4 star rated Germany Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 155

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Mainz to Merzig
    by Courtney R. 1 day ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The owners and staff were fabulous. The boat was beautiful with very comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms. The common areas were comfortable, flexible, and nicely decorated. The food was delicious. Unfortunately the bikes weren't in very good condition, and that impacted the whole group since we stayed together with our tour guide (flat tires, locked gears, bad brakes). We had lots of rain, so we didn't see much of the beautiful scenery.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Peggy B. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I really loved the last day of the bicycling - we rode through the beautiful Wachau valley’s vineyards. The towns were quaint and the landscape was breathtaking! Also, we had a sunset while on the barge that was unforgettable.
    Tips: *Be ready to adapt and roll with things. If you want a boring, unexciting trip, take a bus! *You will be in close contact with lots of other people. If that makes you uncomfortable, maybe this is not the trip for you. *Bring some salty snacks and other electrolyte-replacers, especially if biking in warm weather, as these are not available on the ship.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Deirdre E. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Visiting wonderful towns and cities.
    We found that the bikes provided were very heavy, making them a bit tough to ride. We were there at the end of the season and the brakes on the bikes were worn out. The bike maintenance was not ideal

    Boat: Carissima

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Gloria M. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The adventure of biking through beautiful Luxembourg, Germany, and France. One can view scenry in a different manner compared to driving a car or viewing as a passenger. Biked thru small villages, metro cities, and rural countries.

    The delicious gourmet dinners at the end of each trip will always be treasured.

    The route instructions need a lot of improvement. It should not take 6 hours to bike 22 miles!

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Danube Bike Path - Donaueschingen to Ulm
    by Laura D. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved cycling along the Donnau river cycle path. The cycle path was excellent - flat, scenic and not on roads.

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Dennis H 3 weeks ago         Verified Reviewer

    The Theodor Korner is an older boat. A little loud sometimes with the bedrooms a little small. Otherwise, the dining room, the lounge, other areas – all were fine. The meals, both breakfast and dinner, were very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. And the tours, whether guided or on your own, were very-well organized and led.

    One problem with the Bike and Boat tour – the bikes. I do not consider them well-maintained. Mine had bad brakes and wobbly steering, leading to accidents. And the “sailors” responsible for maintaining them did not seem to have much of an interest in doing so. They were the least helpful people on the boat; it wasn’t even close.

    Would I go on another B&B tour? Yes, overall it was a lot of fun. Would I take the Theodor Korner? Maybe. Would I recommend that a biker INSIST upon a good working bike – no matter what you have to do, who you have to talk to? Absolutely.
    And good luck on your trip.

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Prosper B. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery, the fellow riders the entire experience was so rewarding.
    The boat however left a lot to be desired. The dining room windows were small and you felt confined. The food was below what i’ve experienced on my 6 other tripsite bike/barge tours.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary Joanne T. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The efficiency of collecting and dropping off the bike at the beginning and the end of the day could not have gone smoother. The guidebooks were very helpful though it would have been nice to have more information on sights along the way. The bikes were extremely comfortable and we had no issues. We are already planning on our next tour!

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
    by Phil C. 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My trip from Passau to Budapest was what I hoped it would be. The original information and directions were excellent. However there was almost no communication with Rad+Riesen once the trip started. This was not really a problem except for one day when my hotel was changed without notifying me until I arrived at the wrong hotel. Luggage transfer was smooth and breakfasts were good. Generally a very positive experience with a bit of adventure. The trip from Passau to Vienna was smoother than from Vienna to Budapest in all aspects, but both were memorable and enjoyable.

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Susan P. 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved biking though the country side and seeing the small towns along the way. I wish I could have spent a little more time in the small towns. I kind of felt like I had to keep moving. The bike trail itself was very well marked and I really didn't need to use the map much. Just looked where I was going next and how far it was that was really all I needed to get around. The people were lovely. We enjoyed meeting other bikers on their bike trip many from England and having a beer with them at our destination. The hotels were all great, most in historic buildings that have been redone to modern standards. This was my first bike trip would defiantly take another one, but would pay the extra money to get an e-bike.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Glenn M. 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the biking. Most the trails were very nice and the scenery was beautiful.The most memorable part was probably the Wachau Valley. The bikes were very good. The rooms on the boat were good and the food was also plentiful and tasty.We enjoyed the entertainment put on by the crew.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Donna L. 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The beauty. Flowers were in bloom, the orchards were full of apples, the green hillsides were gorgeous.
    The booklet we received would have been more helpful if received beforehand. The directions could have been much clearer, especially to the hotels.

