Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 751

 


Marie Clerc
2 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Douro Valley Wine & E-Bike Tour
Portugal

Amazing trip in the Douro Valley. Excellent organisation and contact with our local contact Sergio.
The quality of all accommodations was very high, the itinerary was well chosen: low traffic and amazing landscape. We really appreciated the info about points of interest along the way (view points, visits, restauration possibilities, ... )!
To conclude, we requested a customized tour and appreciated the high level of flexibility.

Laura H.
7 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Famous Villages of Provence
France

We loved the Bed and Breakfasts Tripsite set us up with! Very charming with delicious breakfast food

francis d.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Albanian Highlights
Albania

The food! Wow, never have enjoyed the cuisine in the more than 80 other countries I have visited.

Mary P.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Meteora, Undiscovered Greece
Greece

Meteora tours and the tour operators. They really went out of their way to make this a good experience for me. Ditat and Spiros at the Monastiri hotel made me really feel at home. They helped me navigate the COVID testing. They were the most involved hotel operators I've ever met. Meteora e-bike was amazing. Two really good bike tours around the area, right at my skill level. The food and wine tour was not just food and wine, there was a lot of area background with it including a tour of a restored hermit cave. I would do this trip again. Most people do a 1 day tour from Athens and really miss a lot. Four days was just right. Highly recommend staying longer.

Jane Hartfield
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Innsbruck to Bolzano
Austria, Italy

I absolutely loved this tour! The route had everything you would want. The daily distance we rode was a perfect length for sightseeing, eating and picture taking. The hotels were nice. I would love to ride it again! Several friends and family members have taken this tour after us and all have loved it!

Lonnie Maddox
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

We are two couples who rode this tour on two tandems. We thoroughly enjoyed the entire ride, which was mainly on cycle paths or on low-traffic roads. The sights, the food and the accommodations were outstanding and can’t recommend them strongly enough. Make sure to take a side trip to Mainau Island. Truly a tour any cyclist would enjoy. Just do it!

LEONIDAS ROUSSINOS
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Innsbruck to Venice
Austria, Italy

My wife Clara and our daughter Stephanie did this tour in the fall of 2019. Tripsite was once again outstanding in providing service and information and all the GPS files for the bike route. The hotels were all top quality and friendly service with the best ones in Innsbruck and at the hot baths of Padua. I was at first worried about the quality of the bike paths as we have done a dozen or more trips (10 through Tripsite) through the Netherlands and Germany where the paths as excellent. To my and everyone else's surprise the bike paths were well marked and of great condition with a few not-so-great patches here and there but great overall. We made good friends on the trip and we cycled alone and with others on some days and typically had meals with others in the group of 12 or 14 people. The sights are panoramic. I must note that we started on September 5th from Innsbruck at -2 degrees Celsius and snow on the very first day and ended in Venice with +30 Celsius on the last day. Read More

Ana Karla e Lázaro
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Sicily - Syracuse, Noto Valley, & Baroque Villages
Italy

Fizemos esse tour em setembro/2019, adoramos! Desde o transfer, bikes, roteiro até as pessoas, tudo maravilhoso! Muita história, emoções e comida boa! Recomendamos!

Sally Fischbeck
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Barneveld Townhouse for Rent
Netherlands

Excellent location for an authentic view of the Netherlands! We never had to rent a car, only a bike. We flew into Amsterdam and took a train to Barneveld and walked the short distance to the townhouse from the station. From there we had lots of marked bike paths as well as roads to explore this beautiful farming area. We easily walked to a grocery store and various restaurants. The accommodations at the townhouse were very comfortable and clean, and it was right next to a park and an elementary school. It was so fun to see children being dropped off by parents by bike in the morning! We also used the train (loading our bikes on the train with us) to explore nearby cities and flower festivals. Easy to do, and a real European experience! We learned about the history of the area during WW II and could see the earthen works fortifications along some of the bike paths. Would recommend you get a local guide to explain more about that. I highly recommend this location. We felt immersed in the country and didn't feel like tourists, although because we wore bike helmets we did look like tourists!

Sally Snyder
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

Four intrepid bikers completed the 8 day tour just ahead of covid-19 March 20, 2020. Lisbon and the coastal bike route were grand, as described. Maps could have been better quality. Two GPS supplied with route loaded, finding the correct route in towns and leaving villages was a challenge. Lodgings and restaurants very nice, some staying open when we were the only guests. Sergio, Enrique and Diego, and Tripsite were extremely helpful daily! Thanks. We are home now, finished with the virus quarantine, well and ready to create a photo log of the trip.

