5 Star Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 2224

 


Don Mankin
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Holland - World War II Reflections
Netherlands

Great trip! The combination of bucolic scenery, moderate activity, and poignant history makes this one of the most memorable trips I have ever taken. And Martin is one of the best guides I've ever met. He brought the history to life with personal observations and recollections. For anyone who is interested in WWII history and enjoys cycling on flat trails through beautiful countryside, this trip is a must.

Sherry Hoerl
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Puglia Food & Wine
Italy

We did this tour self-guided and it was a memorable and remarkable experience. In late October, this part of Italy is nearly empty so there was very little traffic and in some of the hotels and restaurants, we were the only guests. The route is spectacular and we were very lucky to have perfect weather. There are a few long, steep climbs and some of the unpaved sections were pretty rough. It would have been significantly harder in rain or heat, but the easy-moderate rating is fairly accurate. The local tour operators were great. There were a few glitches along the way but they were always very quick to respond and worked everything out for us. Using the gps required a bit of a learning curve and was a little tricky in the towns where there were a lot a quick turns.
The hotels, meals and tastings that were included in this tour were all outstanding and very unique. Would highly recommend this adventure in a part of Italy that is definitely off the beaten path.
This was our second bike trip with tripsite and we look forward to planning our third!

The Doeys
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Our first bike and barge and we are already looking forward to many more. We are two 60 yr old couple who all love the outdoors, adventure and travel. Our cabins were on the top deck of the Carissma, roomy enough, turn down service each night and big picture windows. Excellent food, especially the dinners. Albert was the tour guide on board and he was organized, knowledgeable and patient! No problems with the bikes or directions - we were self guiding, 21 speed bikes. Easy terrain. We highly recommend the city bike tour of Budapest and Vienna as you otherwise may miss great hidden gems, interesting stories and local guides. We stayed at Hotel Residenz in Passau for one night before departure and highly recommend the visit to this beautiful port city and the hotel! We could not recommend trying this style of vacation more. The staff on the Carissma did everything to make the week comfortable, easy and well organized. Wonderful way to see cities in 4 countries in a week.

Mike M.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Andela Lora Kvarner Bay E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

Best vacation ever! That’s what so many people in our group kept saying. Beautiful boat and the scenery is spectacular. Excellent tour guides who made everything fun. So many good memories were made. Fell in love with everything about Croatia, including the crystal blue water, very friendly people, the food, and wonderful small towns. Three big delicious full meals a day were served. Ebikes were very nice, high quality. Definitely put Croatia, if not this specific trip, on your list.

Coach
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

Greetings!
I'm still in "la-la-land" thinking back on all the fabulous crew, adventures, sites, food (Did I say food---delightful), wines, and incredibly beautiful rides along the Mosel and Sar rivers. Day 1: meet the superb crew, fun travelers (11 in our group, 7 others, also fun) and make our home-away-from -home cabin cozy and prepare for our first dinner. Each day began with a hearty, fresh breakfast as well as choices for making our packable lunches. Days were filled with the most beautiful sites of castles, to wineries, to intimate villages as well as the opportunities to stop and have lunch in local restaurants. View, views, views! Yes, bring raingear, enjoy the clean air and winding river bike paths (95% paved) as you are guided (thanks Weiggart!) through each unique village, winery, town, and forest. If you are the "sweep", make sure you remind your riders to "give each other space for slowing" and as you ride, watch for riders Read More

Dennis E.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I really enjoyed the cycling outsy of the cities. Cycling in the cities was not so great.

The food on board was excellent. Everything about the ship was great.

Dennis ft Collins Colorado

August A.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Island of Crete
Greece

This was a great trip. We had a group of 6 people, all recently retired (to give you an age perspective). We did the van assisted, electric bike version of the trip. Probably could have done any one day on a non-e-bike, but could not have done the week since we are not hard core cyclists. with the e-bikes and the assistance of our guide the trip was great, and stress free. We got to see the majority of the middle of the island, starting in a different direction everyday, with varied landscapes and things to see.
We did do the upgraded hotels, which was not a big added expense, and the hotels were nice, but can't tell you if the normal accommodations would have been an issue. The two towns that we stayed in were different, one a small beach town, the other a bigger city. This also added to the experience. Breakfasts at the hotels were huge, and meals on our own along the way were more of the wonderful Greek food, and not expensive. Would highly recommend this trip.

Dennis E.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Not the cities but the cycling outside of the cities. Perhaps cycling the Wachau Valley was our favorite but we enjoyed all of the pre-planned cycle routes.

