Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 743

 


Sally Fischbeck
5 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Barneveld Townhouse for Rent
Netherlands

Excellent location for an authentic view of the Netherlands! We never had to rent a car, only a bike. We flew into Amsterdam and took a train to Barneveld and walked the short distance to the townhouse from the station. From there we had lots of marked bike paths as well as roads to explore this beautiful farming area. We easily walked to a grocery store and various restaurants. The accommodations at the townhouse were very comfortable and clean, and it was right next to a park and an elementary school. It was so fun to see children being dropped off by parents by bike in the morning! We also used the train (loading our bikes on the train with us) to explore nearby cities and flower festivals. Easy to do, and a real European experience! We learned about the history of the area during WW II and could see the earthen works fortifications along some of the bike paths. Would recommend you get a local guide to explain more about that. I highly recommend this location. We felt immersed in the country and didn't feel like tourists, although because we wore bike helmets we did look like tourists!

Sally Snyder
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast and Algarve
Portugal

Four intrepid bikers completed the 8 day tour just ahead of covid-19 March 20, 2020. Lisbon and the coastal bike route were grand, as described. Maps could have been better quality. Two GPS supplied with route loaded, finding the correct route in towns and leaving villages was a challenge. Lodgings and restaurants very nice, some staying open when we were the only guests. Sergio, Enrique and Diego, and Tripsite were extremely helpful daily! Thanks. We are home now, finished with the virus quarantine, well and ready to create a photo log of the trip.

Deborah C.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

South Africa Kruger National Park Safari
South Africa

The Tripsite team told me this would be our best trip yet. They were right! The guides, Lizelle and Wendall were terrific, very knowledgeable and accommodating. The whole South African experience - the cycling and animal experiences - safaris and bush walks were amazing. It was nice to have varied activities -day to day. Would highly recommend this trip.

Barbara H.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

South Africa Kruger National Park Safari
South Africa

The trip owner, Lizell, was absolutely wonderful! She made it a very personal experience. Wendell, the guide was outstanding!

Ronnie L.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

South Africa Kruger National Park Safari
South Africa

Great tour, great tour guides, accommodations and food were exceptional. We got a nice taste of this area of South Africa, including several safari experiences. Great value.

David and Anne S.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Famous Villages of Provence
France

This was the best bike trip of our lives. We took it in early June, 2019 with e-bikes and upgraded accommodations. Unless you're a strong cyclist, e-bikes are the way to go for this trip. First, the hotels were amazing and in each one after the first the specific rooms reserved were wonderful. The first hotel in Avignon was simply awful. Not only because the air conditioning was out, but the room was tacky, in bad repair, and was musty. The tour needs to have this changed. The common areas were just fine, it was only our room. Another thing to change would be the route on the first day through Avignon - heavy traffic, a lot of road construction, and then cycling on a road with a narrow shoulder, semi trucks, and 30 mph winds. This was still a five-star trip. I hadn't done much research ahead of time, and so Les Baux de Provence and Fontaine de Vaucluse each came as a complete and wonderful surprise - I had not even imagined places of such beauty and charm. There Read More

David, Anne, Ryan S.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Basque Country to Asturias
Spain

We took this trip in late May, 2019, with e-bikes. It was a great trip with some amazing accommodations. Thoughts in no particular order: The first 3 hours of biking on the first day were pretty miserable, through industrial areas with no good place to ride on either the sidewalk or the road. Day 4 and Day 6 were spectacular, Day 4 was almost like a fantasy of a bike trip once we reached rural areas. The GPS was hard to read when the sun was out, and in several places we needed one person using the GPS and another the printed instructions. We've been on a number of bike trips, and the drivers in Spain were the most courteous and safe of any country - usually giving us at least 6 feet of space and never rushing us. The hotel (Organista) in Santillana del Mar was our favorite, with a wonderful host, Rafe, and an enchanting outdoor breakfast. (Note: this is right close to the Altamira cave, and we were glad we took the time to visit, even though it involved finding our own Read More

Michelle T.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Valencia, Color and Contrasts
Spain

