3 star rated Austria Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 32

 

 Country: Austria • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube-Passau-Belgrade-Vienna aboard the Primadonna
    by Brian O. 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The boat and staff were nice.
    Food was plentiful and good
    Our hotel the night before did not have our registration, very difficult to get anyone on a phone
    The people we picked up the bikes from were surly and just plain painful
    The bike was the same weight as a Sherman tank
    The boat was poorly equipped for handling bikes although the crew worked hard to make it less painful
    We never had enough time to ride and see the sights, we were always under the gun to get back to the boat
    Really thought we were going to be able to sit and have lunches and drinks and see all the sights during our rides
    As it turned out there was only one day where we weren’t in a deadly hurray and even that day we had 20 minutes to drink a beer at a local outside bar
    Came back in the dark often, dangerous
    Directions we revived sucked! Language interpretation was always an issue
    The boat was often not where we expected it to be when we returned
    Read more… >Still enjoyed my vacation but it could have been so much better

    Boat: Primadonna

    Countries: Germany, Serbia, Austria

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Paula P. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We very much enjoyed this trip but it was a real adventure. At times I felt we were filming an episode for the Amazing Race! The maps we were provided with were very confusing. For example, we were not made aware that we had to make a detour as portions of the National Park were closed. Google Maps wasn't much help as they do not provide bicycle routes for Slovakia and Hungary. Fortunately, other cyclists told us to download the MAPS.ME app and this was a real life saver. I would advise anyone doing this trip to use this app or have some sort of GPS. We encountered other cyclists that were travelling with other companies that were provided with far more detailed maps, yet they too had difficulty. A GPS is a must.

    We were dismayed that on a couple of occasions our luggage left unattended in the lobby area of hotels. I feel the luggage should always be stored in a secure area.

    Countries: Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

  • Prague to Vienna
    by George W. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Krumlov, Telc and Znojmo are truly heritage towns, and worth more time than we had to explore them. Moravia in general is a great biking area, with more and prettier villages and squares.

  • Prague to Vienna
    by Leonie R. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Lovely countryside, getting lost a lot. I would strongly recommend that the company heavily promotes the trip ap, as directions often were not clear and we got lost a lot. Due to type of hybrid bike and being lost there was not time to fully explore the region - so I would recommend the use of e bikes or shorter days.
    Also reminding people that nothing is open on Sundays and most small towns did not have any shops for food/drink.

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Ronald B. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We thoroughly enjoyed our cycling trip , the sceneries were absolutely beautiful.
    We were disappointed to learn , three days prior to our departure from Canada, the MS Arlene 11 was in repairs and not be ready for our departure date.Trip Site offered alternatives,using the same route the group were accommodated in hotels along the way .The group did NOT have any representatives at any hotels from Trip Site except a very brief meeting on our very first night.We were basically left on our own , with somewhat mediocre instructions to and from city hotels.
    Allowing for a scénario that was beyond their controls, we would have appreciated TripSite going further to assure the comfort and reliability in this unfortunate incident.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Karen J. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Getting lost the second day!
    No guide and I heard all were getting lost!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Bonnie B. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding along the Danube offered many beautiful vistas. The bikes were great, the seats very comfortable, which made for a nice ride. We met some fun people on board although a greater mix of English speaking to German speaking would have been even better. Suggestions as mentioned to Tripsite staff would be to make this tour guided (the entire group of 100 passengers were lost on several days which minimized the opportunity to make it to some of the sites), to include ferries in the pricing, so that passengers aren't always searching to make sure they have cash (our previous trip included the ferries so wasn't an issue.), and the excursions were sometimes canceled so these could also be improved. All in all we had fun and the cabin staff took great care of our rooms...I'd make a different selection though next time.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sally 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is my 3rd bike/boat tour, and the 1st unguided. I love to travel this way. But the number of people on the boat -- 100 -- were just too many for the crew to serve in any special way. The food and accommodations were excellent. The cruise director and schedule were below average. Out of 7 days, there were 4 days of biking -- 3 of these were spectacular along the Danube. The Wachau ride was simply stunning. However, the ride around Bratislava featured few, if any, interesting attractions, and many of us got lost. The cruise director suggested stopping at a restaurant as a highlight of the day -- but the restaurant was not in operation. The briefings for English speakers were later than those for the Germans and we were then constrained by the boat schedule in the afternoon -- making at least 2 of the biking days a dash to finish the ride and get back on time -- not leisurely and not affording us to stop much. All the staff on the boat work really hard and it shows. But I prefer a Read more… guided tour with a smaller group and boat for better biking and a better overall experience.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jennifer S. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The journey and visiting the 4 capitols was the best.
    However too many people on the boat - the noise level in the dining room was excessive. The cruise director was obnoxious especially towards women and favored the Germans on the boat. Our group of 18 was split into 3 tables and we always sat with the same people. Never mixed with other groups.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Slovenia
    by Heather H. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    From the US it was very difficult, time consuming and costly to get to Radenci, Slovenia and from Lendava back to the airport. Except Lendava, the villages had little to offer for additional tourism and places to eat. The Mineral Spas were mainly full of elderly and some families. Not really an exciting place for 30-40 year olds without kids. The countryside was pretty but in my opinion not worth the extensive travel. I would like to go back to Slovenia but to the west side of the country.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Cathy 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is my 3rd trip with Tripsite and they do a good job...but the instructions to the boat were a tad misleading. If there are detours/changes, I believe they should keep on top of that and be sure to report to their customers.The bike ride was amazing. The scenery was like all the other reviews stated......I would NOT recommend the ride in Vienna or Budapest; way to much traffic. The crew was not customer focused. The cruise director/bike tour director, Monica, was often short and rude to passengers. Unlike the other 2 trips I took, the crew was not welcoming or eager to help. There were a few in housekeeping and wait staff that were nice. The captain was cold and never engaged at all with the passengers. This is NOT a tripsite issue but this crew needed a kick in the pants from above to treat the passages better........recommend the trip but I hope you don't get this negative crew.....

