Germany Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 895

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Jennifer S. 17 hours ago     Verified Reviewer

    The journey and visiting the 4 capitols was the best.
    However too many people on the boat - the noise level in the dining room was excessive. The cruise director was obnoxious especially towards women and favored the Germans on the boat. Our group of 18 was split into 3 tables and we always sat with the same people. Never mixed with other groups.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Maureen B. 22 hours ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of this trip to me was the Operetta symphony concert at Schlosspark in Vienna. This is an experience that no one should miss.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Scott S. 2 days ago     Verified Reviewer

    The Cycling and travel along the Danube River. Still more markings on the Bike routes.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Roger P. 2 days ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Food & last day of riding + Vienna

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • tom 2 days ago     Verified Reviewer

    What time of year did toy take your trip? It appears you had some bad weather We are shooting for September in the hopes we will find good weather

  • Scott A. 3 days ago     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I would definitely recommend this tour. Hotels were all first class. Luggage was always at hotel no matter how early we arrived. No complaints on any part of the tour. We did use GPS on route which was helpful especially when trying to find hotels.

  • Chris S. 3 days ago     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I just completed the 7 day tour and had a wonderful time. The cycle trail around Lake Constance is mostly dedicated bike trail and the many towns and villages are beautiful. We did side trips to both Reichenau and Mainau islands. Reichenau island is near the bike pickup location in Constance and is an easy warm-up ride. Mainau island is well worth a couple of hours. We used standard bike which were fine (we are both in our 60s) but most people seemed to have e-bikes. Highly recommend this tour.

  • Jean 5 days ago     Verified Reviewer

    As of last week it was still open because it was still relatively hot - and yes people did use it and loved it.

  • Jean 5 days ago     Verified Reviewer

    Just returned from this trip on the Carissima and it was a wonderful way to see the Danube. Booked the guided package and Axle was wonderful-took us to out of the way places we never would've found on our own and no other guests saw. Glad we rented Ebikes as there were a few long climbs and stiff winds several times. Kalkoff bikes are fantastic! Light rain a few days but nothing which impeded our rides--just be sure and take waterproof everything so you can still bike. Crew on the Carissima are great--rooms are clean, beds comfy, sufficient air con, nice hot water and water pressure in the bathroom. No real TV except a European sports channel and a few other Austrian channels--we didn't miss it at all. Meals were good but VERY small portions at dinner--not a problem for us but others complained. House white wine was good, red not so much. Packed lunch consists of a bottle of water, small sandwiches, fruit and granola bars--sufficient but we opted to eat at a local cafe Read more… a few times when we stopped. Two complaints: the boat doesn't dock at town centers every night so you can wander around and hit a pub or listen to some live music. Understandably some nights its moving and a few guests complained that the lower deck cabins were very noisy, especially when going through locks. In Passau, it docks several miles from the town center, and we were told there were only SEVEN taxis in the entire city and nearly impossible to get one. So the cruise director, Albert, said he hired a bus to take us to the train station upon disembarking, and the charge was 15 Euros per person. For a 10 minute ride--he only took cash and gave no receipts. This is highway robbery given that upon arrival in Passau we hired a taxi at a cost of 10 Euro for 2 of us. We would've taken a chance on an Uber but the ship was over 30 minutes late getting into Passau and we had a tight train connection on Sunday. We didn't do any of the optional activities however others said they enjoyed the concert in Vienna, but no one liked the Hungarian Folk Show in Budapest. Be sure and hike up to St. Mattias Church in Budapest at night--the view is spectacular! Finally, the Danube shoreline is largely undeveloped (a great thing), so you don't see a lot of towns and villages-I mention this because lines like Viking and AMA promote their balconies,huge window walls and gyms/spas/etc-and charge thousands of dollars more for the same itinerary-but you're not ON the boat for about 8 hours of the day, and when you are, 90% of the time you're looking at trees. If we'd spent $5000/pp to do this trip we'd have been really disappointed--bottom line--this trip is a great VALUE and you're seeing what everyone else sees. This was our second trip with Tripsite after doing the Tulip Tour last spring, and again they handled everything flawlessly--another couple on our trip also booked with them and said the same. Very satisfied and looking forward to our Mantova to Venice bike and barge trip next year-

