Magnifique IV boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 30 of 47

4.7 out of 5

 


Carol P.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We had a wonderful time on our trip. The Boat ,room, staff, and meals were excellent. All the staff work very hard to make sure all have a great trip.
One thing I would recommend to others is to bring light rain gear and gloves for riding

Don S.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The people on board. And the food. Stella was great, too. I liked the open windows in the upstairs rooms. Also, coffee or cappuccino, espresso 24/7.

Ronald B.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The overall organised week-the daily presentation of our next days excursions. On top of biking through beautiful routes , we also benefited from nightly activities and presentations of local cultural products such as chocolaterie,beer and cuisine.
The warm and welcoming reception of the whole crew, especially our two experienced and knowledgeable guides : Peter Van Avermaet & Tom Stout ,their camaraderie and sense of humor made the whole group feel at ease !
The chef was very accommodating as I had requested a gluten and lactose free diet. Many thanks !!!
Tips - In order to fully enjoy this wonderful adventure ,when booking a Bike & Barge ,you should be ready ,comfortable and expecting to be biking !!!!

shelley R.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The whole trip was amazing!! But the one thing that sticks out is when we we stopped at the Canadian war cemetery…. And after touring around… Peter our guide stood proud in front of us and read the Poem “Flanders Field”. It brought tears to most of eyes.
Tips& suggestions… please make sure you know how to ride a bike! Being a bike tour… this is very important, as our tour guides did have to make the decision to have one couple stay back as they were not confident on the bikes. It is an easy ride but we did ride in towns and over cobble stone road ways. But they had to make that decision for the safety for them and others and I know it was a hard decision, but for that we thank them.

Martine O.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The whole trip was memorable and the guides made it even more special. They was so funny and very informative. Always wanting to help you if you needed it and always so approachable.

Amy G.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The ship’s crew on the Magnifique IV was outstanding. Hardworking, pleasant, efficient and the ship was very clean. The food was very good.

The tour guides failed to give clear instructions and some times were rude to the passengers. They did not follow the ride GPS even though they insisted on us downloading it. One time they would not allow us to enter a museum because we came “late” even though the museum was opened for another hour. They were not a highlight of my experience.

Carolyn M.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Antwerp, Ghent and Brugge were our favourite towns/cities. The tour leaders were fun and informative and our experience on the boat - food, accommodation and relaxed atmosphere - was wonderful. Would recommend to anyone.

Tina R.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Crew and meals were awesome. Would be great if they introduced everyone at the first meeting or meal. Also would be great if they had a signup sheet for emails to keep the group connected.

Andrew A.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The boat was fabulous and the crew exceptional. The guides were great. The whole experience exceeded my expectations

Giovanni P.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Muito Obrigado pelo passeio!!!
Superou todas as minhas expectativas, os guias ofereceram conhecimento e entretenimento e a equipe de bordo muito entusiasmada, a alimentação sensacional. E o tamanho do barco proporciona interação entre os passageiros.
Agradecemos a toda equipe do návio em especial ao Ronald, Steve e Jolene.
Luciana e Giovanni

Até Breve!!!

Kurt A.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The Magnifique IV is as comfortable and roomy as a canal barge can be. The crew and guides were caring and attentive, performing their roles perfectly. The meals were lovely, excellent, beautifully prepared and presented.
The daily routes were delightful, with a dramatic scenic build as we entered The Netherlands and approached Amsterdam.
Bring a strap-on water bottle cage for easy and frequent hydration during the day.

Eric N.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The food, crew, and guides were top-notch. It was our first barge trip. It was a very relaxing yet active way to explore historic cities and the roads and waterways connecting them.

Linda V.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The staff was absolutely tremendous. I have nothing but praise for them. The boat was very well appointed and meticulously maintained. Thank you all so much for fabulous trip and memories that will last a lifetime!

Sandy S.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We loved all of our trip! The barge was lovely, the food first class and the 2 guides were excellent. We enjoyed meeting new people, the relaxed atmosphere and our daily rides.

Susan G.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The interaction with your wonderful crew and guides. They made everyone and every day special.

