5 Star Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 2806

 


Teresa and Bob Biancardi
1 day ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria to the Adriatic
Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

Istria to the Adriatic Tour
We are now back from our September biking trip and wanted to take this opportunity to our wonderful guide Andrej, you, and everyone else involved in planning this tour. We had the best time and for us, it was an experience of a lifetime. While we are active boomers, we are not bike ridders and didn’t have a total idea of what to expect. The tour met and went above our expectations. When Andrej asked what the highlight of our trip had been, all I could say was that everything in the tour was a favorite and special. From biking the beautiful coast and country side, to stopping at local roadside cafes for refreshment breaks, to visiting historic and quaint medieval villages and towns, it just didn’t get better than that. Our group was small and intimate and much fun. We managed on the many different terrains, some which we found to be more challenging than others. The highway rides were scary, but all part of the adventure. The food was excellent, wine and hotel rooms, all terrific.

Continued success and again many thanks!
Teri and Robert Biancardi

Kevin D.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The paradors were incredible! And riding along the coast of Portugal and Spain... magical.

Gordon Shaw
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

My best bike trip ever. The route has some challenging sections but exciting. Will definitely go again.

Ed Paquette
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

My wife and truly enjoyed this tour on the Caprice in 2018. The reviews previously posted are very informative and descriptive about barge life on the Caprice, the itinerary, guides, and dining. We booked early July in order to take pre-boarding day trips to the lavender fields outside Avignon. As with all of our bike-barge tours, we have met and befriended the most interesting and wonderful people. Summer heat and some challenging ascents could be mitigated by reserving an e-bike.

Wendy V.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Our crew and tour guides were fantastic. Not to mention the food onboard was outstanding.

Donna W.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

This was a trip of a lifetime for me. Hein and Marjolein were wonderful trip leaders and so knowledgeable about the cities we visited. They made the trip a delight and handled any glitches that arose seamlessly. It helped that they had lived in the area for several years and were familiar with the customs and history of the Veneto.
The food provided by Alberto and Daniele was superb and plentiful, and reflected the cuisine of northern Italy. And Jano was amazing at piloting the Ave Maria through the canals and lagoon. Francesco did a great job anticipating and fulfilling our requests throughout the trip.
The Ave Maria was a perfect vessel for our weeklong tour of the Po River valley of northern Italy. The staterooms were very comfortable and had ample room for two people and their belongings. It was very interesting to hear about the transition of a derelict barge into the sleek Ave Maria that was our home for a week.
I would love to do another trip with this group to explore a new area of Europe in the future.

Ric B.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The trip was awesome. Everything was 1st rate. We loved all of our staff. Each person on the staff went the extra mile to make the tour very special!

cynthia w.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

This was our second bike and barge with tripsite. It exceded our expectations. The room had plenty of storage, the staff was outstanding and the meals were all excellent. Our tripsite vacation was perfect.

Shaunna A.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Merzig
Germany

This was our first Bike & Barge, but it won't be our last! The whole trip was fabulous, the biking, the crew, the food, the other passengers and Tripsite for organizing it all!

Diane C.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Ave Maria is a beautiful comfortable well equipped boat. The staff was courteous, helpful, pleasant and efficient. The food absolutely the best! plentiful and with great variety. Our tour host Hein and Mayleine were awesome. They were well informed about the historic and local areas that we traveled thru and were humorous, kind and considerable for all the guests needs and abilities.
The tour was a well planned route thru some lovely back roads and small towns and cities. The bicycles were very good and easy to ride. It is very difficult to choose just one memorable part of the trip it was well worth the time we waited to enjoy the Boat/Barge.

Kathleen R.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

Bicycling through the beautiful vineyards and the opportunity to visit picturesque towns.

Laurie H.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Seeing venice on a sunny day from the roof of an historic building.
Biking through the countryside and villages.
Excellent food.

John L.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Arriving into Venice on the Ave Maria. In beautiful Lido we turned in our bikes and by the way they were terrific bikes. I even named mine. I hated to to see "Lisa Marie" go into storage but what came next was even more spectacular. To arrive in magical Venice by boat on a glorious fall day with brilliant sun glistening off the buildings and the water was breath-taking. The fact that the crew had arranged pizza and cocktails only added to the experience. And then that sunset! What a day!

Lawrence S.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

This was my fourth bike/barge tour with Tripsite, and it was just as amazing as the other trips. Loved every moment. The ship and crew were simply outstanding. The only disappointment is that the itinerary said we would be in Metz for the evening, to even include a walking tour. We were greatly looking forward to it. However, we left Metz within an hour of boarding. It was a great topic of conversation among many passengers, who were also disappointed. So I’m not sure why we even started in Metz, to only leave right away and travel quite a distance to our first port. Other than that, it was as wonderful as each of my other Trip Site vacations.

Sharman H.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The food by Sylvia and Irena was delicious and the daily movies by Hugo gave us a sweet memory .

Susan E.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The itinerary was terrific. We had fabulous guides who gave us lots of information about the sites we were visiting. The boat was very comfortable and the food was great. We had just 20 participants and everyone was very interesting and friendly. Can't wait for our next trip!

Dave H.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

I worked with TripSite to plan this trip for 20 friends and family and they were fantastic to work with: flexible, friendly and professional. And the trip costs half of similar trips offered by US based bike tour operators. The Iris was a superb boat in great condition and the crew were amazing, with a special shout-out to the fantastic food! The riding was hard to believe: miles and miles of flat, scenic, history drenched wine country. Every days ride was enjoyable and had nice prizes and surprises along the way. Some of my group decided to stay on board for one or more days and got to relax and watch the castles go by, read a book, drink some great local white wine, and chat with the friendly crew. This particular tour: the Mosel between Cochem and Metz, was referred to me by a good friend who has done a dozen packaged bike tours and said this was his favorite. Now it's ours!

