5 Star Germany Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 934

 


Shelly Z.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

My husband and I loved the trip, our first bike/barge adventure. The boat, captain, crew, chef, and tour guides were wonderful. We enjoyed the other guests as well, which included couples and singles from the USA and Europe. The miles and miles of bike trails and visited sites were beautiful and memorable. Since experiencing the biking adventure, I have the following suggestions for potential guests. Bike riders should already have good bike riding skills. There are many path twists and turns to navigate, including sometimes in metropolitan areas. Before the trip, find out how many guests have selected e-bikes. If the majority are on e-bikes, it will be hard for the average bike rider on a regular bike to keep up with the group, even when the tour level is stated as “easy.” And, "easy" does not mean there are no hills or quick elevation gains. The group stays together. The tour is not at your own pace. We look forward to booking another tour through tripsite.

David J.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Four Countries of Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland

The Four Countries of Lake Constance was my tenth trip with Tripsite. Since 2017 I have done four bike and barge trips and five self-guided trips.

The partner company that runs this trip for Tripsite was excellent. With my wife in 2018 I did a 10 day circle eight trip around Lake Constance with the same partner. Therefore, I was already familiar with them.

They have beautiful modern bike place in Constance. The electric bikes they supplied my friend and myself were excellent, far better than the bikes supplied by vendors in other nations. Radweg’s employees were knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Their printed materials, maps and BikeGPX routes were also excellent.

My friend and I were very excited about our trip, but suddenly he fell ill with COVID-19. Therefore, all I can write about is the first day’s ride from Constance to Schaffhausen. It was a beautiful ride with interesting historic places to stop. However, by the time we arrived at Schaffhausen Read More

Patricia (Pat) B.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

RJ and the crew on the Quo Vadis were amazing. Every day Rikko and Wim would lead us through beautiful countryside and lovely towns. They shared much history of the Mosel region and educated us about the vineyards and wine production. The pace each day allowed exploring in the towns and then time to relax before dinner. The meals were delicious with attractive presentation and kept us fueled for the day's ride. Thanks to Inma, Marianne and Kim for taking care of us. It was a great vacation that I would highly recommend - physically active, beautiful scenery, history and much fun with the other riders and crew!

Lynn R.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Our second bike/ barge trip booked through tripsite did not disappoint! The ship was perfect, clean and clearly updated.The crew was hospitable and helpful.Our language ( english) was not a barrier on the trip, everyone was very accommodating! The food was excellent and choices were good.Leslie the tour director was superb.

The bike route was well mapped and we downloaded the app which worked well.Sites were amazing, weather which you can’t control good most days.Loved the small ferry rides, Austrian hills, the well appointed stops along the route.E bikes were a good choice for us and easy to manage

Perfect! Don’t hesitate to book this trip!

Rob K.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

Soon after we stepped on the Swiss Crown, we knew it was going to be a great trip. The room was spacious, the boat was luxurious and comfortable, and the food was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our e-bikes were suitable and in good condition. We thoroughly enjoyed the rides along the Danube that went through small villages, farmland, and forests. We toured 4 country capital cities and couldn’t stop taking pictures of the amazing architecture. We made friends with many guests and our guide Axel was outstanding in his hospitality, humour, and knowledge of the areas and their history. It was a vacation we will never forget!

Criddle D.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

We loved the camaraderie of the fellow guests. Our tour guide Wim was knowledgeable and entertaining. The crew made every effort to ensure we were made welcome and looked after in every possible way. The food was wonderful! Our daily rides were full of great experiences and amazing scenery. Overall we loved our tour!

Mark G.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The scenery, the history, the superior quality of the staff, the appealing pace of the active elements & the great food!

