5 star rated Bike Tour Reviews 121 to 150 of 1805

 

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Leigh & Pat 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Just completed this tour - May, 2019. We were a group of 12 (Canadians) and were looking for a reasonably easy bike journey. The terrain was - as advertised - very flat and never strayed very far from the beautiful shorelines of Portugal. (one significant hill - character builder) Early to mid-May worked well and we could only imagine how crowded the beaches and communities would be if the trip were taken in high summer months. Many of the small towns we passed through were almost dormant - very little life or activity, and many shops seemed closed . If you take the trip - be aware of Sunday closings and fewer selections of restaurants in Portugal. Sergio, the organizer and supporter, was helpful in every way with the organization of the trip, gps devices and bikes. He was available at all times if needed. We did not require that sort of support - and we were non-guided. The actual surfaces of land that we biked upon were variable - ranging from excellent bike paths to rural, remote dirt roads - but all very passable.
    Not enough can be said about the hospitality and consideration of the Portuguese people we encountered. Bike travel is not as abundant in Portugal, and not as much a part of the culture, as elsewhere in Europe - but the gentle ways of the Portuguese are a pleasure to encounter. lb

    Countries: Portugal

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Molly R. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our guide Cornel was great with fun stories and historic information provided throughout our trip. Loved the digestive walks after dinner of the various towns we were docked at. The staff of the Merlijn couldn't have been nicer or more professional and the boat was very clean and comfortable. Food was pretty basic and could be improved, but that was not a high priority to me. Overall great trip and have already recommended it to many people.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Rita R. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    "It is difficult to say what the most memorable part of the trip was as each and every day brought wonderful new sights and experiences. Biking along fields filled with tulips and a stop at the Keukenhof Gardens would certainly rate as one of the highlights of the trip. The staff and bike guide definitely made the trip special as they went above and beyond to ensure we were satisfied. Food was great with a plentiful breakfast buffet and a different menu each night. Our lunches were made and packed each day and boy, theses sandwiches and treats sure tasted great after putting some miles in. The dining/lounge was large and spacious and made for a great place to interact with the other guests. Bedrooms/bathrooms were nor overly spacious but were very clean and the beds were comfortable.
    This was our first trip of this kind and also our first trip to Europe and the Crew of the Merlijn made it a wonderful experience we will never forget. Thank you Coen, Cristina, Klara, Luliana, Lili and our tour guide Cornel. Memories to last forever.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Rosemary SZ. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I highly recommend this trip. We were on the Merlijn. It was a charming barge with a very friendly and helpful staff. I was amazed just how comfortable the beds were and how roomy the bathrooms were.
    Our guide was very informative and had a great sense of humor. The guests, even though all so different , became friends. Leaving the barge was bittersweet. I cannot wait to go on another. The only thing I wish was a bit better, was the food. But then I consider myself a bit of a foody and so my expectations might be too high.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Jane J. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The biking was wonderful, the digestive walks in the evening were great and the camaraderie of the group was fantastic.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Mark R. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    A wonderful way to experience the Netherlands. Our guide Cornell was informed and professional. Captain, mates and staff provided all the conveniences of home.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Jean B. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The expected/promised highlights on our 8 Day - Tulip Tour (Keukenhof Gardens, the Royal Flora Holland Auction, Zaanse Schans and a visit to a cheese farm on an island in Rijpwetering) were wonderful. But it was the unexpected stops introduced by our guides that were most memorable. The visit to a windmill making paper from recycled rags, watching the release of cows for the first time in the spring near Spaarndam , the stop at the Aalsmeer Crash Museum and a visit to the Hortus Bulborum in Limmen made our trip extra special.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Ed H. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    What a great trip. Would like to do another.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Kim K. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Everything was fantastic. It was the whole experience altogether.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Jody S. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The staff, food and barge accommodations were perfect.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Chuck P. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The entire trip was memorable. The boat staff was terrific, the meals from Frank our chef, were gourmet quality, the weather sunny tho a bit chilly first days, the tulips were in full bloom, our bike leader had contacts in many cities and we had private evening tours from local guides, the boat was comfortable and always well maintained. I think the only caution I might offer is we started the tour in downtown Amsterdam at the train station and for those of us with limited bike experience going thru the city was a challenge keeping the group together thru traffic, turns, bridges, stop lights. A more rural start would have been better was the general consensus, but that aside virtually everything well received.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Michael & Margaret G. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a wonderful time on the barge Iris, biking through the Netherlands. The trip was well planned and the information given each day really highlighted the sights that we saw. The visits to the various venues were full of information and gave us a nice view of life in Holland. We could not have asked more from our guides, Wouter and Sarah. Each day when we rode up to the barge at its new dock site, the crew welcomed us and asked about our day. The meals were excellent with a different area of the world serving as the source for the menu each evening. Wines had been chosen to go with each serving. The rooms were as expected on a ship and very clean. they offered an easy base for our adventure. We had a very good time and we thank the guides and the crew including the chef.

