4 star rated Bike Tour Reviews 331 to 360 of 376

 

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Sharon Cratsenberg 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Perfect weather, gorgeous scenery, wonderful riding--loved every minute of the trip.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea - Bike & Boat
    by Frank McDowell 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    "The ""recommend this trip (Tyhrennian Sea)"" question is a difficult question to answer. Scenery is great. Pompeii great. Guide good. Some passengers had issues with the Capt. At the end of our third day out we were secured to our sister boat in such a way that we had to walk across the railings (not on deck) to transfer to our vessel. It was unsafe, and honestly, uncomfortable for the women. When a few of our female passengers shared their opinion with the Capt he dismissed their concerns. In fairness, he had slipped and broken several ribs while handling bikes and was probably not in the best mood. When we finished biking on this same day (very hot) the crew/guide made all of us wait while they loaded the bikes. We all thought that was odd. They did not offer an explanation. The scenery was very good, guide was a nice guy and very knowledgeable. The crew was mixed. Cook & first mate great. Barista not so much. Capt....I don't know. After his accident he left to recover. Forgot about our second night. The harbor was unprotected from the prevailing wind direction and we rocked on 2-3 waves all night. No one slept-crew included. I told Marilyn if we encounter another night like that I was getting a room. It was miserable. The rest of the anchorages were fine. After writing this I changed my survey answer from Yes to No. I would send them to Metz if they want easy biking and Croatia for difficult.

    On the plus side...The Metz (Merlijn 2013) & So Dalmatia tours (San Snova 2015) was excellent in every way. Crew, boat, scenery, guides. We'll return to Europe but events in Paris probably have many of us thinking about different options.

    Boat: Deriya Deniz

    Countries: Italy

  • Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
    by Dean Boyce 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Best holiday ever. Great staff.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Balearic Islands
    by Harvey Brody 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Overall great but cabins too small. Advertise air conditioning. There was none. the staff were great. The cabins were hot, no porthole.

    Boat: Atlantis

    Countries: Spain

  • Southern Dalmatia
    by Margaret Pattison 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My daughter and I had a great time.

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Provence - Van Gogh
    by Leslie Lami-Reed 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Staff was wonderful. Weather not so good but we had a great time.

    Countries: France

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Richard Krenn 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Was disappointed that there seemed to be less cycling per day that expected from the website description.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by John Bowyer 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Wonderful trip along the Danube. If you are biker you will find the bikes lacking. My wife with her spinal cord injury used an electric assist which worked very well.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • South Greek Aegean Sea
    by Rolf Lange 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most everything was perfect, especially our guide Lars for both trips. Only problem was lack of AC on boat so sleeping not easy.

    Boat: Love Boat (formerly BB2)

    Countries: Greece, Turkey

  • Mainz to Metz
    by Barbara Berling 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Loved the trip and the Merlijn. Hoping to do another tour in 2017.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • North Holland Tour
    by Carolyn Dunbar 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was a nice trip which I chose after research. I learned that I prefer smaller groups.

    Boat: De Holland

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Wayne Goodman 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I really loved: Tour guide, boat hosts, food, sights, other guests.
    I only enjoyed: quality of bike (could've been a better bike, but it was well maintained)
    Could've been better: speed of cycling (while I understand not everyone cycles at the same speed, there should be a ""fast"" group and a ""slow"" group
    --overall rating: 4.5 of 5

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Brussels to Bruges (no longer available)
    by Tamara MacAskill 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Route guidance and maps need improvement. Otherwise, everything was great.

    Countries: Belgium

  • Prague to Dresden (no longer available)
    by Mei Regan 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We were told the distances we would ride each day but these did not match the GPS we were given. Each day was longer and harder than we were led to believe. You need to make it clear that the ride is not for beginners as there are many hills and long distances most days. I would rate this as a medium ride, not an easy/medium ride. Our group could not complete the ride as it was too hot.

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Debby Repensky 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Loved the trip!!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Richard Kurtz 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Cabins were nicer than I expected. We stayed with the guide as found the routes hard to navigate and the guide knew all the great stops. Dinners were good, breakfast and lunches needed more variety by the end of the week. We had fabulous weather and loved the route. Lots to see.

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Mainz to Basel (no longer available)
    by Susan Miller 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The guide was not well prepared with maps and the boat kept changing docking locations. The Rhine is very industrial from Basel to Mainz. The rides were not very interesting or long. It was not one of your better offers.

    Boat: MS Andante

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Christel Mikelic 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The bike part was more challenging than in the discription. You have to be a strong biker used to hills. There are many hills and one very challenging hill. So I would not consider this an easy tour as in the description. However it was well worth the effort if you are well trained. Our guide Wiro was awesome and kept us together and on time which was very much appreciated. I would recommends this trip in spring or early summer. By the time we went end of August the vegetation was all dried up and there were no flowers because they had such a hot dry summer. I prefer a comfort plus boat as you have more space in your cabin. These cabins were very small. However all in all it was a beautiful, historic and worth while tr which I would recommend to avid cyclists.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • South Holland Tour
    by Jean Louis Bergeron 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    On some days, we could have biked more. Very pleasant walks in the evenings.
    Very small window in our room.

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Koblenz to Bad Wimpfen
    by Sabina Zutter 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I ordered an electrical bike and found it VERY TOP heavy, causing me to take a fall and injure my hip.

