Magnifique IV boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 30 of 59

4.3 out of 5

 


Letitia K.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The crew was amazing. The boat very comfortable. The scenery outstanding. The food excellent. Even the weather behaved. Our Guides Andre and Franklin provided historic information in addition to keeping us all safe. It was great to be on a trip with people of the same interests. One suggestion would be if you are sensitive to insect bites bring repellant!
A great experience overall. So glad we checked it off of our to do list!

Anthony Y.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We enjoyed our trip from Bruges to Amsterdam. The Magnifique IV was very comfortable. The food and service was terrific.

Our tour guides (Corrie and Mariah) lead us through the countryside and small towns. The gave us history lessons and local insight on our rides and after dinner walks, making the journey much more enjoyable.

Over the week we rode each date for a total of 278km. There was very little elevation change and we were fortunate to have the wind at our backs for much of the trip. Be sure to pack a raincoat. The weather conditions were variable, affected by the proximity to the ocean.

We can't wait until we do this again.

Gregory G.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Tour leaders were great.
Always very helpful and knowledgeable.
They knew the territory and landscape and brought us to the most beautiful sights.

Cindy B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The staff aboard the Magnifique IV were fabulous. We had great bike tour guides. The people we met on the ship were from all over the world and we all became friends. I would highly recommend this tour and we will be doing this again

Vic K.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Although the guided tour had its frustrations and the rainy - windy weather didn’t help, the experience was worth the trip. However, it was frustrating that more attention/instruction was not given to novice bikers. Firstly, they needed to understand the e-bike, specifically to understand the function of gearing down and powering up when needed. Secondly novice bikers didn’t understand NOT to crowd other bikers and to keep a safe distance. Also your marketing should be clear state that they shoukd be experienced bikers. Some areas were highly trafficked - bike auto and train - therefore novice bikers are at great risk. The guides were unfamiliar with the trail and particularly in the first days were getting lost. Your selection for lunch stops were poor. We ate our sandwiches (which got really boring after the second day) outside in the rain. Suggest you add some lunch stops at some local sheltered restaurants with enough time to enjoy and experience the local fare.

Kate S.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

From the moment we boarded the Magnifique IV to the morning we left everything was exceptional…Mariela was our cycling guide for the week and she couldn’t have been more lovely. We had beautiful weather and each day of cycling was interesting and fun! All members of the crew went out of their way to make us comfortable and the food prepared by Jules was delicious! We had a great group of travellers and enjoyed our social time on the barge each evening. We would highly recommend the adventure!
John and Kate

Jeannine D.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

Barge facilities, food and staff were outstanding. Beds were comfortable; rooms were of good size (we were on the upper level); dinners were gourmet and sufficient in size; breakfast was ample.

Terri B.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

For me the most memorable part was traveling on the boat through the amazing waterways of the Netherlands and visiting 4 different towns. I did not bicycle but chose instead to walk in each place and get to know them a little. The staff was amazing and very supportive of my decision to stay on board. The Magnifique 4 is a lovely vessel. The rooms were very comfortable, the food excellent and the whole package was relaxing and fun. I encourage others who are not really bike riders to sign up and see first hand how intimately connected people in the Netherlands are to the water. I also really enjoyed the trip to the flower auction especially after reading Flower Confidential by Amy Stewart. So amazing to see the hub of the cut flower industry in action.

Richard J.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

Trip to the tulip venue was a nice route getting there.

If not getting a e-bike be prepared for strong head winds You may be called out for slowing the group down.

Linda P.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

Keukenhof Gardens. E bike was great for riding with wind.
Be sure to bring rain gear (jacket and pants) and disposable gloves to use as liners if rain is predicted. Wear layers in cooler weather.

Linda W.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

The Tulip gardens were beautiful as well as the tulip fields we biked past on way to garden

Terri B.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

For me the most memorable part was traveling on the boat through the amazing waterways of the Netherlands and visiting 4 different towns. I did not bicycle but chose instead to walk in each place and get to know them a little. The staff was amazing and very supportive of my decision to stay on board. The Magnifique 4 is a lovely vessel. The rooms were very comfortable, the food excellent and the whole package was relaxing and fun. I encourage others who are not really bike riders to sign up and see first hand how intimately connected people in the Netherlands are to the water. I also really enjoyed the trip to the flower auction especially after reading Flower Confidential by Amy Stewart. So amazing to see the hub of the cut flower industry in action.

Carol P.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We had a wonderful time on our trip. The Boat ,room, staff, and meals were excellent. All the staff work very hard to make sure all have a great trip.
One thing I would recommend to others is to bring light rain gear and gloves for riding

Don S.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The people on board. And the food. Stella was great, too. I liked the open windows in the upstairs rooms. Also, coffee or cappuccino, espresso 24/7.