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Elizabeth S. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a wonderful Tulip Tour week on the Quo Vadis. We had excellent tour guides who were knowledgeable and personable. In addition to the planned events, we "happened upon" many extras, including "a cow dance," farmers shearing sheep, a WWII museum and some regal looking deer in the dunes at the North Sea. The ship was comfortable, the staff friendly and the food was great. Highly recommendable!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 4 Day
    by Andrew N. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I was clearly the fattest and least fit of the 12 guests on this 4 day bike and barge tour. My bride and I found all aspects of the tour to be above our expectations. The barge itself was something of a tardas. No the rooms were not massive but enough for two and well planned. The showers are small but hot and the beds surprisingly comfortable. The meals were beautiful. As a group we asked if the meals would be all traditional meals. I do not think this was the cooks intention so she changed every meal for us. Splendid food, warm and plenty to go round. The bikes were better than expected. Each day we traveled more KM with about 35 on the third day. I have to admit towards the end I did nearly give up. Note for next time break in your bottom and get a few km into your legs. Overall a great experience. We saw a lot of nature both of the animal and plant kind. Flowers cheese and at night a city walk. Our hosts and guide spoke English well and were a delight to spend time with. Go on book the tour, you know you want to.

    Boat: Flora (formerly Jelmar)

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Susan D. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had the perfect week for our Bike & Barge adventure! We brought rain gear but never had to use it. First day it was rather cold 39 degrees when we started out biking with wind, but of course it is the land of windmills. I was glad I had an ebike. The guides were knowledgeable and our experiences very local. They knew the market days, unique cafes, great places we wouldn’t have wanted to miss. The tulips were all in bloom and we biked through seas of color. The captain and crew of our barge, “Quo Vadis” were absolutely the best and individually got to know us all. I would highly recommend this trip to all. You don’t have to be an avid biker to enjoy this trip, all levels were welcomed.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Carl B. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Crew and Guides were exceptional! Boat was more than we could ask for.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Cycling in the Baltics - Tallinn to Vilnius
    by Mike Morin 3 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We are a group of ten seniors who arranged a modified 8 day trip with guide and van support for this tour. The tour was first class, the guide was excellent and very knowledgeable about all three countries. The van driver was very good as well and a character!
    I wouldn't recommend abbreviating the tour as we did because it involves too much riding in the van but in every other respect, the tour is excellent. A great way to gain knowledge and see the sights of an area of the world less travelled!

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Coert & Christelle 3 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a wonderful time on the Iris April 2019. This exceeded our expectations by far. Excellent staff.... Gijs, Gerhard, Aline, Tina and guides Mieke and Harm-Jan. The food, boat, the scenery (Tulips!!) were great, but most of all the cycling. The weather was perfect and since we were the only South African couple, we enjoyed the company of at first strangers and then sing-along travel friends! Memories made forever!

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Todd O. 3 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Best part: Biking through the Dutch countryside and being exposed to the Dutch people and their wonderful culture, history, and way of life.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by James D. 3 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Merlijn and her crew were outstanding hosts for our Tulip Tour. Our guide, Ilsa, was knowledgeable and full of energy and interesting information everywhere we toured.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Will E. 3 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Tulip tour was wonderful. Loved the Quo Vadis and it’s crew and enjoyed the biking. Our guide Rikko was so well informed and enthusiastic about the places we saw. Everything about the tour was first-rate.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Lyudmila S. 3 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I was lucky both with guides and a group. The programme and route were done really well too. It was amazing experience I would recommend to everybody and I already done it and I continuing recommend tripsite.com too.

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Charles G. 3 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My wife and I were part of the 5 day Super Tulip Tour. I can't say how amazing it was. The boat was top notch, the dinners were fantastic, the guides were AMAZING, and the route was beautiful. We are ALREADY planning our next trip.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Costa Rica Bike Tour and Adventure
    by Roxanne S. 3 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    All details of the trip, including accommodations and transfers, were taken care of so that we didn’t have to worry about making those arrangements. The activities were so much fun and we enjoyed the variety. Learning to surf at our age was something I might not have tried had it not been one of the options provided. The people of Costa Rica were so welcoming and proud of their country, which added to the trip’s attractiveness. I would highly recommend this trip!

    Countries: Costa Rica

  • Bike and Safari South Africa
    by john ronan 3 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Are you looking for an adventure? This is the tour for you, it is visually, mentally and physically stimulating. The most organized trip I have ever been on, the day starts early and ends with a fire around the boma, just awesome. The guides are a wealth of knowledge about the history of the country and the wild life. The mountain biking rides are well planned and exciting. Accommodations and food are top notch. You will not be disappointed regarding wild life, we saw the big 5 and much much more.

    Countries: South Africa

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Tracey 4 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My husband and I loved it! Definitely the highlight of our trip. Great guides and beautiful scenery. We just booked another bike tour in the Netherlands we enjoyed this one so much.

    Countries: Croatia

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Peter D. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our barge "Fleur" was perfect in every way as were the staff. Starting from the beautiful Belgium town of Bruges you cycle along the various canals and rivers on quite country roads, paths, cycleways and tracks through countless quaint towns, villagers and towns, including the Somme (WWI battle grounds).We highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting a casual cycle through stunning country side and of course the bonus of cruising into Paris on the Seine River , with all its sites and landmarks.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Cologne to Bamberg
    by Peter D. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our barge the Quo Vardis was nothing short of beautiful with great accommodation, great food great staff, great food and as clean as a whistle. The scenery along the Rhine valley is as you would expect. Castles, vineyards and picture perfect towns and villagers. We highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting a casual cycle through stunning country side.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Johanne P. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It is difficult to choose the most memorable part of the trip since the staff, food, guide, routes, and activities were without parallel! The Amsterdam /Bruge trip we took several years ago was outstanding and my favorite of all the boat/barge trips we have taken.

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Groa Erla R. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We knew we were going on a different journey, that is, cycling and sailing. We were 200% satisfied with this trip. I strongly recommend this trip to everyone I meet.

    Countries: Croatia

PWPC