There were no complications due to COVID-related issues on the tour. The only frustrating steps were the Denver to Frankfurt flight and the return. We never seemed to have the right forms and in the end, no one ever checked the forms except at the airplane check-in.

Bill & Lisa S.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Harmonia Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

This is our 6th bike and boat tour via Tripsite. Every trip has been it’s own unique experience. We booked for the ship Harmonia 2 1/2 years ago to bike in Croatia and finally got to go. The ship was very comfortable.
We biked through vineyards and olive trees. We made 30 new friends.

Special thanks to Anna’s patience throughout the pandemic.

Laurie E.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Harmonia Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

It's too hard to pick one thing as most memorable. Everything was amazing. Our guides were so fabulous. Ivan and Ana were so knowledgeable and also so fun. I can't say enough good things about them. They made sure to take great care of us. The e-bikes were always ready to go. The biking was the best. Views that were unbelievable with the crystal clear blue water and the landscape with the lush vegetation. I would highly recommend this trip.

Lucia C.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Ebro River to La Rioja
Spain

All the journey was amazing! As you follow the river, you pass for a great variety of wonderful views. My favorite day was the forth one: the perfect day in a life time!!!
But be aware: it is not so easy for beginners with some steep climbs at some points.
I would like to add that the support during the trip was perfect. Simon helped us at any time, always available.
It was my first bike tour and I just loved the experience. I intend to repeat it for sure in this same or other routes.

Dave G.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Mosel & Saar
Germany

We did the Mosel-Saar B&B trip on the Quo Vadis that began Sept. 5, 2021. We had fantastic weather virtually the entire trip, which helped. My wife and I were part of larger group of 4 couples from Boise, ID, and one couple from Detroit, MI. We had a fantastic time; the Mosel wine country is spectacular. The Dutch crew were not only outstanding running the boat, they were compassionate, sensitive, helpful and fun human beings. I cannot say enough good about them. As representatives of the Netherlands, they did a real service for their country and for Tripsite. Thanks for such a memorable experience!

kathleen (Casey) hunter
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

This was a phenomenal tour! Our tour guide, Andre was the best! He is Great organizer, very skilled crew and rider leader and an especially a very knowledgeable and inspiring historian! Unfortunately, he was also unusually busy as a bike repairman. We really hope to book another tour with Andre! (last name?)

Connie P.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Our tour guid was amazing (Melanie) She made sure everyone was safe and I believe everyone enjoyed themselves it was just a lot of fun what a great time with good friends and Melanie

Martin Walsh
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

What a great trip. More challenging than advertised but still outstanding. Self guided was distracting. We would do it guided if we go again. Local support with Sergio was excellent. He reached out every day. The hotels were unusually good and the food was a foodie delight. My wife’s bike was a bit too big. She struggled all week with it.
We’ve done many trips. This was one of the best.

Stephen N.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

This was my first experience with Tripsite and from beginning to end I was grateful to have booked the trip with them. There are so many options for booking these bike trips, some much more high-end. Yet, the boat, the staff, the food, the fun, and the beauty were all pretty exceptional. I would add that the administrative staff, Anna and Carla, was such a great pleasure to work with, accommodating me at the last minute to make this trip happen. Our tour guide, Ivan, was also exceptional, taking charge in a low-key, competent way with great humor and sensitivity to all of our needs. The most memorable aspect of this trip is the sheer beauty of these islands providing daily exhilaration biking from one to another. Croatia and Tripsite is a pretty great combination. My first but not last time with Tripsite.

JoAnn D.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

I loved the integration of sight seeing and bike riding. The visit to the olive oil producer was very interesting. Also loved the opportunity to see the Cezanne Immersive theater. Melanie was a wonderful tour guide and made the trip very fun.

Jane R.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  San Snova National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

Outstanding route, fantastic guides and bike trip. Beautiful cities visited. A terrific crew and felt delicious food served. A very
fun enjoyable trip.

Linda G.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Sardinia: Culinary Delights E-Bike Tour
Italy

The Tripsite Culinary Sardinia E-bike tour was one of the most unforgetable experiences I've ever had!
The route was well-planned and offered variety in landscape, routes and hotels..... the breathtaking coastline with it's spectacular views of natural beauty and pristine blue waters will remain as some of my favorite memories.
The equipment was well-maintained. Our guides, Michaele and Lukas were professional, caring and competent. They went the extra-mile for everyone to make sure our trip was the ultimate biking-experience from beginning to end...no one was left behind, neither in biking nor with special needs and requests.
Our interests were in the foreground with short refreshment breaks, a coffee when needed, wonderful gourmet lunches featuring local specialties ( including good wines) and wonderful dinners. The combination of biking, short guided cultural tours, beach stops and culinary delights were a perfect combination. Thank you very much for this unforgetable experience. I would look forward to another Tripsite adventure!