This was my first bike tour. I’m 47 and exercise regularly with a focus on cycling/spin. I travelled with a friend and we had an amazing experience. We did the tour a few weeks after the major storm and had great maps and GPS which included a personal sit down with Javier (Lazypedals) to explain the tour and bike fittings. (This did not happen on the next tour we took and were greatful we had this one first). I’m 5’11 and found the bikes to be very ergonomic. Be prepared for extra weight in the panniers for tools and bike locks. Bikes also included a light that we did not need but can see it how it could be necessary depending on your activities.
We loved the varied routes but found there to be quite a bit of hill climbing for the rating easy to moderate. In end we felt very accomplished!
The sights and smells of the countryside were amazing. i can not emphasize this enough. We had outstanding (above avg temps early oct) weather, amazing accommodation for Read More

Alan G.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Connemara
Ireland

Amazing riding with different terrain each day. Wonderful scenery. Bikes good. Company good. Food good. Guide very good. Best cycling trip I have been on and I have been on a few. Can't wait to go back to Ireland.

Bob M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

St. Moritz to Innsbruck
Austria, Switzerland

This trip reaffirmed by previous experiences that dealing directly with a local provider is the best way to go for overseas bike tours. Although Tripsite was excellent in their pre-trip work, their local partner -- EuroBike -- left a lot to be desired. And, once you are at the site of your trip, Tripsite has nothing to offer, so you are in the hands of their partner. The problems with EuroBike start with this unsolvable fact: They are NOT located in Switzerland. As their name implies, they run trips all over Europe. So when we needed an extra ebike, they couldn't come through. When we had problems with the ebikes we did have, they couldn't come through. The bike mapping they supplied was in German; we speak English. More unacceptable was the fact they were not aware of several sections of the Inn River Bike Trail that had been closed since the huge spring snow runoff had wiped out two bridges and closed several kilometers of trail. Their mapping notes provided NO alternate Read More

Patti N.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Atlantic West Coast & Sintra
Portugal

We loved the scenery and the overnight communities. The trip was well organized and easy to follow with the Garmin. The bikes were excellent. I highly recommend this tour!

Elizabeth B.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

England’s Lake District E-Bike Tour
England

Excellent hotels! Make sure your bike is fitted by a mechanic at the bike store the day before your first ride. Our local host Ian was excellent but would never have been able to adjust the bikes to our requirements. We brought our own seats. A second device for holding the cell phone on the handlebars should have been provided.

Diane Z.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

We thoroughly enjoyed the trip. The itinerary, written directions and maps were great. Taking the ferry out of Venice and riding through the historic town centers were definite highlights.

Gary N.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Best of Burgundy
France

The hotels were great & friend

Wyn D.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

Well organised, with bikes made available as required, bags portaged without incident, accommodation arranged as planned.
Overall good organisation albeit the bikes with their infinitely variable in hub gears seemed less efficient than conventional bikes.

Phil M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

Well organized tour led by personable, knowledgeable, and competent guides. Overall, a wonderful experience.

Norbert G.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Nelson P.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Florence
Italy

It was my 4th trip with Tripsite. There are some points I would like to mention- 1) Actually the company was Eurobike. No problem but I think I should know before. The others trips were with local company. Eurobike clients have an app with the route 2) The bikes wasn't so good 3) In others trips you offered me to rent helmet. In this trip nobody offered and I supposed there were helmets to rent. But Eurobike doesn't rent helmets. So I should bought. Since I doesn't have space in my luggage I let 2 helmets (mine and my wife) in the last hotel 3) The beginning of the Journey in Mestre was very difficult to find the route.
Well apart from this 3 points the trip was Ok. I am wondering in my next trip If I am going with you or with Eurobike directly.

John B.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Mallorca
Spain

This was our 6th European cycle trip and it was one of our favourites. Communication with Tripsite was excellent. The hotels we stayed in were very good ( a couple were exceptional!) They all served a really great breakfast ( above normal European standards).
Bike transfer between hotels was perfectly done. For the most part the bike route took us on some of the nicest bike paths we have ever experienced in Europe. Occasionally however we found ourselves on some very busy roads. For these brief times we ended up walking our bikes as we did not feel safe.
For the first time in our lives (we are in our sixties) we rented e-bikes.For most of this trip we just used to he regular gears supplied on the bikes .Occasionally however we encountered some fairly steep inclines and we were so happy we could engage the e-bikes!
Our biggest issue on this trip was the written directions provided. Many times we found them to be quite confusing. We got lost and disoriented on numerous occasions.
In fairness there were road closures due to construction. There were signs that had been knocked down.
Providing a GPS unit would have been quite helpful.

