5 star rated Austria Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 379

 

 Country: Austria • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ann V. 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I can't really choose one memory as the whole trip was absolutely wonderful on and off the barge. The food, accommodations, and staff were absolutely top-notch, they didn't miss a beat. Loved cycling through the beautiful scenery of the rural, small-town areas, and the opportunity to visit several of the larger cities with the added excursions. I wish I had researched the area of the tour beforehand to familiarize myself with its history.
    I would have liked a more detailed daily map of the route with distances between landmarks noted. We missed several turns but were able to get back on track. Also one of our bikes in our group of ten did not shift properly even after being replaced, making for a frustrating experience. All that being said we will definitely do another bike and barge trip.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Russell S. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a great bicycle tour. I would certainly recommend it. Although Tripsite is a re-seller/partner with Radweg-Reisen GmbH they were able to provide great detail, lots of help and were quick to answer questions.
    The tour itself was great. Most of the hotels were wonderful, just a few exceptions lowered the overall rating for this trip. The detailed maps, provided by Radweg-Reisen GmbH we quite impressive. The overall signage along the trail was great, once you understood the various signs, logos, and colors.
    The bicycles were good solid, well equipped - no mirrors though :( Panniers were large and very waterproof (we did get rained on).
    Overall, a great trip.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Chereda B. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent cruise director, wonderful bike trails with good instructions as to how to follow them, excellent food. It was a great trip.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Cindy R. 1 month ago         Verified Reviewer

    The Vinyards were amazing to bike thru. Beauty all around. It was a Breathtaking day that I will always remember.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Colin F. 1 month ago         Verified Reviewer

    This tour was very well organized and it was a fabulous trip. We did the self guided bicycle tour and it was was easy to follow the suggested cycling route. The tour director, Andreas, did an excellent job providing us with information every day about the cycling route and he made the trip flow smoothly. Our boat did not go to Bratislava because of the water level of the Danube, so we spent an extra day in Vienna. There was an optional bus trip to Bratislava for the afternoon.
    The scenery along the Danube was beautiful. We really enjoyed meeting interesting people from all over the world and socializing with them afterwards in the bar. Our tip: if you want to book a Tripsite tour, do it early because the rooms fill up fast. We waited too long and got the last room on the Theodor Körner, an eco bunk bed room.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Prague to Vienna
    by Katherine G. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every moment was memorable. From the moment Vitek appeared with my wonderful bicycle and a pile of maps..... to my arrival in Vienna - it was a great adventure from beginning to end. And I could NOT have asked for anything more.
    I felt very well cared for by your staff and it was reassuring to be provided with multiple ways to handle problems along the way - although none came up.
    The countryside of Bohemia and Moravia was glorious, fall is a great time of year to travel. I loved the flexibility to doing a self-guided trip. My hotels were perfect and welcoming, the route easy to comprehend with extra ideas of what to see and do at every turn.
    I cannot thank you guys enough for a 'trip to remember'.
    Sincerely, Kathy Greene

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Janice M. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our Danube 4-Country bike and boat tour, Our ship the Carissima was very comfortable and the staff were great. The food was amazing- beautifully prepared and good variety for meat eaters and vegetarians alike. The bike trails were easy to follow for the most part and the scenery spectacular. We had so many memorable moments. One of the highlights were the bonds we formed with our fellow passengers. We got to meet some terrific people who became instant friends and who we will stay in touch with.
    My only suggestion would be to provide easier trail maps and directions. The briefings were helpful, but hard to remember all the details. Finding our way at times was a comedy of errors and we muddled through with other fellow riders. I guess all part of the experience.
    Overall an amazing trip and would highly recommend to others.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Christine A. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Self guiding our way along the Danube through amazing countryside.

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Darren B. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Touring on bike different areas of the Danube and meeting new people that were enjoying the same sites.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Debra N. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the arrival by night in Budapest! It was unexpectedly gorgeous with all the lighted bridges and buildings. Truly amazing. Fireworks were an unexpected highlight of the evening in Linz which just happened to have a celebration. Our third highlight was the last biking day through the Wachau Valley--such beautiful vineyards and small villages! One tip: bring a multi USB plug and more than one adaptor for use in the room.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Ida L. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part: Dancing the polka with local croatians. Thank goodness a fellow tripster took a video

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Maureen B. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of this trip to me was the Operetta symphony concert at Schlosspark in Vienna. This is an experience that no one should miss.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Scott A. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I would definitely recommend this tour. Hotels were all first class. Luggage was always at hotel no matter how early we arrived. No complaints on any part of the tour. We did use GPS on route which was helpful especially when trying to find hotels.

