4 Star Austria Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 118

4.6 out of 5

 


Bob M.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

St. Moritz to Innsbruck
Austria, Switzerland

This trip reaffirmed by previous experiences that dealing directly with a local provider is the best way to go for overseas bike tours. Although Tripsite was excellent in their pre-trip work, their local partner -- EuroBike -- left a lot to be desired. And, once you are at the site of your trip, Tripsite has nothing to offer, so you are in the hands of their partner. The problems with EuroBike start with this unsolvable fact: They are NOT located in Switzerland. As their name implies, they run trips all over Europe. So when we needed an extra ebike, they couldn't come through. When we had problems with the ebikes we did have, they couldn't come through. The bike mapping they supplied was in German; we speak English. More unacceptable was the fact they were not aware of several sections of the Inn River Bike Trail that had been closed since the huge spring snow runoff had wiped out two bridges and closed several kilometers of trail. Their mapping notes provided NO alternate Read More

Wyn D.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

Well organised, with bikes made available as required, bags portaged without incident, accommodation arranged as planned.
Overall good organisation albeit the bikes with their infinitely variable in hub gears seemed less efficient than conventional bikes.

Ann R.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The scenery was wonderful and the biking very enjoyable. It was a nice balance between biking and being about to see the sights. Especially loved the day in Vienna. It was all lovely.

Henk G.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arlene II Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Nature, food, organisation
Only BIG problem was engine trouble which delayed arrival in Passau by 5 hours and complicated the next part of our vacation

Peggy O.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Great biking and lovely boat.

Chris A.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Riding up towards the on the water stage in Bergenz was amazing. You could see it from quite a distance which built anticipation. We walked around the seating area and read all of the informational signs (presented in German and English) and took lots of photos.

Simone C.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I loved the trip. The crew was very attentive, the itinerary was beautiful, the meals positively surprised me, the room was well equipped and spacious. I recommend the tour.

Carol M.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The food was fabulous! 5 star for sure.
I would suggest either doing a cycling tour or sightseeing tour but not combining them.We had to rush to get back to the boat from cycling sometimes.
Not enough small towns/villages when we cycled on this tour. The tour guide was extremely bad.

R Lynn B.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary, Serbia, Romania

Wonderful trip through 7 countries with breathtaking scenery. Biking most days about 25-30 miles on mostly excellent bike paths.Fun day stops in Vienna and Budapest. Most excursions for dinner or entertainment well worth it!
Be sure to ride prior to going otherwise get the electric assisted but also need to ride and have cycling shorts/gear.
Great trip!!

Marie R.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The staff was fantastic, food was great, bikes were good. Met great folks there at the dinner table. Enjoyed being able to have walking tours in Vienna and Budapest, broke the week up nicely.

peter b.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arlene II Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Our trip was changed as the boat had a broken rudder and not able to be fixed by the time we started. The people involved int he tour then changed it to a bike and hotel trip which was great.
Memorable part of the trip was seeing all the small towns along the way. The bigger towns were ok but the smaller ones were better

Barry M.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

Best part: Biking into Vienna

Susan L.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The entire trip was memorable. Great scenery, small towns and villages, very friendly people. It's great meeting new people from varied countries and backgrounds. Having a guide and local tours really enhanced the experience.

Our only complaint is that our travel agent was very unresponsive to our communications. We had to call the company several times to get information. We booked transportation from airport to the hotel through Tripsite and were taken the wrong hotel. We had to find the correct hotel and get there on our own.

Ed D.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Each city or town visited was a treasure. Lot's to explore. The hotels were good, many in excellent locations. Breakfast was large. The bike riding was pleasant.

Louise E.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Beautiful countries, great bikes and fun tour. Flexible dining seating would be preferred.

Darlene L.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The Beauty of the Surroundings, intimate boat, fantastic food, met new great friends!
Instructions for biking could have been better.. with mileage.. to better time management for return to boat. Cruise Director too pompous for me... had better.. but think his last tour with you

Don D.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The normandie boat and crew was well run and has a nice flow to the week. Most memorable moment was Vienna concert operetta

Kerrie G.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Loved the opportunity to cycle along the Danube and see more of the countryside and visit the small towns. Could have done without the wind though! Need to be prepared for all kinds of weather in October. Each day was different - Vienna and Budapest were amazing to visit (once again!).

Peggy B.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I really loved the last day of the bicycling - we rode through the beautiful Wachau valley’s vineyards. The towns were quaint and the landscape was breathtaking! Also, we had a sunset while on the barge that was unforgettable.
Tips: *Be ready to adapt and roll with things. If you want a boring, unexciting trip, take a bus! *You will be in close contact with lots of other people. If that makes you uncomfortable, maybe this is not the trip for you. *Bring some salty snacks and other electrolyte-replacers, especially if biking in warm weather, as these are not available on the ship.

