Germany Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 1158

4.7 out of 5

 


Shaunna A.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Merzig
Germany

This was our first Bike & Barge, but it won't be our last! The whole trip was fabulous, the biking, the crew, the food, the other passengers and Tripsite for organizing it all!

Kathleen R.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

Bicycling through the beautiful vineyards and the opportunity to visit picturesque towns.

Lawrence S.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

This was my fourth bike/barge tour with Tripsite, and it was just as amazing as the other trips. Loved every moment. The ship and crew were simply outstanding. The only disappointment is that the itinerary said we would be in Metz for the evening, to even include a walking tour. We were greatly looking forward to it. However, we left Metz within an hour of boarding. It was a great topic of conversation among many passengers, who were also disappointed. So I’m not sure why we even started in Metz, to only leave right away and travel quite a distance to our first port. Other than that, it was as wonderful as each of my other Trip Site vacations.

Susan E.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The itinerary was terrific. We had fabulous guides who gave us lots of information about the sites we were visiting. The boat was very comfortable and the food was great. We had just 20 participants and everyone was very interesting and friendly. Can't wait for our next trip!

Dave H.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

I worked with TripSite to plan this trip for 20 friends and family and they were fantastic to work with: flexible, friendly and professional. And the trip costs half of similar trips offered by US based bike tour operators. The Iris was a superb boat in great condition and the crew were amazing, with a special shout-out to the fantastic food! The riding was hard to believe: miles and miles of flat, scenic, history drenched wine country. Every days ride was enjoyable and had nice prizes and surprises along the way. Some of my group decided to stay on board for one or more days and got to relax and watch the castles go by, read a book, drink some great local white wine, and chat with the friendly crew. This particular tour: the Mosel between Cochem and Metz, was referred to me by a good friend who has done a dozen packaged bike tours and said this was his favorite. Now it's ours!

Derek G.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Aschaffenburg to Cochem
Germany

The biking.

Lynne P.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The bikes were a problem everyday- not well maintained or just end of season but not good
The barge was very warm- esp with comforters- suggest availability of a sheet for these conditions. A soap dish is needed in the shower, the hair dryer was very inadequate. Need to have some sort of wax paper or plastic bag for the sandwiches- wrapping in napkins does not work. The barge should offer/highlight local wines!!! The whole point of this trip is particular.
Our guides Heddy and intern Micah were fabulous.

Laura H.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Reik welcoming and friendly nature & Omar's cooking.

I learned never to be on the last trip of the season, the exterior of the boat was kinda 'sad' looking.

Guides should actually know where they are going and put safety of riders at the top of their concern. Paul was so careless he was dangerous.

I don't think I would've gone on this trip if I would've known that I wasn't free to ride/stop when I wanted to or even provided the route information. I've been on several trips with Backroads and this did not measure up.

Glenn S.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Great scenery, great chef on the barge, nice boat, and great guides! Overall a great experience. However if I must find something that needs a bit of upgrading, it’s the bikes. They were getting pretty tired and needing tune ups. Some had bald tires and most lacked correct air pressure in the tires, on previous Boat Bike trips the bikes were much better maintained. It was the end of the season and the bikes had gone through a lot over the year was the reasoning, but I paid so I expect good bikes regardless of the time of year.

Alice M.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

Hard to say! We loved every bit of it! The peddling around the beautiful sceneries, the picturesque little villages, and the two amazing cities of Dresden and Prague! All spectacular! Take your time, maybe add more days so you can really explore the places around.

Rick C.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

This trip was amazing with great scenery and a great crew and staff who were so friendly and fun. The towns we rode through were small but very interesting and loaded with history. The barge was perfect and similar to the different barge we were on with 12 cabins which we think is a great size. Our group of 11 met 8 amazing people from Canada and 2 others from the states who just made the trip so much fun with a lot of laughter. Time to start planning the trip for next year.

