Bike + Boat Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 3022

 


Julie M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The boat was comfy and well appointed, the beds were very comfortable, the biking along the river was fabulous with knowledgeable and friendly guides. I also enjoyed the sumptuous dinners each night. One of the best parts of this trip was getting to know our fellow travelers and make new friends.

Lora G.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

This is an unforgettable trip that everyone should take! The guides, chefs, crew and captain were all knowledgeable, kind and fabulous!

Ed S
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

The cycling, food, and service by ship’s staff were all great! We had the good fortune to meet some very interesting and fun people from Canada and Scotland, attended a couple very good concerts in both Vienna and Prague, and basically saw a part of Europe we never thought we’d see. Budapest, Vienna, Prague were all very interesting, and beautiful cities, and our guide, Thomas, made it all even better! Juergen, the cruise director, was very helpful, as well, finding us when we lost our group at one point and getting us back to the ship. Between Thomas and Juergen, we were able to sample a lot of good food while on the bike rides, and they provided great company at dinner, as well. I believe Thomas ate with us nearly every evening.

A couple notes: 1) I brought pick-pocket proof pants, as I’d heard that we needed to be careful. I didn’t really need them. Probably a better purchase if you’re visiting Paris and/or Barcelona. 2). The 3rd level Read More

Dale S.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The crew, guides, and food were great - Thankyou for a wonderful time. The Ave Maria is a very well appointed barge. The trip exceeded expectations and we have taken several bike and boat tours with Tripsite.

Marcia B.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Beluga Galapagos Bike & Boat
Ecuador

There is magic in the Galapagos Island. The kind of enchantment which unites an eighteen-year-old daughter, on the cusp of leaving for college, a fifteen-year-old son who is fascinated by animals and photography and us--their parents--who, being from Alaska, love active adventures. On so many moments on our trip, we were all united with the same sense of awe, beauty and wonderment. Of course, the sea lions captivated us with their love of play (we saw one bite the tail of a marine iguana just to be ornery). The inquisitive Nazca boobies waddled up and delighted us. However, there is one memory that stands out; snorkeling and seeing hammerhead sharks coolly cruise by below. There was collective squealing through the snorkels as we pointed out the sharks, who are so distinctive in appearance and smooth in movement. Later that day, at dinner, that was the memory which elicited excitement and the feeling of "Did we really just get to do that?".

Our whole family loved Read More

Matthew H.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The food, the guide and the route and biking were all great. Excellent value for a low budget trip.

Ed Paquette
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

My wife and truly enjoyed this tour on the Caprice in 2018. The reviews previously posted are very informative and descriptive about barge life on the Caprice, the itinerary, guides, and dining. We booked early July in order to take pre-boarding day trips to the lavender fields outside Avignon. As with all of our bike-barge tours, we have met and befriended the most interesting and wonderful people. Summer heat and some challenging ascents could be mitigated by reserving an e-bike.

Ed Paquette
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Amsterdam to Bruges was our first bike and barge experience in 2016. The experience of small group travel, seeing villages and countrysides at 12-14 mph, and the coziness of barge life intoxicated us. We have since done six more tours. Everyone unique, quirky, full of beautiful vistas, and future friends from all over the world.
If you are considering this type of travel adventure for the first time, this tour is for you. AND for you stubborn Americans, there is absolutely no stigma attached to e-bikes. In fact, they are prolific throughout Europe.

Wendy V.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Our crew and tour guides were fantastic. Not to mention the food onboard was outstanding.

Donna W.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

This was a trip of a lifetime for me. Hein and Marjolein were wonderful trip leaders and so knowledgeable about the cities we visited. They made the trip a delight and handled any glitches that arose seamlessly. It helped that they had lived in the area for several years and were familiar with the customs and history of the Veneto.
The food provided by Alberto and Daniele was superb and plentiful, and reflected the cuisine of northern Italy. And Jano was amazing at piloting the Ave Maria through the canals and lagoon. Francesco did a great job anticipating and fulfilling our requests throughout the trip.
The Ave Maria was a perfect vessel for our weeklong tour of the Po River valley of northern Italy. The staterooms were very comfortable and had ample room for two people and their belongings. It was very interesting to hear about the transition of a derelict barge into the sleek Ave Maria that was our home for a week.
I would love to do another trip with this group to explore a new area of Europe in the future.

Ric B.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The trip was awesome. Everything was 1st rate. We loved all of our staff. Each person on the staff went the extra mile to make the tour very special!

cynthia w.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

This was our second bike and barge with tripsite. It exceded our expectations. The room had plenty of storage, the staff was outstanding and the meals were all excellent. Our tripsite vacation was perfect.

Shaunna A.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Merzig
Germany

This was our first Bike & Barge, but it won't be our last! The whole trip was fabulous, the biking, the crew, the food, the other passengers and Tripsite for organizing it all!

Diane C.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Ave Maria is a beautiful comfortable well equipped boat. The staff was courteous, helpful, pleasant and efficient. The food absolutely the best! plentiful and with great variety. Our tour host Hein and Mayleine were awesome. They were well informed about the historic and local areas that we traveled thru and were humorous, kind and considerable for all the guests needs and abilities.
The tour was a well planned route thru some lovely back roads and small towns and cities. The bicycles were very good and easy to ride. It is very difficult to choose just one memorable part of the trip it was well worth the time we waited to enjoy the Boat/Barge.