  • Francine P. 5 days ago     Verified Reviewer

    It was a real memorable trip. Everybody in our group of 20 peoples loved it . Everything was great the cabin, the foods, the staff ,the entertainment and specially the bike ride . We had great bikes , the maps were good even the weather was hot and dry. We had a lot fun during the bike ride and when on board . Would love to do it again

    Boat: Carissima

  • Douglas C. 6 days ago     Verified Reviewer

    Everything! The trip was very well planned and easily do-able. The bikes were great and were very comfortable. We had thought about bringing our gel seat covers, but did not and they were not needed. The routes planned were great and having downloaded the gps tracks we had no problems finding our way. The food on the boat was fantastic, my only complaint would be the length of time some meals took. The rooms on the boat (Carissima) were very comfortable.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Cathy 6 days ago     Verified Reviewer

    This is my 3rd trip with Tripsite and they do a good job...but the instructions to the boat were a tad misleading. If there are detours/changes, I believe they should keep on top of that and be sure to report to their customers.The bike ride was amazing. The scenery was like all the other reviews stated......I would NOT recommend the ride in Vienna or Budapest; way to much traffic. The crew was not customer focused. The cruise director/bike tour director, Monica, was often short and rude to passengers. Unlike the other 2 trips I took, the crew was not welcoming or eager to help. There were a few in housekeeping and wait staff that were nice. The captain was cold and never engaged at all with the passengers. This is NOT a tripsite issue but this crew needed a kick in the pants from above to treat the passages better........recommend the trip but I hope you don't get this negative crew.....

    Boat: Normandie

  • Sheila S. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: How Saunder, Els, and Rola were all so committed to making sure we had a great trip with terrific cycling, fantastic food, and comfortable accommodations.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Diane 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Thank you for this review. I am waiting for the 2020 dates to come out go book this. I’m glad it was great.
    Diane

  • Tom H. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip this segment of the Danube cycle path is nearly 100% paved and very smooth. It is relatively easy to follow the cycle path route markings. The GPS maps I was sent did not work for this segment. They worked fine from regensburg to passau so probably not user error. The cycle path is really popular with cyclists but never too crowded even though not everyone has good bike handling skill so you need to pay attention. Maps provided to hotels are not very good however people I talked to with other trip companies had the same issues and in several different languages people we met were helpful and anxious to provide
    information. Hotels were all very pleasant and comfortable even though it was very hot and they did not have air conditioning.

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Pat L. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    The last day of the beautiful rolling hills and gorgeous monastery on the hill and quaint historic towns along the way were the highlight of the trip.

    I loved Jan's presentations. He was very well prepared and his delivery was great. You should keep him doing that. However, his personal customer service leaves something to be desired. He had no patience for details that were not perfect.

    All guides except for one were exceptionally good. The one guide in Budapest was so bad we got our money back for the bike guide in the city.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Gayl G. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Two wonderful ways to travel and see the world: on a bike and on the sun deck of a boat.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Sarah H. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed Wachau. Definitely stop for the wine tour, and enjoy the biking through the vineyards. It was absolutely beautiful.

    Boat: Carissima

  • David M. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    The Iris is a well equipped and comfortable barge with a fantastic crew. Our guide, Thomas, was knowledgeable and very helpful and the Italian chefs (husband and wife) cooked delicious food and were super cute! Lenny, the owner of the Iris, was present throughout the trip and this added a special warmth to the trip. This was the first time this itinerary was offered on the Iris and it went off without a hitch. Many of the guests had E Bikes (which I recommend even though it was rated as an easy route) which made the several small hills a piece of cake! Would definitely recommend this trip on the Iris.

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Germany

  • Donald K. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    We had such a wonderful time - The bikes were great, the accommodations were very good, and the total experience was just suburb! We were a large party of 14, but all was taken care off, and we had a great time - a trip of a life time!

  • Rhonda G. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    This cycling tour was amazing. I would have to say the Rhine Falls were spectacular. Riding into the Stein am Rhein village was simply breathtaking. To see how people live and still live in this village was simply amazing

  • Arthur S. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Great barge, good people, great guide and good food. The only thing missing was a good detailed map of where we were riding.