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Susan Knight 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Amazing scenery, great company, delicious food, kind staff and somewhere comfy to sleep - with no unpacking! However,the crux of these trips stems from the quality of the guides. Our first trip, to Vienna, Had a guide that knew the route well, but smoked at every stop, and wanted to always eat dinner at somewhere he could buy alcohol; we preferred to eat our rolls in the fresh air, which sometimes was tricky. He tended to ride off without checking we were all ready, leaving riders behind until someone caught him. Our second trip (Merzig to Koblenz) had a lady guide who was not at all familiar with the area, but used her GPS to locate landmarks and routes (sometimes taking the shortest, not the most scenic). She didn't give an initial safety talk, she changed the route from the easy one offered to a more scenic but quite difficult one, causing one older, inexperienced lady to fall (end of trip for her and her husband,, hospitalisation for almost a fortnight, skingraft). Our replacement guide tried hard, but couldn't seem to match the route to the one we'd booked, so we missed seeing things we'd looked forward to. So our last trip, Koblenz to Amsterdam, was not one we would recommend unless they sorted the route out. Apart from the above, we'd recommend this mode of travel.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Lois Requist 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The guides are young and very athletic. People who sign up for this level of bicycling aren't usually top bikers, unless they are doing it to be with friends or spouse. I think a bit more thought could be put into the introductory ride the first day, bridge crossings, sudden merging into traffic, sudden turns to go steeply uphill. I've done much longer bike rides, but at this age, I didn't want that much challenge.

    Boat: Iris

  • Elena on the Danube
    by Art Shotwell 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My wife and I took this trip in late Sept/early Oct 2015. We had no rain. Had a wonderful time. We know we missed things along the way and are considering the same trip next year or another one along the Danube. The staff on the My Story were great. Food was very good. And, the room seemed roomier than similar ones I saw on other Web sites for more expensive (non-biking) river cruises.

    Countries:

  • Brussels to Bruges Bike and Boat Tour
    by Maryellen Doyle 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Barge Quo Vadis was intimate and comfortable. Although small, our cabin had sufficient shelving available to store our clothes (we used ebags pouches to keep biking stuff and hanging out later stuff organized). Our very large roller duffels collapsed enough to store under the beds. The bathroom was fine and we eventually realized the shower squeegee was for the floor - to bring the water towards the drain in middle. Wifi was very limited as the captain made his hotspot available to us but that only seemed to work at the end if the dining room closest to his quarters. We would have liked more seating areas as you had a small sofa/ chairs seating area bordering the dining tables but once filled you would have to sit at a dining table to read etc. The outside seating area actually would seat twenty but appeared smaller....would have liked a bigger outside area too. The staff was wonderful. The bikes were great and i loved my ebike (you have to pedal every bit as much as on a regular bike but you are always "assisted" so you never break a sweat or have to huff puff if encountering an incline or a headwind. In truth i probably would have liked some kind of arrangement where we had the option to do a bit more touring on foot/ time in cute little towns, vs all the time on the bike. We did see things I never would have seen on my own and Belgium is fascinating....hence the wish to actually have had a bit more time in towns like Mechelen where we had a one hour lunch stop and then were on our way. For my next trip i would also invest in a pair of rain pants. I did not know about them but all the Swiss ladies jumped into them as well as their rain jackets when clouds opened up three times as we cycled. One other wardrobe tip...we were spending four weeks in Europe and packing was an issue. I did not bring sneakers which i would only have used while biking, then having to lug for three weeks through fashionable France. Instead my black Sketchers, GO WALK line, did the trick for both a great bike shoe and a walking shoe in France.
    We really enjoyed the trip in general and would just search out a barge with a bit more public space were we to do a future trip. "

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Joyce Lear 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I thought we would bike every day, not a problem, but it would have been nice to know.

    Boat: My Story

  • Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau
    by Erin O'Conner 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Wonderful trip. Great descriptive guide book. Look forward to another trip soon.

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary Anne Gilbert 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I had a good time on this trip, however, there was not enough time on the bicycle. As well, compared to the other biking trips we have taken, this one was very dependent on time. We did not have all day to get to the next spot. I felt rushed on three of the days, and we only biked on four. Also you lose the sense of discovery when every spot is picked out for you ahead of time, as to where to eat, shop, etc. The cruise staff were wonderful, but it seems to me that they think people only want to see cities, whereas I love the countryside and the villages. I would not do a combined boat and bike again.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Susan Viggiano 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Great way to do an active vacation. Will definitely book again!!

    Boat: My Story

  • Mainz to Basel (no longer available)
    by Anna Zdancewicz 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The boat itself is nothing remarkable, but quite comfortable and clean. The staff was amazingly friendly. Route descriptions were sparse in some sections so there was some guessing involved. The maps themselves didn't have any road names on them if you did get lost they were of no use. We honestly didn't rely on the maps/route descriptions as much as the info from our daily meetings with the tour guide. There were good and bad days as far as scenery on the rides, a few days were pretty boring with not a lot to look at, while others were quite beautiful. We docked within walking distance to town on all days except one (where you had the option of one lonely restaurant). On board you are provided with maps and flyers for each overnight town. The bikes were super heavy and cumbersome (not bikes I am used to) but this is the norm in Europe. The food on board was excellent. I would recommend this trip as I know the routes are being reviewed and descriptions/maps updated.

    Boat: MS Andante

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Janet Humphrey 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    They need to provide better maps or route sheets. Manager of the boat (Peter) was very unfriendly and sometimes rude.

    Boat: Normandie

PWPC