Kathleen R.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

Bicycling through the beautiful vineyards and the opportunity to visit picturesque towns.

Laurie H.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Seeing venice on a sunny day from the roof of an historic building.
Biking through the countryside and villages.
Excellent food.

Jorge T.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Strasbourg to Nancy
France

There were several memorable parts:
Both Strasbourg and Nancy are beautiful cities with a great deal of medieval charm; the Valley of the Locks with its dried abandoned channels and locks, and of course, the St Louis-Arzviller lock, where lock, water and boats are lifted (or lowered) 42 m, replacing 17 locks we saw abandoned; our boat, the Clair de Lune and its friendly and competent crew, the smallest barge we had ventured in till then, but that it showed us the efficiency of its cabin layouts to remove previous concerns about barge size to the point that we are booking another trip on a similar sized barge next year.

John L.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Arriving into Venice on the Ave Maria. In beautiful Lido we turned in our bikes and by the way they were terrific bikes. I even named mine. I hated to to see "Lisa Marie" go into storage but what came next was even more spectacular. To arrive in magical Venice by boat on a glorious fall day with brilliant sun glistening off the buildings and the water was breath-taking. The fact that the crew had arranged pizza and cocktails only added to the experience. And then that sunset! What a day!

Lawrence S.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

This was my fourth bike/barge tour with Tripsite, and it was just as amazing as the other trips. Loved every moment. The ship and crew were simply outstanding. The only disappointment is that the itinerary said we would be in Metz for the evening, to even include a walking tour. We were greatly looking forward to it. However, we left Metz within an hour of boarding. It was a great topic of conversation among many passengers, who were also disappointed. So I’m not sure why we even started in Metz, to only leave right away and travel quite a distance to our first port. Other than that, it was as wonderful as each of my other Trip Site vacations.

Gary M.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

For me, the most memorable parts of the trip were the moments our trip guide, Hein, stopped, got us off our bikes and took time to do some interpretation of the landscape, or when he brought us to little known local places. One example was a local museum for traveling entertainers and amusements. In the states we would call this a circus museum. Hein described life for us in the walled and protected castles and the city-states of Italy before there was an Italy, and the power of the family heads in the se little kingdoms. He took us on a tour of one of those castles that is not generally open to the public. I also appreciated the 90-minute guided tours by Christina in Mantova and her counterpart in Venice. Passionate about the cities that they call home, they both really brought these special places to life for me.
Not to overlook the moderate exercise we got on bikes everyday, which was helpful because the delicious food our crew served was difficult to turn down. I would have Read More

Sharman H.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The food by Sylvia and Irena was delicious and the daily movies by Hugo gave us a sweet memory .

Susan E.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The itinerary was terrific. We had fabulous guides who gave us lots of information about the sites we were visiting. The boat was very comfortable and the food was great. We had just 20 participants and everyone was very interesting and friendly. Can't wait for our next trip!

Levi H.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Harmonia Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

I wish the group leader an responsible for eight people signing up for this trip. Guides were good, response from trip site was horrible when our bags did not arrive another party that we had signed up also did not have their bags arrive. Very disappointing with no bike clothes no pet it shorts no pedals etc.

Charlene K.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Harmonia Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

The islands and the guides on the boat!
This is a moderate to difficult ride even with e bikes.

Dave H.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

I worked with TripSite to plan this trip for 20 friends and family and they were fantastic to work with: flexible, friendly and professional. And the trip costs half of similar trips offered by US based bike tour operators. The Iris was a superb boat in great condition and the crew were amazing, with a special shout-out to the fantastic food! The riding was hard to believe: miles and miles of flat, scenic, history drenched wine country. Every days ride was enjoyable and had nice prizes and surprises along the way. Some of my group decided to stay on board for one or more days and got to relax and watch the castles go by, read a book, drink some great local white wine, and chat with the friendly crew. This particular tour: the Mosel between Cochem and Metz, was referred to me by a good friend who has done a dozen packaged bike tours and said this was his favorite. Now it's ours!

Derek G.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Aschaffenburg to Cochem
Germany

The biking.

Barbara D.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano-Mantova-Venice
Italy

Enjoying all the regions of Italy with the chefs coordinating the evening meals with regional specialities was a delight. Everything was so well executed....bikes..tours...meals....coffee stops...museum and cathedral visits...super fun.

LISA C.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

This was an absolute memorable trip! Our guides Sylvia and Francisco did everything possible to make sure we enjoyed. The brought on tours, day an night. The food was great food. The cooks and engineers were great. The quality of the bikes were perfect. Having 31 guests was great because it is easy to get to know everyone. I would definitely recommend

Lynne P.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The bikes were a problem everyday- not well maintained or just end of season but not good
The barge was very warm- esp with comforters- suggest availability of a sheet for these conditions. A soap dish is needed in the shower, the hair dryer was very inadequate. Need to have some sort of wax paper or plastic bag for the sandwiches- wrapping in napkins does not work. The barge should offer/highlight local wines!!! The whole point of this trip is particular.
Our guides Heddy and intern Micah were fabulous.

Kay B.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

It isn't possible to pick out a "most memorable part." We will treasure memories of it all: the delightful and accommodating crew on the Ave Maria, the extraordinary food (where did those two men train?), the city guides that lead us around Venice and Mantua, the beautiful countryside viewed from excellent bikes, our always upbeat bicycling guides, and the terrific company of fellow bikers. It was the perfect up close and personal way to experience this part of Italy.