5 star rated Germany Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 615

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Russell S. 7 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a great bicycle tour. I would certainly recommend it. Although Tripsite is a re-seller/partner with Radweg-Reisen GmbH they were able to provide great detail, lots of help and were quick to answer questions.
    The tour itself was great. Most of the hotels were wonderful, just a few exceptions lowered the overall rating for this trip. The detailed maps, provided by Radweg-Reisen GmbH we quite impressive. The overall signage along the trail was great, once you understood the various signs, logos, and colors.
    The bicycles were good solid, well equipped - no mirrors though :( Panniers were large and very waterproof (we did get rained on).
    Overall, a great trip.

  • Koblenz to Bad Wimpfen
    by Renata O. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I and my husband, loved this trip. We cycled through castelo and vineyards! Beautiful place, lovely people and excellent Crew!
    And the best assistance!

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Luis 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I took this trip on Oct 6, 2019. It was my 6th trip with Tripsite. the ship was the Zwaan. The landscape is stunning. The staff was super friendly without beig intrusibe. The distances are doable. The ship is excellent and the programmed group size is great, only 12 to 14 people. I have recommended these tours to dozens of people. And they continue to be one of the most fun things I have done in my life. Go!

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Horst K. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The tour was well organized and we were put up in great hotels. Meals were very good and the tour operators provided water and healthy snacks along the route everyday.
    I was more than pleased with the whole trip and will consider another tour with this organization.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Chereda B. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent cruise director, wonderful bike trails with good instructions as to how to follow them, excellent food. It was a great trip.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Cindy R. 2 weeks ago         Verified Reviewer

    The Vinyards were amazing to bike thru. Beauty all around. It was a Breathtaking day that I will always remember.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Colin F. 2 weeks ago         Verified Reviewer

    This tour was very well organized and it was a fabulous trip. We did the self guided bicycle tour and it was was easy to follow the suggested cycling route. The tour director, Andreas, did an excellent job providing us with information every day about the cycling route and he made the trip flow smoothly. Our boat did not go to Bratislava because of the water level of the Danube, so we spent an extra day in Vienna. There was an optional bus trip to Bratislava for the afternoon.
    The scenery along the Danube was beautiful. We really enjoyed meeting interesting people from all over the world and socializing with them afterwards in the bar. Our tip: if you want to book a Tripsite tour, do it early because the rooms fill up fast. We waited too long and got the last room on the Theodor Körner, an eco bunk bed room.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Mosel and Saar
    by Randall O. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We enjoyed everything about this tour - great accommodations on the Zwaan, wonderful meals, outstanding staff, and beautiful scenery.

    Boat: Zwaan

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Janice M. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our Danube 4-Country bike and boat tour, Our ship the Carissima was very comfortable and the staff were great. The food was amazing- beautifully prepared and good variety for meat eaters and vegetarians alike. The bike trails were easy to follow for the most part and the scenery spectacular. We had so many memorable moments. One of the highlights were the bonds we formed with our fellow passengers. We got to meet some terrific people who became instant friends and who we will stay in touch with.
    My only suggestion would be to provide easier trail maps and directions. The briefings were helpful, but hard to remember all the details. Finding our way at times was a comedy of errors and we muddled through with other fellow riders. I guess all part of the experience.
    Overall an amazing trip and would highly recommend to others.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Teresa I. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling was a fantastic way to experience and travel threw the Czech Republic to Germany. A big thank you to our tour leader Vítek and his crew for taking such good care of the group.

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by John C. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip was a joy.

    Our guides Vee Tex, Harvel and Jara were both enthusiatic and knowledgable about the route, the landscape and the history.

    The accommodation on the trip was great, varying from a former manor house, country village hotels and more contemporary funky locations.

    My fellow cyclists were companionable and talkative with people from Canada, USA , Australia and Germany.

    The route was managable, and consisted of around 80-85% level/easy inclines along old toll paths or the old rail track, and usually 5-6 hours per day ranging from 25 to 50 klms per day.