Karen K.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Shakespeare Country and the Cotswolds
England

Best trip I can remember in ages! Tripsite handled everything beautifully, well organized and did their best to accomodate everyone. My first bike trip abroad and I will absolutely do more. I could only suggest, since we were on the left side of the road coming from another country, mirrors. Also, the phone case did not stay on the bike, within the first few hours. We made it work, used caution at all times and saw some amazing country side by bike. A bucket list item for sure!

Don H.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

The accommodations were perfect. All of the lodgings were comfortable, clean, and well appointed. They were located in the heart of the community. Our luggage was transferred from place to place in a timely manner. The bikes were comfortable and the bags easily fit everything we needed on the route.

Ingrid C.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Cycling in the Baltics - Vilnius to Tallinn
Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia

Goodness what a win! From start to finish it was great fun - the reasons we got lost were all due to over awe at our surroundings - maps and trip info were spot on from Baltics Tour guides. We were super lucky- the self guided bus was full, however Tripsite found space for our little gaggle of girls with the guided folks and what a super win that was! We had the best of everything - time to chat to everyone doing the same route on a large bus, meeting new, fun and interesting people, to being able to ride when and how we wanted (and to add on those 'get lost' extra miles), to having the added advantage of superb knowledgeable guides from the guided bus tour, it was all in all and exceptional trip! Although next time I may just opt for the e-bike option so that my panting doesn't hold me back from taking sturdy photos of wonderful scenery!
Thanks guys-loved it and will be back to check out the next cycle destination - it's very highly recommended!

Doug S.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Silver Coast of Portugal
Portugal

The tour was well organized and supported by the operators. Beautiful scenery, flat ride and wonderful food and drink. The hotels were excellent and showed thoughtfulness in their selection. Sergio was wonderful and handled a crash incident that we had very professionally. Thanks Sergio. Great ride we will use trip site again. D&J.

João V.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The trip was wonderful, the energy of the people all the way is fantastic. The Torres del Rio hotel impressed by its beauty and harmony with nature. Arriving at Santiago de Compostela Square crowned the tour, all the people praying and prising God, it´s very amazing trip. The tripsite agent, Sergio was very attentive.

Ermelindo R.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The whole trip was memorable, but the arrival in front of the Cathedral in Santiago de Compostela was wonderful and unforgettable!

Darryl V.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Florence
Italy

We really enjoyed cycling through the countryside, especially past the vineyards, tomato fields and fig trees. The accommodation in the smaller centres were all unique and well located as well as being clean and welcoming. Breakfast were superior. Be prepared for a little traffic here and there but even though it was out first trip we had no issues navigating. This route is varied and every day is exciting and different. if you have not ridden much before you go get an e-bike as the last day has some challenging hills. My wife had one and it added to her enjoyment. If you can ride 50 K today without one no worries as I am 65 and had no issues with a regular bike. Be sure to download the route on your cell as I was able to assist others although the arrows marked the route well. Thanks to Tripsite on all the arrangements for a self guided tour - we will be back. Just book this trip and go !

Antonina (Ena) G.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Breisgau & Alsace Wine Road
France, Germany

Beautiful scenery loved the old towns. The bikes were great

Maria O.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

Amazing holiday, easy cycling along the banks of the Labe/Elbe. Wonderful scenery, tasty cake and coffee stops and fabulous boutique hotels.
Everything was pre arranged by Tripsite and the local agents.
Would do this again in a heartbeat and definitely recommend.

Chris A.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Riding up towards the on the water stage in Bergenz was amazing. You could see it from quite a distance which built anticipation. We walked around the seating area and read all of the informational signs (presented in German and English) and took lots of photos.

Stephen M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Best of Northern Zealand
Denmark, Sweden

The bike riding was generally flat to rolling country roads. Mostly on designated bike routes. The Hotels were excellent. riding along the coast beach towns was very scenic. One thing we found a bit troublesome was the written route notes and small scale maps which we found difficult to use. The larger map with bike routes was more useful. On Day two we departed from the designated route and followed Google maps bike routes along a beautiful lake on quiet roads with almost no traffic. From then on we just Google mapped the bike route to the next town and found it very easy. For the last several years we have always been provided GPS with various route options on our bike trips (Ireland, Cotswolds') we found extremely easy to use. Dinner was on our own, only breakfast was included (OK with us, we knew this when we signed up).