Derek G.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Aschaffenburg to Cochem
Germany

The biking.

Barbara D.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano-Mantova-Venice
Italy

Enjoying all the regions of Italy with the chefs coordinating the evening meals with regional specialities was a delight. Everything was so well executed....bikes..tours...meals....coffee stops...museum and cathedral visits...super fun.

LISA C.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

This was an absolute memorable trip! Our guides Sylvia and Francisco did everything possible to make sure we enjoyed. The brought on tours, day an night. The food was great food. The cooks and engineers were great. The quality of the bikes were perfect. Having 31 guests was great because it is easy to get to know everyone. I would definitely recommend

Carmem d.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Bordeaux to Sarlat Wine and E-Bike Tour
France

The people at Tripsite gave all information before the decision. (Claudia) and made our decision very easy
The cities were very well chosen
The hotels are very good
The local agency we needed twice, first because we did not received the GPS routes and the girls were very nice and competente. The next day we needed some more information, but there were no one speaking English. So Claudia helped us

Kay B.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

It isn't possible to pick out a "most memorable part." We will treasure memories of it all: the delightful and accommodating crew on the Ave Maria, the extraordinary food (where did those two men train?), the city guides that lead us around Venice and Mantua, the beautiful countryside viewed from excellent bikes, our always upbeat bicycling guides, and the terrific company of fellow bikers. It was the perfect up close and personal way to experience this part of Italy.

Susan G.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Melody Southern Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

Our boat, the Melody had a luxurious feel with very spacious rooms. The captain and crew were all gracious and helpful, Carla's smiles always bountiful. Our guides, Dora and Tara were fabulous, warm and knowledgeable. Dora is quite articulate and provided us with a lovely tour of Split. The weather was amazing and each swim stop most enjoyable. The waters of the Adriatic Sea are incredibly blue and clear. We were sorry we didn't participate in the rafting trip on Split, as those that did spoke highly of the adventure. The wine tasting at Vinarija Lipanović on the island of Vis was lovely, very good wine and food. Our visit to the beekeeper, Goran, on the island of Solta was also a real treat, prompting us to seek out our own local beekeeper at home. Since we were on the 2nd to last tour of the season, we were able to enjoy the quieter side of the roads, cafe stops, ports and sights.

If I could offer one suggestion; it would be to have stronger coffee on board the boat in the morning.

Neal & Susan

Susan G.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Panagiota Ionian Islands
Greece

We liked the feel of the rustic boat, the Panagiota. Although far from luxurious, we found it comfortable. The cook, Nondas, along with the engineer and grill master, Makis, offered healthy and delicious creations for each lunch and dinner served on board. Dimitris and Alexandros were excellent guides, always attentive, helpful and knowledgeable. We couldn't have had better weather and each swim stop proved rewarding. The waters of the Ionian sea were breathtakingly clear and blue. The diverse set of fellow travelers also added exponentially to our adventure, with a special mention to Martin from Germany, who graced us with guitar and song our last evening on board. As our tour was the final one of the season, we also enjoyed the more quiet side of the many roads, ports and attractions we encountered.

Susan & Neal

Lynne D.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Panagiota Ionian Islands
Greece

This was our first bike tour & wont be the last! It was fantastic. The trip was well planned & everything worked smoothly. The guides, Demitris & Alex were the best, keeping us informed of the days activities, & always willing to answer our questions. The boat ride, scenery, plus informative facts about the area were excellent. Meals were outstanding, as well as the camaraderie between the guests. Our tour had only 13 guests, so we got lots of personalized attention! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to experience the Ionian Islands up close & personal by bike rather than from the seat of a tour bus!!!

Cynthia A.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Harmonia Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

This trip was amazing! The places we visited in Croatia were beautiful and so interesting with the history we learned about during the city tours!
The good on the boat was fantastic and the tour guides were wonderful too! Everyone I was with rated it as one of the best trips they’ve been on. I’m already recommending it to many friends.

Bethia W.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The boat crew, Andrea, Dani, Alberto, Francisco and the two Stefanias were such excellent hosts. They created a friendly community atmosphere that brought all of us strangers together. They worked hard to make sure we were well taken care of on board and on the bikes and taught us so much about the culture, the ecosystem of the Po Valley and history which made the trip an educational experience. The local and regional meals they serverd were culinary masterpieces as memorable as any artwork we saw. I highly recommend this trip to cyclists of all ages and abilities. I would like to do it all over again! Thanks for a fun and exciting trip.

Donna B.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magellan Southern Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

The guides and crew on the Magellen were fabulous. Despite a last minute change in itinerary due to a regatta being held on one of the islands, the changes were smooth and seamless. The weather was perfect, which made the rides all that more beautiful. The people were wonderful - crew, guides and fellow passengers. We rode the ebikes, which greatly enhanced the treks over the mountains of each island. I was dubious that I could successfully do this trip, as I hadn't been on a bicycle in several years, but it turned out not to be an issue at all. A special shout-out to our guides Senad, Alex, and Luka for their unending hospitality! The only disappointments were that the food did not live up to expectations and the surprise that although there was a hairdryer in each stateroom, there were no other amenities like soap in the shower or shampoo.

Alice M.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

Hard to say! We loved every bit of it! The peddling around the beautiful sceneries, the picturesque little villages, and the two amazing cities of Dresden and Prague! All spectacular! Take your time, maybe add more days so you can really explore the places around.

Sharron L.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Harmonia Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

The islands, food and the people made our tour. Our bike tour guides were amazing, they are knowledgeable, informative and supportive. The only issue I had was the Thursday evening we did not have dinner on the boat, as most of the restaurants were closed for the season and it was very difficult to find our evening meal.