Olympia boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 13 of 13

4.3 out of 5

 


Brett P.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Olympia Koblenz to Saarburg
Germany

The guided tour of Trier was great, as the guide explained things which you may not read about.

Virginia C.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Olympia Mainz to Cologne
Germany

The boat was extremely comfortable....the bed in my cabin made it difficult to get up in the morning. The crew went out of their way to be helpful.
Food was fine.....breakfast provided plenty of choices, we packed out lunches for our rides from the buffet. Breads were delicious. We had cool and or rainy nights so we didn't take advantage of the deck on top. The entertainment, consisting of a DJ was a bit boring after a day or two but we still enjoyed ourselves, dancing, playing cards, etc. This trip was very reasonable monetarily.

Edgar L.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Olympia Koblenz to Saarburg
Germany

The Moselle River valley is one of the most beautiful river valleys in Europe. Early September is ideal. Each day had so many unique and historic sites. The towns are quaint, and many of them are very picturesque. Our weather was spectacular, which enhanced the daily cycling adventure.

Israel A.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Olympia Mainz to Strasbourg
Germany, France

Me and my wife enjoyed the trip very much. The boat was OK, the service, the crew and the atmospher were excellent. The cabins were compact but wisely built and planned. Next time, try to arrange climate with lower temperatures...........

Les B.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Olympia Mainz to Strasbourg
Germany, France

Olympia is an excellent choice for a bike and boat trip. The comfort and food were excellent and the serving staff exceptional. The Trails were super being mostly off road and either along the river or in the trees with birds singing. Some of the berths of the boat in the bigger cities were difficult to find so make sure you have accurate directions

Beverly V.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Olympia Koblenz to Saarburg
Germany

The scenery while biking. The small towns we explored along the way. The staff on the boat.
The upscale dining experience each night.
The comfort, storage options, and arrangement of our cabins. The wonderful duvets on the beds. The large windows in our cabin.

Barbara C.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Olympia Koblenz to Saarburg
Germany

Definitely the biking part was the most memorable. The scenery was incredible and I loved riding through the vineyards and small towns along the Mosel.

Gail L.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Olympia Koblenz to Saarburg
Germany

Vineyards and villages

jane w.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Olympia Koblenz to Saarburg
Germany

Review of local cycling etiquette would have been helpful

Robert B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Olympia Mainz to Strasbourg
Germany, France

The boat was wonderful as was the staff. Food too was excellent. There were two central problems with the trip. The first is the route. We had anticipated that the trip down the Rhine would be in beautiful sections building t instead we spent a week in heavily industrial areas where there was little along the river that was beautiful at all.
The second problem was that it appeared that no one from the company had checked out the route of the biking since it was first established since roads had closed and there were continuous diversions. As a consequence we (and when I say we i mean many of the bikers) were lost within 15 minutes of departing every day. While the trip was billed as "self guiding" clear and accurate maps are needed

Thomas S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Olympia Rotterdam to Cologne
Germany, Netherlands

We highly recommend the Rotterdam to Cologne trip. We went early September and the weather was beautiful. Water level worries caused some anxiety but in the end, there was no issue and the boat travelled along just fine. The E-biking was effortless as it is relatively flat. The scenery, especially in Netherlands, wonderful. The staff on our boat were friendly and helpful. The food was very good and our selections for our packed lunches was wonderful. We returned each day to a nice tidy cabin with our bunks pulled up to allow seating. Housekeeping did a great job. One suggestion: the maps need a review and update. In some instances, our group and other members from the boat were all at a particular location, quite confused as to the next step. Eventually we all ended up in the correct place but a few times, it was a large group consultation to solve it! Be sure to have a live smart phone at hand. We resorted to it a couple of times to navigate.

Paul C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Olympia Rotterdam to Cologne
Germany, Netherlands

Most memorable was riding atop the dikes in the Netherlands. The meals and lunch prep was a highlight of the trip. While my bike was adequate, I feel the preparation wasn’t adequate. I had to have the rear brake adjusted prior to use and the rear derailleur would jump gears. They should have been inspected prior to use. The maps and directions were not as clear as they should have and instructions in English were limited

Ronald B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Olympia Mainz to Cologne
Germany

The Mainz to Cologne Bike to Barge trip was an amazing experience. Certainly, the history and beauty of the region was exceptional, but the most memorable part of the trip was meeting and getting to know our fellow travelers. There is nothing I would change about the trip - the staff of the Olympia was attentive and professional; the bikes we rode were well maintained and comfortable to ride; and the food on the Olympia was quite good. We would highly recommend this trip to anyone considering a unique travel experience! Ron and Luann Buchholz