Sandra B.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Würzburg to Nuremberg
Germany

Sept 23 - 29, 2023 Nürnberg to Würzburg on the Merlijn : This was our 6th Bike & Barge trip with Tripsite (it would have been our 8th, but you know that story!), and we wouldn't dream of booking with anyone else! We'd taken a trip on the Merlijn in 2017, but since then, the interior has been renovated. Very nice! Food and accommodations were excellent, staff was friendly and helpful. Our bike guide, Thomas, prepped us each day, reviewing the routes and stops, always prioritizing our safety. The bikes were new and well maintained. The staff took the time to adjust each to personalize the fit and comfort. The hybrid bikes are Dutch and light weight, which my husband rode. This was the second trip I've taken using an e-bike and I'm hooked! The biking routes were generally level and we mostly rode on dedicated bike paths. When riding through a town, Thomas did a great job of keeping us together, advising us on how to approach intersections. Another fabulous B & B trip and we're already planning our 7th!

Nancy V.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Merzig
Germany

It is hard to decide on just one memorable part of the trip. Sailing along the Rhine with a drink, seeing castle after castle along the beautiful hills, drinking “fresh wine” at the lunch stop during one of our rides along the Mosel, riding through charming town after charming town, each was highly memorable. This was my dream vacation.

The only thing I would change is that I should have ridden an e-bike. Had I not been recovering from a recent illness, it would not have been necessary, but as one can never predict one’s future health at time of booking, I would consider an e-bike an insurance policy in case one is not 100%. It would have made some days more enjoyable.

Harvey S.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Merzig
Germany

My Second B&B trip on Merlijn. After my wife & I had such a great experience in Belgium & The Netherlands on the Merlijn, I pledged That I would try to reserve the entire barge and recruit 22 of our friends to join us on another trip. We did just that. We just finished our second trip - This time Mainz to Merzig in Germany.
Safe to say we all had a great experience that we will long remember.

Jennifer K.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Bike guides fantastic, boat crew amazing. So many wonderful memories to pick out just one. Beautiful bike paths, scenery

Dolores T.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The bike tours were wonderful and the guides were very knowledgeable! The boat staff was great, they made you feel like family!

Jane Hempen H.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The crew was outstanding❣️and the guides were very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The food was superb

Susan H.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

We had a wonder experience on our biking trip from Cochem to Metz. The Quo Vadis crew was superb. We wish RJ and family all the best on his retirement. The biking was beautiful all the way, but we especially loved the day we rode down the mountain back to Bernkastel-Kues. We loved the villages and vineyards. We would highly recommend this trip!

Catherine G.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

This trip was so well planned. All services, hotels, transportation were excellent.
Bike trails were great. Attractions were great. A good time was had by all.

Marc C.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

This tour exceeded all of our expectations. From the elegant and comfortable boat with a friendly, accommodating crew to the fantastic guide who took us on all of the rides and offered great stories and info.
We can’t wait to book our next trip (maybe Greek Islands) and would recommend trip site.com without reservations.

Jan S.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

What a wonderful tour that absolutely exceeded expectations. The barge was very comfortable, the bikes were great, as were the food, accommodations, staff, etc. Biking along the Moselle was incredible, I found myself repeating about the scenery, food, villages, people, "I could never tire of this!"

Barbara M.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Merzig
Germany

Loved having our “hotel” come along for the ride. That’s all.

Marcelo K.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Flora Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

This was our first bike/boat trip. Being able to contemplate wonderful Germany, from Merzig to Koblenz was an amazing experience. The pedaling across small towns and vineyards with friends and family was unique. The incredible staff was always available to make our stay even more pleasant. The food was outstanding with a variety that surprised us every day.
Bike tour, with all the historical sites was fascinating and the guide made it even more fun. Memorable trip!
Looking forward to to the next one wich is already booked! Thank you tripsite and Flora crew :)

Marcelo K.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Flora Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

This was our first bike/boat trip. Being able to contemplate wonderful Germany, from Merzig to Koblenz was an amazing experience. The pedaling across small towns and vineyards with friends and family was unique. The incredible staff was always available to make our stay even more pleasant. The food was outstanding with a variety that surprised us every day.
Bike tour, with all the historical sites was fascinating and the guide made it even more fun. Memorable trip!
Looking forward to to the next one wich is already booked! Thank you tripsite and Flora crew :)

Brooke M.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Flora Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

Don't miss this unique and intimate opportunity. Traveling the Flora is not for the high maintenance, needy and demanding. This is like very fancy camping on a magnificent boat that also serves as someone’s home. You are in someone’s home, being welcomed to their dining room, their living room and their hearts.

