Hike + Walk Tour Reviews — 1 to 28 of 28

 


Linda N.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Celebrate Costa Rica
Costa Rica

For me the highlight was zip lining above the canopy. It was so beautiful I forgot to be scared! I was worried about being “on our own” without a guide physically present but the tour operator answered any questions we had via What’s App promptly and thoroughly at any time of day and everything went so smoothly. Drivers were there right on time with a smile to get us from one activity to another. The hotels were uniquely Costa Rican with bright tropical decor and landscaping and located walking distance from shops and restaurants. And there was always lots of pineapple and plantains.

Judith L.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Celebrate Costa Rica
Costa Rica

The best part of the Costa Rica trip for me was the visit to the Sloth Sanctuary and the zip line adventure.

Joseph G.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Celebrate Costa Rica
Costa Rica

Prompt and timely transfers. We were impressed that each of our pick-ups from our various events were on time and efficient.
Improvement suggestions: After viewing some of the other lodging options (as our shuttle dropped off other travelers), I would have preferred the option to upgrade one or two of our hotels in the planning stage (granted, it would have cost a bit more). No pool & no close restaurants on our third hotel was unfortunate (we had some down-time which a pool would have been appreciated). We didn't have time after the white-water rafting to view and purchase photos before we were hustled out for the long bus ride to Avernal. Although adequate, I would have preferred actually visiting one of the two Cloud Forest Reserves vs an abbreviated hike around the 100% Adventure property. It's a long way to go to not see the actual Cloud Forest Reserve.

Charles G.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Celebrate Costa Rica
Costa Rica

The perfect balance of active and relaxing. This trip was Pura Vida in travel form. The adventures weren't too excessive. And the hikes weren't too strenuous. I'm 50 and my wife is 45. We're not exceptional athletes or anything. And we found the activities to be just perfect. The only mildly negative I can think of is there is a fair amount of time in transport. I enjoyed the down time and the scenery, but I could see some people getting bored. So take a book. And the length of the trip was perfect for a quick winter get away.

Lynn M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Santa Marta and Colombia’s Lost City
Colombia

An extremely well organized and well planned trip. A more ambitious hike than we expected up to the Lost City and back with very steep terrain up and down along the way. I can't imagine hiking this in the rainy season. It would have been very slippery and very difficult to walk back down the steep 1200 steps from the Lost City in the rain. The hiking guides were very helpful and considerate. Their knowledge of the surrounding birds along the Lost City Trek was not as strong as I was hoping for.
Our guide, Christian, on the Tayrona National Park coastal hike was very knowledgeable in all aspects both of the area and of the flora and fauna.
The local tour company was readily accessible once we were back to cell phone service after the Lost City hike. Especially when one of us became ill such that we needed to cancel our tubing experience.
The Hotel Jorara eco-hotel after the Lost City hike was a wonderful experience. We enjoyed a very large room and an open air Read More

Rick and Leigh Malaspina
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Umbria - Culinary Walking Tour
Italy

We took this tour in mid-October and thoroughly enjoyed the hotels, towns, and special dinners included. Petra and Paolo gave us an arrival-night orientation which was very helpful and reassuring. This was our first self-guided tour with Tripsite. The hotels were truly lovely with hosts who were welcoming and accommodating. Their breakfasts were substantial. The three towns were new to us which was a delight.

Our walking directions were excellent. We did not take all the planned walks, choosing to walk other places that were particularly appealing to us.

We found Spello to be our favorite of these three towns and enjoyed immensely the wine-tasting dinner at Enoteco Properzio.

Spoleto was special for us because of the sister arts festival in our home town of Charleston, SC, selected by Menotti himself.

Any time we visit Umbria again, we will check in with Umbria & Ecologico Tours for guidance.

Many thanks to them and Tripsite for this self-guided tour of the region of Umbria.

