4 Star Germany Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 263

 


David M.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The Magnifique III Is a wonder boat with well appointed cabins and public space. The Mossell river is one of the prettiest and easiest to ride along. Getting to Metz from Paris was an easy train ride. We did not have to rush to the boat by 2 PM. The first day you get fitted on your bike and then are free until dinner. I would recommend an E -bike as there are sudden uphill grades and it make life easier. The GPS for your phone is very easy to follow So I would recommend that if you are traveling with a group of friends that the group goes self guided because there are many quaint villages along the way that you could see. The rides each day are from 22 to 37 miles and with the guide and take about 5 hours. The guides are on a schedule to meet the boat and not arrive early. They stop every 8-10+miles and linger for 30 minutes. Lunch is in nice towns but you do not have enough time to enjoy them. Overall, it was a beautiful trip however really fast and experienced riders would be frustrated.
The crew and guides change with each sailing so we cannot comment on our experience. I will say both crew and guides were extremely competent and friendly.

Brett P.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Olympia Koblenz to Saarburg
Germany

The guided tour of Trier was great, as the guide explained things which you may not read about.

Virginia C.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Olympia Mainz to Cologne
Germany

The boat was extremely comfortable....the bed in my cabin made it difficult to get up in the morning. The crew went out of their way to be helpful.
Food was fine.....breakfast provided plenty of choices, we packed out lunches for our rides from the buffet. Breads were delicious. We had cool and or rainy nights so we didn't take advantage of the deck on top. The entertainment, consisting of a DJ was a bit boring after a day or two but we still enjoyed ourselves, dancing, playing cards, etc. This trip was very reasonable monetarily.

susan o.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Loved the tour of the Reichsburg castle. To think that it is still standing intact after 100's of years is amazing!

Ann A.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Overall, this is a lovely trip, with beautiful sites and numerous delightful stops along the way. We chose category A hotels, modified the 7 day trip by adding a 2nd night in Lindau, and spent the last 2 nights in Arbon, where we ended the trip, without returning to Konstanz (this is our 9th trip, about 50% bike and barge). It appears the daily destinations change depending on the length of trip and availability(or best rate for booking company??).
Pros: Lots to do in Konstanz, including swimming in the lake. Enjoyed Hotel Halm very much - central location, nice rooms and good breakfasts. We adored Hotel Rheingold - rooms were new, with patio or deck, and restaurant was delicious, with a gorgeous hilltop view. Lindau was the perfect 2 night stop with lots to see and quaint restaurants. The upgraded Bayerischer in Lindau was super with much appreciated sauna and two wonderful pools, delicious breakfast - highly recommend the A+ upgrade. Parkhotel in Uberlingen also had Read More

Sandra Z.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Bicycle riding along the Moselle was terrific. Beautiful scenery.
Guides were knowledgeable, but could have been a little more aware of riders in traffic situations.

Al H.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

scenery along the Mosel, friendliness of local people, small group on board, lousy food amost every night..

Jim and Leslie W.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Our chef was outstanding! Our stop at a winery along the way was outstanding. Wish there were more fun stops along the way.

Kimberly R.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Bike pathways through Austria were in fantastic condition, well marked and easy to follow making for a relaxing ride. Some of the paths in Hungary were not suitable for a road bike (no pavement and loose rocky terrain). Some warning about this before selecting a bike or alternative route would have been helpful. Our bags were always at the hotel when we arrived which was very nice after a long ride.
The hotels were nice. Most offered a nice relaxing outdoor space. The breakfast options were all comparable to each other and provided a good start to the day.
The bike “fitting” was a bit disappointing, the bikes were dropped off and only after a lot of hunting around was the staff able to provide a tool to adjust the seat height. There was no tool kit provided and when we asked the kit was not suitable for the bike we had. I would have preferred a stop in Linz rather than the small city before it. There would be more things to do in Linz in the evening.
Overall I was pleased with the trip and I would recommend it, especially the Germany to Vienna section.

MARJORIE S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The trip was amazing and we loved seeing all the towns and the countryside. I would rate it as easy-moderate as there were some pretty challenging hills. Also, the directions could be confusing at times.

Taylor R.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

I loved cycling through the small towns the first 2 days. The buildings were so cute and the flowers were gorgeous! Highly recommend a gel seat pad. We used the wee-hoos for our 2 girls and they were great, however if you are short there are some challenges getting them attached to the bike. The bike shop was great working with us to make it happen, but it took some creative adjustments.

Heidi A.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We enjoyed biking off the route to visit some small towns. Google maps worked great to get us back on track to meet the boat. Really appreciated the knowledgeable guides on the Vienna and Budapest bus tours.

Sylvia M.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The whole experience was memorable.

My suggestion to others would be that they do not rent a Touring bike for the 10 day - sportiv - version of the trip.

Cindy B.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Allure Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

The views along the Moselle River were spectacular. I especially loved riding bikes to the quaint little towns and through the vineyards. Every meal on the barge was delicious.