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Germany

  • Janet Zimmerman 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our week on the Quo Vadis was fantastic. The Captain,crew and cycling guides were all wonderful. The served up tasty, beautifully presented, filling and nutritious meals. Our cycling routes were interesting and fun. I’d do another trip on the Quo Vadis

  • Therese Z. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    My husband, son (16), nephew (17) and myself did the 7 day Lake Constance tour in Germany in August. It was an awesome experience from the booking, payment, tour, and hotels. We travelled from Canada and stayed in Zurich the night before tour. We took an Uber from Zurich to Lake Constance (approx 1 hour). The train was also available and the station in Lake Constance was directly across from our first night accommodation, Hotel Halm. The Hotel was quite nice with a beautiful dining room and incredible breakfast. All the hotels were clean, easy to ride to and had super friendly staff. We stayed in 3-5 star hotels as we wanted to be close to town centers.
    The bike tour itself was mostly flat with a few hills. You must pay close attention to bike signs as we got lost a few times. Even with this, it was easy to get back on track. My husband had google maps that showed bike routes. Although I am an avid road biker my family is not. They had no problem biking 40km to 65km Read more… (our longest day) without training.
    Our luggage was picked up around 9am everyday and was at the next Hotel each day before we arrived. We opted to eat our dinners on our own and did not include this in our tour. This was a good idea as it was nice to walk around the new towns and decide where we wanted to eat.
    Lake “Konstanz” “Bodensee” was beautiful. We road through cornfields, next to vineyards, near the lake, and had endless opportunities to find places to eat. The bikes have a nice pack on them to accommodate water, food, extra clothing, a lock that came with bike, and the map given to us before we began. The bikes were smooth to ride and the gears were just enough to bike the terrain (mostly paved). I would ask for a male bike the next time as I missed the crossbar across the top.
    I would certainly recommend this tour. There was just so much to see and bike and the tour was organized so well by Tripsite. I honestly have only good things to say.
    We were e-mailed 2020 tours and I was already eagerly looking at Bike and Barge tours. Make sure you book early as the tours do book quickly.

  • Amanda S. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    The best way to have a holiday - you do not have to think about logistics, unpack and enjoy:) The Carissima was awesome, our every need was taken care of - the staff were super friendly and the food amazing!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Peter B. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Easy riding in a beautiful settling with a great group spirit. The boat was very comfortable and clean and the staff made every effort to ensure we had everything we needed. Would recommend to anyone to have a look at this trip to see if it will suit them, all the information on the site was reliable and the experience was really enjoyable.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Tom H. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    It's a great trip along the upper Danube there are some gravely bits and some places where the path was not always 100% obvious. This is a relatively easy bike ride to do the paved sections are great and the countryside and river views are beautiful.we were happy with most of the hotels and pensiones that we stayed in the food was really fun and good. some of the hotels were allowed if you had a room on the roadside so earplugs would be useful some of the directions getting into the cities were obscure so be ready to have your phone handy or some other mapping app.

    Countries: Germany

  • Jehiel from Tripsite 3 weeks ago     Staff

    Hi Allen,
    Thank you so much for sharing this feedback. The bikes used on this trip are serviced every week to ensure each bike is fit for the road. Our local partner would have gladly repaired or replaced the bike for you if it was brought to their attention. I hope that despite this issue, you still had a good time.

  • Wendy R. 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    This is a great way to see four capital cities (Bratislava, Belgrade, Budapest and Vienna as well as get in 10 days of cycling! It's also fairly low mileage (less than 35 miles per day) but training to prepare is still a must. The scenery is very nice and it is about half on roads - mostly slower village streets. The group of people we dined with and rode with were all terrific and we all worked together to find our way since our tour was unguided. The days when you visit the cities can be a little overwhelming - so my advice is to pick one or two things you really want to see beforehand and focus on getting to those. At least in the summer the crowds were large in Vienna, Budapest and Bratislava. As for boat living - the dinners were tasty and served by a friendly staff each evening but I'm vegetarian so I had much more of a struggle with getting any protein. I would have also appreciated a little variety with the breakfasts and lunches. My advice also is to avoid Read more… the hotter weather months like July or August - we had days of over 90 degrees which made cycling tough - but the Theodor Korner is not well air conditioned either. Overall it was a nice trip and certainly the staff was terrific!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Paula G. 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    The history and the countryside was fantastic. Need work with maps - took us over an hour to find the hotel in Dresden as we were never given a city map of Dresden with hotels marked as other cities. Do not recommend dinner package as fixed menu at some of restaurants was not very good.

PWPC