Linda G.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This was my first bike and barge trip and it was wonderful! I plan to do more biking and cruising! It was fun traveling with 14 friends.

Richard M.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The whole experience was fantastic!
The operator was extremely well organized - all our bikes were ready, the explanations were detailed and thorough and the maps/information booklet was very useful.
Hotel selections were fabulous and a real treat to arrive at each after day of riding. Hotel staff were well prepared to deal with biking groups; our luggage was always easy to retrieve.
The "extra" day we spent in Lindau was also very enjoyable.

Johanne P.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

I particularly enjoyed the beautiful scenery along the river and the little villages we stopped in.

Lauren L.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

Our week was the last week of the season and the ferry across the river to Luxembourg was closed. The guide saw how disappointed we were and offered us to bike an additional 14 km to be able to get to that country which was an unanimous decision by our group.

Clifford H.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Traveling on the IRIS was nice. Highlights: Bike ride from the extinct volcano down to the Mosel was a great 40 mile ride (almost all down hill). The wine tasting excursion was set up by our guide Paul. Quite different than others I have been to. It was an intimate meeting with the owner of the winery that had been in his family since the 1600s. It rained (really just a mist) during 2 of our rides but with rain gear, it didn’t effect us.

Give me a call if you would like to hear some minor suggestions for improvement.

Roxanne L.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaan Mosel & Saar
Germany

It doesn’t get any better than this !
What a fabulous time. After two years of rescheduling due to Covid we were so excited to take our trip aboard the Zwaan to cycle along the Mosel and Saar Rivers. Totally worth the wait.
The crew aboard the Zwaan was exceptionally helpful and friendly. The rooms comfortable and clean , and always a hot shower. We enjoyed having drinks on the deck watching the sunsets. Our meals were very good and we had fun trying to guess the ingredients and urge our chef to share his recipe. The energy expended from the staff to ensure we we happy and comfortable was commendable.
The cycling path was way going and we were pleased we chose to take our trip in early October because it was the time for harvesting grapes and the process was fascinating. Our weather held out albeit a bit cool at times but it’s better than biking in the heat. The towns we visited along the way were charming. We would have welcomed more time in Read More

Barry & Nancy Thompson
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

Took the Guided option. Glad we did. Our two guides, Michaela and Honza, weren't just helpful, they were upbeat and fun even if it rained. Most of the entire route was on quiet paved well-maintained paths. Having guides meant we were able to gawk around, stop and shoot photos at a whim and get inside info on the many castles visited along the way. We've cycled many times in Europe but this was the first time we set foot in Czech Republic. It's great. How can you not like a country where cake is served for breakfast! In fact, both Prague and Dresden cry out for extra days before and after the cycling even begins.

Thompson B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

Seven cycling trips we've enjoyed in Europe. This one ranked way up there. Two reasons why: Honza and Michaela. As our guides, they thought of everything. They knew the route inside-out and quickly got a feel for our interests, tastes and abilities. They went out of their way to assist. Once we needed distilled water for a CPAP sleep apnea machine. But it was a national Czech holiday. All stores and pharmacies were closed. Honza didn't give in; he actually convinced supply personnel at a hospital to provide the water. Being alongside the beautiful Elbe for the most part meant the terrain was primarily flat and manageable. Both cities, Prague and Dresden, cry out for additional days before and after the cycling begins. As for the accommodation, we chose the upgrades and we're happy about it. Breakfast at the Hotel Clement in Prague deserves special mention. It was outstanding. In fact, we had cake for breakfast every single day in the country.

Ruth B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

Riding the trails through the beautiful forests!

tim P.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Merzig
Germany

Biking with family, romantic views from the river, the friendliness of the boat puppy and crew, wonderful dinner , and the stadt tours

Christa K.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The bike rentals were heavy, I normally ride an enduro style mountain bike which is super light compared to the rentals. Next time I would look into different bikes as there was two big hills we had to climb for one hotel.
All hotels were amazing and paying extra for city centre was worth it.
We were surprised to find that there was a huge language barrier in Germany- they were not at all accommodating and even rolled their eyes when we spoke English. All European countries I have been to will at least try and we can get a meal ordered.