Beth I.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

The most memorable aspect of our trip has to be the incredible staff members and friendly people of The Netherlands! Each of the staff was welcoming, engaging, and so hard working! We mostly experienced Cori as she led our biking group, and she proved to be a very effective leader. She was a highly capable biker, very knowledgeable about all things Dutch, and kept our group on schedule with a steady, relaxed attitude. The other bike tour leader Angela was also quite helpful and capable, always willing to help find an answer to support us. Another staff member who really caught our attention was Ingeborg. Talk about a hard worker! She was a jack of all trades with a wonderful disposition and demeanor that was so fun and friendly. We truly enjoyed her for the warmth of her personality as well as her dedication to serving our needs! Our Chef Jorde's menu selections, plating and presentation was fantastic. We sure missed him once we arrived back at home and had to cook for Read More

Rachel H.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

Our 5 day trip aboard the Magnifique IV for the Netherlands tulip tour was magnificent! I can't say enough great things about the staff--each and every one was so helpful and accommodating. There was plenty of food at all times and the evening dinner was excellent. The rooms were small but clean and enough room for all of your belongings. The bikes were new and worked well. The only thing I would change about the trip was the weather (!) and perhaps I would have enjoyed eating lunch in the small towns we meandered through (versus packing a bagged lunch each day). Would definitely recommend this trip and will be booking with them again!

michael c.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

Just the whole trip everything was memorable, the barge crew, the ride leader & cycling. The Barge itself, the food and peolple

Allison S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

This was one of the best vacations I’ve ever had! The Magnifique IV is gorgeous and comfortable, and every single staff member was super helpful and just absolutely lovely! Our cycling guides, Hans and Wilfred, we’re wonderful - fun, knowledgeable, well-organized. Seeing bigger towns and cities, and all the countryside and ‘regular’ towns in between by bicycle is such a good way to explore. I highly recommend this trip!

Sonya V.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The team (captain Paul, chef Michael, sailor Albert, Hostesses Annika & Ingeborg and tour guides Hans & Wilfred) on Magnifique IV is amazing. They are always cheerful and are so hardworking. Every meal was exquisite and the warm and delicious snacks offered after a long (wet) bike ride were so appreciated. The barge is beautiful. It is clean and well appointed. We appreciated the 2 usb ports to charge our phones in our large suite. We were conservative with water so had lots for a hot shower after a day of cycling. The scenery was gorgeous. If we had stopped at every place for a beautiful picture, we would still be in Gent! Our tour guides were very knowledgeable about the area. They easily answered our questions with enthusiasm and humour. Our daily route was tweaked according to the groups' abilities, interests and, of course, the weather.

Tips
Pack light. We avoided long lineups at every airport because we had only carry-on luggage.
Don't Read More

craig C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Our staff. Hans and Wilfred were exceptional.

George R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The dinners were fantastic.

Elizabeth A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Loved riding through the farmlands leading to Gent at the beginning of the trip. Beautiful scenery and so peaceful! Our boat tour up the canal was magical.

I would rate this trip excellent and well beyond my expectations. The staff were always cheerful and accommodating. Guides were informative and all of the days were well paced and eventful.

Stephen R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The Magnifique IV was a lovely barge, we’ll set out and nicely appointed. Meals were delicious, the suite was spacious and the bathroom was the equal or better of many we experience in quality hotels. The staff including the guides were excellent and contributed to a delightful week of seeing the Netherlands and Belgium.

Diane D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Great staff and fun traveling and experiencing this with a large group of friends! Scenery was spectacular and we had great weather.

robert w.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The enthusiasm of our tour guides was excellent. They helped the family (our group of 6) a couple of times by sacrifice of their personal time and attention.
Some better orientation on ebike and gears would have been helpful. The "sore-butt" syndrome for inexperienced riders was worth it.

Bob W

Alison M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The bike rides through small towns and villages, beautiful scenery were the highlight of the trip. On one day our guide also stopped at an unscheduled attraction at our request - this willingness to be flexible was much appreciated.
The guided rides are great, but try to take advantage of the self-guided rides as well on some days - the biking staff provide thorough directions and the app so that it is pretty hard to go off-track.
The food on the barge was outstanding, and the snacks provided for lunches were great.

Robert C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The food on the barge was excellent, much better than I anticipated. The staff was friendly, very hard working and seemed to enjoy working together to make our trip special. The accommodations on the barge were very comfortable. We biked through the countryside, past farms, and small villages, places a tourist wouldn't normally see. Even though this tour was rated "easy" it did require a certain amount of biking skill as the terrain on the bike paths varied from cobblestones, brick, gravel, dirt, narrow and sometimes crowded with other bikers.

Cynthia W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We loved the bike tour from Brugges to Amsterdam! The biking was excellent and we loved using the e-bikes! The tour guides and ship crew were helpful and very responsive! They made the trip fun and memorable. The cities were truly amazing! Bike and barge is such a fun way to see beautiful cities and lovely views!

Fredda T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The windmills and the cheese farm were the most memorable. We found the cafeteria style dining to be at least unromantic and that the portions could have been bigger. The crew was awesome. The ship gorgeous, the weather incredible. But it was always odd on the boat - not enough camaraderie among the passengers with no encouraged social interaction outside of forced togetherness at meals which with Covid rampant was a concern. I think it was a shame that the boat didn’t include the windmill tour as part of the activity because we felt it a fabulous understanding of what we were traveling through and by. Thank you for a wonderful vacation! Fredda and Derek