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Wendy R. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is a great way to see four capital cities (Bratislava, Belgrade, Budapest and Vienna as well as get in 10 days of cycling! It's also fairly low mileage (less than 35 miles per day) but training to prepare is still a must. The scenery is very nice and it is about half on roads - mostly slower village streets. The group of people we dined with and rode with were all terrific and we all worked together to find our way since our tour was unguided. The days when you visit the cities can be a little overwhelming - so my advice is to pick one or two things you really want to see beforehand and focus on getting to those. At least in the summer the crowds were large in Vienna, Budapest and Bratislava. As for boat living - the dinners were tasty and served by a friendly staff each evening but I'm vegetarian so I had much more of a struggle with getting any protein. I would have also appreciated a little variety with the breakfasts and lunches. My advice also is to avoid Read more… the hotter weather months like July or August - we had days of over 90 degrees which made cycling tough - but the Theodor Korner is not well air conditioned either. Overall it was a nice trip and certainly the staff was terrific!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Donna G. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part: Interactions with passengers from around the world

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Janis B. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery, hotels and food were great. People were very friendly. The maps for this self-guided trip around Lake Constance were not detailed enough, did not provide information for intersections and turns. We had many times that we did not which way to go. Definitely need better maps.

  • Innsbruck to Bolzano
    by Barry N. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It’s quite difficult to review this trip as there were many great experiences like the scenery after we escaped the narrow valley from Innsbruck to about Imst but there were some cons. In the beginning of the trip we felt the cycle path, even though fantastic to have, was often too close to the railway or an autobahn (and the associated noise) to make for wonderful riding.
    The hotels and half board were mostly good but some noisy and the one in Imst not only noisy but also the food was definitely (for half board), poor.
    Some hotels were standouts - the small excellent hotel in Mals and the food in the hotel in Meran.
    The guides were not accurate with addendums with corrections and GPS (as per our previous bike trip) would have been better.

    Countries: Austria, Italy

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Estela B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is a great tour, with wonderful cities to visit and scenic bike rides. The barge was perfect, great food and service. We enjoyed the evening music and dancing very much. A heat wave happened while we were there, so we had a great time on the sun deck
    I was not as happy with the bikes. I was in charge of a group of 25 and at least 6 of them had bike issues: brakes that worked only in the front or back, e-bikes that only assisted when pedaling at full throttle, and more. Even though we reported this, and we were told they would fix the bikes, in reality the bikes were not repaired by the next day, and it took time and effort to get them replaced. I expected more from Rad & Reisen, the bike company. Also there was very little instruction on how to use the e-bikes. My suggestion is to have a person at the dock on the first day to give a 10 minute one-on-one instruction on the e-bike and make the person do a little test ride. It was not as intuitive how to use them if you Read more… never have done it.
    Another issue that could have been better is a bigger, clearer map on how to get to the path from the barge location. That part is usually the hardest.
    All that said, it was still a nice, memorable trip.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by Florence B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is a great ride, if you use the right company. We used Tripsite, who contracted Austria Radreisen, not the company to use. We were told that Austria Redreisen would meet us at the hotel in Passau the day before the trip was to start...they did not show( a competitor company, Donau, spent 2 hours with their clients, in our hotel). We tried to contact Austria Radreisen at their 'emergency' number...no one answer/no answering machine. The day the tour was to start, they delivered two bikes which were extremely heavy, and with 7 speed changers....we had specifically ordered 21 speed hybrids. The bikes were delivered by the person who picked up the suitcases, and we were told by him that he had no knowledge of how the bikes worked...we were on our own to figure them out. In spite of being in good physical condition, we found the bikes very difficult to use, as they would not coast. After 2 days with the heavy bikes, we had to take a day off as we were exhausted. Read more… Thanks to the help of a receptionist at the Courtyard Marriot in Linz, the company delivered replacement 21 speed hybrids(which we should have received in the first place) at our next hotel (we had to take the train to get there), which we used with no problems the rest of the way. The hotels provided by the company were excellent, and the travel maps adequate. We certainly will not go with this company again when we plan our next bike tour.