James P.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Madeira Paradise
Portugal

The vistas were fantastic from all over Madeira. The two different sides of the island had two totally different water features. Some were rugged and straight into the water while others had calmer waters. The vegetation was beautiful. Very hilly which makes for dramatic views.

Al & Sue
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Dalmatian Coast from Split to Dubrovnik
Croatia

We have reviewed the comments by Dona C. and we agree with her comments -- this was a great way to see the Islands. The briefing (2 hours) and the material (very comprehensive) provided by the tour operator (Tony) was excellent. We navigated by using the Ride with GPS App, a Garmin and the written materials. We found that the Ride with GPS App was the best, but when we ran out of power, the written materials worked just fine. If you are using the App, you need to carry a power bank. The only navigating issue was on Day 6 at 6.29 kms—very confusing to find the trail notwithstanding using both the App and the written instructions—have the Tour operator explain the instructions—having said that, we found the trail (through house’s back yards). When we booked, we had requested hiking poles. When we received the briefing—the tour operator had no record of the same (it normally does not rent hiking poles), but the tour operator contacted Tripsite and the tour Read More

Dane G.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Umbria - Culinary Walking Tour
Italy

The GPX viewer app generally worked well for the walk. However, the estimated walk time should be increased to 3 hours for the Assisi to Spello walk & the difficulty increased to slightly challenging. After the walk to the winery, transportation should be supplied to Spello as people may not want to walk to Spello after Winery lunch & several glasses of wine.
The GPX viewer shows the location of the Winery stop as 1.1 km from the actual location of Tili 21 which is hard for the walkers after trekking from Assisi.
The next day’s walk through Collepino should specify that the final 1 km to Collepino is a steep uphill climb. Otherwise, a great experience all around.
Thank You
Dane Graburn

Dona C.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Dalmatian Coast from Split to Dubrovnik
Croatia

Everything went exactly as planned. We saw parts of Croatia that we would have never experienced without this sort of trip. And we were the only ones on the trails we were walking on. The accommodations were just perfect and in great locations. The hotel in Hvar was exceptional. We left our water bottles in the refrigerator and they were great enough to put them on the catamaran to have them delivered to us on Korcula the next day. Amazing! Our luggage was waiting for us when we arrived and all transportation tickets were spot on. We did get a GPS and would recommend that. Used an app called Ride with GPS. This was a good, but unfortunately, after 3 days, we lost "My Events", which gave us access to the specific days' hikes. I would also recommend that you have the person who gives the orientation spend a little time with this app. There were times we were using the paper instructions, the APP and GPS, all at the same time. Croatia is Read More

Jan D.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Multi-adventure on Madeira Island
Portugal

The guides were wonderful. They had local information and history to share with us, laughed at our misadventures and were extremely supportive as we hiked, rode bikes and just viewed the scenery. Miguel was there every step of the tour as our contact person. Marco was wonderful and had great suggestion for dinners around the island. Joesphina had the local history down and could personalize it to make the country come alive.

Deborah S.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Multi-adventure on Madeira Island
Portugal

The island of Madeira is beautiful! Gorgeous vistas all over the island! We had some wonderful hikes and the bike rides were fun although mostly downhill. Our guides were really good especially Josephina!

Paul R.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Spanish Way Camino de Santiago
Spain

We really enjoyed the experience walking these six days. The countryside was beautiful and the villages we passed through were scenic. It was interesting to see so many old structures along the route, many of them long since abandoned. We visited many of the small churches along the way and found them charming. At the end of each day we were tired, but not excessively so. We were very glad that we were not carrying packs and that we could look forward to a comfortable room each night. The lodging and food at Rectoral De Lestedo and La Casona De Nené in Arzua were exceptionally good. We thought that the Pousada De Portomarin was an interesting place, but was past its prime and needed updates. The Hotel Carlos 96 was also not to the level of the other hotels.

June S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Minho & North Portugal
Portugal

The scenery on this route was beautiful. Lots of variety as we walked forest trails, alongside the ocean, through small towns, vineyards. Really enjoyable.