Lázaro N.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

The trip is allways on the river bank. So its very ease to bike this tour. The sightseeings are memorable. The most remarkable part was the view, the biergartens besides the bike path. Tip: dont let behind the visit on the rock bridge monument. Enjoy the small villages on the trip, they are very nice.

Angela S.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Koblenz to Saarburg
Germany

The friends we made during the trip were the highest point of the tour. We biked and hung out for drinks at the boat deck every night. The crew eas efficient, gentle and friendly. The food was exceptional. The cabins and showers were rather small.

Anieta W.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Koblenz to Saarburg
Germany

The Patria is a beautiful boat with highly motivated and cheerful staff so that every day is a party. The tour guide was very helpful and focused on making your holiday a successful one. The route is picturesque and beautiful, beautiful villages like Saarburg, Traben Trarbach, Beilstein, Trier. Places where you can drink your tea and eat the traditional cakes and have a beautiful view over the Mosel, those are the most precious moments. We have now done this tour for the second time, every day has his nice spots to see en enjoy of the river. We are already thinking about doing it again when the autumn colors are there. This is one of our favorite tours.

Cameron B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Flora Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

The visit to Burg Eltz was fantastic. If I could suggest, it is worth having it be the focus of an entire day, as going and coming back involves a relatively strenuous walk, as well as a ride.

Shirley Elizabeth C.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Koblenz to Saarburg
Germany

This September my friend and I thoroughly enjoyed taking this tour for the second time (first April 2015). After taking 7 Tripsite tours this still remains our favorite due to the consistantly beautiful countrysides, lovely interesting villages, quality bike paths, and fantastic experience aboard the Patria. Not only are the port towns excellent, there are many wonderful places to investigate and enjoy along the ride every single day. We like it so much we plan to do it again in the future a bit later in fall to catch some color on route. Having taken both directions now our personal preference is Koblenz to Saarburg. We enjoy the northern villages with a hike to Berg Eltz most and feel the current routes are set up to enjoy this most fully coming from that direction. If your concern is avoiding inclines the south to north direction is your best bet since that is actually downriver. The southern villages are still outstanding, you just see more Roman influence mixed with the Bavarian half timber.

dara w.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Romantic Road & the Bavarian Lakes
Germany

Another very well organised tour with a well selected route on quiet roads and cycle tracks mostly The Accommodation was very good and the bag drops very easy. The bikes were excellent. The info book accompanying the maps was clear with good additional information
Thank you
Dara

lais helena o.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Mosel Bike Tour
Germany, France

Our first trip was canceled, frustating all group. The other was good because Mosel River is beautiful. The route description was awful and terrible for guide. We were lost sometimes because Tripsite don’t indicate a confiable app for route cycling . My bike was blocked with a different locker from others. The combination was written in a paper separately. We are so diappointed with Tripsite

CARLOS P.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance - 12 Day
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

This trip was made by me and my wife around lake Konstanz, which is located in the border areas of Germany, Austria and Switzerland. Lake Konstanz is a clear and clean water lake. Is is a very beautifull path, very well signalized and safe one. You travel through open green fields, huge orchards, with beautifull nature scenarios. The paths are easy ones, some of them have some slope, but I would quote the overall trip between easy and intermediate, for people like us: active 57 year old people. We would say this trip is an intense one which combines biking and visiting places, so you are 8 ~ 10 hours down the road daily.
The bikes were brand new, the luggage transfer worked on time in all 10 days. GPS files, map, and overall guide were excelent ones! Make sure you have a local internet connection in your mobile, it hepls you locate yourself a lot anywhere.
The selection of hotels were very good, we had a problem with street noise in one of them.
We´ve travelled Read More