Deborah C.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

South Africa Kruger National Park Safari
South Africa

The Tripsite team told me this would be our best trip yet. They were right! The guides, Lizelle and Wendall were terrific, very knowledgeable and accommodating. The whole South African experience - the cycling and animal experiences - safaris and bush walks were amazing. It was nice to have varied activities -day to day. Would highly recommend this trip.

Barbara H.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

South Africa Kruger National Park Safari
South Africa

The trip owner, Lizell, was absolutely wonderful! She made it a very personal experience. Wendell, the guide was outstanding!

Ronnie L.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

South Africa Kruger National Park Safari
South Africa

Great tour, great tour guides, accommodations and food were exceptional. We got a nice taste of this area of South Africa, including several safari experiences. Great value.

David and Anne S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Famous Villages of Provence
France

This was the best bike trip of our lives. We took it in early June, 2019 with e-bikes and upgraded accommodations. Unless you're a strong cyclist, e-bikes are the way to go for this trip. First, the hotels were amazing and in each one after the first the specific rooms reserved were wonderful. The first hotel in Avignon was simply awful. Not only because the air conditioning was out, but the room was tacky, in bad repair, and was musty. The tour needs to have this changed. The common areas were just fine, it was only our room. Another thing to change would be the route on the first day through Avignon - heavy traffic, a lot of road construction, and then cycling on a road with a narrow shoulder, semi trucks, and 30 mph winds. This was still a five-star trip. I hadn't done much research ahead of time, and so Les Baux de Provence and Fontaine de Vaucluse each came as a complete and wonderful surprise - I had not even imagined places of such beauty and charm. There Read More

David, Anne, Ryan S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Basque Country to Asturias
Spain

We took this trip in late May, 2019, with e-bikes. It was a great trip with some amazing accommodations. Thoughts in no particular order: The first 3 hours of biking on the first day were pretty miserable, through industrial areas with no good place to ride on either the sidewalk or the road. Day 4 and Day 6 were spectacular, Day 4 was almost like a fantasy of a bike trip once we reached rural areas. The GPS was hard to read when the sun was out, and in several places we needed one person using the GPS and another the printed instructions. We've been on a number of bike trips, and the drivers in Spain were the most courteous and safe of any country - usually giving us at least 6 feet of space and never rushing us. The hotel (Organista) in Santillana del Mar was our favorite, with a wonderful host, Rafe, and an enchanting outdoor breakfast. (Note: this is right close to the Altamira cave, and we were glad we took the time to visit, even though it involved finding our own Read More

Michelle T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Valencia, Color and Contrasts
Spain

This was my first bike tour. I’m 47 and exercise regularly with a focus on cycling/spin. I travelled with a friend and we had an amazing experience. We did the tour a few weeks after the major storm and had great maps and GPS which included a personal sit down with Javier (Lazypedals) to explain the tour and bike fittings. (This did not happen on the next tour we took and were greatful we had this one first). I’m 5’11 and found the bikes to be very ergonomic. Be prepared for extra weight in the panniers for tools and bike locks. Bikes also included a light that we did not need but can see it how it could be necessary depending on your activities.
We loved the varied routes but found there to be quite a bit of hill climbing for the rating easy to moderate. In end we felt very accomplished!
The sights and smells of the countryside were amazing. i can not emphasize this enough. We had outstanding (above avg temps early oct) weather, amazing accommodation for Read More

Alan G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Connemara
Ireland

Amazing riding with different terrain each day. Wonderful scenery. Bikes good. Company good. Food good. Guide very good. Best cycling trip I have been on and I have been on a few. Can't wait to go back to Ireland.

Bob M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

St. Moritz to Innsbruck
Austria, Switzerland

This trip reaffirmed by previous experiences that dealing directly with a local provider is the best way to go for overseas bike tours. Although Tripsite was excellent in their pre-trip work, their local partner -- EuroBike -- left a lot to be desired. And, once you are at the site of your trip, Tripsite has nothing to offer, so you are in the hands of their partner. The problems with EuroBike start with this unsolvable fact: They are NOT located in Switzerland. As their name implies, they run trips all over Europe. So when we needed an extra ebike, they couldn't come through. When we had problems with the ebikes we did have, they couldn't come through. The bike mapping they supplied was in German; we speak English. More unacceptable was the fact they were not aware of several sections of the Inn River Bike Trail that had been closed since the huge spring snow runoff had wiped out two bridges and closed several kilometers of trail. Their mapping notes provided NO alternate Read More

Patti N.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Atlantic West Coast & Sintra
Portugal

We loved the scenery and the overnight communities. The trip was well organized and easy to follow with the Garmin. The bikes were excellent. I highly recommend this tour!