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Chris S. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I just completed the 7 day tour and had a wonderful time. The cycle trail around Lake Constance is mostly dedicated bike trail and the many towns and villages are beautiful. We did side trips to both Reichenau and Mainau islands. Reichenau island is near the bike pickup location in Constance and is an easy warm-up ride. Mainau island is well worth a couple of hours. We used standard bike which were fine (we are both in our 60s) but most people seemed to have e-bikes. Highly recommend this tour.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jean B. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Just returned from this trip on the Carissima and it was a wonderful way to see the Danube. Booked the guided package and Axle was wonderful-took us to out of the way places we never would've found on our own and no other guests saw. Glad we rented Ebikes as there were a few long climbs and stiff winds several times. Kalkoff bikes are fantastic! Light rain a few days but nothing which impeded our rides--just be sure and take waterproof everything so you can still bike. Crew on the Carissima are great--rooms are clean, beds comfy, sufficient air con, nice hot water and water pressure in the bathroom. No real TV except a European sports channel and a few other Austrian channels--we didn't miss it at all. Meals were good but VERY small portions at dinner--not a problem for us but others complained. House white wine was good, red not so much. Packed lunch consists of a bottle of water, small sandwiches, fruit and granola bars--sufficient but we opted to eat at a local cafe Read more… a few times when we stopped. Two complaints: the boat doesn't dock at town centers every night so you can wander around and hit a pub or listen to some live music. Understandably some nights its moving and a few guests complained that the lower deck cabins were very noisy, especially when going through locks. In Passau, it docks several miles from the town center, and we were told there were only SEVEN taxis in the entire city and nearly impossible to get one. So the cruise director, Albert, said he hired a bus to take us to the train station upon disembarking, and the charge was 15 Euros per person. For a 10 minute ride--he only took cash and gave no receipts. This is highway robbery given that upon arrival in Passau we hired a taxi at a cost of 10 Euro for 2 of us. We would've taken a chance on an Uber but the ship was over 30 minutes late getting into Passau and we had a tight train connection on Sunday. We didn't do any of the optional activities however others said they enjoyed the concert in Vienna, but no one liked the Hungarian Folk Show in Budapest. Be sure and hike up to St. Mattias Church in Budapest at night--the view is spectacular! Finally, the Danube shoreline is largely undeveloped (a great thing), so you don't see a lot of towns and villages-I mention this because lines like Viking and AMA promote their balconies,huge window walls and gyms/spas/etc-and charge thousands of dollars more for the same itinerary-but you're not ON the boat for about 8 hours of the day, and when you are, 90% of the time you're looking at trees. If we'd spent $5000/pp to do this trip we'd have been really disappointed--bottom line--this trip is a great VALUE and you're seeing what everyone else sees. This was our second trip with Tripsite after doing the Tulip Tour last spring, and again they handled everything flawlessly--another couple on our trip also booked with them and said the same. Very satisfied and looking forward to our Mantova to Venice bike and barge trip next year-

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Francine P. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was a real memorable trip. Everybody in our group of 20 peoples loved it . Everything was great the cabin, the foods, the staff ,the entertainment and specially the bike ride . We had great bikes , the maps were good even the weather was hot and dry. We had a lot fun during the bike ride and when on board . Would love to do it again

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Douglas C. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything! The trip was very well planned and easily do-able. The bikes were great and were very comfortable. We had thought about bringing our gel seat covers, but did not and they were not needed. The routes planned were great and having downloaded the gps tracks we had no problems finding our way. The food on the boat was fantastic, my only complaint would be the length of time some meals took. The rooms on the boat (Carissima) were very comfortable.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Pat L. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The last day of the beautiful rolling hills and gorgeous monastery on the hill and quaint historic towns along the way were the highlight of the trip.

    I loved Jan's presentations. He was very well prepared and his delivery was great. You should keep him doing that. However, his personal customer service leaves something to be desired. He had no patience for details that were not perfect.

    All guides except for one were exceptionally good. The one guide in Budapest was so bad we got our money back for the bike guide in the city.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Gayl G. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Two wonderful ways to travel and see the world: on a bike and on the sun deck of a boat.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Donald K. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had such a wonderful time - The bikes were great, the accommodations were very good, and the total experience was just suburb! We were a large party of 14, but all was taken care off, and we had a great time - a trip of a life time!

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Rhonda G. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This cycling tour was amazing. I would have to say the Rhine Falls were spectacular. Riding into the Stein am Rhein village was simply breathtaking. To see how people live and still live in this village was simply amazing

