Prinzessin Katharina boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 14 of 14

4.6 out of 5

 


John S.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We enjoyed the bike and barge. This was our first time. Staff on board were magnificent. Very well run. Ship was older and showing its age. Could use some refurbishment. Biking was good for easy riders. Bikes were excellent although shock absorbers would have been a bonus. All in all a great time.

John S.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Great effort by ship crew, and we felt like superb value for the whole trip! Thanks TripSite!

theodore s.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The crew was absolutly great the bikes were of good quality the food was also. We had a great time. The reason I gave a 4 was the fact that you couldn't drink the tap water and they charged you for bottled water. Water is a basic necessity and should be free.

Shirley Donna S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The route and itinerary were perfect. It was a great balance of visiting small villages and seeing highlights of Vienna and Linz. The crew on PK were very friendly and helpful. The buffet Bfast had plentiful selection and dinner options were delicious. The Chef met my gluten free and lactose free requirements

the Route Maps were Very good but confusing for day 7. daily programs very informative and kept everyone on schedule

PK had a lot of charm and although dated it was clean, functional and great floor plan.
PK did not provide free water and Coffee n Tea. It was very hot during our week so buying water on board got expensive. Or buying on shore very cumbersome and not easy to carry after long day cycling.

Overall excellent trip. Highly recommend it.

Shirley Donna S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The route and itinerary were perfect. It was a great balance of visiting small villages and seeing highlights of Vienna and Linz. The crew on PK were very friendly and helpful. The buffet Bfast had plentiful selection and dinner options were delicious. The Chef met my gluten free and lactose free requirements

the Route Maps were Very good but confusing for day 7. daily programs very informative and kept everyone on schedule

PK had a lot of charm and although dated it was clean, functional and great floor plan.
PK did not provide free water and Coffee n Tea. It was very hot during our week so buying water on board got expensive. Or buying on shore very cumbersome and not easy to carry after long day cycling.

Overall excellent trip. Highly recommend it.

Shirley Elizabeth C.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I have done multiple boat/bike tours now and this trip was definitely everything I had hoped for. The experience onboard was outstanding, the bicycle routes were excellent and the optional excursions I chose were fun. The bicycles were perfect. This was my first ebike experience.

Timothy R.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

More of a boat trip than a ride. Lots of time stuck on the boat, minimal time at each location. Many rides cancelled or shorter than the advertised tour.

Fred and Kathleen I.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Using Tripsite to book our bike/barge trip took a lot of stress off of our trip planning especially during the pandemic. Whenever I emailed, I got a quick response and I was able to rebook easily more than once. The boat, Princess Katherina, was well run. We met many new people and even though we were the only USA participants, we were seated with other English speakers who became quick friends and travel mates. I was always pleased with the vegetarian options for dining and all food choices overall were exceptional. The 34 staff onboard contributed to efficiency and support whenever we had questions or needs. The bike routes were well marked and the panniers and front pack for holding the map worked perfectly. I would definitely get an e-bike next time as I struggled a bit with rainy weather but as seventy and seventy-two year olds exploring a new country, the trip was flawless. If you like castles, abbeys, river trails, this trip is perfect! Don't miss the pear cider at Read More

Josephine S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The route, the people we met

Scott H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Highlights: Beautiful scenery along the Danube whether you are on the boat or riding your bike. The staff was extremely friendly & helpful. The food offered was excellent along with the service.
Biking: I’m a regular cyclist (Road & Mountain) so I chose to ride a standard (non ebike) bike. The bikes are heavy and geared way too high. Fortunately, the terrain is relatively flat so the number of times needing lower gears were few.

Dennis E.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I really enjoyed the cycling outsy of the cities. Cycling in the cities was not so great.

The food on board was excellent. Everything about the ship was great.

Dennis ft Collins Colorado

Dennis E.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Not the cities but the cycling outside of the cities. Perhaps cycling the Wachau Valley was our favorite but we enjoyed all of the pre-planned cycle routes.

There were no complications due to COVID-related issues on the tour. The only frustrating steps were the Denver to Frankfurt flight and the return. We never seemed to have the right forms and in the end, no one ever checked the forms except at the airplane check-in.

Gay K.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Cycling in Austria was my favourite part of the trip. I rented an e-bike for the entire eight days and was very glad that I did—for the hills and for the long distances. I would certainly rent an e-bike again on future bike and barge tours. The food on the barge was outstanding and the buffets plentiful. Lots of different lunch foods for the sac lunch, to choose from. Looking forward to booking another bike and barge tour in Europe!

Gonny M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

My most memorable moment of the trip was when we ended up in a small Hungarian village. We looked around for somewhere to have our morning coffee. We found a small local establishment with their regular customers.
We went inside to see if they had coffee. The young woman inside could only speak Hungarian (which we could not).
At the end of the encounter we had our coffee the way we wanted and smiling faces all around.