course. It’s sometimes challenging to locate the overnight spots based on the descriptions in the tour materials. They would be better if they provided more detail.

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by John H. 4 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic Value; super helpful staff. Only 80 riders. Very friendly guests attracted. Beautiful sights. Good food. Bikes heavy and clunky with no choice in quality except electric. Excellent trip overall.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by SUSAN C. 4 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    Briefing by tour director daily with clear instructions on the following days ride. Highlighting and suggestions where to break for coffee and lunch, and points of interest along the way.
    Breakfast and evening meal was delicious.
    A great range of reasonably priced good quality bike attire, including wet weather jackets ,and bike helmets for sale.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Karen F. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike and barge tour was great! The bike route along the Danube was easy to follow but sometimes the days seemed repetitive. We found the last day of riding the most picturesque. The boat crew was awesome- everyone spoke English well except for the tour guide who struggled with communicating the day to day instructions. The food was very good and plentiful.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Scott A. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding in the foothills/vinyards in Austria. Stopping for a beer and a slice of homemade cake at a hotel on the trail.
    The boat was too slow traveling upstream against heavy current. This meant we were late in docking for our next ride. Yes, the current was heavy but this is likely to happen every spring.

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Michael H. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part? The nice people on the boat

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lorne H. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Earlier this year (May), my wife and I did the 4 country bike - barge tour, on the Danube. First I have to remark that everything "Tripsite" advertised was delivered at what we thought to be a reasonable price. In spite of unusually cold (damp) weather, our first experience (s) in Passau, Bratislava, Budapest and Vienna were very memorable highlights. However, aboard the "Normandie" we did have some concerns with the overall tour management. There were some particularly disappointing moments with an apparent strategy to keep the English speaking guests, and non-english speaking guests (mostly German) separated? For our part, we were keen to mingle - assimilate with all the guests aboard. That should not reflect our overall impression of the boat crew, who were very courteous and helpful.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Patricia C. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Sailing down the Danube at night under the full moon we witnessed the beautiful lighted bridges and magnificent buildings of Vienna. It was magical!

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Alex Zucosky 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a great experience. Andreas was a wonderful tour director/leader. 2 weeks aloud us to have a great experience. As this was the ship's first cruise of the year we did experience a problem with our room but Andreas resolved the problem promptly and provided some compensation for our troubles. The crew provided excellent service. The meals were better than expected( I am not a gourmet but enjoyed every meal). the bike routes were very interesting. Our only issue was with the a/c but as this was an older ship some things are not always up to modern standards. Great value.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Gayle D. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Simple the thrill of cycling through Europe along the Danube River.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ken S. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the Abbey in Melk, Tulln Gardens and the short walk about tour in Bratislavia

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary B. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was sitting on the top deck in the evening, wrapped in a blanket, watching the clouds sail past the moon as the barge moved on to our next city on the Danube.
    Ensure you respond to the call to choose a table for meals on the barge if you wish to sit with or close to friends.
    Stay an extra night in Passau if you have the time...there is a lot to see and do.
    If possible, do some cycling before your trip to prepare you for the daily tours.
    If you would prefer to cycle with a guide let your agent know and they may be able to arrange it. It may be an option and worth an extra cost if it would make your trip more enjoyable.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Innsbruck to Venice
    by Kathy Feeley 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We found the signage very poor on this tour especially getting out of Verona.We ended up out in the suburbs for 3 hours and wasted half a day,getting tired and frustrated.Please improve this ,it would make the trip more enjoyable.Green arrows need to be much more frequently placed.Sometimes we got to a T intersection and even with the instruction book had no clue which way to turn.
    Bikes were great!
    Hotel in Padua was not in a nice area,though close to the station.Did not feel safe at night given all the refugees hanging around outside the hotel
    Generally the hotels would be better if they were closer to the town center in each city
    Scenery lovely ,some great countryside and villages.Enjoyed the trip but stressed out looking for green arrows that we often could not find.Definitely need GPS.

    Countries: Austria, Italy

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lisa H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The beautiful bike paths along the Danube and the great food on the MS Arkona. Found the unguided bike tour confusing. Comfortable beds but loud vibrating boat motor at night made it impossible to sleep. Yay sleeping pills.

    Boat: Arkona

PWPC