2 star rated Germany Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 12 of 12

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Rosemary P. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I am truly amazed about quantity of 5 star reviews for this tour, as I could only give it a 2 star! And, this 2 rating is for the wonderful restaurant and housekeeping staff , as the boat crew , bike assistants were unpleasant to deal with, and the captain kept his distance. This was such a drastic difference from my very enjoyable Netherlands, and Croatia bike and boat tours. The maps and directions were inadequate and usually incorrect. The "tour guide" (who never lead a tour) Jan was unbelievably nasty, rude and impatient about any and all questions and concerns. He sent many on what was to be an easy, level ride only for it to take us over a mountain where our bikes were unsuitable and directions e completely wrong. I would not recommend neither this boat or trip to anyone.

    Boat: Normandie

    • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
      by Jehiel from Tripsite 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Rosemary,
      We are sorry to hear that this trip didn't meet your expectations. It's unfortunate that you experienced some negative exchanges with Jan. We apologize for that.

      About the biking: For the self-guided option a guide is not expected to lead the tour. Riders are expected to be able to navigate independently using the route descriptions and maps. We will look into the maps but we have never gotten feedback about the inaccuracy of the route descriptions for this tour. Furthermore, the tour is rated easy with very little elevation gain and the daily mileages are listed.

      We hope that you still had an enjoyable time.

      • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
        by Rosemary Palus 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply    

        Not having a guide was not an issue for me as I am a much seasoned rider (of plus 30 years experience) with dozens extended touring rides both here in the states, besides several international. We had started with transporting our personal bikes to Europe, reserving our accommodations , creating ride maps, etc.. so telling me to "navigate independently using the route description and maps" given is insulting. IF one were given proper maps and descriptions it would have been acceptable with the exception of Jan's famous easy farm ride that took us over dangerous mountainous, cliff side, terrain. He is very fortunate all returned minus major accidents, and this was only due to the fact we WERE EXPERIENCED!. And, you really need to fully read all feedback as there were other complaints regarding inadequate mapping and directions. Tripsite is also responsible by ignoring this issue. AMEN!

        • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
          by Jehiel from Tripsite 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

          Rosemary,
          I am not trying to insult you or downplay your experience. I am trying to address your concerns. I wanted to clarify that Jan is not a tour guide and with the self-guided option, there is no leader. Gps tracks are available for most tours and routes are being updated and improved frequently.
          If you were not given maps and route descriptions and if Jan's suggestion was misguided and dangerous, that is unacceptable. If Jan was rude to you, that is unacceptable. This is not characteristic of our local partners or Tripsite. I can assure you we are addressing these issues with our local partner.
          I personally read hundreds of feedback submissions each season and respond. We do this because we care about your experience and want to make the tours we offer better.
          I am sorry we and our partners failed to give you a positive experience.
          Jehiel

  • Road of 100 Castles - Münsterland
    by Elizabeth T. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    1. There were only about 10 castles on the tour. Most of the castles were not open to the public to visit.
    2. The maps and written instructions given to us upon arrival were in German which we do not know. There was an option to download these instructions onto a smart phone but we were not given this information until on day 3 of the tour. We had made no provisions to attach a smart phone to our bike and protect it from the weather.
    3. The scenery was pleasant for a few days but became boring as there was not much difference each day.

    Countries: Germany, Netherlands

    • Road of 100 Castles - Münsterland
      by Carla from Tripsite 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Elizabeth! Thanks for your feedback. The routebook with maps is in the German language however we find it is still an excellent tool for riding. We are very sorry you were not aware of the GPS tracks or device sooner.
      Despite these issues, I hope you were able to bring home good memories of your trip!