Elizabeth B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

England’s Lake District E-Bike Tour
England

Excellent hotels! Make sure your bike is fitted by a mechanic at the bike store the day before your first ride. Our local host Ian was excellent but would never have been able to adjust the bikes to our requirements. We brought our own seats. A second device for holding the cell phone on the handlebars should have been provided.

Diane Z.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

We thoroughly enjoyed the trip. The itinerary, written directions and maps were great. Taking the ferry out of Venice and riding through the historic town centers were definite highlights.

Gary N.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Best of Burgundy
France

The hotels were great & friend

Wyn D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

Well organised, with bikes made available as required, bags portaged without incident, accommodation arranged as planned.
Overall good organisation albeit the bikes with their infinitely variable in hub gears seemed less efficient than conventional bikes.

Phil M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

Well organized tour led by personable, knowledgeable, and competent guides. Overall, a wonderful experience.

Norbert G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Nelson P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Florence
Italy

It was my 4th trip with Tripsite. There are some points I would like to mention- 1) Actually the company was Eurobike. No problem but I think I should know before. The others trips were with local company. Eurobike clients have an app with the route 2) The bikes wasn't so good 3) In others trips you offered me to rent helmet. In this trip nobody offered and I supposed there were helmets to rent. But Eurobike doesn't rent helmets. So I should bought. Since I doesn't have space in my luggage I let 2 helmets (mine and my wife) in the last hotel 3) The beginning of the Journey in Mestre was very difficult to find the route.
Well apart from this 3 points the trip was Ok. I am wondering in my next trip If I am going with you or with Eurobike directly.

John B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mallorca
Spain

This was our 6th European cycle trip and it was one of our favourites. Communication with Tripsite was excellent. The hotels we stayed in were very good ( a couple were exceptional!) They all served a really great breakfast ( above normal European standards).
Bike transfer between hotels was perfectly done. For the most part the bike route took us on some of the nicest bike paths we have ever experienced in Europe. Occasionally however we found ourselves on some very busy roads. For these brief times we ended up walking our bikes as we did not feel safe.
For the first time in our lives (we are in our sixties) we rented e-bikes.For most of this trip we just used to he regular gears supplied on the bikes .Occasionally however we encountered some fairly steep inclines and we were so happy we could engage the e-bikes!
Our biggest issue on this trip was the written directions provided. Many times we found them to be quite confusing. We got lost and disoriented on numerous occasions.
In fairness there were road closures due to construction. There were signs that had been knocked down.
Providing a GPS unit would have been quite helpful.

Karen K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Shakespeare Country and the Cotswolds
England

Best trip I can remember in ages! Tripsite handled everything beautifully, well organized and did their best to accomodate everyone. My first bike trip abroad and I will absolutely do more. I could only suggest, since we were on the left side of the road coming from another country, mirrors. Also, the phone case did not stay on the bike, within the first few hours. We made it work, used caution at all times and saw some amazing country side by bike. A bucket list item for sure!

Don H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

The accommodations were perfect. All of the lodgings were comfortable, clean, and well appointed. They were located in the heart of the community. Our luggage was transferred from place to place in a timely manner. The bikes were comfortable and the bags easily fit everything we needed on the route.

Ingrid C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Cycling in the Baltics - Vilnius to Tallinn
Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia

Goodness what a win! From start to finish it was great fun - the reasons we got lost were all due to over awe at our surroundings - maps and trip info were spot on from Baltics Tour guides. We were super lucky- the self guided bus was full, however Tripsite found space for our little gaggle of girls with the guided folks and what a super win that was! We had the best of everything - time to chat to everyone doing the same route on a large bus, meeting new, fun and interesting people, to being able to ride when and how we wanted (and to add on those 'get lost' extra miles), to having the added advantage of superb knowledgeable guides from the guided bus tour, it was all in all and exceptional trip! Although next time I may just opt for the e-bike option so that my panting doesn't hold me back from taking sturdy photos of wonderful scenery!
Thanks guys-loved it and will be back to check out the next cycle destination - it's very highly recommended!