    Highlights for me were Prague, Litmorvice, Terezina, the mountain hike to the stone bridge - (worth every upward step!), plus I spent two nights in Dresden - and encountered striking buildings, excellent food (think pork knuckle in dark beer), easy of movement through a well organised transport system.

    Would I recommend this trip? Yes, and if apprehensive about the length of the daily Read more… rides - there are e-bike available at reasonable prices, a boon for perhaps the less experienced and those allied to cycling devotees so they can join the fun.

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Suzanne F. 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was beautiful with the steep vineyards on either side of the Moselle River. We loved the Quo Vadis boat and the staff were all so professional, yet friendly and fun. Cabins were nicely appointed and the food was delicious. It was also great to have the option to try out an e-bike for the day, even if you hadn't reserved one for the week. A memorable day was finishing off the cycle part to attend a wine tasting night at Leo Schwab's winery...very entertaining. I feel totally comfortable recommending this particular cycle trip to anyone who is interested. Thanks so much for this wonderful experience.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Christine A. 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Self guiding our way along the Danube through amazing countryside.

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Jennifer S. 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was perhaps the star of this trip with gorgeous views of vineyards and quaint villages all along the Mosel River. But also we had a wonderful group of staff on the Quo Vadis who were lots of fun and thought of every detail. Meals were amazing. This made this trip probably our favourite trip ever. We travel with a group of friends and have done several other barge and bike trips.
    The daily biking was longer than some other trips but most enjoyable with stops for points of history or picnics, coffee etc.
    It will be hard to improve on our Metz to Cochem experience.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Nancy B. 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole trip was really wonderful. Being from North America, we don't have paved bicycle paths on both sides of our rivers, especially out in the coutnry side. As a result, I was just amazed at the fact of being able to ride beside the Mosel River through the vineyards and be able to soak in the atmosphere without having to worry about traffic or rough roads. The Quo Vadis was a treat. The cabins were a decent size, the crew was friendly, knowledgeable and lots of fun and the food, prepared in the relatively small galley, was fabulous. All that were highlights for me.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Darren B. 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Touring on bike different areas of the Danube and meeting new people that were enjoying the same sites.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau - Vienna - Budapest aboard the Primadonna
    by Debra N. 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the arrival by night in Budapest! It was unexpectedly gorgeous with all the lighted bridges and buildings. Truly amazing. Fireworks were an unexpected highlight of the evening in Linz which just happened to have a celebration. Our third highlight was the last biking day through the Wachau Valley--such beautiful vineyards and small villages! One tip: bring a multi USB plug and more than one adaptor for use in the room.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Ida L. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part: Dancing the polka with local croatians. Thank goodness a fellow tripster took a video

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Maureen B. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of this trip to me was the Operetta symphony concert at Schlosspark in Vienna. This is an experience that no one should miss.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Scott A. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I would definitely recommend this tour. Hotels were all first class. Luggage was always at hotel no matter how early we arrived. No complaints on any part of the tour. We did use GPS on route which was helpful especially when trying to find hotels.

