Caprice boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 30 of 43

4.3 out of 5

 


James W.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

This was our sixth bike and barge trip. Our over-all experience was great!! The food was fantastic, the service from staff was excellent, and the bikes were better than our own. The Caprice is older and very tight quarters, both in the cabins and in public areas. This was a small inconvenience compared to the total experience.

Maureen K.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

This was my 5th bike and barge trip—they have become my favorite kind of vacation. They take you away from your day-to-day life with full days of activity and slow, macro touring of a new, beautiful part of the world. It's a moving hotel; you bike all day, then find all your things as you left them in a new location without having to pack every morning. They have great food on board, and with all the exercise you do—you just eat what you want! The crew on The Caprice was excellent. Willy, the captain, told us everything—even the few wrinkles we encountered. One afternoon, he gave all of us a chance to steer the wheel from his deck up top. Irene, the chef, was superb. Every night's dinner including starter, main course and dessert where beautifully prepared, delicious and pertinent to the locale of our docking. Karima, the steward, was very attentive to us, a wonderful personality, a great wine sommelier—and creative folder of dinner napkins! Our riding Read More

Suzanne R S.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Mickey, our tour leader, took us out after dinner on the barge, on a walking tour in Arles. I had been asking when we would see the location of where The Bedroom at Arles was painted. That is where she took us. In addition, we saw the location of where Starry Night was painted. She let me bring a friend from our sister barge.

Nancy H.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Crew and guide were fantastic.
Our dinners were amazing. Chef put much thought into selecting and preparing our evening meal always paired with a fabulous wine.
Enjoyed recapping our day’s ride after dinner with our guide, Mickey.
Each day brought a new adventure of riding. Lots of variety.
Might include a walking tour of Avignon as part of the trip.

Patricia B.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

We loved riding through the beautiful countryside and stopping to see the important landmarks along the way.

David M.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Arles (Van Gogh & Roman buildings), Barbegal Acqueduct, Les Baux, olive oil mill visit, Pont du Gard. Camaraderie on board the Caprice and while riding. The hospitality and warmth of the Caprice crew. So many other great sites and experiences too. Our guide Miki was great; bike routes were pleasant and relatively free of traffic interference. I felt safe while riding and saw a lot little things along the ride that interested and pleased me - things you don't see from a car, train, or bus.
One area needing improvement: Poor WIFI aboard the Caprice. Higher capacity and more reliable WIFI would have been appreciated.

Kathleen M.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

The guide, the itinerary and the chefs were superb!! 5 stars for them!! But the boat, and specifically the boat owners, get a 1 star. How cheap can they be??!! They didn't even provide a plastic bike water bottle. And they charged a hefty fuel surcharge, even after the price of fuel had plummeted. This was my third bike and barge, and I will never go on another barge owned by this company.

Rose V.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

We really enjoyed our trip through the Provence region of southern France! Our guide, Michaela, was very knowledgeable of the history of the area, kept us on low trafficked roads on our bicycles, and was in general a lot of fun. Additionally, our eBikes were in great condition and we enjoyed using them throughout our tour. The only downside was our cabin on the Caprice as we both have allergies and there was a persistent mildew/mold smell which necessitated keeping the A/C on relatively high to dissipate it. The cabin was also quite small for us traveling as a couple—one of us literally had to crawl over the other to use the bathroom. The hardworking staff is to be commended.

deborah g.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Great aspects=the guide, food, staff
Less were the comfort of the beds and space in the bathroom

Elizabeth S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Our guide, Michaela, started each beautiful ride through the country side with such a positive attitudes and great information!
Loved the trip up to Le Baux!

Silvia S.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

The route and group were amazing! The cities are very nice and historical… what I fell could be better is reception of participants of tour… inviting each one to identify oneself with others, to make a group… And I think our guide wasn’t so careful with the group… so quick some days… with no explanation about the beautiful little towns we were!! So pity!!
And they could help us about car parking before tour… You could have better support to guests.

RAYMOND C.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Biking through the small villages was very picturesque. Only regret was not having a GoPro to video as we were riding through.

Joanne K.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

All of it was wonderful. Guide Michela was fun and a great leader. There was a nice mix of stops for tours and riding. Scenery was beautiful. Also Liked the boat cruises from the deck. Hills and wind made it a little more of a challenging of a ride. Crew and cooks took good care of us. Would recommend.

Anne H.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Beautiful area. The small towns were charming.

The hills were a little more difficult than I anticipated. Suggestion for others would be to prepare for a lot of hills.

Great staff. The staff went out of their way to make all guests comfortable. Our group of 9 fit in well with the 11 others on tour. The close quarters make this necessary. The Staff works hard at making sure that all feel welcome.