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Mary R. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The cruise through the iron gate was a highlight of this trip. Cruise director did a great job throughout the cruise. Weather was much warmer than average and many days of biking were at 90 degrees F on roads and trails with little cover or shade so were somewhat more difficult than anticipated. It was a great experience but people need to be aware that most of the riding in the Eastern European countries are on the side of roads sometimes without a bike lane and there was some traffic.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Karen K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The last day of our trip we cycled through small towns and vineyards. Stopped at a beautiful small church and were able to hear the choir practicing. We (6 of us) will never forget that part of the trip.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Barbara M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Scenery que sheets needed to be more precise. Several of us got lost on our last day and therefore couldn't tour the Melk Abbey. I was very disappointed we ended up biking 50 miles instead of 26.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Judee W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding the Danube was the most memorable part. This trip was trying to do too many things for too many diverse folks at one time. A bike trip and a boat trip are different experiences. For biking, I think a smaller boat with more cycling is important. The staff worked hard with several languages, those who wanted to sun, those who wanted to tour cities, and those of us who wanted to bike: tough job. They did a great job, but for bikers, I think another option should be recommended. There was a great deal of confusion because of the diversity of activities. The cyclists actually lost a full day of cycling due to conflicts/changes/who knows? Descriptions of the next day's activities were very confusing, because they were trying to give instructions for a variety of different folks. We were always wondering, confused about our ride instructions for the next day. Thank goodness for the bike guides who tried their best to keep us informed!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Deborah M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking through the wine country around Melk. The villages were amazing and the people were friendly. I'm only 5'2" and the bike's weren't a good fit for me I needed a smaller frame but none were available. The bike I was given for the 1st day of riding was in very poor condition which made the first 27 mile ride rather uncomfortable but several people complained and the staff fixed the bikes. Make sure you get on your bike the 1st day as early as they will let you so there is time for fixes if needed before the boat leaves and you need to ride off on your first journey.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Steve C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    While the scenery was wonderful, I don't think that I could recommend this type travel to someone who would like to take more time to see the sites. This tour, just in my opinion, is much better suited for someone prioritizing cycling over site seeing. I (and some others in my group) discussed how there was a "rushed" feeling to the trip. That being said, the itinerary is posted online for all to make an informed decision. Lastly, there was almost a sense that we, the customers, were an inconvenience to many of the staff until the second to last day when there was an announcement that a tipping envelope would be left in each cabin. Staff personalities completely changed for the better on the last day and a half. This opinion was quietly shared by most of us who had done this type of tour numerous times before.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jennifer Formolo 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food and scenery were magnificent. The boat was better than I had expected. Don't pay extra for the upper deck cabins on the Normandie because they are identical with the exception of being able to open the window on the upper deck. Our tour guide was rude. He spent a lot of time talking to the Germans and very little time talking in English. He scolded us if we asked questions that could be found in our book or were only relevant to the next day's bike trip. Peter at the front desk was also very rude. He made you feel stupid for asking any questions. He is in the tourist business and should expect questions and answer them gracefully. I wouldn't tell someone to avoid this trip, because of the beauty, but don't expect a lot from the staff. The rest of the staff were quite nice, but there were three men that should not be in this business!!

  • Munich to Salzburg
    by Vickie Butte 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Yes, but only to the most experienced rider as the route is very diverse and at times rugged which would be very difficult for the average rider. coupled w/the bike/equipment is substandard making the ride even more difficult than it should be.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Mari Jo Krebs 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We prefer guided trips because we miss the guides knowledge of area. We start riding and don't take time to check out the sights

  • Wine Trail between Prague and Vienna
    by Brandan Hardie 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Tough for an American who doesn't speak German... Our shortcomings, and the only reason I might not recommend it but nothing wrong with the trip.

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Cecil Harris 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    One of our hotels was not up to our expectations or the trip rating. Most of our maps/directions were good but missed a detour/construction.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Deborah Stone 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Accommodations were too cramped. Our first boat trip had more adequate rooms.
    Breakfast was great but supper was so so. Not good vegetarian options .

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Marilyn Kerfoot 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Main reasons for not recommending: Too many people. I would prefer a smaller group especially for lunches and stops along the way. Too much time needed for logistics with such a large group. (That being said, Leslie and the crew did a great job being as efficient as possible with this given the numbers involved.) The trip was marketed as meals all included. However, it was clear that we were "expected" to eat lunch at restaurants during our biking days. That would have been okay except we were always at the same place as dozens of other people (mostly people from our own boat who had not elected to take the guided trip option) so that the experience was not at all enjoyable. The restaurant staff were obviously harried at having to deal with such a large group at one time.
    We always seemed to be in a rush to get back to the boat before its departure. I hadn't realized that the boat would have such a tight schedule to get from one docking point to another. I Read more… would have paid slightly more to have better food. There was way too much pork served; I felt starved for good quality, fresh vegetables by the time the tour ended.

    Boat: My Story

PWPC