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Chris S. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I just completed the 7 day tour and had a wonderful time. The cycle trail around Lake Constance is mostly dedicated bike trail and the many towns and villages are beautiful. We did side trips to both Reichenau and Mainau islands. Reichenau island is near the bike pickup location in Constance and is an easy warm-up ride. Mainau island is well worth a couple of hours. We used standard bike which were fine (we are both in our 60s) but most people seemed to have e-bikes. Highly recommend this tour.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jean B. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Just returned from this trip on the Carissima and it was a wonderful way to see the Danube. Booked the guided package and Axle was wonderful-took us to out of the way places we never would've found on our own and no other guests saw. Glad we rented Ebikes as there were a few long climbs and stiff winds several times. Kalkoff bikes are fantastic! Light rain a few days but nothing which impeded our rides--just be sure and take waterproof everything so you can still bike. Crew on the Carissima are great--rooms are clean, beds comfy, sufficient air con, nice hot water and water pressure in the bathroom. No real TV except a European sports channel and a few other Austrian channels--we didn't miss it at all. Meals were good but VERY small portions at dinner--not a problem for us but others complained. House white wine was good, red not so much. Packed lunch consists of a bottle of water, small sandwiches, fruit and granola bars--sufficient but we opted to eat at a local cafe Read more… a few times when we stopped. Two complaints: the boat doesn't dock at town centers every night so you can wander around and hit a pub or listen to some live music. Understandably some nights its moving and a few guests complained that the lower deck cabins were very noisy, especially when going through locks. In Passau, it docks several miles from the town center, and we were told there were only SEVEN taxis in the entire city and nearly impossible to get one. So the cruise director, Albert, said he hired a bus to take us to the train station upon disembarking, and the charge was 15 Euros per person. For a 10 minute ride--he only took cash and gave no receipts. This is highway robbery given that upon arrival in Passau we hired a taxi at a cost of 10 Euro for 2 of us. We would've taken a chance on an Uber but the ship was over 30 minutes late getting into Passau and we had a tight train connection on Sunday. We didn't do any of the optional activities however others said they enjoyed the concert in Vienna, but no one liked the Hungarian Folk Show in Budapest. Be sure and hike up to St. Mattias Church in Budapest at night--the view is spectacular! Finally, the Danube shoreline is largely undeveloped (a great thing), so you don't see a lot of towns and villages-I mention this because lines like Viking and AMA promote their balconies,huge window walls and gyms/spas/etc-and charge thousands of dollars more for the same itinerary-but you're not ON the boat for about 8 hours of the day, and when you are, 90% of the time you're looking at trees. If we'd spent $5000/pp to do this trip we'd have been really disappointed--bottom line--this trip is a great VALUE and you're seeing what everyone else sees. This was our second trip with Tripsite after doing the Tulip Tour last spring, and again they handled everything flawlessly--another couple on our trip also booked with them and said the same. Very satisfied and looking forward to our Mantova to Venice bike and barge trip next year-

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Francine P. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was a real memorable trip. Everybody in our group of 20 peoples loved it . Everything was great the cabin, the foods, the staff ,the entertainment and specially the bike ride . We had great bikes , the maps were good even the weather was hot and dry. We had a lot fun during the bike ride and when on board . Would love to do it again

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Douglas C. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything! The trip was very well planned and easily do-able. The bikes were great and were very comfortable. We had thought about bringing our gel seat covers, but did not and they were not needed. The routes planned were great and having downloaded the gps tracks we had no problems finding our way. The food on the boat was fantastic, my only complaint would be the length of time some meals took. The rooms on the boat (Carissima) were very comfortable.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Sheila S. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: How Saunder, Els, and Rola were all so committed to making sure we had a great trip with terrific cycling, fantastic food, and comfortable accommodations.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Pat L. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The last day of the beautiful rolling hills and gorgeous monastery on the hill and quaint historic towns along the way were the highlight of the trip.

    I loved Jan's presentations. He was very well prepared and his delivery was great. You should keep him doing that. However, his personal customer service leaves something to be desired. He had no patience for details that were not perfect.

    All guides except for one were exceptionally good. The one guide in Budapest was so bad we got our money back for the bike guide in the city.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Gayl G. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Two wonderful ways to travel and see the world: on a bike and on the sun deck of a boat.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Donald K. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had such a wonderful time - The bikes were great, the accommodations were very good, and the total experience was just suburb! We were a large party of 14, but all was taken care off, and we had a great time - a trip of a life time!

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Rhonda G. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This cycling tour was amazing. I would have to say the Rhine Falls were spectacular. Riding into the Stein am Rhein village was simply breathtaking. To see how people live and still live in this village was simply amazing

  • Aschaffenburg to Ludwigsburg
    by Arthur S. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great barge, good people, great guide and good food. The only thing missing was a good detailed map of where we were riding.

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Germany

PWPC