Kathleen D.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Riding through the French countryside and small towns.

Rita W.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Riding through the fields of fruit trees, medieval villages, sipping beverages in the little outdoor cafes, tasting olive oil in the factory, learning to use the bike to it's potential, and enjoying the ambiance back on the boat with spectacular meals.

Robert K.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Staff and food were wonderful. Caprice barge has nice upper deck and dining facility. But cabins are beyond tiny, which we could have been happy with (and given 5 stars) if not for the following: Each guest is issued one towel set to be changed only once during the 8 night stay. The problem is during a humid or hot athletic trip, there's no way to dry the towels or to wash or dry athletic clothing, no place to hang them in ventilated area. We packed light with intent to wash, and couldn't. Clothing was "toxic" by end of trip! On an active trip, there needs to be laundry available, even if guests do it themselves. We found out on last day of trip there was full size washer/dryer on boat, but not accessible to guests.

Connie P.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Our tour guid was amazing (Melanie) She made sure everyone was safe and I believe everyone enjoyed themselves it was just a lot of fun what a great time with good friends and Melanie

JoAnn D.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

I loved the integration of sight seeing and bike riding. The visit to the olive oil producer was very interesting. Also loved the opportunity to see the Cezanne Immersive theater. Melanie was a wonderful tour guide and made the trip very fun.

Angela T.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Our original trip was cancelled due to Covid and we took the Camargue trip in its place. It turned out to be a lovely replacement. I had felt this covered ground I previously knew but seen from the perspective of biking round places previously seen the trip added such a new and fresh layer, as well as previously unknown places, that it was like seeing things for the first time.
The boat was comfortable and the food really excellent thanks to the innovative hands of chef Sara.
Highly recommended.

Robert K.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

The crew was very helpful and engaging.

Jeanne H.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

The bicycle riding and scenery while pedaling is most memorable.

Barry B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Compared to our other trips, the Caprice felt very cramped i.e very limited on deck room for groups. Probably should add a Caprice clothes line to dry clothes, minor but very handy
breakfast was ok but repetitive, other trips had a buffet and especially cooked hot items
suppers were hit or miss, I thought ok but most of our group thought mediocre
guide was excellent as were bike stops, especially the Aqueduct-Pont du Gard, Palais des Papes, swimming in the med, light show. Probably should add a visit to a winery. Consider precharging for some events i.e. colosseum, light show kamisky and Cezanne) , museums,--Palais des Papes, Van Goughs asylum etc) rather than make them optional as some folks are tightwads and really miss out on a fuller experience.
Cycling guidebook is excellent

Good crew

Harold N.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

The trip overall was well organized and executed in all respects with one exception. The crew were all very competent, friendly and helpful. The meals and service were also excellent, well prepared and presented. Our only complaint was with the execution of the required COVID test which was necessary within 72 hours of our departure. We were lead to believe that this important and necessary test would be all arranged by the crew and we would know where to go and what to do. This was NOT the case. Our group had to research and find the location of the testing on our own with some difficulty. There was much difficulty locating the testing site at the appointed time. We think the charge of 50 Euros per person was excessive. We did not fault our crew as they obviously had no idea that arranging COVID testing was their responsibility.

Lorraine L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Most Memorable Part? The sites we biked to
Tips: Perhaps separating the electric bikes from those like me who used our own pedal power or 2 leaders for 20 bikers vs the one leader. Our group depended on fellow bikers as volunteers and we were fortunate in having several expert bikers in our group!!!

Sheilagh M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Riding through the south of France along quiet country roads with the occasional stop to learn about the history and people of the place.

John C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

The crew of the boat Caprice was wonderful. Each crew member did their utmost to make the trip perfect for everyone. The food was outstanding, our compliments to the chef Joseph who prepared a gourmet meal every night. The tour guide Alessandra was wonderful and kept the group moving along together. The size of the tour was perfect, 20, the route was ideal and that part of France was beautiful. Highlights were the Ponte du Gard, the villages in Provence, Avignon and the tour of the winery and La Moulin d'Huile. We also enjoyed the company of the others on the tour very much.

Suggestions: bring raingear if it's the rainy season, stop in the cafes in the little towns along the way for beer, wine, french fries or desserts.

Charlotte A.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Most Memorable Part: Riding through the countryside and small villages, visiting Arles and Les Beaux.

Andrew O.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

It is impossible to single out a single most memorable time. The food was delicious, the tour guide wonderful, the cycling routes took us to a variety of historical, cultural, and geographical places. We saw castles, an abbey, art, old villages, wildlife, walled cities, mountain top views, and took several short cruises on the river, The days were full, we had downtime when needed but were always kept busy if desired.

Catherine Ann H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Cycling through historic monuments and the Camargue wilderness was magnificent!