      Countries: Germany, Netherlands

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Margaret E. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The biking and comradery of the other bikers on the trip.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Dennis E. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The black mold (or something) that had many people coughing in their rooms. I had to take allergy pills each night.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Robert W M. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew & food were great & acceptable respectively. There were very few vegetables served. The ship was terrible, moldy, poor lighting nonexistent waste baskets except in private rooms. The ship had a strong sewer odor which our cabin boy could not remedy. This problem involved several rooms. We would not return to the The(odor) Körner.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by David F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Breakfast good. Bagged lunches okay but not great and they only had sparkling water which I don't like and can't drink. No option to get still water without paying extra. Dinners good but not great. Only one meal very good. Most upset about not being able to drink the water from the room sink (which was announced over the PA system just before dinner after we had been onboard for a few hours)and then having to pay for still safe water for the cabin, breakfast, lunch and dinner.
    Bike barge nightly talk about the following day was always the second talk of the evening (made for later evenings or no room in the bar). Would have liked to share the first time slot for half of the evenings.
    Concierge staff outstanding and serving staff in the dinning room good.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Mok L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Danube / bike path was wonderful , My bike was a red girls bike that clunked “hate it”, my wife’s ebike was great, the food was good except the hair in couple of dishes, the tour dir and the hotel mgr were friggen rude (not just us to about 14 others ) would Never take a SE tour again. The people we met on board were great, Austria was very nice. Omg Austria wine was fantastic. thx Mik

    Ps
    Still like Tripsite’s

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Tim Devine 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The biking itself was fabulous. The staff looked after the bikes well, and the routes were lovely. My problems are with the boat itself, and there are several significant issues. First, our room was next to some machinery near the bridge that woke us up frequently during the night. The bathroom smelled bad, and other guests on a lower floor had major issues with smells too. The boat broke down on one occasion, and we had the feeling that it was on its last legs. The food was okay, sometimes good, sometimes not so good. The staff were very good, although the music was mostly orientated to non-English speakers. I know that this is not a Viking riverboat, but I have a reasonable expectation of having a comfortable and fairly quiet room. Never again on this boat.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Faith S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I was disappointed in this tour, the scenery was mostly uninteresting and much more difficult than expected due to high winds on 2 days. I am short and was given a crappy bike to ride, having been told I could not fit on the e-bike I wanted. However, after 2 days of suffering my tour guide was able to find me a bike that fit (even after the company itself said it could not accommodate). The ship itself was wonderful, with big bright cabins and excellent food. I was on the guided comfort relax package, and the tour guide was way too laid back for my taste. I thought we did not have much time in the big cities to explore.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Tama L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My dissatisfactions, two nights in the suburbs of Constance, out of the way, should not be used. Konono staff excellent, but cost us for taxi to get there and back to the train. Route book imprecise. What is the route sign we were supposed to follow? What good is a dotted line on a map when there are multiple routes? Which are more scenic? Less hilly? Passing by cafes? Unpaved in a forest? Exactly how do you get to the Rhein Falls ferry? Book never mentioned the three elevators that take you up and down. We had frustrations every day.
    Is it a beautiful trip? Absolutely. The Mozart and Park Villa are beautiful hotels, although not air conditioned.

    • Around Lake Constance
      by Jehiel from Tripsite 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Tama,
      Sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with certain aspects of this tour. As far as the hotel locations, we always try to provide the best hotels possible (location, quality, reputation) but this is based on availability. This region is very popular and hotel development hasn't quite caught up with demand.
      In reference to the Route Book....we strongly recommend that clients also request GPS tracks to supplement Route Books. The tracks are more interactive and tend to be more precise. If requested, these tracks can be downloaded beforehand and used with a GPS or your smartphone. See this Blog to learn more.
      Im glad you still had an enjoyable time and appreciated the beauty of this region. We hope to help you plan your next trip!

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary Beth R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Scenery was gorgeous, food was superb. Accommodations good.
    If you took Albert out of the equation I would give much higher ratings. He was inadequate with trail details. His info was hard to follow on the maps. Someone described him as a Peacock. Very apt. The rest of the staff was very good although you need another person in the dining room. Way to many people for the amount of people serving.
    Don’t advertise that you have WiFi....you really don’t .....

    Boat: Carissima

  • Four Country
    by Jeff B. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Konstance was very bike friendly, and interesting.

PWPC