Germany Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 1407

4.5 out of 5

 


Margaret M.
11 hours ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique I Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The most memorable part of the trip was being guided by competent guides and entertained by International riders along the breathtaking Moselle. Tips: consider taking a Camelbac to have easy access to water and a clothesline and soap to wash clothes since it was hot and our clothes needed to be refreshed in the middle of the trip.

Francis D.
2 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Wolfsburg
Germany

The boat/barge Merlijn. We have done more than a dozen bike barge boats and the Merlijn is by far the premier of the lot. The service and cuisine on board was superb as well.

Mark A.
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Wolfsburg
Germany

The way the trip was arranged was very interesting. The cities were educational and the trails were easy to navigate.

Christiane Q.
6 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique I Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Boat, bikes, Crew, food, cabins, and service were fantastic. Memorable was the villages visited. I just wish we had more focus on the history of the places visited as well as the wines of the region. We had to do that by ourselves, I was glad the GPS app used work great and we could ride on our own.

Sally H.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The premium bikes were very good for the trip and a nice selection of hotels to stay at along the way.

Connie L.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Leslie, the cruise director made this trip the best one I’ve ever experienced!!!!

Gordon L.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Heidelberg to Cochem
Germany

This was an amazing trip on so many levels! Perhaps the best aspect of it was that it was very personal, including a small intimate group of people where everyone had the opportunity to connect both with each other and also with the open and welcoming staff on board - Alice, our host & all the crew - Stefan, Captain Dick & First Mate, Adriane, not to mention Chef Joost and our guides Thomas and Treasa. I believe this is a selling point for your marketing team. The next thing worthy of mention would be the attention to detail provided by your staff on the boat. Everything was as close to perfect as you can get - our rooms, meal service, and programming. And topping that list would be the food prepared by chef, Joost. It tasted and was presented at a 5 star level, leaving no one disappointed including anyone with food allergies/preferences. In fact, for people with food issues the staff went above and beyond to ensure satisfaction. Our host, Alice, made particular arrangements Read More

alison a.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Heidelberg to Cochem
Germany

Great trip, castles galore, our guides leading us into medieval towns, palaces, gardens.
Easy biking and having two guides meant both faster and slower bikers catered for.
Iris barge conversion provided both indoor and outside lounge areas perfect for after bike social time.
Fantastic food. Thankyou chef.

monica Susan B.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Heidelberg to Cochem
Germany

The staff was amazing Tereasa with all her knowledge of the historical information of the area , the chef Joust with his amazing menu
The crew and captain making us so welcome on board and Thomas leadership through hill and dail.
This made the days so good.

Susan S.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Heidelberg to Cochem
Germany

The staff and guides were very committed to everyone having a good time. Although the weather posed some problems for us, the guides pivoted quickly to make sure each day had something special to offer.

Denis E.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Olympia Mainz to Strasbourg
Germany, France

Ability to make last minute decisions based on flooding conditions and unpredictable weather

Saw the usual number of castles and coffee shops

Anat P.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Heidelberg to Cochem
Germany

Great overall experience
The Ship and crew were great, the bike guides were very professional.
We loved the wine tasting evening
One tip, it is a good idea to practice one’s bike before the trip.

Avner G.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Heidelberg to Cochem
Germany

This has been a great tour!
From the choice of route, the warm wellcoming boat & bike staff, the size of the group just everything.
Highly recccomended.

Rhonda S.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The most memorable part of our trip was the ability of the cruise director and crew to adapt to the high waters of the Danube. It was a wonderful trip; the bike rides we did were all enjoyable, even when many of them were ended by flooded back paths or required unexpected detours. The food was great!

Caroline S.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The buildings in the towns, castles, and fortresses along the way were marvelous.

Mary G.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Almost missing it! You failed to keep in contact with Rad and Reisen - plans were shifting due to flooding and you did not keep us informed! Thanks to our hotel manager, we discovered the changes and got on the tour. Your lack of communication was unacceptable to me.

Julia M.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Cycling through the Wachau area was incredible! The quaint villages were beautiful. The Danube was unfortunately in flood so we missed out on parts, but the staff did what they could to allow us to cycle and see various sites.

Tony J.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The villages we biked through., the people we met & the city tours we did.