Ronald B.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The overall organised week-the daily presentation of our next days excursions. On top of biking through beautiful routes , we also benefited from nightly activities and presentations of local cultural products such as chocolaterie,beer and cuisine.
The warm and welcoming reception of the whole crew, especially our two experienced and knowledgeable guides : Peter Van Avermaet & Tom Stout ,their camaraderie and sense of humor made the whole group feel at ease !
The chef was very accommodating as I had requested a gluten and lactose free diet. Many thanks !!!
Tips - In order to fully enjoy this wonderful adventure ,when booking a Bike & Barge ,you should be ready ,comfortable and expecting to be biking !!!!

shelley R.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The whole trip was amazing!! But the one thing that sticks out is when we we stopped at the Canadian war cemetery…. And after touring around… Peter our guide stood proud in front of us and read the Poem “Flanders Field”. It brought tears to most of eyes.
Tips& suggestions… please make sure you know how to ride a bike! Being a bike tour… this is very important, as our tour guides did have to make the decision to have one couple stay back as they were not confident on the bikes. It is an easy ride but we did ride in towns and over cobble stone road ways. But they had to make that decision for the safety for them and others and I know it was a hard decision, but for that we thank them.

Martine O.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The whole trip was memorable and the guides made it even more special. They was so funny and very informative. Always wanting to help you if you needed it and always so approachable.

Amy G.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The ship’s crew on the Magnifique IV was outstanding. Hardworking, pleasant, efficient and the ship was very clean. The food was very good.

The tour guides failed to give clear instructions and some times were rude to the passengers. They did not follow the ride GPS even though they insisted on us downloading it. One time they would not allow us to enter a museum because we came “late” even though the museum was opened for another hour. They were not a highlight of my experience.

Carolyn M.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Antwerp, Ghent and Brugge were our favourite towns/cities. The tour leaders were fun and informative and our experience on the boat - food, accommodation and relaxed atmosphere - was wonderful. Would recommend to anyone.

Tina R.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Crew and meals were awesome. Would be great if they introduced everyone at the first meeting or meal. Also would be great if they had a signup sheet for emails to keep the group connected.

Andrew A.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The boat was fabulous and the crew exceptional. The guides were great. The whole experience exceeded my expectations

Giovanni P.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Muito Obrigado pelo passeio!!!
Superou todas as minhas expectativas, os guias ofereceram conhecimento e entretenimento e a equipe de bordo muito entusiasmada, a alimentação sensacional. E o tamanho do barco proporciona interação entre os passageiros.
Agradecemos a toda equipe do návio em especial ao Ronald, Steve e Jolene.
Luciana e Giovanni

Até Breve!!!

Kurt A.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The Magnifique IV is as comfortable and roomy as a canal barge can be. The crew and guides were caring and attentive, performing their roles perfectly. The meals were lovely, excellent, beautifully prepared and presented.
The daily routes were delightful, with a dramatic scenic build as we entered The Netherlands and approached Amsterdam.
Bring a strap-on water bottle cage for easy and frequent hydration during the day.

Eric N.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The food, crew, and guides were top-notch. It was our first barge trip. It was a very relaxing yet active way to explore historic cities and the roads and waterways connecting them.

Linda V.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The staff was absolutely tremendous. I have nothing but praise for them. The boat was very well appointed and meticulously maintained. Thank you all so much for fabulous trip and memories that will last a lifetime!

Sandy S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We loved all of our trip! The barge was lovely, the food first class and the 2 guides were excellent. We enjoyed meeting new people, the relaxed atmosphere and our daily rides.

Susan G.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The interaction with your wonderful crew and guides. They made everyone and every day special.

Beth I.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

The most memorable aspect of our trip has to be the incredible staff members and friendly people of The Netherlands! Each of the staff was welcoming, engaging, and so hard working! We mostly experienced Cori as she led our biking group, and she proved to be a very effective leader. She was a highly capable biker, very knowledgeable about all things Dutch, and kept our group on schedule with a steady, relaxed attitude. The other bike tour leader Angela was also quite helpful and capable, always willing to help find an answer to support us. Another staff member who really caught our attention was Ingeborg. Talk about a hard worker! She was a jack of all trades with a wonderful disposition and demeanor that was so fun and friendly. We truly enjoyed her for the warmth of her personality as well as her dedication to serving our needs! Our Chef Jorde's menu selections, plating and presentation was fantastic. We sure missed him once we arrived back at home and had to cook for Read More

Rachel H.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

Our 5 day trip aboard the Magnifique IV for the Netherlands tulip tour was magnificent! I can't say enough great things about the staff--each and every one was so helpful and accommodating. There was plenty of food at all times and the evening dinner was excellent. The rooms were small but clean and enough room for all of your belongings. The bikes were new and worked well. The only thing I would change about the trip was the weather (!) and perhaps I would have enjoyed eating lunch in the small towns we meandered through (versus packing a bagged lunch each day). Would definitely recommend this trip and will be booking with them again!

michael c.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

Just the whole trip everything was memorable, the barge crew, the ride leader & cycling. The Barge itself, the food and peolple