Deirdre E.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Most Memorable Part: Visiting wonderful towns and cities.
We found that the bikes provided were very heavy, making them a bit tough to ride. We were there at the end of the season and the brakes on the bikes were worn out. The bike maintenance was not ideal

Dennis H
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

The Theodor Korner is an older boat. A little loud sometimes with the bedrooms a little small. Otherwise, the dining room, the lounge, other areas – all were fine. The meals, both breakfast and dinner, were very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. And the tours, whether guided or on your own, were very-well organized and led.

One problem with the Bike and Boat tour – the bikes. I do not consider them well-maintained. Mine had bad brakes and wobbly steering, leading to accidents. And the “sailors” responsible for maintaining them did not seem to have much of an interest in doing so. They were the least helpful people on the boat; it wasn’t even close.

Would I go on another B&B tour? Yes, overall it was a lot of fun. Would I take the Theodor Korner? Maybe. Would I recommend that a biker INSIST upon a good working bike – no matter what you have to do, who you have to talk to? Absolutely.
And good luck on your trip.

Mary Joanne T.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The efficiency of collecting and dropping off the bike at the beginning and the end of the day could not have gone smoother. The guidebooks were very helpful though it would have been nice to have more information on sights along the way. The bikes were extremely comfortable and we had no issues. We are already planning on our next tour!

Phil C.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

My trip from Passau to Budapest was what I hoped it would be. The original information and directions were excellent. However there was almost no communication with Rad+Riesen once the trip started. This was not really a problem except for one day when my hotel was changed without notifying me until I arrived at the wrong hotel. Luggage transfer was smooth and breakfasts were good. Generally a very positive experience with a bit of adventure. The trip from Passau to Vienna was smoother than from Vienna to Budapest in all aspects, but both were memorable and enjoyable.

Susan P.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

I loved biking though the country side and seeing the small towns along the way. I wish I could have spent a little more time in the small towns. I kind of felt like I had to keep moving. The bike trail itself was very well marked and I really didn't need to use the map much. Just looked where I was going next and how far it was that was really all I needed to get around. The people were lovely. We enjoyed meeting other bikers on their bike trip many from England and having a beer with them at our destination. The hotels were all great, most in historic buildings that have been redone to modern standards. This was my first bike trip would defiantly take another one, but would pay the extra money to get an e-bike.

Glenn M.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We really enjoyed the biking. Most the trails were very nice and the scenery was beautiful.The most memorable part was probably the Wachau Valley. The bikes were very good. The rooms on the boat were good and the food was also plentiful and tasty.We enjoyed the entertainment put on by the crew.

Donna L.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The beauty. Flowers were in bloom, the orchards were full of apples, the green hillsides were gorgeous.
The booklet we received would have been more helpful if received beforehand. The directions could have been much clearer, especially to the hotels.

kirk g.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary, Serbia, Romania

Best Parts: cruising, dining, kitchen, bar, admin, cleaning staff - wonderful, friendly, helpful. couldn't be better
food - very good variety and quality. lunches especially good
cycling and tour director and staff - excellent every day with information, quality equipment, attention to questions
ship public facilities - quite adequate quality and quantity. updating on decor is needed
hotel staff - very nice, accommodating and efficient
hotel - needs cleaning, air conditioning was not working every day, which was a problem. air quality was not great. updated decor is needed.

Adrienne N.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Best Part? Biking along the Danube the first day in the beautiful countryside. Spectacular!!

Cathy K.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The biking was absolutely wonderful; so incredibly beautiful especially through the vineyards and orchards. The ride around Bratislava was not marked well at all and 90% of the riders got lost going in all different directions, thank God for smart phones. The food on board was well prepared, always hot and nutritional. Where this trip fell short was the crew abroad the Normandie. Unlike the other TWO Bike and Barge Trips I experienced, this crew was a bit unwelcoming, rude, and times condescending and scolding. Not everyone but it certainly was the feel on the boat and many were talking about it. I know the crew work long hours and they all have to help with most tasks on the boat; however, there would be nothing to do if WE weren't there. I absolutely love this way of travel and will do another one again very soon. This was NOT a Tripsite issue but am hopeful this information will be passed to the appropriate people. Tripsite has been excellent in providing information and always seems to offer a great deal.

Patrice W.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

I loved the convenience of all the planning and coordinating by Tripsite which allowed my party to really enjoy the biking, hotels and experience of the trip. I was pleasantly surprised with the quality and care of the bikes which could make or break of this trip. Working with Tripsite was easy and pleasant.