Ronald L.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The entire crew was exceptional! The only complaint, and it’s a big one, was lack of communication from headquarters when unexpected flooding altered the itinerary. The boat was not able to land where planned and there should have been an email sent out to inform us that they were working on it and to stand by for more information when they knew more. We had friends on the previous cruise and they knew Saturday morning that they were not going to land in Passau. No messages were sent from headquarters to inform us that things were in flux and we had passengers on our cruise that went to an empty dock in Passau and this could have been easily avoided had headquarters been set up for group emails.

Andrea A.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The director and crew were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the ride through the scenic landscape and quaint towns. The tours were very good too!

James E.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Food and service, cleanliness was excellent. The Staff was fantastic also. Only drawback was charging for coffee and water during non- meal times.

Paul and Mary P.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The Vivienne and its crew were all exceptional! I would not change anything. Our guide, Leslie went above and beyond.

Kathryn A.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Vienna
Germany, Austria

We really enjoyed cycling along the Danube. The nine days went by quickly and some of the overnight stay locations were in such interesting towns that we explored in the evening. Although it is rated "Easy", be prepared for some days of cycling into strong headwinds and a few days of 65-70 km of cycling. Accommodations were very good and the breakfasts provided set us up for the ride. The GPX tracks were sometimes out of sync with the printed tour book on the portion of the trip in Germany. In a few locations the tracks shown did not exist, or were out-of-date due to new construction. This tour would benefit from an option to stay an extra day in one of the towns to provide a cycling break as well as an opportunity to explore, e.g. Linz.

Deborah B.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Amsterdam to Cochem
Netherlands, Germany

Visiting the Dome and biking along the river. The food was excellent and the boat was beautiful.

Larry A.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Tauber River Valley Romantic Road
Germany

I loved the trip, but I would make sure that the tour group meets you prior to the take off...They left the bikes and we never saw anybody to help us get started. We were three hours trying to get the ebikes moving, turned out it was the connection between the control and the bike. If we had, had some help that frusteration would have been resolved quickley. Didnt feel like we were helped at all. We did love the trip, we feel like we are stronger because we overcame so many obsticals. The maps were in german, and the road instructions were in a seperate book, it was hard to coordinate the 2.

Doc

Denise V.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Constance - Highlights & Hinterland
Germany, Austria, Switzerland

The scenic views were the most beautiful I experienced in our 5 bike trips.
The hotels were great as well as breakfast.
In my opinion this ride was more challenging then lead on to believe. The hills were steep.
We had a oroblem day one with hotel.
Left 2 hours late dud nit have the combination to the bike. Did kit have any maps, any welcome package.nothing.
Also we had mostly rain , would have needed a map peotector for our bikes. The maps were useless in the rain.

Jeff J.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Overall the trip was amazing. The most memorable part was just doing it, and so glad we did. The service staff on the ship was terrific. The food was pretty good but not quite 5 stars. The routes were fairly easy to navigate but in trickier areas, a guide or more detailed maps would be helpful. The tour guide was okay and did an adequate job if approached with questions. He did ride right by us on the trail on the last day and didn't even offer a friendly hello. That was a bit surprising to our group and fellow riders. No worries, though, it was a really fun trip. It was great to visit all the amazing cities along the way. The whole crew was first-rate from start to finish. I would easily recommend this trip to interested parties.

Sally H.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Constance - Highlights & Hinterland
Germany, Austria, Switzerland

Great hotels which were distinct from each other. Quality bikes with comfortable seats and smooth gear changing.
The bikes were all locked when we arrived. It took far too long for someone to find the lock codes. There were no welcome packets/route maps and general information for the group of 12 and little help from the hotel who had apparently, all the information we needed. Unfortunate and unprofessional. The local people were apologetic but it should never have happened.

David W.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Constance - Highlights & Hinterland
Germany, Austria, Switzerland

This was a good tour , the hotels selections were great, but we had a terrible start as there was no one on site to provide maps and to unlock the bikes . Very frustrating. Our weather was wet, for 2.5 days, so check out the rainy season. Also there were no front panniers for the bikes to hold the maps, a problem especially in wet weather.we finally received our maps on day 3 of 5. Poor planning on Tripsites behalf.
It’s a good thing some of us had the electronic maps or we would have been totally lost.

Leslie T.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

Beautiful scenery, good excursions, very professional staff, international community.