The ship is efficiently run! The captain is friendly and kind but gives the air (as any good captain should) that this is his boat and his rules. If you are familiar with small boat life you get it. It is a busy life with many parts and pieces. The chef! Junna, what can I say except you can taste her commitment and passion for cooking. My husband and I love variety and flavors and the Flora delivers! Quaint, rustic and nutrient packed dishes were a lovely surprise every day. I was fortunate to spend time with her and wish I had more time. She could easily become a great friend.
Berthus, Junna and Christiana were wonderfully kind, generous and great Read More

Yves B.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

The scenery was spectacular, especially between Passau and Linz and later through the wine region. Flat bike path almost all the way from Passau to Vienna. The booklet with directions that was given to us at orientation was extremely well organized, very clear, and useful. We enjoyed very much the freedom of the self-guided tour, stopping in villages for a cappuccino and pastries. Our luggage was always there when we arrived at our hotel. The hotels were nice, except for the one in Linz, (Shwarzer Bar) which was right above a noisy bar, and with poor service. I would recommend a different hotel. A major highlight of the trip was Hotel Kirchenwirt in the lovely village of Weissenkichen, in the one region. In fact, I would recommend staying two nights there to enjoy the spectacular biking through the vineyards and resting bit in the middle of the trip. The two 70+km days were a bit long but very doable. Overall a memorable vacation, very well organized by Tripsite.

David W.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

This itinerary was a perfect combination of good bike rides on excellent pathways, interesting towns and villages and stunning scenery at every bend in the Mosel river.
The daily plan allowed for ample time to visit and explore towns along the route and the overnight stops. The fact that harvest was in full swing added an interesting insight into the central industry of the Mosel.

Eric D.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

The Mosel valley is a wonderful cycling locale. There are few hills, endless "cute" (ie scenic) storybook towns and villages, and of course vineyards climbing every hill in a patchwork quilt. There are hills on both sides of the valley, so it is protected from strong winds and the climate is very mild - after all, that's why the Romans lived there for hundreds of years and even moved their capital from Rome to Trier. As a North American I had never heard of the starting and ending towns, but they turned out to be easily accessible by rail from major cities. Being there the first week of September coincided with the wine festivals in pretty much every town. This was my second time cycling along the Mosel; there was little overlap between the two cycling holidays as the itinerary was quite different. And the boats were very different too. Even when we visited the same towns we saw different things. And we cycled one day from a volcano caldera down a rail-to-bike-path trail that descended 1000' in 55km, including almost-one-kilometre long stone tunnels through mountains. It is such a relaxing trip I would consider doing it again.

Deborah D.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Würzburg
Germany

Excellent itinerary with great paths and trails. Love the Merlijn and all that it has to offer. Coen and Christina along with the crew are 5star! Thomas was a terrific guide and fun to travel with.

Holly H.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Every day held something new along our way. Landscapes changed, cities and towns were vastly different, crops varied, castles and palaces were different. Enjoy it all.

At the time we were on the trip the boat assigned a dining table and you had to sit with the same people every meal every day. We were a single couple and were put at a table with one other couple who were thankfully a lovely couple. It would have been nice however to be able to sit with others at least for breakfast and lunch.

Amy L.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

EXCELLENT staff on the barge, Magnifique lll. Only tip for others: ENJOY the beautiful scenery and the lovely staff

Deborah D.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Würzburg to Nuremberg
Germany

The crew and owners Coen and Christina are just so friendly and they make you feel like family. The ship is so clean and very luxurious. I did 4 weeks straight on the Merlijn and had 2 different guides. llse and Thomas were just a joy to be with. They are both exceptionally good at guiding! There are not enough words to say about this fantastic journey.

Karin S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The Danube River and scenery around it was spectacular. Seeing it from the bike paths, or on board the ship was very special. My husband didn’t cycle, but was well taken care of by the wonderful staff aboard the Swiss Crown, and enjoyed the trip as much as we did on the bikes.
Food, accommodations and service was first class.

Sandra W.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Food prepared for dinners and beautiful scenery on the rides