Winston J.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Impossible to pinpoint a favorite! It was all amazing in so many ways! Our guides were the best you could ever imagine always anticipating every need. What stands out is the time we were to have lunch in restaurant in a big city but there was construction so we chose to hang out on a street corner where there was a bench and some places we could grab a quick bite. Suddenly Sergio appeared with fresh figs, watermelon, bananas, and grapes all cleaned, sliced and ready for us to devour. John was driving our luggage in the support van with snacks and bike parts and accessories if we needed them and was a fabulous tour guide from the moment we met him.The accommodations were over the top gorgeous with outdoor pools and most often near the ocean as was the trail. Bring a bathing suit to enjoy! I wish I would have been smiling and waving to Sergio as he recorded video footage of practically the entire ride! Enjoy!!!!!!

Jack K.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

What a beautiful country and the people are so kind. Our guides and crew were fun and took such good care of us. Thanks for a memorable and enjoyable vacation.

Georgia P.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princess Diana National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

This was our second Croatia Boat & Bike trip (yes e-Bikes are a big help) and it was spectacular. The Princess Diana was exceptional, the islands/towns/cities were memorable in terms of engagement and visual treats. We love these trips as the guides (big shout out to Marcos and Dario) were exceptional, generously allowing us to taste their culture, history and experience. We truly made to feel at home. Croatia offers great weather, superb food and wine and spectacular vistas. We would do it all again in a heart beat.

However, I want to point out one stellar component to this trip. Unfortunately, one of the travelers had a medical emergency and the crew was simply wonderful with their additional attentiveness, which persisted all the way until disembarkation. Sometimes it takes challenges that reveal the true temper, and I can say with conviction that they displayed extraordinary empathy, care and professionalism. ACCOLADES. Thank you for treating us like family and we look forward to seeing you again.

Arie Jan J.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princess Diana National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

We had a fabulous time. The country was gorgeous. The staff was wonderful and the bike guides really helped you have a great time. We all ate too much while visiting village after village. Thumbs up!

Jodi A.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We really enjoyed the diversity on the ship. English was definitely the second language, but people did their best to be welcoming and accommodating. It’s important that people understand and are willing to go with the flow! The paths weren’t always as clear as they were supposed to be, so be prepared. We were thankful that all paths eventually went to the Danube!

Susan P.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Frankfurt to Ludwigsburg
Germany

The Merlijn was the best way to see Germany! It's a clean beautiful haven to come back to after touring the countryside on our bikes with our fabulous guide! The crew made sure we were always prepared and ready to go, and made sure that our return was relaxing and fulfilling. We all enjoyed interacting and learning from them, and the food was delicious. I cannot say enough about the experience!

Celeste G.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Highlights of Germany
Germany

This was our first bike and barge tour and it was great. The Merlijn is a beautiful barge that is extremely comfortable and well maintained by the owners. The food was sooooo good and the atmosphere, even in the midst of Covid, was friendly. Our trip leader, Lia, was absolutely the best. Her upbeat demeanor, her competence in handling all the “little things” that could have interrupted the pleasant days of biking was amazing. I’d highly recommend this trip but folks should realize an “easy” tour is still 30-50 km/day

Anni H.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Mosel Bike Tour
Germany, France

Cycling along the river, the journey

James D.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Looking forward to another one next year.

Farida B.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The most memorable part was biking with new friends we made on this trip, also the 80s dance night was very very fun. I would suggest to not include every lunch in the package as usually we are out no need for sandwiches, and give the option to have dinner out when we dock in a city. The organization was great, the self biking part very easy as the cruise director was amazing. We felt safe and taking care off very well. I would recommend a longer time in Vienna.

James R.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Hi….really a great trip and well organized, thank you so much ! The only confusion was day 7, you list the ride is 51 miles, yet maybe clarify that the ride is only 34 miles and the ferry ride from Szentendre to Budapest in 15 miles for then a total distance of 51 miles, with 34 miles of riding. Is there an option for a better bike ? Look forward to riding again with Tripsite, Good Luck ! Jim Ruble.