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Therese Z. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My husband, son (16), nephew (17) and myself did the 7 day Lake Constance tour in Germany in August. It was an awesome experience from the booking, payment, tour, and hotels. We travelled from Canada and stayed in Zurich the night before tour. We took an Uber from Zurich to Lake Constance (approx 1 hour). The train was also available and the station in Lake Constance was directly across from our first night accommodation, Hotel Halm. The Hotel was quite nice with a beautiful dining room and incredible breakfast. All the hotels were clean, easy to ride to and had super friendly staff. We stayed in 3-5 star hotels as we wanted to be close to town centers.
    The bike tour itself was mostly flat with a few hills. You must pay close attention to bike signs as we got lost a few times. Even with this, it was easy to get back on track. My husband had google maps that showed bike routes. Although I am an avid road biker my family is not. They had no problem biking 40km to 65km Read more… (our longest day) without training.
    Our luggage was picked up around 9am everyday and was at the next Hotel each day before we arrived. We opted to eat our dinners on our own and did not include this in our tour. This was a good idea as it was nice to walk around the new towns and decide where we wanted to eat.
    Lake “Konstanz” “Bodensee” was beautiful. We road through cornfields, next to vineyards, near the lake, and had endless opportunities to find places to eat. The bikes have a nice pack on them to accommodate water, food, extra clothing, a lock that came with bike, and the map given to us before we began. The bikes were smooth to ride and the gears were just enough to bike the terrain (mostly paved). I would ask for a male bike the next time as I missed the crossbar across the top.
    I would certainly recommend this tour. There was just so much to see and bike and the tour was organized so well by Tripsite. I honestly have only good things to say.
    We were e-mailed 2020 tours and I was already eagerly looking at Bike and Barge tours. Make sure you book early as the tours do book quickly.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Amanda S. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The best way to have a holiday - you do not have to think about logistics, unpack and enjoy:) The Carissima was awesome, our every need was taken care of - the staff were super friendly and the food amazing!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Robert L. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had never done a Bike & Boat tour before so were hoping it would all work out. And it did fantastically! Ours was a family trip and even our 9-year-old son completed the entire bike route no problem. Such a pleasure to be in the country biking through fields, along the river, even on narrow roads through the small towns and villages we passed through. It was an amazing way to really see the countryside and interact with local people to briefly get a glimpse of their way of life. And the scenery was beautiful and peaceful. An amazing experience for our family and we look forward to doing more trips like this in the future.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Bob R. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    By far the most memorable part was the opportunity to explore regions on our own and meet new people. The ship crew was awesome and attentive, and as this was the first trip of its kind we'd ever taken, it was beyond expectations!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kenneth H. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew was fabulous, all of them!

    Itinerary was excellent the food was great.

    Drinks were too expensive at the bar.

    One suggestion - smoking on the top deck - put the smokers at the back of the boat, not the front, so the rest of us don't have to smell the smoke if we choose to be on deck.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Craig A. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is a trip that is not to be missed. The crew was great, the sights were jaw dropping and the memories will keep me going for a long time. Second time using Tripsite to book and the experience gets better every time. Already planning on using them for our next trip.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lanette A. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was an absolutely amazing trip which exceeded all of our expectations. The food on the Carissima was wonderful, the trip overall was so well organized and the crew was helpful and professional. I would definitely recommend this trip to others.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Cindy T. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our first bike & boat trip and we loved it. Each day was a treat with amazing cathedrals, quaint towns, and Budapest at night was gorgeous! The ship was just as pictured, the crew was very attentive and helpful, and we enjoyed our balcony room on the top level. We were slightly concerned that we'd be the only English speaking passengers, but were up for the adventure. However, most of the crew spoke both English and German and at dinner they placed us among about 8 tables of Canadians, Americans, and others who preferred speaking English to German. Each evening, about 80% of the passengers preferred the bike tour information in German, but they provided a slide show and directions in both languages. The directions were good, an there was only one day we all were a bit lost, but it was fun. With everyone on the boat having distinctive blue panniers, it was easy to follow each other and laugh at our attempts to navigate. We still had plenty of time to see everything Read more… and get to the ship.

    As far as the bike routes, I prefer dedicated bicycle paths (not "sharrows") and loved every ride. Most were on dedicated paved paths, but some traversed through villages on very quiet roads. A few tips: Breakfast was the best meal of the day. Check your packed lunch at breakfast, which typically contained a veggie (cheese) sandwich, a cold cut sandwich, fruit, sparkling water, and a pastry. From the breakfast buffet, you can exchange the fruit and add a slice of meat to your veggie sandwich. If you don't like sparkling water, they will exchange that for bottled water at the reception desk. Dinner was good and I thought the portion size was reasonable given the four course meals (the soups were yummy!). Watch the tightness of the breaks on the bikes (the front break can launch you if you're not careful) but the bikes were in great condition. Plan ahead for your massage (which was fantastic). One came with the room and we purchased a second. We chose to skip one day of biking along the Danube, and we're pleased that we had plenty of time to bike around the town in the morning before the ship left port, get lunch, a massage, and a nap, and then bike around the new port we arrived in that afternoon.

    Thanks to all the crew on the MS Primadonna, who learned our names and favorite drinks by the second day! We miss you already.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by ALAN B. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The pedaling was easy, the landscape surreal, the beer was excellent! My wife, myself, daughter, and her boyfriend enjoyed the Austrian scenery the most. Wine country is not to be missed. The food on the boat at night was superb. Meeting people from other countries on the boat was a plus.

    Boat: Carissima

PWPC