Mary S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Spanish Way Camino de Santiago
Spain

Walking the Camino de Santiago with my dear friends was an experience unlike any other. The path took us through time, meandering through stone villages and farms and absolutely breathtaking forests. We made new friends along the way and supported each other as we completed the journey. This trip allowed us to connect with each other, fellow pilgrims, and a beautiful part of Spain. Buen Camino!

Doris D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Garden of England
England

I loved all the walking paths and the people we met along the way.

Janet H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Classic Banff Hiking Tour
Canada

Hikes were well planned and prepared.
All were perfect for our group.

Maureen G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Classic Banff Hiking Tour
Canada

Our hiking trip to the Canadian Rockies…Kananasis, Banff, Lake Louise..was outstanding. Our guide was personable, responsive, highly knowledgeable and fun. The choice of hikes was great and the views were breathtaking. An overall memorable experience!

Debra D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Classic Banff Hiking Tour
Canada

My 1st trip to Canada.....I was so impressed with the mountains and beauty of the country.....It was a memorable trip with such beautiful mountains, viewing wildlife, and experiencing 3 regions with my hiking friends. The accommodations were excellent and the food was great. I hope to do another trip with this company soon.....

Karen M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Classic Banff Hiking Tour
Canada

The guide was thoughtful,patient, knowledgeable absolutely great The accomodations were fabulous! Loved them! Would absolutely God back to Banff and use tripsite!!!

Peter C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Classic Banff Hiking Tour
Canada

Lunch location day 2. Chester Lake? It was an amazing place.

Phyllis C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Umbria - Culinary Walking Tour
Italy

This tour features food and wine tasting with local proprietors who treat you like guests rather than customers, as well as scenic hiking through olive groves and wildflowers. It is an ideal way to experience Umbria in depth, and much more intimate than a tourist bus tour. The hikes are moderate and you will work up an appetite for homemade bruschetta, pasta, and meatballs, with wine pairings.

Caroline M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Spanish Way Camino de Santiago
Spain

The Camino itself since the scenery was exceptional and picture perfect! Living on a small island, greenery is lacking so seeing all the lovely meadows, rolling fills and forests was breathtaking. The final ceremony at the Cathedral in Santiago was amazing as we witnessed the botafumeiro swing and we all felt a special emotion which we will never forget! Thank you Tripsite for materialising our dream and for the professional way you have led this journey. Now on to the next one ☺️

Rochelle R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Spanish Way Camino de Santiago
Spain

Each host/hotel was very gracious and accommodating. We felt like special guests and were treated with great kindness, starting with Casada Posada- Marcela made GF pancakes and made sure we had everything we needed to start. Each hotel was different but excellent. Our favorite was Rectoral de Lestedo- Miguel was just wonderful.
I looked up the locations and comments before choosing hotels and was happy with my selection in every case.
Compliments to Tripsite staff on the information booklet. It was perfectly done with just the right amount of information- others we showed it to that met on the way were also impressed!

Mohammad Z.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Ring of Kerry
Ireland

Amazing trip. The tour guide, Danny, was truly spectacular and it wouldn’t have been the same without him.

Ziad Z.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Ring of Kerry
Ireland

Nature was spectacular and varied. Tour guide Danny was excellent and accommodating complemented by a positive attitude.

Susel
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Central Way Portuguese Camino de Santiago
Portugal, Spain

Interested in more info

Deborah B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The Kenai Peninsula
United States

We stayed at the Backcountry Lodge, Riverside Lodge, and Kenai Fjords Lodge. All were amazing, with friendly, helpful staff and well-trained guides. All transportation (vans, boats, rafts, kayaks, etc.) and activities were seamlessly coordinated, and the food was great. As perfect as the experience was, it was the natural beauty of all the sites that overshadowed everything else - we only wish we could have stayed longer.