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by kirk g. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Parts: cruising, dining, kitchen, bar, admin, cleaning staff - wonderful, friendly, helpful. couldn't be better
    food - very good variety and quality. lunches especially good
    cycling and tour director and staff - excellent every day with information, quality equipment, attention to questions
    ship public facilities - quite adequate quality and quantity. updating on decor is needed
    hotel staff - very nice, accommodating and efficient
    hotel - needs cleaning, air conditioning was not working every day, which was a problem. air quality was not great. updated decor is needed.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Adrienne N. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part? Biking along the Danube the first day in the beautiful countryside. Spectacular!!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Cathy K. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The biking was absolutely wonderful; so incredibly beautiful especially through the vineyards and orchards. The ride around Bratislava was not marked well at all and 90% of the riders got lost going in all different directions, thank God for smart phones. The food on board was well prepared, always hot and nutritional. Where this trip fell short was the crew abroad the Normandie. Unlike the other TWO Bike and Barge Trips I experienced, this crew was a bit unwelcoming, rude, and times condescending and scolding. Not everyone but it certainly was the feel on the boat and many were talking about it. I know the crew work long hours and they all have to help with most tasks on the boat; however, there would be nothing to do if WE weren't there. I absolutely love this way of travel and will do another one again very soon. This was NOT a Tripsite issue but am hopeful this information will be passed to the appropriate people. Tripsite has been excellent in providing information Read more… and always seems to offer a great deal.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Wolfsburg to Koblenz
    by Mike C. 1 month ago         Verified Reviewer

    Our experience was simply exceptional! The shared experience and fellowship created new friendships. The Merlijn was an exceptional venue for seeing Germany and our hosts took great care of us. We got great value for our travel dollar and created terrific memories that will bring lasting joy.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Scott S. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Cycling and travel along the Danube River. Still more markings on the Bike routes.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Roger P. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Food & last day of riding + Vienna

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by Tom H. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip this segment of the Danube cycle path is nearly 100% paved and very smooth. It is relatively easy to follow the cycle path route markings. The GPS maps I was sent did not work for this segment. They worked fine from regensburg to passau so probably not user error. The cycle path is really popular with cyclists but never too crowded even though not everyone has good bike handling skill so you need to pay attention. Maps provided to hotels are not very good however people I talked to with other trip companies had the same issues and in several different languages people we met were helpful and anxious to provide
    information. Hotels were all very pleasant and comfortable even though it was very hot and they did not have air conditioning.

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sarah H. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed Wachau. Definitely stop for the wine tour, and enjoy the biking through the vineyards. It was absolutely beautiful.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Aschaffenburg to Ludwigsburg
    by David M. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Iris is a well equipped and comfortable barge with a fantastic crew. Our guide, Thomas, was knowledgeable and very helpful and the Italian chefs (husband and wife) cooked delicious food and were super cute! Lenny, the owner of the Iris, was present throughout the trip and this added a special warmth to the trip. This was the first time this itinerary was offered on the Iris and it went off without a hitch. Many of the guests had E Bikes (which I recommend even though it was rated as an easy route) which made the several small hills a piece of cake! Would definitely recommend this trip on the Iris.

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Germany

  • Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau
    by Tom H. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It's a great trip along the upper Danube there are some gravely bits and some places where the path was not always 100% obvious. This is a relatively easy bike ride to do the paved sections are great and the countryside and river views are beautiful.we were happy with most of the hotels and pensiones that we stayed in the food was really fun and good. some of the hotels were allowed if you had a room on the roadside so earplugs would be useful some of the directions getting into the cities were obscure so be ready to have your phone handy or some other mapping app.

    Countries: Germany

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Paula G. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The history and the countryside was fantastic. Need work with maps - took us over an hour to find the hotel in Dresden as we were never given a city map of Dresden with hotels marked as other cities. Do not recommend dinner package as fixed menu at some of restaurants was not very good.

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Susan B. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the trails that ran close to the sea shore, as well as passing through the small towns. It’s really important to watch the signage along the way in order to stay on course. It’s sometimes challenging to locate the overnight spots based on the descriptions in the tour materials. They would be better if they provided more detail.

  • Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau
    by Peter B. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great landscape and neat towns along the way.
    Suggestions: I thought I would be meeting with someone at the hotel on the first day per the trip description to discuss the route, which never happened. Also, several points of the route were under construction, a couple major. I should have been made aware of that since the navigation app did not redirect me. Two hotels did not have air conditioning. It was hot! That should be pointed out to permit upgrade to elect air conditioning.

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by John H. 3 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic Value; super helpful staff. Only 80 riders. Very friendly guests attracted. Beautiful sights. Good food. Bikes heavy and clunky with no choice in quality except electric. Excellent trip overall.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by SUSAN C. 3 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    Briefing by tour director daily with clear instructions on the following days ride. Highlighting and suggestions where to break for coffee and lunch, and points of interest along the way.
    Breakfast and evening meal was delicious.
    A great range of reasonably priced good quality bike attire, including wet weather jackets ,and bike helmets for sale.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Berlin to Copenhagen
    by Diane I. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Denmark was incredible! The Baltic and the forests were lovely. The people were good-humored and helpful.

    Countries: Denmark, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Karen F. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike and barge tour was great! The bike route along the Danube was easy to follow but sometimes the days seemed repetitive. We found the last day of riding the most picturesque. The boat crew was awesome- everyone spoke English well except for the tour guide who struggled with communicating the day to day instructions. The food was very good and plentiful.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Scott A. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding in the foothills/vinyards in Austria. Stopping for a beer and a slice of homemade cake at a hotel on the trail.
    The boat was too slow traveling upstream against heavy current. This meant we were late in docking for our next ride. Yes, the current was heavy but this is likely to happen every spring.

    Boat: Arlene II

PWPC