Tom K.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

We were amazed at all the vineyards! We knew the area was famous for Riesling but we had no idea how immense the area was. We also loved the small villages. So much history there.

Michael K.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

It was an amazing trip, only issue was getting an e-bike as a tall person. I was able to get one from a local bike shop in town who were great, but if It was something that caused a little more work on my part and considerable worry that it would be there.

Thomas T.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Internet sucks. Needs to be available throughout the ship, not just in the bar. Also we were not told how to use our electric bikes. And some parts of the bike route were hazardous, e.g., loose gravel, fast auro traffic. 3 of 4 of our group wiped out at least once.

Celeste S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Allure Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

The only thing keeping this trip from 5 stars is the boat we were on. The Allure was disappointing.

Joel k.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

We did the entire Great Danube bike trail from Passau to Budapest. It was actually 2 trips Passau to Vienna and Vienna to Budapest. The first one Passau to Vienna was on a very well defined bike path that followed the Danube River. There were many bikes on this route. The second trip Vienna to Budapest, was on a combination of paved and gravel bike trails and roads. Certainly for the more adventurous rider. Personally we would dont think we would do 2 weeks of straight biking, one week would have been plenty. Highlights were Vienna and Budapest each would have been better with longer stays as there was so much to do.

richard p.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The scope of the vineyards in the river valley. The manual biked were absurdly heavy and improperly geared for the route

timothy c.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Good trip. I knew of 2 people who complained of having a "cold" toward the end of the tour. 3 days after returning home I tested positive for covid having minor symptoms. Not the fault of Tripsite but I think you should be aware.

Paul G.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

Cycling the Danube is memorable and the accommodation was excellent. Melk and the Wachau Valley were high points. The bicycles were a disappointment: Heavy & Clunky. We were expecting 24 gear Hybrids. The directions for Linz and the last day in Vienna need work. Perhaps you could a more detailed map for each city that show the route in street map detail. These would be separate from the daily cycling maps. There was confusion regarding where stayed : Ardagger Shift and not Grein! The daily cycling map suggested that we end the day in Grein.

theodore s.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The crew was absolutly great the bikes were of good quality the food was also. We had a great time. The reason I gave a 4 was the fact that you couldn't drink the tap water and they charged you for bottled water. Water is a basic necessity and should be free.

Thomas B.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

It was fun and relaxing riding bikes along the Saar and Mosel rivers. The vineyards climbed up the hills and ran down almost to the river. The many small villages were so attractive and Trier, a larger town, was interesting. The 20 passengers were great. The food could have been better.

Mike O.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

Our trip down the Saar and Moselle Rivers was fantastic. The boat, Quo Vadis, was well equipped and our rooms very comfortable with ample room to move about.
We traveled with 7 couples that knew each other through a few of the people and that quickly built camaraderie. The others on the tour were included in all of our fun and we set up a WhatsApp group to share photos and experiences. The riding was relatively easy and the river sights continued to call for photo stops. We were fortunate that our guides were flexible and understood our desire to stop at nice coffee shops, pubs and restaurants for snacks and the occasional meal beside the cut lunch we carried.
The only reason we scored this trip as a 4 rather than a 5 was that the meals were far below our expectations. We had traveled on a previous trip on 'Sailing Home' at "comfort' level and our meals were of much better quality and quantity than this 'Deluxe' trip. This was unfortunate as we believed we were paying for a higher level again than the previous trip.

Ellen L.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Lovely trip, beautiful scenery. There is construction which has made some of the paths change. Some signage a bit difficult to follow.

Candace B.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The Danube Bike and Barge cruise was an enjoyable experience. The crew on the ship could not have been more attentive to our needs. How those folks got 129 bikes on and off so efficiently and with smiles was something to behold. The country side views and the little botagas along the way were a pleasant spot to stop and take it all in. The app made the route effortless to follow. The guided city tours were informative and exciting. An exceptional way to visit a city at a very reasonable cost. The paved paths with no vehicle traffic took any thoughts of danger off the table. It was pedal away and relax especially with the electric bikes that were top notch and very easy to maneuver. The food was presented and tasted like a Michelin star restaurant and a varied menu made choosing dishes difficult at times but our waiter obliged and we just had both. Now the most difficult part lies ahead deciding which bike and barge cruise we are signing up for next year.

Edgar L.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Olympia Koblenz to Saarburg
Germany

The Moselle River valley is one of the most beautiful river valleys in Europe. Early September is ideal. Each day had so many unique and historic sites. The towns are quaint, and many of them are very picturesque. Our weather was spectacular, which enhanced the daily cycling adventure.

Naomi F.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

Very friendly and knowledgeable crew. Easy routes but long days, often biking to 5 pm or later. Would prefer bike touring ended by 3 pm

Tobi W.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Unfortunately ww had a lot of rain and some cold temps. However we still made it to the hotels every day!
Our hotels were wonderful and in great locations. GREAT VIEWS!
We also made a few wrong turns due to poor bike signs..
Overall..it was still a fun trip and glad we did it!